Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Complaints” as Want to Read:
The Complaints
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Complaints (Malcolm Fox #1)

by
3.84  ·  Rating details ·  9,105 Ratings  ·  735 Reviews
Nobody likes The Complaints--they're the cops who investigate other cops. It's a department known within the force as "The Dark Side," and it's where Malcolm Fox works. He's a serious man with a father in a nursing home and a sister who persists in an abusive relationship, frustrating problems about which he cannot seem to do anything.

Then the reluctant Fox is given a new
...more
Paperback, 480 pages
Published November 2nd 2011 by Reagan Arthur / Back Bay Books (first published 2009)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Complaints, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Complaints

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  Rating Details
James Thane
Mar 23, 2010 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
With this book, Ian Rankin, the author of the very popular series featuring Scottish detective John Rebus, introduces a new protagonist, Malcolm Fox. Fox is also a Scottish police detective, but he belongs to the Complaints and Conduct division, usually known as the Complaints, which is the Scottish equivalent of Internal Affairs. Fox and his colleagues investigate other cops who have been accused of improper conduct.

As the book opens, Fox is assigned to investigate another detective, Jamie Brec
...more
Ed
Nov 22, 2013 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I read this book in reverse order. I read the second book in the series first but had no difficulty appreciating both truly extraordinary mysteries from, in my view, the master of UK crime fiction, Ian Rankin. This first book in Rankin's new series sets up the characters operating in one of Edinburgh's Internal Affairs units known in the UK as the "Complaints". This is a brilliantly crafted novel that challenged my deductive reasoning process with it's mind numbing plot complexity and surprising ...more
Alexandra Pedro
Finalmente acabei. Não foi uma boa escolha para terminar uma temporada sem ler. Acho que será bom para alguém que goste deste género e este estilo de escrita simples.

Pontos positivos:
. É fácil de ler (embora consuma tempo).
. A história é bem pensada pelo autor.
. Mostra bem a Escócia.
. É tudo claramente resolvido no fim.

Pontos negativos:
. Não há uma visão clara da personalidade de cada personagem e não é fácil o leitor sentir alguma espécie de conexão com alguma delas.
. Embora seja narrado na pri
...more
Carly
Oct 21, 2015 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: mystery
~3.5

**Note: This is a reaction--a few ill-considered opinions not backed up by textual evidence-- rather than a review.**

It's always interesting to read a book from the perspective of the IAD/Complaints/Watchers of the Watchmen. As always, the watchers turn out to be just as corrupt as the watchmen. The Complaints introduces a new protagonist, Malcom Fox, who turns out to be just as rough-edged and difficult as John Rebus. I'm not sure what I think about him or his morals, but I found him a bi
...more
Seth Lynch
Mar 11, 2012 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: crime
I listened to the Audiobook version of this book narrated by Peter Forbes. He did an excellent job. I’ve generally been impressed by the readers of the audiobooks I have listened to – the free librivox ones aren’t in the same league as the paid for versions (or in my case borrowed from the library versions)


This book has lots of threads which are slowly lain before us as the chapters evolve and then tied up nicely at the end. The story focuses on a member of the police complaints who finds himsel
...more
Ben Dutton
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Carol
Oct 10, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
The Complaints by Ian Rankin
Book 1 in the Malcolm Fox series
4 ★’s


From The Book:
Nobody likes The Complaints--they're the cops who investigate other cops. It's a department known within the force as "The Dark Side," and it's where Malcolm Fox works. He's a serious man with a father in a nursing home and a sister who persists in an abusive relationship, frustrating problems about which he cannot seem to do anything.

Then the reluctant Fox is given a new case. There's a cop named Jamie Breck, and h
...more
Akylina
Πάντοτε ξέρω πως κάθε φορά που νιώθω μια λογοτεχνική "κούραση" και χρειάζομαι κάτι ευκολοδιάβαστο, γρήγορο και με πλοκή που θα κρατήσει αμείωτο το ενδιαφέρον μου, μπορώ να καταφύγω στα αγαπημένα μου αστυνομικά. Το συγκεκριμένο, λοιπόν, το είχα αγοράσει πέρυσι θέλοντας να διαβάσω επιτέλους κάτι του Rankin, αλλά ο όγκος του (580 σελίδες αν και pocket) με έκανε να πιστεύω πως αντί να πραγματοποιήσει τους παραπάνω στόχους, θα με κούραζε. Χαίρομαι πολύ όμως που βγήκα λάθος αυτή τη φορά.

Ο πρωταγωνιστή
...more
Simon
Jul 27, 2012 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
I liked the twists and turns of this one. As others have mentioned, I found the pace a little slow and the book could have been shorter.
Craig Pittman
Dec 30, 2013 rated it really liked it
I know Scottish writer Ian Rankin is best known for his award-winning series featuring a detective named John Rebus, but somehow I missed reading all of those. Instead, I stumbled on this book and was intrigued by the title and set-up. I'm really glad I picked it up.

The book focuses on Malcolm Fox, a detective inspector from Edinburgh who works in "The Complaints," a department we in America would refer to as Internal Affairs. Fox has scored a major triumph in a case -- but in short order he is
...more
Lourdes Venard
Feb 07, 2010 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Insp. John Rebus has retired, so from Rankin we now get a different type of cop: Malcolm Fox, who works for The Complaints and Conduct, the cops who investigate other cops. He and his team have just finished a case involving veteran officer Glen Heaton, meaning The Complaints has stirred up some more anger. Fox is also dealing with his sister, who is being physically abused by her live-in boyfriend, when he's asked to start investigating another cop who worked with Heaton, this time as part of a ...more
Lori
Mar 14, 2015 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: crime-fiction
4.5 stars really. An excellent plot line in this book but, following after the amazing Exit Music, this one didn't quite measure up to that fabulous Rebus swan song. The Complaints introduces Malcolm Fox; smart, calculating and a bit of a rule breaker himself. Inside sources told me Fox's and Rebus' paths do intersect in the next Rebus book after Exit Music, so wanted to get to know Fox in his two solo pieces first. I was not one bit disappointed with The Complaints. Although Fox is no Rebus, he ...more
Ian Mapp
May 24, 2010 rated it it was ok  ·  review of another edition
This got off to a great start and I felt it was an improvement on Doors Open.

The Complaints are the internal affairs of the Edinburgh police force. Having put away a dodgy policeman.... Malcolm Fox is given the task of bringing Jamie Breck to justice. There is a paedophile ring run from Australia and Jamie has joined through his credit card but not yet submitted the 25 pictures for full membership.

This is a great start, not least because Jamie Breck is quite charming and diligent at his job. The
...more
Michelle
Sep 18, 2014 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I found myself instantly liking the protagonist Malcolm Fox. He struggles with a history of alcoholism, has a father in a care home, and a sister who is in an abusive relationship and has her own rocky time with drinking. Along with the many things he has to juggle in his personal life, his work in the "Complaints" earns him the contempt and hostility of fellow police officers. Those in the Complaints are asked (none too kindly) how they could "turn on one of their own", and if they are "without ...more
Kristen
Oct 23, 2012 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: serial-mystery, 2012
If you love great mysteries set in different locales, you'll enjoy the Complaints set in Edinburgh, Scotland. The Complaints is the Scottish version of our Internal Affairs. And we're introduced to Scottish police, politics and great locales. Malcolm is part of the Complaints team, when he's embroiled into a real tough case of dirty politics and corrupt policemen. Plenty of twists and turns with tons of drama and curvy surprises to keep you at the edge of the seat. We follow Malcolm's every move ...more
Bettie☯
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Barbpie
Sep 23, 2014 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: scotland
I enjoyed listening to this book on c.d. in my car because it was read by a Scottish person and I love that accent. Malcolm Fox is a likeable if dour hero and I admire his sobriety.
Simone Perren
I liked this book. I didn't love it but it was acceptable. I don't know if maybe Ian Rankin needs a little time to fully engross himself into the character of Malcolm Fox (as this is the debut novel in the series) or if he intends to flesh out the personality a bit more, but in this book I just felt like something was lacking.
Malcolm Fox is a respected member of the Complaints and Conduct department in the police force. He and his team are responsible for investigating other police officers who
...more
Allan MacDonell
Sep 15, 2012 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Ian Rankin’s Detective Inspector John Rebus, of the Edinburgh homicide department, is upon initial encounter, and long after, one of the freshest flawed heroes in crime fiction. Rebus is a juicer, a failure with relationships in general and a bane to specific women, a pain in the ass to his bosses, peers and underlings, a moody Celt given to bestirring the atmospheric misgivings of his brooding soul with the bulky melancholy of Scots troubadour of disquietude Jon Martyn’s most daunted album, Gra ...more
Erin
Jan 18, 2014 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: mystery-series
Read some great reviews of this mystery series, so started with book one and quite enjoyed it, thought I'm not yet quite convinced that I must continue on.

Malcolm Fox is a member of the police division popularly known as "The Complaints" (think Internal Affairs, so you can imagine how well liked they are). If police/crime is your genre, you're going to adore this book - the story is clever, with plenty of double-crosses (what crime is Fox REALLY investigating here? And whom? And why?) and a gre
...more
Nene La Beet
An excellent book with a brilliant plot. I like Rankin's new detective - it's always interesting when the police investigates the police. Inspector Fox is very Rankin'ish, grumpy and quiet and doggedly pursuing his hunches, which he claims he don't believe in. Intelligent and self-searching - he deserves the good woman that he did not find in this first volume. Would've been wrong too.

An added pleasure was the excellent narrator Peter Forbes. Wonderfully Scottish, but much more than that. Am loo
...more
Catherine
Isn Rankin's Malcolm Fox and the Complaints series is terrific. this is the first book in the series which i read when it came out, this reading was by audio book. highly recommended to mystery buffs.
Rosie
I really like Rankin's writing style but I'm unlikely to pick up another Malcolm Fox novel. There's clearly a reason the Rebus series is more popular & well known.
Cindy
Jan 16, 2017 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Re-reading - well narrated - usually no gore, sex, light profanity. Like the series and I recommend it.
Gail
Apr 09, 2011 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
This is a new detective for Ian Rankin, so maybe it will take several books to make him a more interesting person, but so far, I found both the character and the plot rather ho-hum.
Karen
Sep 09, 2009 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: crime, united-kingdom
There is life after Rebus, even if it comes in a package of polar opposites. Rebus was an old school cop - murder squad, Malcolm Fox works for the cops who investigate other cops. Rebus was more than prepared to ignore rules, stretch boundaries and stomp rather resoundingly all over team work. Fox looks for just that sort of behaviour. Rebus was an unreformed grumpy drunk, Fox is a more carefully controlled man with a broken marriage, his drinking under control. They are both solitary men, altho ...more
David Graham
Jun 30, 2014 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I loved the Rebus books, reading all of them over a period of years, starting with Knots and Crosses in the early 90’s then following the series all the way through. After Exit Music which had been set up as the final Rebus book I took a break. I knew that Ian Rankin had started a new series but I wasn’t quite ready to leave Rebus behind which, perhaps strangely, meant it was easier to read other authors. Then a few weeks ago, I came across ‘The Complaints’ and it felt like the right time to giv ...more
LJ
First Sentence: There was a smattering of applause as Malcolm Fox entered the room.

Malcolm Fox works in the Complaints department, the UK equivalent of Internal Affairs. He is assigned to look into fellow cop, Jamie Brock but his instincts are telling him the guy’s not dirty. On a personal front, Malcolm is responsible for his elderly father and concerned about his sister, in a physically abusive relationship. When her boyfriend turns up murdered, Fox is a suspect and he and Brock end up unlikel
...more
Mary Gramlich
Jan 28, 2011 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
THE COMPLAINTS written by Ian Rankin
03/11 - Little, Brown & Company - Hardcover, 448 pages

Where do the good guys finish in the race of life?

Malcolm Fox was one of the good guys. He was a clean cop that monitors the ones that were not always making sure that his principles were upheld. Foxy worked in Edinburgh for the division called The Complaints and Conduct Department and had the character of a slow and steady man making careful decisions and well thought out plans. He took care of his agi
...more
William
Apr 10, 2013 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I read this after the second book in the Malcolm Fox series ("The Impossible Dead"). My reaction is about the same. These are page-turners with pretty stock characters. After two books, I still can't find many distinguishing characteristics for Fox except he is a large guy and a teetotaler because of past alcohol problems.

And, of course, like so many police procedural protagonists, he breaks the rules. Breaks them a lot. I got somewhat tired of the fact that time after time Fox is told not to do
...more
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • Shatter The Bones (Logan McRae, #7)
  • Bad Boy (Inspector Banks, #19)
  • Still Midnight (Alex Morrow #1)
  • A Darker Domain (Inspector Karen Pirie, #2)
  • Bloodline (Tom Thorne, #8)
  • Let The Dead Lie (Detective Emmanuel Cooper, #2)
  • Lonely Hearts (Charlie Resnick, #1)
  • The Price of Butcher's Meat (Dalziel & Pascoe, #23)
33031
AKA Jack Harvey.

Born in the Kingdom of Fife in 1960, Ian Rankin graduated from the University of Edinburgh in 1982 and then spent three years writing novels when he was supposed to be working towards a PhD in Scottish Literature. His first Rebus novel was published in 1987; the Rebus books are now translated into 22 languages and are bestsellers on several continents.

Ian Rankin has been elected a
...more
More about Ian Rankin...

Other Books in the Series

Malcolm Fox (2 books)
  • The Impossible Dead

Share This Book

No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »

“[About a tiresome colleague]: He could bore for Scotland.” 7 likes
“The man nodded and brought a bottle from the glass-fronted fridge,” 2 likes
More quotes…