Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Click, Clack, Splish, Splash: A Counting Adventure” as Want to Read:
Blank 133x176
Click, Clack, Splish, ...
 
by
Doreen Cronin
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Click, Clack, Splish, Splash: A Counting Adventure

(Farmer Brown's Barnyard Tales)

3.70  ·  Rating details ·  843 ratings  ·  144 reviews

1 farmer sleeping.

2 feet creeping

3 buckets piled high.

4 chickens standing by.

Duck is about to trick poor Farmer Brown once again. While the farmer is sleeping the afternoon away, Duck and the other animals are planning a most unusual fishing trip. Sneaking past Farmer Brown is going to be as easy as 1, 2, 3!

This numerical adventure for the very youngest Duck fans brings

...more
Hardcover, 24 pages
Published March 5th 2011 by Simon & Schuster Children's Publishing (first published January 1st 2006)
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Click, Clack, Splish, Splash, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Click, Clack, Splish, Splash

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 3.70  · 
Rating details
 ·  843 ratings  ·  144 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Click, Clack, Splish, Splash: A Counting Adventure
Archit Ojha
Mar 10, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
"9 mice stick a note on the door : Gone Fishing!"

This counting book has humor and sweetness. A little mischievous as well. Contains excessive cuteness.
Abigail
Dec 08, 2018 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: Fans of Farmer Brown & His Animal Companions / Readers Looking for Engaging Counting Books
The animals of Farmer Brown's farmyard return in this amusing counting adventure, intent on playing a prank on their human caretaker. With Duck (naturally) leading the way, everyone from the chickens (four of them) to the cows (five in all) get in on the act. In the end, Farmer Brown is confronted with a very fishy surprise...

Like Click, Clack, Quackity-Quack: An Alphabetical Adventure , which featured the farmyard animals from Click, Clack, Moo: Cows That Type in a more story-centric
...more
Alex Gallaher
Sep 24, 2017 rated it liked it
Title: Click, Clack, Splish, Splash: A Counting Adventure
Author: Doreen Cronin
Illustrator: Betsy Lewin
Genre: Counting Book
Theme: Boats, animals
Opening Line:
“1 farmer sleeping.”
Brief Summary:
Click, Clack, Splish, Splash is a counting book that incorporates a farmer and his animals. They go on a mission to return fish in the farmer’s fish tank to the open water.
Review 1:
Hazel Rochman
Booklist, Jan 1, 2006 (Vol. 201, No. 9)
http://www.clcd.com.ezaccess.librarie...
“From ‘1 farmer sleeping,’ ‘two feet
...more
Jill
I like concept books that contain a story as well as the concept. This one is simple, but still mischievous and interesting.
Jenna
Not as good as Click, Clack, Moo, but still entertaining enough. The parents enjoyed the twist at the end.
Jordan
Feb 06, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Click, Clack, Splish, Splash, is a cute interactive counting story that could be used with anyone who is learning to count. The story only counts from 1 - 10, but I like how it also counts backwards from 10 - 1 at the end. The illustrations look to be done in watercolor, and they cater to a more mature audience. When I think of counting books I think of big block numbers with a distinct amount of counters beside it - this book varies from that. The counters are present and so are the numbers, ...more
Lexi Radlove
This book is all about different animals on a farm. this book is intended to help with counting so there are a different amount of animals for each number. As far as the pictures, I wish there was more going on on the pages besides just the white background and the animals. I liked how there was a story to follow that helped keep things interesting. The book not only counted up 1 to 10 but it also decreased 10 back to 1. It was a bit confusing to follow and not a book I plan in the future.
Nancy Kotkin
Text: 4 stars
Illustrations: 4 stars

Counting picture book that tells a story about farm animals on a rescue mission. Counts forward from 1 to 10, then backward from 10 down to 1. Fun ending. Illustrations add to the humor. Part of Doreen Cronin's farm animal series that also includes Click Clack Moo.
Tessa
Sep 25, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Having this book in the class library will give students more opportunities to get some practice in with some beginning counting lessons. They could read it with friends, or a partner, or even by themselves. I think everyone would benefit from having this book for various reasons. More practice and helps them stay sharp with past information.
Miss Sarah
All the animals on Farmer Brown's farm are packing up and heading somewhere. Where are they going and how are the fish getting there? each page counts up then down again. Simple and easy to follow. pictures add a lot. toddler and up
Nereida Garcia
Jun 07, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: counting
I've always loved there book and I enjoy them even more since it teaches how to count. The colors and illustrations of the book make you want to keep reading. The students could count the barn animals in each page.
Shelby Miller
Oct 18, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: children-s-book
I enjoyed that this book provided a storyline along with the counting examples, so it may keep some children more interested to get to the end of the book. It also rhymes, which helps make it interesting and fun.
Topics: counting, colors, rhyming, onomatopoeia, farm animals, pets.
Diane Russon
Mar 28, 2019 rated it did not like it  ·  review of another edition
This book is not the same caliber as her other adorable stories. Though the "Gone Fishing" sign was clever.

For children who would think of copying the crime and releasing aquarium fish in a stream or pond it could be a disaster for the ecosystem.
Amy
Jul 20, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Read by Christy to Gavin
Tracy Morton
Dec 01, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: picture-books
There are not a lot of words in this book so it is appropriate for a younger audience. The animals work together to free goldfish from an aquarium. This is a counting book.
Pamela Powell
Great book for young children to help "read" by identifying the numerals on the page and noticing the rhymes in the text. Very cute addition to the wonderful books by this duo!
Amy
Jul 05, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: storytime
Poor Farmer Brown - he just keeps putting up with duck and his antics. This is a cute, counting story for a water/fish theme.
Ashlin Edmisten
Sep 27, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: childrens, zz2017
This is a cute and fun counting book for preschoolers.
Farhana Afroz
Jun 13, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
A funny book to teach counting to the children. The story and the illustrations both are excellent. Enjoyed reading this book.
Melissa Butler
This is a great book for counting and has rhyming throughout the story.
Molly
A counting book featuring the animals from "Click, Clack, Moo." It is not as good as that book but has the same fun and mischief.
Vicki
Different numbers of farm animals work together to free napping Farmer Brown's ten goldfish. Fun way to learn more than just numbers.
Cat Juggler
Apr 24, 2019 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: Teachers, including parents, of early readers.
Full page, fun illustrations.
The children loved this.
Christina
A cute concept book. Kids will need sharp eyes or a second reading to pick up on the where the goldfish come from. Either way they will enjoy this.
Rosa Cline
Aug 05, 2017 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: kids, 2017
Using Farmer Brown and his character animals on his farm from the "Click Clack Moo" books; this one teaches counting up and then back down to 0. All to save the goldfish.
Cara
This was a little too easy for my son, but it was good practice (it would be perfect for a beginner reader) and he enjoyed reading it to me.
Bethe
Farmer Brown's animals in a counting book, rhyming text, fun for the PreK crowd.
Nicole
In this book all the animals on the farmers farm work together to go fishing while the farmer is sleeping. Each animal or group of animals has their own task to accomplish. For example, it’s the goats job to load the boat and the mices job to leave a note. Once they are all ready to go they put the fish from the fish tank in buckets and load them onto the boat. After they get away from the shore they dump all the fish into the pond. Finally the farmer wakes up to find that all the fish in his ...more
Olivia
Feb 15, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: pk-5
Title: Click, Clack, Splish, Splash: a Counting Adventure
Author: Doreen Cronin
Illustrator: Besty Lewin
Genre: Concept Book-Counting Book
Theme(s): Counting, Barnyard Animals,
Opening line/sentence: “1 farmer sleeping. 2 feet creeping.”
Brief Book Summary: This counting book uses farm animals (from Click Clack Moo Cows that Type) who go on a sneaky fishing trip. The go and get 10 fish for Farmer Brown’s fish tank. Different numbers of animals are used to exemplify the counting nature of the
...more
Ms Threlkeld
Entertaining rhyming book of familiar characters with an unexpected ending.
« previous 1 3 4 5 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Mouse's First Fall
  • Because of an Acorn
  • If You Give a Pig a Party
  • A Stone Sat Still
  • Mouse's First Halloween
  • I Am Cow, Hear Me Moo!
  • Lost in the Library: A Story of Patience & Fortitude
  • Pete the Kitty and the Groovy Playdate
  • Mouse's First Summer
  • Pete the Cat: Twinkle, Twinkle, Little Star
  • Duck! Rabbit!: (Bunny Books, Read Aloud Family Books, Books for Young Children)
  • Honey
  • Baby Bear, Baby Bear, What Do You See?
  • Wemberly Worried
  • Blue Hat, Green Hat
  • Freight Train
  • Tree: A Peek-Through Picture Book
  • Nest
See similar books…
329 followers
Doreen Cronin was a practicing attorney in Manhattan when her first book Click, Clack Moo: Cows That Type became a publishing success. But her book was not published overnight. In fact, she had written this barnyard tale even before attending law school but only received rejection letters from publishers. Five years after submitting the original manuscript she got a call from a publisher who ...more

Other books in the series

Farmer Brown's Barnyard Tales (1 - 10 of 18 books)
  • Click, Clack, Moo: Cows That Type
  • Giggle, Giggle, Quack
  • Duck for President
  • Click, Clack, Quackity-Quack: An Alphabetical Adventure
  • Dooby Dooby Moo
  • Thump, Quack, Moo: A Whacky Adventure
  • Click, Clack, Boo!: A Tricky Treat
  • Click, Clack, Peep!
  • Click, Clack, Ho! Ho! Ho!
  • Click, Clack, Surprise!