Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “2312” as Want to Read:
2312
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

2312

3.46  ·  Rating details ·  16,070 ratings  ·  2,270 reviews
The year is 2312. Scientific and technological advances have opened gateways to an extraordinary future. Earth is no longer humanity's only home; new habitats have been created throughout the solar system on moons, planets, and in between. But in this year, 2312, a sequence of events will force humanity to confront its past, its present, and its future.

The first event take
...more
Hardcover, 561 pages
Published May 22nd 2012 by Orbit
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about 2312, please sign up.
Popular Answered Questions
Lucydad No, 2312 stands by itself as a masterpiece...a beautiful journey
…more
No, 2312 stands by itself as a masterpiece...a beautiful journey
(less)
Sergey Speaking about the extracts, I think that it is just a parallel narratives from science and history books from that era to give us more about the univ…moreSpeaking about the extracts, I think that it is just a parallel narratives from science and history books from that era to give us more about the universe itself. But the list is still a mystery to me)(less)

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 3.46  · 
Rating details
 ·  16,070 ratings  ·  2,270 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of 2312
Jeremy
Jul 09, 2012 rated it it was ok
So I'm not actually done, but I couldn't make it through.

I've tried to read Kim Stanley Robinson in the past, and I've managed to plow through. His world building is great, but something about the novels fail to grab me.

This one though, ugh. I made it about 60% through before I could identify the problems. I don't care about the main protagonist AT ALL. She's a 140-something hermaphrodite of Chinese descent that grew up on Mercury (cool, right?), but at her age, she's completely self-absorbed, a
...more
Dan
May 23, 2012 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I read maybe one sci-fi book a year. My barrier to entry is generally the writing itself. Perhaps I'm wrong, but I find that most contemporary sci-fi books - as with most "genre" books - tend to be poorly written, sacrificing craft in favor of the fascinating worlds, etc that they present. So, it's always a pleasant surprise when I encounter a work of sci-fi that's also really well written because I am a bit of a futurist at heart and love to delve into these worlds. (It's not for nothing that S ...more
Adrian
Apr 23, 2019 rated it really liked it
Many moons ago I read KSR's Mars Trilogy, and really enjoyed his amazing world and character building, so was looking forward to getting to grips with this 500 + page monster, especially following recommendations from people.

And ?? Well I certainly wasn't disappointed, his world building is as stupendous as ever. This was a great story that spanned the whole solar system, with some really interesting characters and some fabulous technology just dropped in along the way. All this made the 550 pa
...more
Chad Peterman
Sep 08, 2012 rated it did not like it
I tried to read this book. I really tried. But after fighting to get halfway through this book without even being able to figure out what the plot was, I gave up.

I had read a lot of positive reviews for this book, so I decided to give it a read. Now I wonder if these reviewers read the same book I tried to read. The plot, at least up to the point where I gave up, hadn't progressed (in fact, I don't even know what the plot was). And I really wasn't invested in the characters.

Now this book did hav
...more
Alexandra
Dec 25, 2011 rated it it was amazing
This book just made me happy. Wonderfully, giddily happy. That's the TL;DR version: if you like nearish future sf and you would consider yourself small-l liberal and enjoy a bit of adventure and politicking, oh this is awesome.

Why?

There's the gender aspects. Robinson goes beyond gender-bending and into gender-thwarting. I first really realised something was going on when a new character was introduced and for the entire interaction, there were no pronouns used. And it's a gender-neutral name. S
...more
Bradley
Mar 26, 2013 rated it it was amazing
This was a slightly more difficult book than is usual, but no less satisfying for having read it.

I remember the Mars Trilogy with great fondness but I also remember it being stuffed full of invention and depth that most tales have no more than a gloss. This novel is very much like his previous novels in this regard. I am at once in awe and fully satisfied with the tale as I am also annoyed at how long it took to have the human aspect developed.

If anyone had told me during the first 300 pages t
...more
Nnedi
Jun 03, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
i'll be brief: a ton of info dumping, but what a world and what ideas and what atmosphere ...just wow. i LOVED this novel. i do with there had been a more focused plot, but whatever, that's a different novel that i can write myself, haha. but this i really enjoyed. i could just settle into it and be there and say wow and oh and ah and wtf? and noooooo, etc. this is the type of science fiction i can sink my teeth into and i wish i had found works like this when i was a teen or in my 20s. but bett ...more
Graham Crawford
Jul 30, 2012 rated it it was amazing
This is one of the best books I have read in a long time. It has an extremely interesting structure that verges on the allegorical. There's an alchemical marriage of Mercury and Saturn, The dynamic of old and emerging structures embedded in the present, three prose styles,- all very clever. A duet of Swan and Frog.

The lovers spin like Pluto and Charon, around the two plot Lagrange points of an endless walk beneath the surface of Mercury, and waiting to be rescued in the blackness of space- two p
...more
BG Josh
Apr 17, 2013 rated it did not like it
So at 65% I finally just kicked this pig and stopped reading. This book is objectively terrible. The story is foolish and non existent, no one involved is sympathetic or even slightly interesting. The main character actually gets her way by threatening to scream, at one point. I was constantly reminded of the twilight books.

The world is goodish, unless you have ever read any other trans humanist books.

The only people I can recommend this book to are extreme liberals. Unwashed hippies, reeking o
...more
Kara Babcock
For the past three years, I’ve paid for the privilege of voting in the Hugo Awards. I do this not because I love voting in the Hugo Awards (though that’s cool) but because, for the past few years, they have made available a voter packet containing digital copies of most of the nominated works. All I need do is purchase a supporting membership at the year’s WorldCon, which is always cheaper than if I were to buy the various novels and anthologies in which these works might be found. (Also, all th ...more
Barry Cunningham
Apr 04, 2017 rated it it was amazing
This is yet another brilliant book by Kim Stanley Robinson. Some remarkable future concepts and very scary scenarios. A superb plot and wonderful characters make this a fabulous read. Bring me more!!
Shoshana
I was afraid for a long time that all the literary crap in this book was covering up what was really an overdone, boring plot.

It turned out not to be true - the plot is cool - but the plot only inhabits about 100 pages of this monster 6 or 7 hundred pager of a capital-N Novel.

Really, Kim Stanley Robinson, did we need random-ish, unfathomable "lists" between each chapter? Actually, I can answer that for you. No.

And really, Kim Stanley Robinson, did you have to format your very cool, forgivably in
...more
Gabi
Apr 25, 2020 rated it liked it
Leaning towards 3.5 stars.

I'm in two minds about this novel that takes place in the same universe as his Mars trilogy.

I really liked the typical holistic KSR approach where he presents his idea of a possible future on a variety of scientific and social fields. As always I stopped from time to time to research some of the topics he mentioned, which among other things lead to me listening to Beethoven’s symphonies as accompanying soundtrack (and Holst’s planets – not mentioned in the book, but qui
...more
Anthony
Kim Stanley Robinson fearlessly packs this future-history novel with so many ideas that it at times bursts a bit at the seams, but at its best it remains grounded in a wonderful exploration of what it means to be human, with all of that exploration’s inherent contradictions and mysteries on full display. A sort of companion piece to his epic Mars Trilogy, 2312 is in many ways more intimate, but still with a comparable sweep, and with his characteristically profound intellect informing all of his ...more
Evi
Feb 18, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: read-in-2019, sci-fi
This was my second book by Kim Stanley Robinson, and I have to say that I like his books. He’s got a very unique writing style.

Most of all: I love his world building, it is fascinating. He’s got amazing visions of the future. I always liked astronomy, when I was younger, I enjoyed reading about planets, stars and the whole world we know so little about... 2312 reminded me that I used to inquire into these things, and I’m greatful for this. I was fascinated by the chapters where planets and moon
...more
Trudi
Aug 23, 2013 rated it did not like it

Abandoning this one at about the 50% mark. I gave it the ol' college try, but turns out this really ain't for me. Densely written, huge passages of world-building (and terraforming), but not enough of a propulsive plot or engaging characters to keep me turning the pages.
Tom Burke
Jun 26, 2012 rated it did not like it
I hate to rate this so low. The book was pretty ambitious and quite detailed. The story follows Swan, a 130 year old woman living on Mercury who finds herself in the middle of a terrorist plot.

The world as imagined by Robinson is quite amazing. Humans now inhabit most of the planets and thousands of asteroids. Swan is expert at designing worlds and it is quite compelling to read about hollowed out asteroids with completely fabricated eco-systems inside them.

My problem is probably not with the b
...more
Dawn C
Feb 25, 2020 rated it it was amazing
*edit: bugger that, I’m upping it from 4 to 5 stars because I can’t give such a confident book anything less.

I continue to be in awe of this vast universe Robinson has created. The posibilities are as endless as space itself, and I’ll eagerly pick up any book written about the people who populate this world where humans have expanded to other planets, terraforming and working and living their now medically prolonged lives.

The plot is somewhat simple and has been done before, the threat of artifi
...more
Ric
Jun 02, 2012 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
'Encyclopedic' is the word that comes to mind with 2312. Robinson set out for a broad brush look at our race 300 years ahead, and this is precisely what we get. The tale takes us to many locations in the future solar system --- Mercury and the city on the Terminator, Venus with its solar shield, Saturn and its multiple terraria, Earth and its old world colonialism. The only venue missing is Mars, but then, Robinson has written a boatload on Mars.

There is an SF mystery that ties the story togethe
...more
Tamara

I may be overdosing on this particular susgenre, since I read Blue Remembered Earth recently, and The Quiet War not long before that. They essentially tell the same story, but whats disturbing is that they essentially come to the same conclusion. All of this seems to come down to the Richard Florida version of the future. The 24th century for hipsters.

They're liberal-geek amusement parks. A guided tour of one half of the western culture war. The roller coaster of exciting new urbanism. The merr
...more
Liviu
May 21, 2012 rated it liked it
2312 is actually quite interesting about 100 pages in, I just wish the author's style would me more on my taste; this way it is like reading a very dry proof but of a very interesting result so while I derive little emotional pleasure, it's intellectually satisfying; let's hope that continues as otherwise as fiction I would have no reason to continue with 2312 and i really wish to finish it.

I finished 2312 and overall I wouldn't call it disappointing as I did not expect that much from it, but I
...more
Gerhard
Jun 15, 2012 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
There is an astonishing setpiece in this book where Swan visits New York, which climate change and rising sea levels has turned into a kind of new Venice. Fresh from space, Swan's intoxication with the beauty of Earth and the wonder of New York's transformation is ravishing.

So much SF these days focuses on the negative aspects of science and technology; KSR is quite old-fashioned in that he thinks we have enough of a technological base at the moment to get us through to a new level.

What has hap
...more
Wealhtheow
Aug 20, 2014 rated it really liked it
This book is huge in breadth and depth, covering everything from falling in love, the destruction of cities, the precise techniques required to recreate terran microbiomes, artificial intelligences integrating with human society...Sometimes I grew frustrated because the book spent fifty pages recounting two characters whistling to each other, and only a paragraph to enact and then dismiss a plan to provide affordable housing for all people on Earth. I wasn't always on board with the focus or the ...more
Jemppu
Apr 25, 2020 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I'm lost between 3 and 4 stars. Going up for a scholarly rating, over storyline.

As usual, KSR shines best with his well honed ability to tie together vast amounts of accumulated trivia into compellingly displayed assortments. Relying on facts and fact based speculations to deliver the wonder of his world(s) - surprisingly effectively.

In usual KSR fashion the book touched on several compelling topics. Here though, it felt the plot itself got distractedly jumbled towards the end.

What I didn't expe
...more
Irshad
Oct 05, 2015 rated it it was ok
Shelves: library-books
I couldn't get through with this book. Unfortunately I had to DNF it. It took too long for me to process the whole sci-fi realm.
Daniel
Jul 31, 2012 rated it it was amazing
I need to use the word "transcendent" to talk about a book with spaceships in it. I am fully aware that this is a silly thing to do, and I hope that one day you can forgive me. But really, 2312 is a transcendent work of science fiction.

Let's start with the science fiction and work our way up to the transcendence. So. Three hundred years from now (q.v. the book's title), we've managed to colonize the solar system and we've started terraforming some likely planets, moons, and asteroids. The adven
...more
TheBookSmugglers
Originally reviewed on The Book Smugglers

In the year 2312, the solar system is a very different place. Humans have terraformed and colonized every inhabitable planet, moon and asteroid in the system; humanity has created thriving populations on the Jovian moons, hollowed out large space rocks and reconstituted them as terraria full of endangered animals and exotic life, and has even created a home on the impossibly hostile surface of Mercury. It is here, on Mercury's "Terminator" - a city that g
...more
Lata
Aug 18, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Have to mull. Enjoyed this, but I did find this a long book.
John
Aug 08, 2012 rated it liked it
2/3 of the way through this one. Not as good as some of his previous works so far. Could do without the "lists" and other iterations, and some of the fragmented partial commentaries from fictitious future reference works. The usual KSR weirdness abounds, particularly his love of unconventional and experimental social arrangements (he truly is the contemporary science fiction author most like Robert Heinlein in this regard). This is yet another book about colonizing and/or terraforming planets in ...more
Mareike
May 03, 2020 rated it liked it
Shelves: scifi
A very good 3.5 but not quite 4 star read for me. (I think.)

As ever, I am in awe at the worldbuilding in KSR's work and the amount of research that must go into it. And how he manages to weave information into his narratives without making you feel like you're buried underneath an info dump.

The explorations of how humanity and human societies would change once it has spread across our solar system was expertly done and I enjoyed the investigation plot. However, at the same time, I sometimes wou
...more
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 next »
topics  posts  views  last activity   
Imposible de terminar 1 8 Dec 02, 2017 08:44PM  
Poor execution 6 90 Oct 13, 2017 10:16AM  
Norwescon: This topic has been closed to new comments. January Book Club 1 4 Sep 07, 2017 04:30PM  

Readers also enjoyed

  • Existence
  • Network Effect (The Murderbot Diaries, #5)
  • The Last Emperox (The Interdependency, #3)
  • Unparalleled
  • Blue Remembered Earth (Poseidon's Children, #1)
  • Archangel One (Archangel One, #1)
  • Quantum Roots
  • The Algebraist
  • Forest of Desire (The Alchemist Book #2)
  • Anathem
  • The Life and Times of Prince Albert
  • Children of Ruin (Children of Time #2)
  • Cryptonomicon
  • The Century's Scribe
  • The Threat Below (Brathius History, #1)
  • Seveneves
  • The Rover
  • Secret Squirrels (Bob and Nikki #9)
See similar books…
4,264 followers
Kim Stanley Robinson is an American science fiction writer, probably best known for his award-winning Mars trilogy.

His work delves into ecological and sociological themes regularly, and many of his novels appear to be the direct result of his own scientific fascinations, such as the 15 years of research and lifelong fascination with Mars which culminated in his most famous work. He has, due to his
...more

Articles featuring this book

Adam Frank is a professor of astrophysics at the University of Rochester and co-founder of NPR’s 13.7: Cosmos and Culture blog and an on-air ...
67 likes · 10 comments
No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »
“Humans were still not only the cheapest robots around, but also, for many tasks, the only robots that could do the job. They were self-reproducing robots too. They showed up and worked generation after generation; give them 3000 calories a day and a few amenities, a little time off, and a strong jolt of fear, and you could work them at almost anything. Give them some ameliorative drugs and you had a working class, reified and coglike.” 36 likes
“Here they were, on the only planetary surface on which you could walk freely, naked to the wind and the sun, and when they had a choice, they sat in boxes and stared at littler boxes, just as if they had no choice-as if they were in a space station-” 15 likes
More quotes…