Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “If You Are a Hunter of Fossils” as Want to Read:
If You Are a Hunter of Fossils
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

If You Are a Hunter of Fossils

by
4.04  ·  Rating details ·  51 ratings  ·  6 reviews
Millions of years have passed since the desert was ocean, but the fossils still tell its story. And if you are lucky enough to find one, the ancient past can come back to flood your imagination. Byrd Baylor's eloquent prose-poem is complemented by Peter Parnall's vivid illustrations in a book that is itself a lasting treasure. ...more
Paperback, 32 pages
Published November 1st 1984 by Aladdin Paperbacks (first published July 1st 1980)
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about If You Are a Hunter of Fossils, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about If You Are a Hunter of Fossils

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.04  · 
Rating details
 ·  51 ratings  ·  6 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of If You Are a Hunter of Fossils
Cheryl
May 10, 2017 rated it really liked it
Not my favorite by this team, but of course still wonderful. The verse isn't quite as poetic, the appeal is stronger for hunters of fossils & less universal, and some of the pictures seem a little, I dunno, inside-out or something. However, perfect for many curricular applications, and a must read for fans of Baylor & Parnall. ...more
Shannon
Jan 01, 2012 rated it really liked it
Shelves: 2012
Zowie. I've had this book in my tote bag for no fewer than three months, and I'd never opened it because I thought it would be a boring, outdated, limited-color look at fossil hunting. (And I'm a dinosaur-lover, so you'd think I'd be particularly kind towards a book like this.) Nope. So wrong. Still timely, still lovely. I absolutely plan to use this book during my rocks and minerals unit, and I might even plan a National Board lesson around it. ...more
Jayetta Carter-mcfarlin
This picture book is written in poetry format, describing the adventures of a hunter of fossils. Information about fossls, such as trilobites that lives five hundred years agao, dinosaur tracts, and seed ferns are explored. Manyk places are named, such as the rhioceros bone found in the hills of Nebraska, or the sponges in the rocks of an Iowa farm. I would use this book to blend a literacy and science lesson in grades 3 - 5. The science content will lead to a lesson to meet GPS standards S3E1 a ...more
Alexis Levine
If You Are a Hunter of Fossils is a book about environments a fossil hunter person would go to in search of fossils and what are characteristics of different fossils. THis book is written like a poem and could be used for literacy or science for those reasons for children in grades 2nd-5th when discussing fossils and classification.

Debra
Apr 07, 2012 added it
Shelves: science-content
K - 5

Fossils and Human Connection with Nature
Jazelle Washington
Feb 19, 2012 rated it liked it
The book mentions places a hunter of fossils would go to look for fossils, and how some of the fossils would loook. For example, a trilobite would be a fossil that's five hundred millions years old. ...more
Cyan
rated it liked it
Jan 01, 2014
Kari Mae
rated it really liked it
Mar 18, 2013
Lydia
rated it it was amazing
Mar 11, 2011
Robin
rated it really liked it
Aug 12, 2010
Yara
rated it really liked it
Jun 01, 2011
Laura Sorrells
rated it it was amazing
Jul 05, 2009
Linda
rated it liked it
May 27, 2011
Hannah Jane
rated it really liked it
Sep 23, 2012
Aubrey
rated it liked it
Jan 28, 2013
Linda
rated it it was amazing
May 06, 2012
Kelly Williams
rated it it was amazing
Nov 03, 2019
Hunter Byrd
rated it really liked it
Oct 06, 2014
Samantha Neuhaus
rated it it was amazing
Apr 29, 2020
Jenna
rated it liked it
Jan 18, 2020
Heather
rated it really liked it
Jun 03, 2014
Cherie
rated it liked it
Jul 14, 2015
Jannah
rated it it was ok
Jul 20, 2018
Pamela
rated it it was amazing
Apr 15, 2013
Randy Thorne
rated it it was amazing
Nov 11, 2015
Diana
rated it really liked it
Apr 29, 2008
Mark Green
rated it it was amazing
Oct 10, 2019
Lisa
rated it really liked it
Jan 02, 2020
Debbi  Tehrani
rated it really liked it
Jul 17, 2016
January
rated it really liked it
May 15, 2008
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • New Moon (Twilight, #2)
  • Coyote's Guide to Connecting with Nature
  • Sharing Nature with Children
  • The World Is Blue: How Our Fate and the Ocean's Are One
  • Atheopaganism: An Earth-honoring path rooted in science
  • Sharing Nature with Children II
  • Feel the Wind
  • The Moon Seems to Change
  • Nine O'Clock Lullaby
  • Cub's First Winter
  • Spring: An Alphabet Acrostic
  • Hotter Than a Hot Dog!
  • When the Moon Is Full
  • The Crayon Man: the True Story of the Invention of Crayola Crayons
  • On the Same Day in March: A Tour of the World's Weather
  • The Cloud Book
  • All the Light We Cannot See
  • Specials (Uglies, #3)
See similar books…
45 followers
Byrd Baylor has always lived in the Southwest, mainly in Southern Arizona near the Mexican border. She is at home with the southwestern desert cliffs and mesas, rocks and open skies. She is comforted by desert storms. The Tohono O’odham people, previously known as the Papagos, are her neighbors and close friends. She has focused many of her writings on the region’s landscape, peoples, and values. ...more

News & Interviews

Need another excuse to treat yourself to a new book this week? We've got you covered with the buzziest new releases of the day. To create our...
23 likes · 8 comments