Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Blood on the Water (Vampire Files, #6)” as Want to Read:
Blood on the Water (Vampire Files, #6)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Blood on the Water (Vampire Files #6)

3.93  ·  Rating Details ·  694 Ratings  ·  12 Reviews
As a journalist in Capone-controlled Chicago, Jack Fleming is used to blood--even though it's from a vampire's perspective. When the new mob boss decides to rid the city of its friendly vampire, Fleming's thirst for the red stuff gets in the way of his safety.
Paperback, 199 pages
Published June 1st 1992 by Ace (first published January 1st 1992)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Blood on the Water, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Blood on the Water

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  Rating Details
Susan
May 22, 2011 Susan rated it really liked it
I always enjoy reading books in Elrod's Fleming series, and Blood on the Water was no different. However it has been a while since I had read the previous book in this series so I found myself a little lost trying to remember what had happened. Regardless of that I really enjoyed seeing Fleming and Escott take on Kyler who was getting suspicious of Jack's abilities as well as getting in the middle of a mob war. Elrod does a great job with her Fleming character, and in this book Jack really tests ...more
Issam
Apr 18, 2015 Issam rated it really liked it
This played out very much luck like a superhero story, where a nemesis finds out a secret identity and goes after the hero's friends and family.

Except, of course, the superhero here is just a humble vampire up against a Chicago mob boss in the Depression era. It's enough of a twist to make things interesting, and the book doesn't disappoint—It's action packed the entire way through, with some good 'ol fashion fisticuffs, to tommy-guns, car chases, and grenade lobbing (for safe measure).

Fleming
...more
Amanda
Aug 17, 2008 Amanda rated it liked it
Recommends it for: Fans of BOTH Rachael Morgan and Nero Wolfe
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Kati
Better than the previous book. It was interesting to find out that Jack's powers had their limits and what would happen if he crossed them. Also, I like it when the books focus more on the friendship between Jack and Escott, their banter is always hilarious. The ending felt too open, though. Yes, Jack's situation was partially resolved with Kyler's death but it wasn't the end of it. I hoped for a more permanent solution with a shift to new plots in the next book.

Kimberly
Aug 14, 2012 Kimberly rated it it was amazing
One of the best vampire stories I've read. There's a little romance (it's really hard to find a vampire story that doesn't), but it is 90% very entertaining story line. If you like this genre, I would not pass these novels up.
Olivia
Sep 17, 2008 Olivia rated it really liked it
P.N. Elrod can write a heck of a novel but this one... it wasn't as good as the others in this series. Well, I kinda take that back, it was just as good until the last chapter. There just seemed to be something lacking from the ending.
Jcwblackstone
Nov 23, 2008 Jcwblackstone rated it it was amazing
This one is great
Elaine
Jan 16, 2016 Elaine rated it really liked it
This series has improved as its gone on.
Kevin Connery
Feb 09, 2010 Kevin Connery rated it really liked it
Shelves: fiction
Vampire Files #6 Back to serial form, with a lot of back-references to the first book--the only one I missed so far. :(
Helen
Mar 31, 2011 Helen rated it really liked it
#6 fast paced and witty as usual
Lucy Mullock
Lucy Mullock rated it liked it
May 20, 2012
Astrid
Astrid rated it really liked it
Apr 27, 2016
Sharni
Sharni rated it really liked it
Nov 28, 2015
Nico
Nico rated it it was amazing
Nov 19, 2008
Varne
Varne rated it really liked it
Aug 22, 2011
C.J. Ellisson
C.J. Ellisson rated it it was amazing
Mar 11, 2009
Sylvia Cowell
Sylvia Cowell rated it really liked it
May 18, 2014
James Sheets
James Sheets rated it it was amazing
Jun 06, 2013
Raymond
Raymond rated it it was amazing
Sep 04, 2011
Nickodemos
Nickodemos rated it really liked it
Jan 17, 2012
Rae
Rae rated it really liked it
Feb 09, 2012
Eric
Eric rated it really liked it
Jan 26, 2015
Lisa Connor
Lisa Connor rated it liked it
Sep 18, 2016
Amy Johns
Amy Johns rated it really liked it
Jul 03, 2011
Victoria
Victoria rated it it was amazing
Mar 08, 2012
Beth
Beth rated it really liked it
Sep 26, 2012
Pam Winkler
Pam Winkler rated it really liked it
Mar 04, 2011
Candace
Candace rated it really liked it
Apr 27, 2009
Kit
Kit rated it liked it
Dec 25, 2007
Repairmanbruce
Repairmanbruce rated it really liked it
May 26, 2017
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • Ring of Knives (The Dead Man, #2)
  • Daughter of the Night (Austra Family, #4)
  • Smoke and Ashes (Tony Foster #3)
  • Keeper of the King (Ethical Vampires #1)
  • A Hundred Words for Hate (Remy Chandler, #4)
  • Angel Souls and Devil Hearts (Shadow Saga #2)
  • States of Grace (Saint-Germain, #18)
  • Paint it Black (Sonja Blue, #3)
  • Haunted (Anna Strong Chronicles, #8)
723801
Patricia Nead Elrod is an American fantasy writer specializing in novels about vampires. Her work falls into areas of fantasy and (in some cases) mystery or historical fiction, but normally not horror, since her vampires are the heroes. -Wikipedia
More about P.N. Elrod...

Other Books in the Series

Vampire Files (1 - 10 of 12 books)
  • Bloodlist (Vampire Files, #1)
  • Lifeblood (Vampire Files, #2)
  • Bloodcircle (Vampire Files, #3)
  • Art in the Blood (Vampire Files, #4)
  • Fire in the Blood (Vampire Files, #5)
  • A Chill in the Blood (Vampire Files, #7)
  • The Dark Sleep (Vampire Files, #8)
  • Lady Crymsyn (Vampire Files, #9)
  • Cold Streets (Vampire Files, #10)
  • Song in the Dark (Vampire Files, #11)

Share This Book