Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “A Prisoner in Fairyland” as Want to Read:
A Prisoner in Fairyland
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Read Book

A Prisoner in Fairyland

3.30  ·  Rating details ·  93 ratings  ·  19 reviews
[FULL TEXT]

In the train, even before St. John's was passed, a touch of inevitable reaction had set in, and Rogers asked himself why he was going. For a sentimental journey was hardly in his line, it seemed. But no satisfactory answer was forthcoming -- none, at least, that a Board or a Shareholders' Meeting would have considered satisfactory. The old vicar spoke to him str
...more
Paperback, 344 pages
Published September 1st 2003 by Wildside Press (first published 1913)
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about A Prisoner in Fairyland, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about A Prisoner in Fairyland

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 3.30  · 
Rating details
 ·  93 ratings  ·  19 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of A Prisoner in Fairyland
Mike
Feb 20, 2012 rated it really liked it
This story surprised me. I wasn't prepared to like it as much as I did, but such are the surprises that await one who is willing to dig through the archives of public domain literature. I would certainly classify this one as a gem.

I had never heard of Algernon Blackwood until I was searching for good public domain books to download from Project Gutenberg when I came across a forum that mentioned several of his books. Upon further research I decided on The Willows and A Prisoner in Fairyland. The
...more
Catherine Thompson
Sep 28, 2012 rated it really liked it
Shelves: fantasy
A wealthy businessman retires in order to devote himself to a great work of charity, only to discover that he's been going about it in quite the wrong way.

This synopsis is really dry, and honestly says very little about the book, but A Prisoner in Fairyland is pretty much impossible to sum up. On the surface, the above synopsis is what the book is about. Henry Rogers retires, intending to devote himself to his grand Scheme for Disabled--we never learn exactly what--and on a whim goes back to his
...more
Jessica
Jan 28, 2013 rated it it was ok  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: allllll-mine, 2013
At the heart of A Prisoner in Fairyland is a little story about wonder and compassion and love. Unfortunately that story gets lost among all of the WORDS. Seriously, it could have been cut down by at least half and still had enough length to tell a still rambling story about Rogers' adventures in the starlight.

There were two nit picky things that really bothered me throughout. One was how Rogers calls his cousin Daddy. What self respecting grown man calls his male cousin Daddy? (or for that matt
...more
Jean
Mar 31, 2010 rated it really liked it
Shelves: fantasy
An extreme indulgence for my romantic fantasy side (Byron romantic, not Nora Roberts romantic). Some truly soul-stirring moments, but overall a little long. I was glad when it was over; but I was also glad I read it.
Lisa Alfaro
Jul 05, 2018 rated it did not like it
Realism is not my thing, couldn’t make it past ch 8
Mina Nicoli
May 22, 2017 rated it it was amazing
It may have some flaws in writing, but the concepts are wonderful and cosmically spiritual in nature - the very high thinking involved in this book is what gives it its high value.
Julie
Sep 02, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
A wonderful read! It took a while for the story to grab me as a reader, but once it did it took my imagination to places and heights I never thought of going!!
Lesley Anne
Nov 03, 2012 rated it really liked it
I did it! I finally finished the book I began over 8 months ago! And if the time it took me to read it makes you think that this is a reflection of the quality of the writing, then you couldn't be further from the truth. This book is beautiful. And it's very much aware.

If I were to explain this book in terms of what people might understand, I would say it's the 'Inception' of early 20th century literature. It talks about the connection we all have as human beings during our most vulnerable state
...more
Jien
Sep 28, 2015 rated it did not like it  ·  review of another edition
This was tedious to read. He uses the same elements that I've noted in all his previous novels, even using the same names and relationships for characters. There's this obsession he has with "so called real things" and thinking that imagining things can make them real and that the imagined things are more real than actual reality. This is in every novel of his.

The plot is... what exactly? There's so much time spent on children talking about nonsense that I couldn't figure out where the "story" w
...more
Rachel Kopel
May 28, 2010 rated it liked it
Hmmmm, this book reads like it was written for pay-by-the-word. Occasionally Blackwood is beautifully lyrical and the words are well worth it, but there is a lot of repetition. The message also was interesting, from 1913, that we are all connected by our thoughts and that thinking well, thinking good things, sending good wishes and deeds into the world, is of great benefit to all. Since I believe this, it was interesting to read this approach to it.

I purchased this especially to read on a long
...more
John Hawkins
Oct 08, 2011 rated it really liked it
I read this as a download from FeedBooks - a long, rambling story with a rather abrupt ending, but if one accepts the somewhat surreal assumptions made about dreaming and imagination, in the context of the story at least, it's actually quite a good read. I wouldn't recommend it as one's first Algernon Blackwood read though; too long and too weird.

Read 'The Willows' and 'Jimbo', in that order, before this. I've given up on some works of his and wondered why I bothered with others, but this one I
...more
Greg Meyer
Jan 29, 2016 rated it it was ok
Shelves: did-not-finish
Well, this was disappointing. Blackwood's short stories - "The Willows," for example, are great, in the vein of Lovecraft or Dunsany. This...this novel just didn't grab me. The characters were blandly inoffensive, the writing style was akin to Dickens being read by someone on Quaaludes, and...yeah. Not too great. ...more
Jessica
Feb 01, 2012 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: 2012
This book is just beautiful. There's not much in the way of plot, and the language is a bit dense at times. But the main conceit of the novel, the concept of Fairyland and of good people spreading beauty to the world simply by being was lovingly explored in a giant, entrancing metaphor. ...more
Ani Vardanyan
Oh god, this could be at least five times shorter X_X Nevertheless, it's Blackwood, the language and the general ideas were beautiful, that's why I can't give it a single star. :/ ...more
Carl Bettis
Too much magic and starlight and wistfulness, too little character and conflict. At least, in the first 1/3 of the book. I didn't go any further than that. ...more
Sheryl
Apr 28, 2009 rated it it was ok
Recommends it for: Anna Smith
The plot never really got going.
SharaLee Podolecki
Apr 30, 2013 rated it really liked it
A beautiful story, though why it was in my 'Horror Books' app, I will never know... ...more
Tabitha Ormiston-Smith
I thought the book was utter bullshit, but it was such very beautifully written bullshit that I gave it 2 stars anyway.
Autumn
Jul 17, 2012 rated it did not like it
If ever I was going to stop reading a book, this would have been the one. Painful, slow, long. I didn't understand the point of it. ...more
Annie Tevis
rated it did not like it
Mar 10, 2015
Enigma Monkey
rated it really liked it
Jul 25, 2014
Jessica Wolf
rated it liked it
Oct 08, 2014
Gina
rated it it was ok
May 26, 2012
Amber Blackwood
rated it liked it
Dec 25, 2015
Selena
rated it it was amazing
Sep 29, 2008
Alice
rated it liked it
Nov 07, 2012
Amy Teetaert
rated it really liked it
Jan 14, 2021
Jocelyn
rated it it was ok
May 10, 2010
A.
rated it did not like it
Jan 16, 2010
Jamie
rated it did not like it
May 22, 2014
« previous 1 3 4 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Bloody Lessons (A Victorian San Francisco Mystery #3)
  • The Care and Keeping of You 1: The Body Book for Younger Girls
  • Deadly Proof (A Victorian San Francisco Mystery #4)
  • Maids of Misfortune (A Victorian San Francisco Mystery #1)
  • Light Magic for Dark Times: More than 100 Spells, Rituals, and Practices for Coping in a Crisis
  • Enchantments: A Modern Witch's Guide to Self-Possession
  • Treasury of Egyptian Mythology: Classic Stories of Gods, Goddesses, Monsters & Mortals
  • Cocktails Made Simple: Easy & Delicious Recipes for the Home Bartender
  • Sew Witchy: Tools, Techniques & Projects for Sewing Magick
  • Hershel and the Hanukkah Goblins
  • The Aliomenti Saga Box Set (Books 1-3)
  • Hexing the Patriarchy: 26 Potions, Spells, and Magical Elixirs to Embolden the Resistance
  • The American Association of Patriots Presents: How to Talk to Your Cat About Gun Safety
  • Swear Word Coloring Book: Hilarious Sweary Coloring Book for Fun and Stress Relief
  • Schindler's List
  • Spellsinger (Spellsinger, #1)
  • Grimm Fairy Tales Presents: Neverland #0 (of 7)
  • Fathom Vol. 1 #0
See similar books…
759 followers
Blackwood was born in Shooter's Hill (today part of south-east London, but then part of northwest Kent) and educated at Wellington College. His father was a Post Office administrator who, according to Peter Penzoldt, "though not devoid of genuine good-heartedness, had appallingly narrow religious ideas." Blackwood had a varied career, farming in Canada, operating a hotel, as a newspaper reporter i ...more

Related Articles

Thirty-four years after the publication of her dystopian classic, The Handmaid's Tale, Atwood returns to continue the story of Offred. We talked...
368 likes · 59 comments
“No place worth knowing yields itself at sight, and those the least
inviting on first view may leave the most haunting pictures upon the
walls of memory.”
35 likes
More quotes…