Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Roaring Boy” as Want to Read:
The Roaring Boy
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Roaring Boy

(Nicholas Bracewell #7)

3.80  ·  Rating details ·  162 ratings  ·  17 reviews
Dame Fortune has abandoned Lord Westfield's men to calamity...
One member of the popular London acting troupe has died. Their present production is a failure. Then an anonymous playwright hands company mainstay Nicholas Bracewell a chance for salvation: a new script that exposes a tragic miscarriage of justice in a murder case.
News of the impending production of The Roari
...more
Paperback, 259 pages
Published March 15th 2002 by Poisoned Pen Press (first published 1995)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Roaring Boy, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Roaring Boy

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
3.80  · 
Rating details
 ·  162 ratings  ·  17 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Jill Holmes
Feb 12, 2013 rated it it was amazing
Edward Marston's "The Roaring Boy" is part of his series set in the late 1500s in Elizabeth I's England. His hero (and now mine) is Nicholas Bracewell, a book holder (prompter and general factotum) for Lord Westfield's Men, one of the best respected troupes of players in London. During their production of 'The Corrupt Bargain', one of the key actors and a mainstay of their troupe, dies on stage. The players must forego the book, act around the dead man until he can be removed, and ignore the wor ...more
Robert Hepple
Dec 04, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
First published in 1995, The Roaring Boy is the seventh in a series of Elizabethan murder mysteries. The stories are set against the background of a London-based company of performers called 'Westerfield's Men' after their sponsor. In this adventure, the story is based around a contentious play called 'The Roaring Boy' written to highlight a recent miscarriage of justice. As is often the case with Marston's stories, the plot is sometimes a little obvious but is compensated for by the cracking pa ...more
Wayne Farmer
A relatively interesting whodunit with some good twists at the end, but this time the book seemed to lack a bit of the real-life historical background that usually brings these stories to life. There was an interesting real life historical character in Richard Topcliffe, the notorious Elizabethan torturer (who did indeed actually investigate a notorious play), but it felt a bit levered into the story.
Overall not a bad read, but not the best of the series.
Gill
Apr 29, 2019 rated it did not like it  ·  review of another edition
Mildly interesting crime fiction, set in a world of 1590s London theatre in which it seems Shakespeare never existed - except in the pale imitations here. Characters are based mostly on Lord Chancellor's Men figures, and much of the plot is lifted wholesale from plays of the period, in particular Measure for Measure and Arden of Faversham, though I recognised other elements.

The author writes under a pseudonym based on an actual playwright of the period. The plots and characters might also be kin
...more
Nicky Warwick
This is a set of Historical Fiction mysteries set in Elizabethan times.
An Author new to me & I enjoyed the story & the characters. The setting is well devised & the historical bits are good & definitely add to the book but it's not in the same league as CJ Sansom & Co.
These are shorter & lighter toned than the other Elizabethan historical faction stories I've read.
Nonetheless a nice lighthearted read for fans of Sansom & Parris et al
Soozee
Oct 18, 2017 rated it really liked it
An excellent series, and this one did not disappoint. A great plot, which pulled me along at pace, painting a great picture of life in the Elizabethan theatre. The whodunnit element is entertaining and kept me guessing. A very enjoyable read.
Sally
Jun 12, 2019 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
The best, and last, of the five I found in a charity shop. Have moved them swiftly on
Annette O'grady
Mar 13, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
a very interesting read and very enjoyable with lots of twist and turns
Mark Pasquini
Feb 15, 2019 rated it really liked it
Another mystery from the acting company which mixes Elizabethan history and an interesting mystery with great twists and turns. Recommended.
Carolyn
Apr 18, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I nearly didn't bother to continue once I'd read the first chapter. So glad I did! Really enjoyed the plot and resolution. Can't wait to read another in the series.
Karen Brooks
May 30, 2015 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Nicholas Bracewell, the book holder of a very successful acting troupe, Lord Westfield’s Men in Elizabethan England. Formulaic (and I mean that in the most positive sense of the word, a reader knows what they’re going to get and is more than satisfied with the process and outcome) and utterly charming and clever, filled with rich language and wonderful humour and well as clever plotting, these novels just get better and better.
The book opens when one of Westfield’s Men shuffles off this mortal c
...more
Cat.
Nov 07, 2013 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: fiction, history, mystery
Westfield's Men are struggling. Their playwright, Edwin Hoode, hasn't written a really good play in ages, and Lawrence Firethorn has a toothache he can't get rid of. Suddenly, out of nowhere, a great idea for a play appears in the form of an anonymous donation of plot and character. The story is topical, being based on a notorious recent murder in Greenwich. Unfortunately, it also brings criminal charges against the acting troupe in the form of Edwin Hoode who is thrown into prison under threat ...more
Vicky Thomasson
Jan 04, 2014 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
The seventh book in the series of the Bracewell mysteries and Marston still has it! I love revisiting Lord Westfield's Men, each character has really come to life throughout the series and I enjoy each mystery very much. I was sad to that Anne and Nicholas did not reunite in this book and really hope she reappears at some point. I'm looking forward to getting my teeth into number eight now.
Elli Meyrick
Nice easy read
Richard
Dec 15, 2011 rated it really liked it
Bracewell receives a play about a notorious murder. Steel swords and incest, interesting and good action.
Ken
Mar 11, 2015 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Marston spins a good mystery yarn around a company of actors in Elizabethan London
Jess
rated it it was ok
Feb 15, 2019
Jochelle Mendonca
rated it liked it
Jan 21, 2016
Starfury10
rated it liked it
Dec 30, 2013
Stuart McIntosh
rated it it was amazing
Jun 10, 2016
Chad
rated it really liked it
Apr 27, 2017
Daryle Pompeo
rated it it was amazing
Jan 29, 2017
Catherine Maloney
rated it liked it
Apr 06, 2019
Leslie
rated it really liked it
Jul 02, 2015
K
rated it really liked it
Feb 17, 2016
Laura
rated it really liked it
Oct 26, 2007
Dennis
rated it liked it
Feb 06, 2016
Jan McClintock
rated it really liked it
Jul 16, 2009
The Scribblebug
rated it really liked it
Sep 04, 2013
John Mccrohan
rated it it was amazing
Aug 29, 2015
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Jack the Ripper: Case Closed
  • Death at Glamis Castle (Kathryn Ardleigh, #9)
  • A Play of Lords (Joliffe the Player, #4)
  • The Secret Archives of Sherlock Holmes
  • The Cross-Legged Knight (Owen Archer, #8)
  • A Surfeit of Guns (Sir Robert Carey, #3)
  • From Aberystwyth with Love (Aberystwyth Noir, #5)
  • Face Down Under the Wych Elm (Susanna, Lady Appleton, #5)
  • Herald of Death (Pennyfoot Hotel #19)
See similar books…
232 followers
Librarian Note: There is more than one author in the Goodreads database with this name. See this thread for more information.

A pseudonym used by Keith Miles
AKA A.E. Marston

Keith Miles (born 1940) is an English author, who writes under his own name and also historical fiction and mystery novels under the pseudonym Edward Marston. He is known for his mysteries set in the world of Elizabethan theatr
...more

Other books in the series

Nicholas Bracewell (1 - 10 of 16 books)
  • The Queen's Head
  • The Merry Devils
  • The Trip to Jerusalem
  • The Nine Giants
  • The Mad Courtesan
  • The Silent Woman
  • The Laughing Hangman
  • The Fair Maid of Bohemia
  • The Wanton Angel
  • The Devil's Apprentice