Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Touched (Sense Thieves, #1)” as Want to Read:
Touched (Sense Thieves, #1)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Touched

(Sense Thieves #1)

by
3.97  ·  Rating details ·  6,096 ratings  ·  636 reviews
Remy OMalley heals people with touchbut every injury she cures becomes her own. Living in a household with an abusive stepfather, she has healed untold numbers of broken bones, burns,and bruises. And then one night her stepfather goes too far.

Being sent to live with her estranged father offers a clean start and she is eager to take it. Enter Asher Blackwell. Once a
...more
Paperback, 304 pages
Published November 27th 2012 by Kensington Teen (first published January 1st 2012)
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Touched, please sign up.
Popular Answered Questions
Sam Yes. It starts off with a girl with an abusive step father and he remains an antagonist through out the story.…moreYes. It starts off with a girl with an abusive step father and he remains an antagonist through out the story. (less)
Eliza Definitely a 10! This book was the first YA book where I actually cared about the main character and was able to be emotional engaged in a story.…moreDefinitely a 10! This book was the first YA book where I actually cared about the main character and was able to be emotional engaged in a story. (less)

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 3.97  · 
Rating details
 ·  6,096 ratings  ·  636 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Touched (Sense Thieves, #1)
Giselle
Jan 10, 2012 rated it did not like it
Shelves: arc, own
Edit: Ugh, and now he can read her mind. That's it. I'm done. DNF.

I'm not quite done yet, but let's see...

This girl moves with her dad to this new tiny town. She meets a boy who seems to be intrigued by her immediately. He lives with his siblings, is insanely rich, and is a little mysterious with a reputation to never stick with one girl.

Then when we learn more about him and his powers, we learn that Remy lets him feel again, which is something that he craves--dangerously so--and that him and
...more
Booknut
Hats off to a book where the guys in the neighbourhood seem to all magically pass puberty with flying colours!



So Remy is a Healer. Asher is a Protector. And every time they're near each other it's kinda like this:


But being a Healer is dangerous...for both of them. Gabe, Asher's brother, tries to warn them - acting like a total jerk in the process. You can just imagine his face every time Asher disregards his advice:


Remy swears that she sees her evil (twisted, sadistic, creepy and
...more
Wine Country
"I don't want to die"

Color me awesome!!! Touched completely blew me away and totally exceeded my expectations!!

Remy comes from an abused home, taken away from her father by her mother when she was born she has lived with her mother and step-father and endured his abuse alongside her mother for many years. But Remy is no normal girl, for she has the ability to heal others and herself, the catch, any injury she heals she absorbs herself and then must use her own energy to heal it. If thats not
...more
Miniwriter12
Can you say Twilight rip-off?

Yeah. That's what this is. No doubt about it.



This was.. An interesting, pathetic attempt at copying Twilight. First, the characters:
Remy:First thing I thought of when I heard this name: Renesme. Don't you think so? Remy. Renesme. MMm-hmm. That's what I thought. Next, Jackson tries to make her such a "strong" character. She's always like I'm SO brave. No. You're not. Trust me, she is weak. Heck, she's weaker than Bella. Ugh. She makes me sick. I mean, she's getting

...more
Zaynab
Jan 10, 2017 rated it really liked it
This paranormal book got me like WHAT!.....but in a good way.



4 Touched stars!!!!!
A.C. Gaughen
Nov 07, 2012 rated it it was amazing
You might think this book is about paranormalcy--and you'd be forgiven. That's certainly in there, and done well, and originally, and with a unique spin that grazes against Janice Hardy but takes it in a cool, different direction. Remy steals pain from people, and heals them by taking the pain upon herself--sometimes with disastrous results.

You might think this book is about romance--again, yes, technically, that's in there. And it's a gorgeous romance between Remy and Asher, two lonely young
...more
Chelsie
Wow. This was really kinda disappointing. I was really expecting a book with a new kinda story...... But it wasn't. Honestly, it was like Jackson took a bunch of YA paranormal romance novels, like Twilight and Die for Me and a few others, and tried to cram them into one book.
Remy goes to live with her dad after her abusive stepfather goes too far, and hospitalizes her, which usually, wouldn't be a big deal for her, because she has this uncanny ability to heal people and herself, with just a
...more
Savannah (Books With Bite)
Aug 25, 2011 rated it it was amazing
You know those types of books that give such a rush that you want to do nothing but dive into the book over and over again? Yeah, that's this book. Touched is such a great and amazing story!

The best part about this book is the plot. I loved that it started off hard and raw, leading the reader down a painful road. Then it let up, allowing the reader to stand up, brush off our shoulder, and step into a whole new world. The author did an amazing job in creating a great back round history. I love a
...more
RIN ಠ_ಠ
3 stars

When I saw the early summary for this book, the first thing that came to mind was that the girl had the same ability as the protagonist in Touch of Power, a book I had just finished recently back then. Plus the titles are rather similar too. But then I came across this interview and thought it why not? It sounds interesting.

Then the early reviews came in and mentioned the similarities to Twilight but I still read this because I was curious. For the early part of the book it was really
...more
Michelle
Nov 14, 2011 rated it did not like it
This was like a really bad twilight fanfic
Corrine Jackson
Nov 02, 2011 added it  ·  (Review from the author)
Hi Everyone!

Why has the German edition of TOUCHED been published months in advance of the English edition? I get asked this question often, and I thought I would give you a peek at the happenings. Honestly, it's a simple matter of logistics and publishing schedules. My debut novel (IF I LIE) was slated to release Aug 2012 with TOUCHED out three months later in the US. Then TOUCHED sold to a German publisher who had room in their schedule to release the trilogy much, much sooner. And since they
...more
Kimberly Sabatini
Nov 23, 2011 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: mg-ya
I have to start off by saying I just love the name Remy. I know it's a silly thing, but a name can just set the tone for a book and the more I read, the more I unraveled the multifaceted girl behind the unique moniker. What I loved about Remy was that she was a beautifully balanced mix of strength and weakness. A also adored that she wasn't a block head. By that I mean that I've noticed a trend where the MC is almost too heavily vested in fighting off the good things that happen. Realistically, ...more
Shymaa
Mar 17, 2013 rated it really liked it
Recommends it for: twilight, the hunger games fans
I really loved touched, I was hooked from page 2!! Just throw you in the middle of the storm with no explanations, LOVED IT!
But many compare touched with twilight and I have to agree there's similarities but it's so different at the same time
The biggest difference it that Remy is a warrior, not damsel in distress! she can take care of herself, I loved Remy and I really wish I have half her strength
Don't get me wrong I'm twilight fan and I see nothing wrong in being damsel in distress every once
...more
Nara
Nov 09, 2012 rated it it was ok
Shelves: fantasy, magic, reviewed
One thing I can say about Touched is that I would have enjoyed it a lot more had I not read Twilight and Touch of Power before. Basically, there are way too many parallels between the books that seriously impaired my enjoyment. Let me explain (contains some minor spoilers for Twilight and Touched):

Twilight vs Touched
Twilight: Protagonist Bella Swan moves to her father's home in Forks when her mother meets a new man.
Touched: Protagonist Remy O'Malley moves to her father's home in Blackwell Falls
...more
Lili
Dec 07, 2012 rated it really liked it
I admit, I was hesitant to start this book. The whole magical powers enacted by touching people idea has been done before many times in YA lit. I can think of at least two stories Ive read already with similar concepts and another one that I know about just off the top of my head. But Jackson manages to tell such a unique intriguing story with one of the strongest heroines Ive come across in a while. I cant say I loved this one, but I greatly enjoyed it.

To begin, this book is not for everyone.
...more
Sarah
(Source: I own a copy of this book.)
17-year-old Remy has a special gift she can heal people with just a touch, and absorb their injury into herself. When Remy and her mother both end up in hospital following a beating from Remys step-father, Remy goes to live with her father instead, and meets bad-boy Asher, who seems to like her.
Why is Remy able to heal? What secret is Asher hiding? And who else knows Remys secret?


This was a really good story, even if it was a bit cliché at times.

I liked Remy
...more
Brigid ✩
Dec 16, 2012 marked it as to-read
Is it just me or does this sound like it has the exact same premise as Bruiser by Neal Shusterman...? Oh well, sounds pretty cool anyway.
Italy
Jun 06, 2016 rated it it was amazing
I love this book so much!! I am not ashamed that I cried when I thought the worst was happening to Asher and Remy, but they got through it, for now anyways.
Kate
Jul 29, 2011 marked it as to-read
Isn't this basically just a girl version of Bruiser?
Sourour  Chek
May 18, 2018 rated it liked it
I felt a little of twilight in there !!
so Remy is a healer and Asher is a protector .in the past they both were alies but after the protectors discovered that by killing a healer they become immortal they changed sides ..

Asher and his family killed healers but by accident thus they are bound to live for eternity ..but is it really what they want .!


Remy and Asher meet and Sparks happened like literally ugh!! they both try to stay away from each other but after healing him and something changes
...more
Henrietta
Dec 12, 2012 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Living with an abusive stepfather is awful. With a mother who keeps begging her not to report the abuse to the authority, Remy feels betrayed, hurt and unloved. When her biological father decides to step in and take her away from the abusive household, Remy is unsure of whether she truly deserves to have a fresh start. People from her new school seem nice. Her stepmother and half-sister are kind and supportive but for some reason she cant explain, Remy feels like she is being watched. Is she ...more
Kate ✨ is a dreamer
Dec 15, 2014 rated it really liked it
Recommends it for: Lux lovers
Recommended to Kate by: Grace(ish)
4.5 stars

Today, I find myself with nothing to read (on hand). With my phone MIA and unreplaced (I know, I know, however will I live?) I have no NetGalley, no iBooks, and nothing to read. So guess what I picked up? Dickens. Man in talented, can really string together sentances, but though A Tale of Two Cities was a brilliant read, not much for a rainy day. God bless my bestie for loaning out her Kindle!!



I find myself with Touched, which immediately piqued my interest. (Your welcome for
...more
Damaris (GoodChoiceReading)
Touched left me a bit confused. I enjoyed it, but I felt like I was reading more a YA contemporary rather than a fantasy/paranormal story. Even though there was plenty of healing going on, there were a lot of family issues and fun high school times. I would have liked a little more on why Remy has this power to heal, and how. You eventually find this out, but not until more than half of the book. I guess I jumped into it expecting this whole world on healers. Dont get me wrong I enjoyed the ...more
Asmaa
Rating: 4.5/5

Favorite quote:
How can you possibly think Id want you to sacrifice yourself to save me? As if there wasnt enough danger, now I have to worry youll take a bullet for me.
My arms crossed as his anger ignited my own.
As if, you jerk. You can take your own stupid bullet.

This is my second book of Corrine Jackson and I'm really happy to see that I loved it as much as I loved If I Lie; though the two stories couldn't be more different, my enjoyment and the tears I shed certainly prove that
...more
Soumi
We have read or heard about touch of death kind of story, more or less; as for example Shatter Me or Cursed, where a death is possible with touch of a bare hand. But if you are fooled by the title Touched, then let me tell you its definitely not what you think, rather its kind of opposite where a life can be saved by a touch.
Touched was unputdownable story of a girl who can mend others wounds, making them of her own. I was immediately intrigued by the plot line which is vivid and detailed,
...more
Sophie Riggsby / allthingsequilateral
*Review posted on Page Turners Blog on 2/24/2013*

The entire time I read Touched, I kept thinking that this is how a paranormal story should be written. Ive read so many paranormal plot lines (as Im sure you all have, too) and frankly, Ive been a little burned out on the use of all too familiar tropes and clichés in recent releases. But Corrine is a masterful writer and in her capable hands, the story of Remy becomes unbelievably real.

First theres Remys backstory the reason she went to live with
...more
Mav
Jul 15, 2011 marked it as to-read
Shelves: overdrive, axis-360
I was digging the premise until I found a longer description on this blog:

Remy OMalley heals people with touchbut every injury she cures becomes her own. Living in a household with an abusive stepfather, she has healed untold numbers of broken bones, burns,and bruises. And then one night her stepfather goes too far.

Being sent to live with her estranged father offers a clean start and she is eager to take it. Enter Asher Blackwell. Once a Protector of Healers, Asher sacrificed his senses to
...more
Ornella (Nyx)
Nov 18, 2012 rated it it was ok
Shelves: abandoned-series
Turns out it has A LOT of Twilight scenes. Characters may be different but the story progressed the same as Twilight with the exception that Remy has a backbone and is Healer and the threat came more from her past than from the Protectors.

I was willing to put aside how similar it was to Twilight at one point cause I liked Remy but as it went on, Remy just started losing points with me left and right.

I just didn't understand how that whole conflict could be had when Dean is just a human and she
...more
Lauren (Sugar & Snark)
Sep 13, 2012 rated it it was ok
Shelves: ya
I feel a bit bad giving this book such a low rating because it is not a bad book nor is it badly written. It is just didn't manage to hold my attention.

I think the problem might be that I have read some really great books lately, with either intense romance, original story lines or just great plots and this book, sadly had neither.

To be totally honest it all felt like I had read it before or like maybe the author had found a step by step formula to writing Young Adult Paranormal and wasn't
...more
Ifahh
Oct 02, 2012 rated it did not like it
Shelves: did-not-finish
Ugh. What a promising premise. A Healer. WHAT AN INTERESTING CHARACTER THAT COULD BE FURTHER DEVELOPED WITH. And what does this book do? Careens it straight to the Twilight zone.

The book actually starts out okay, honestly. I read it and went, okayyy, this girl has some balls. Perhaps this'll be different. Boy, was I wrong.
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 next »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Gravity (The Taking, #1)
  • Starling (Starling, #1)
  • Storm (Elemental, #1)
  • Valkyrie Rising (Valkyrie, #1)
  • Altered (Altered, #1)
  • Hunting Lila (Lila, #1)
  • Skylark (Skylark, #1)
  • Undeadly (The Reaper Diaries, #1)
  • Otherkin (Otherkin, #1)
  • Evertrue (Everneath, #3)
  • Indelible (The Twixt, #1)
  • Erased (Altered, #2)
  • The Originals
  • Crazy Cupid Love
  • The Dark Divine (The Dark Divine, #1)
  • A Beautiful Dark (A Beautiful Dark, #1)
  • Touch of Frost (Mythos Academy, #1)
  • White Hot Kiss (The Dark Elements, #1)
See similar books…
557 followers
Young adult author Corrine Jackson lives in San Francisco and has over ten years experience in marketing. She has bachelor and master degrees in English, and an MFA in Creative Writing from Spalding University. Her novels include If I Lie (Simon Pulse) and the Sense Thieves trilogy (KTeen), comprised of Touched, Pushed, and Ignited (5/27/14). Visit her at CorrineJackson.com or on Twitter at ...more

Other books in the series

Sense Thieves (3 books)
  • Pushed (Sense Thieves, #2)
  • Ignited (Sense Thieves #3)

Related Articles

Some people love books. Some people fall in love. And some people fall in love with books about falling in love. Every month our team sorts thro...
56 likes · 13 comments
“I heard you calling to me, love. I'm sorry it took me so long it get here.” 5 likes
“How can you possibly think I’d want you to sacrifice yourself to save me? As if there wasn’t enough danger, now I have to worry you’ll take a bullet for me.”
My arms crossed as his anger ignited my own.
“As if, you jerk. You can take your own stupid bullet.”
4 likes
More quotes…