Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Deadly Defiance (Stan Turner, #10)” as Want to Read:
Deadly Defiance (Stan Turner, #10)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Deadly Defiance

(Stan Turner #10)

by
3.95  ·  Rating details ·  96 ratings  ·  69 reviews
The law firm of Turner & Waters has a new associate. Jodie Waters has finally worked her way up from Stan's secretary to become a full-fledged attorney. Having great confidence in her abilities, Stan asks her to help him in the investigation of a wrongful death case. A worker in a local sweatshop has died and his family wants the owner, Icaro Melendez to pay for the cr ...more
Paperback, 404 pages
Published July 6th 2017 by Top Publications, Ltd. (first published September 1st 2011)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Deadly Defiance, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Deadly Defiance

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
3.95  · 
Rating details
 ·  96 ratings  ·  69 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Mary
Feb 19, 2013 rated it really liked it
The trouble with this book is that I kept staying up half the night to read "just one more" chapter. When I started reading, I thought it was "OK" ....but I soon got caught up in the caracters and the various story lines. Realistic???....We'll I doubt that most law firms have anywhere near that much drama on a daily basis...But definitely a good read. This is the first Stan Turner Mystery I have read and I will be looking for more of this series.
Debbie Carnes
Jun 21, 2013 rated it it was amazing
This is the second book by William Manchee that I have read, as with the first I loved it.

Mr Manchee has a real talent for keeping his readers hooked from the first page till the last.

This book is #10, but is also a great stand alone story line. I will be reading a lot more of William Manchee's books and so should you
Susan
Aug 11, 2011 rated it really liked it
Shelves: first-reads
I was lucky enough to win a copy of Deadly Defiance through Goodreads, and I am glad that I did. Manchee delivers a great mystery that keeps you turning the pages anxious to see what would happen next. I really enjoyed how Manchee intertwined three main stories together each one tied together with the three main characters Stan, Paula, and Jodie who all work together and help each other with the three different cases. Manchee also really develops all three characters very well making the reader ...more
Deborah
May 13, 2016 rated it did not like it
I received this book through a goodreads giveaway. I read a lot of classic fiction, and relax with mysteries. Unfortunately, this book was not great. The language is elementary. Many of the situations are implausible. I know of no woman who would become best friends with somebody who had tried to break up her marriage. The murder weapon, at the beginning of the book, is found in a dumpster. Later in the book, the police find the weapon sticking out of the body. At one point, there is a scene wit ...more
Alfonso
Aug 11, 2011 rated it really liked it
Shelves: first-reads
I won this book through first reads. The story starts off just a little bit slow for my liking, but the way the subplots coalesce is on point. Really enjoyed reading this book. It took me a few days to get into the story but once it had me intrigued I couldn't put it down.
Aisling
Oct 10, 2016 rated it it was ok
Painfully dull writing. The plots were not terrible but the writing is some of the worst I have read (outside of high school English). The prose is flat and I had to force myself to keep reading.
Nese
Jul 05, 2017 rated it it was amazing
I received a free copy of this book through Goodreads First Reads in exchange for a fair review.

If you are a fan of legal thrillers by John Grisham, Tony Dunbar, and Teresa Burrell, you will like this book. (Actually, one could easily mistake it for a book by John Grisham) The book is so enjoyable to read because the characters’ inner worlds and the environment are described in detail, and the story has so many twists and turns. It is also edited carefully and is written by someone articulate wi
...more
Julie Barrett
Apr 19, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Deadly Defiance by William Manchee
Have enjoyed all the other works I've read from this author and the saga continues in this one.
We find that Stan has taken on another lawyer and Jodie-his research assistant is now a full fledge lawyer herself.
They each have their own cases and it's interesting to learn the new lingo and to find out how they figure things out for each of their cases.
This one has twists as Stan's wife Rebekka is also undergoing some medical problems that they have no answers for.
...more
Carol
Jun 19, 2017 rated it liked it
Shelves: 2017-reads
So this was an interesting book. Stan Turner is an attorney and is handling several cases along with his co-workers. In the midst of these cases his wife Rebekah is exhibiting symptoms of a possibly serious illness but refuses to undergo any testing. It's a lot of stress on him but they all pitch in and help each other out at the office.

This book is mostly dialogue which is OK but it seems to breeze through some pretty awful events such as the shooting death of a witness without much pause. Not
...more
Wanda
Jul 09, 2017 rated it liked it
Shelves: giveaways
It was ok. Some of the scenarios seem a little far fetched. The story has the lawyers going after members of a drug cartel. They have the help of the FBI and some police but it just seems a little unreal. A side Story is about the main lawyers wife being sick and the doctors not being able to figure it out. She is being very unreasonable about not wanting to go to the doctor which I find a little hard to take.
There is also a trial happening with another lawyer defending a woman accused of killin
...more
Jackie Wisherd
Jul 16, 2017 rated it really liked it
This book was an entertaining and enjoyable read about Stan Turner and his partner Paula Waters and the two cases they are handling for their Dallas law firm. One case in which a woman is accussed of murdering her husband with an ice pick and the other a case in which an Hispanic woman believes her husband was murdered by his sweatshop boss. I liked that the book held my interest thru the whole story and that the main characters were very likable - even tho they were lawyers-and it was a believa ...more
Lauren
Jun 22, 2013 rated it liked it
Recommended to Lauren by: Goodreads First Reads
I received this book through the Goodreads First Reads giveaway program.

I really wanted to like this book.

Strengths:
Likable characters- Stan and Jodie were actually characters I could get to like. They are dedicated to their jobs and care about their clients.

Courtroom Drama- Where the dialog and narrative seems strongest is when the characters are discussing legalities and in the courtroom. It feels natural. The author is in his element here.

Multiple Cases- The fact that there are multiple cas
...more
Danielle Urban
Mar 20, 2016 rated it it was amazing
Deadly Defiance by William Manchee is a crime mystery thriller that features women sleuths. I loved the murder cases that were brought up, inside this intriguing novel. Here, readers will find that two women are being accused of their husbands' murders. So, there are two women sleuths each working a separate murder case that involves a woman being charged for the crime of murdering their husbands. What's really interesting is that one of these accused women has been labeled as a wife killer beca ...more
Carol
Apr 04, 2013 rated it really liked it
Deadly Defiance is the first book that I have read by William Machee. I was a third of the way through the book when I realized that this story is in the town that I am living in! That is Plano, Texas so my eyes started looking for anything that seemed like Plano. This book does very well as a standalone. It is the 10th in the Stan Turner Series but I never felt lost because of either missing out on past history or having to dealing with too many characters. It is also a page turner. I did not w ...more
Katherine
Aug 11, 2011 rated it it was ok
Shelves: reviewed, first-reads
The opening sentence of this book was almost enough to make me put it aside. " One of the most difficult events in a parent's life is when....." A noun cannot be an adverb!! Occurs when perhaps but is NOT when. I battled this sentence structure for 30 years teaching and correcting term papers--but I guess I just have to accept it along with run-on sentences since Manchee and my students refuse to listen. If Mr Manchee would put a period instead of a comma everytime he wanted to use the word " so ...more
Sue
Sep 13, 2011 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: legal-mystery
I received "Deadly Defiance" as a bonus Goodreads gift of William Manchee's latest novel.This is a Stan Turner Mystery (Volume 10).I have read other novels by this author, and I was not disappointed with his latest novel.I couldn't put this book down. I found it amazing!

In Dallas, hairdresser Maureen Thompson rollerblades several miles to Turner & Waters law firm as her husband Rod, owner of Thompson Construction, left her a large debt including one to the IRS and her car is repossessed. The
...more
David Caldwell
I won a copy on Goodreads Firstreads.

I have always heard that anyone can draw and do artwork.I believe that this true, but I also realize that it doesn't mean everyone has the same abilityor level of talent.Most people are in the stick figure and paint by numbers range.Very few are capable of producing a Mona Lisa or a statue of David.But there is still a wide range between those two extremes as well.Including a stage where, the artist can consistently produce pleasing artwork that appeals to mo
...more
Skjam!
Disclosure: I received this book as a Goodreads Giveaway on the premise that I would review it.

This is the tenth volume in a series about Stan Turner, a Dallas based attorney for the firm of Turner and Waters. It’s 1995, and the law firm is going through a bit of a financial crunch. Their current clients don’t seem to be likely to help with that much. First, there’s Maureen Thompson, whose bankruptcy filing is put on hold when her estranged husband turns up dead from multiple icepick wounds. Whi
...more
Diana
Oct 01, 2011 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Boy, this mystery book has it all. Stan Turner is an attorney whose office handles all kinds of cases. Many of the cases he takes are filled with danger for Stan and the attorneys who work with him. He may be a little unusal as he works with 2 females attorneys. The ladies sometimes can find out information that might be difficult for male attorneys to discover. cases in this book are:
Maureen Thompson-young mother comes to Stan for help in bankruptcy, then is charged with her husband's murder. S
...more
Kai
Oct 22, 2011 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Deadly Defiance has three cases going on as well as Stan Turner's personnel dilemma. Stan Turner, Paula Waters and Jodie Marshall have to represent with a Ice Pick Widow, confrontation with the Mexican Drug Cartel and illegal sweat shop and locating a unknown heir for the probate case while Stan is trying to figure out what is wrong with his wife's health. I'm just surprised that none of the television networks have considered producing a television series for the Stan Turner series. There is a ...more
Glenda
Jun 15, 2011 rated it really liked it
Stan Turner and his best friend Paula Waters are partners in the law firm Turner and Waters Law offices, Jodie Marshall was hired originally as a secretary, but it did not take long for Stan and Paula to see Jodie’s great potential to be an attorney and agreed to put her through law school giving the law office 3 attorneys.

Paula is handling the case for Maureen Thompson accused of murdering her husband who left her penniless and she has been nick-named the “Ice Pick Widower”. Paula is wondering
...more
Joy
Sep 10, 2011 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Ok, I won Deadly Defiance by William Manchee on Goodreads. When it arrived, I was shocked to see that it was actually an audio book. It seems I mistakenly entered the wrong giveaway. Nevertheless, since I was lucky enough to receive it for free, I thought I'd give it a whirl. I always assumed that audio books were for those who had difficulty reading or had long commutes. Boy, was I mistaken. Audio books are great to listen to while doing some mundane task. The narrators Jefferey Kafer, Arika Es ...more
D
Apr 22, 2013 rated it liked it
I received this book from the Goodreads First Reads giveaways. Although it is part of a series, it is not necessary to read them in order.

The cover of this book states it is "A Stan Turner Mystery". However, there is no mystery to solve. It is about three very different legal cases being handled by the Turner & Waters law firm. The storyline of each case meshes together nicely and keeps the reader interested in the outcome of each.

There were some editing issues. At the end of Chapter 7, Stan
...more
Carol  MacInnis
Oct 02, 2011 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: crime-mystery
Stan Turner of Turner and Waters Law Office has a heavy caseload and an ailing wife which the doctors cannot figure out. Paula Waters is his partner and best friend and Jodie Marshall who he hired as his secretary and saw so much more in her, saw her through college and a law degree.

Paula's case involves Maureen Thompson who has been accused of murdering her estranged husband who left her penniless. Paula now wondering if she'll even been paid for this case now finds out she was accused of murde
...more
Sasha
Feb 02, 2013 rated it it was amazing

First I would like to say that I received a copy of Deadly Defiance through the Goodreads First Reads giveaway. I have had the wonderfully good luck to be able to read this book. I had never heard of the author William Manchee or his Stan Turner Mysteries Before. This is the tenth book in the series and I will have to say I will have to get each and everyone of his other books for this was such a delight to read. This novel is intriguing, wonderfully fast-paced. This book kept you glues to your
...more
Leah Hess
Dec 10, 2011 rated it really liked it
I received a copy of Deadly Defiance free through the Goodreads First Reads program, in exchange for an honest review.

I'd never heard of William Manchee before, nor his main character Stan Turner. This is the tenth book in a series of Stan Turner mysteries.

I was impressed with this 10+ hour audiobook by a lesser-known author. The novel was intriguing, fast-paced, and left the reader excited to continue. There's a nice combination of the legal side of the story and the detective side. If you're
...more
Brent Soderstrum
Dec 03, 2013 rated it liked it
Book #10 of the Stan Turner mysteries deals with two seperate murder cases, a potential missing heir and Stan's wife, Rebekah having a mysterious illness. Jodie, the new associate to Turner & Waters handles the murder of a Mexican worker on the way home from a factory which he had complained of. Drug cartel appears to be involved.

Paula Waters represents the Ice Pic Widow. This woman has been arrested for allegedly murdering her husband with an ice pic. The thing is she had been accused of do
...more
Monica
Jan 18, 2013 rated it really liked it
Shelves: reviewed
In Deadly Defiance, there are 3 cases Turner & Waters investigates. The wrongful death/murder case, the bankruptcy/murder case, and the missing heir case.

Stan Turner, Paula Waters and Jodie Marshall work on all of the cases, however, each attorney is primary on only one case. This allows the author to switch viewpoints between characters which, aside from once or twice, he does seamlessly.

There was also one instance where the names of the female attorneys where switched accidentally for two
...more
Jim
Oct 30, 2012 rated it liked it
Shelves: first-reads, mystery
This is a book with a split personality. The plotting is well done and the author is a skilled juggler keeping several plotlines up in the air at once. Mr. Manchee is obviously knowledgeable about the legal profession and writes well when explaining the how and why of legal procedures. The problem with this book is in the way it is written. The characters interactions lack subtlety and there is no complexity in their emotional makeup.
On plot alone I would give the book four stars and it was th
...more
Teresa
Jan 08, 2013 rated it liked it
I received this book through a Goodreads First Reads giveaway. It is the first Stan Turner mystery I've read, but it won't be the last! The writing was sometimes a little stilted, but not to the point of distracting me from the story. While the outcome of most of the plot lines was fairly predictable, what happened along the way was not always expected. I liked the characters, the fact that many different things were going on at once, and the "peek" into the world of trial lawyers: what they do ...more
« previous 1 3 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Pale Horses (Jade de Jong, #4)
  • The Caretaker (Ranjit Singh, #1)
  • Fighting Out of New Milford, USA (Zombie, #2)
  • There Is No Mrs. Gezunterman
  • Gabriella and Dr. Duggan's Secret Dimensional Transport Machine (NuGen, #1)
  • Murder on the First Day of Christmas (Chloe Carstairs, #1)
  • Closure of the Helpdesk — A Geek Tragedy
  • Pegasus Falling (The Cypress Branches, #1)
  • Dancing On Their Tails
  • Sleeper's Run
  • Finding God in the Dark: Faith, Disappointment, and the Struggle to Believe
  • In His Stead (A Father's War)
  • The Blessed Woman: Learning About Grace from the Women of the Bible
  • Death Ain't But A Word
  • The Satirist: America's Most Critical Book (vol. 1)
  • My Greek Drama: Life, Love, and One Woman's Olympic Effort to Bring Glory to Her Country
  • Georgia Sweethearts
  • Learning to Play With a Lion's Testicles: Unexpected Gifts From the Animals of Africa
See similar books…
179 followers
William Manchee is an attorney by trade and practices consumer law in Dallas with his son Jim. Originally from southern California, he now lives in Plano, Texas.

Other books in the series

Stan Turner (10 books)
  • Undaunted (Stan Turner, #1)
  • Brash Endeavor (Stan Turner, #2)
  • Second Chair (Stan Turner, #3)
  • Cash Call
  • Deadly Distractions (Stan Turner, #5)
  • Black Monday (Stan Turner, #6)
  • Cactus Island (Stan Turner, #7)
  • Act Normal (Stan Turner, #8)
  • Disillusioned (Stan Turner, #9)