Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Red Sails in the Fallout” as Want to Read:
Red Sails in the Fallout
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Red Sails in the Fallout

(Gamma World)

3.91  ·  Rating details ·  124 ratings  ·  18 reviews
In the fall of 2012, scientists at the Large Hadron Collider in Geneva, Switzerland, embarked on a series of high-energy experiments. No one knows exactly what went wrong, but in the blink of an eye, thousands of possible universes all condensed into a single reality . . . .
Between a desert and a dried up sea lies the town of Watering Hole, the only oasis for miles and the
...more
Paperback, 307 pages
Published July 5th 2011 by Wizards of the Coast (first published January 1st 2011)
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Red Sails in the Fallout, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Red Sails in the Fallout

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 3.91  · 
Rating details
 ·  124 ratings  ·  18 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Red Sails in the Fallout
Derek
My faded memories of Gamma World--has it been thirty years? Cripes, yes it has--are of a confusing salamagundi of ancient nuclear/biological cataclysm and superscientific artifacts and mutant powers and repurposed twentieth century objects and a bunch of sixth graders not really knowing what to do with any of this but wanting to play the gopher with laser beams coming from its frickin' head.

Regardless of whatever it was back then, this incarnation of the setting tries to resolve the crazy-kitche
...more
Travis
Jul 29, 2011 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: reviewed
Red Sails in the Fallout by Paul Kidd

Red Sails in the Fallout is a stand-alone novel as well as the second book released in the new Gamma World line of novels. The first novel in the Gamma World line is Sooner Dead by Mel Odom. These novels are not connected. Gamma World is a real world post-apocalyptic setting of Dungeons and Dragons. Paul Kidd has written a few other Dungeons and Dragons based novels; White Plume Mountain, Descent into the Depths of the Earth, and Queen of the Demonweb Pits fo
...more
Carl
Jan 06, 2012 rated it really liked it
I enjoyed the author's Greyhawk trilogy (White Plume Mountain, Descent into the Depths of the Earth, Queen of the Demonweb Pits) for the fun characters, so I read this one as well. Likeable characters doing things that matter in a fun romp through a post-apocalyptic wonderland.

Best captured by this back cover blurb: "But when the uberhuman Benek, and his love of croygenically frozen
brides, enters into the picture, what follows is an adventure for the ages."

...more
Jeremy
Aug 22, 2011 rated it it was amazing
I believe this is now my favorite single book. At about 70% adventure, 20% comedy, and 10% sexy its the perfect blend. It shares a lot with his "Fangs of K'aath" novel, but with a sci-fi setting and a bit more lighthearted. I truly hope this becomes a series. This will definitely be a book I'll read again.
I would like to note that I have practically no previous experience with the "Gamma World" RPG setting, so I can't say how a fan of the setting will find this book. If the RPG is even half li
...more
David
Sep 02, 2011 rated it it was amazing
Enjoyed this a lot more than the first book. Not that the first wasn't good, this just felt more like the Gamma World I was familiar with and enjoyed. The mutations, the humor, the super-science, all the fun of the game was nicely packaged in this story. Now if they'd do more like this... ...more
Chriss
Jul 09, 2011 added it
Shelves: adventure, fantasy
I'm loving it so far; humorous postapocolyptic adventure. Characters are great and the writing is fun. The opening action scene needed tweaking. ...more
Allen McDonnell
An okay adventure story

This novel is set in a later day version of the Gamma World RPG game world. Because the game itself has mutated so much from the first edition I played back in the 1980's the book was all new territory, not what I was hoping for. All of the Dungeons and Dragons novels were set in early versions of that game so I expected the Gamma World novels to follow the same pattern. Instead of being a straight up adventure in a post apocalypse world this novel follows a series of stra
...more
Peter  Drummond
Feb 15, 2022 rated it liked it
Shelves: alt-history
A cute, if somewhat superficial, taste of Gamma World’s 4th edition.

From the beginning, I found myself infatuated with this setting and its frantic vitality, and I wanted to read some of its licensed fiction to get a taste of what Wizards’ thinks the line should feel like.

I found the cast of surprisingly upbeat anthropomorphic lab rats, kangaroos with antennae, bird mounts with limited vocabulary, and three-headed man-eating plants more charming than they had any right to be.

Nothing left me wa
...more
Roachkin
Mar 10, 2012 rated it liked it
Shelves: post-apocalyptic
This book was certainly a thing I could read. That sounds a bit harsh. The fact is there's some really great stuff in this, but the good goes by so fast. Paul Kidd enjoys describing landscapes and he does this well, but really when there are basically three distinct landscapes within the entirety of the book, how much of a thing is this? His characters are wonderful ideas and he plainly delights in writing dialogue but when the dialogue is a repetitive buddy cop style back and forth that burgeon ...more
Dustin
I have to say I enjoyed the hell out of this, and it's not just because it's tie-in fiction of a game setting I really enjoy. Paul Kidd has a way of taking absurd character concepts and really making them shine. The main characters are a precognitive quoll, a chainsaw wielding lab-rat, and a sapient swarm of earwigs, and the author does a fantastic job of making them distinct from one another and making you care about their adventures.

I would recommend this for fans of fantast, sci-fi, gonzo po
...more
Kim
Dec 11, 2013 rated it really liked it
Shelves: sci-fi-fantasy
A cute, albeit weird, tale of a mutated marsupial and lab rat who go on a grand adventure in a post apocalyptic world, becoming friends and saving the world. I want to read more!!! Solid female lead characters in a Gamma-World type setting. The characters are reasonably well developed and engaging. The setting is not heavy on realism but it does conform to its own rule set.
Kathryn
Jan 03, 2013 rated it it was amazing
Pure silly adventure. I laughed so hard through this book. Wig-wig is one of the best characters ever.
Skloodzi
Jul 21, 2011 rated it liked it
Pretty good. Too bad Wizards screwed over Paul Kidd tho.
Michael
Mar 24, 2019 rated it really liked it
After enjoying Sooner Dead by Mel Odom set in the Gamma World universe back in August of last year, I was somewhat eager to read the other Gamma World novel, Red Sails in the Fallout by Paul Kidd but it was a little more difficult unfortunately to find a good copy. I did finally find one and I'm glad I did as it was certainly the better of the two.

This story follows Shaani, a mutated lab rat (and scientist) and Xoota, a mutated rabbit (and excellent warrior) as they venture off into the desert
...more
Joel Flank
Dec 01, 2021 rated it really liked it
Red Sails in the Fallout was a fun enjoyable read, with just the right mix of whimsy, gonzo over the top super-science and crazy mutations you'd expect from a fun loving romp through a post-apocalyptic wasteland of Gamma World. If you're unfamiliar with Gamma World, it's the original post apocalyptic tabletop RPG from TSR, the makers of Dungeons and Dragons. It is the source of inspiration for games like Wasteland and Fallout, but was even weirder than either of them. The original 1st edition of ...more
Greg
May 07, 2018 rated it liked it
It's silly and it's fun. It almost gets serious a couple of times, but nah, why bother?

One of two novels written in the Gamma World role-playing game setting. You don't have to know what that is to enjoy the book, but obviously it helps. Or maybe it doesn't. If, like me, you are only familiar with the first two "more serious" editions of the game (relatively speaking), this Gamma setting (from either the 4th or 7th edition, depending on how you count) it might be off-putting at first to see the
...more
Landon
May 04, 2022 rated it it was ok
The book has a lot going for it, but I just could not get into it.
Gamma World's strong point is its absurdity and over the top nature. In a game this is a great thing, but in this story it felt jarring. The author did a great job creating interesting and well developed characters, but this only emphasized how out of the place it felt in this world.
...more
E J
Aug 22, 2021 rated it it was ok
Really fun and funny at first but then loses steam because of repetitiveness. Ultimately, the whole thing felt flat. Lots of Australiana atmosphere and references which made the story immersive and occasionally amusing. Except Shaani sounds more like a posh Brit than an Aussie. Should've spent more time at the starport with the clone army. ...more
David Jolley
rated it really liked it
Mar 13, 2016
Josh Chandler
rated it really liked it
Feb 24, 2015
Gm
rated it it was amazing
Sep 14, 2015
Andrew
rated it really liked it
Sep 12, 2012
Spiro
rated it really liked it
Sep 27, 2013
Mathew Anderson
rated it really liked it
Dec 26, 2018
Andrew Sivula
rated it it was amazing
Jul 14, 2017
Sera Nuallain
rated it liked it
Apr 30, 2022
Kevin Potter
rated it liked it
Jul 09, 2013
Jeffrey
rated it liked it
Jul 14, 2012
KMacK
rated it it was amazing
Mar 23, 2022
Derek
rated it really liked it
Jul 27, 2019
« previous 1 3 4 5 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Dragons of Autumn Twilight  (Dragonlance: Chronicles, #1)
  • Downshadow (Forgotten Realms: Ed Greenwood Presents Waterdeep, #3)
  • Adult Children of Emotionally Immature Parents
  • Night Watch (Discworld, #29; City Watch, #6)
  • Sphere
  • Good and Cheap: Eat Well on $4/Day
  • Make the Bread, Buy the Butter: What You Should and Shouldn't Cook from Scratch - Over 120 Recipes for the Best Homemade Foods
  • The Selected Stories of Manley Wade Wellman, Vol. 5: Owls Hoot in the Daytime, and Other Omens
  • The Old Gods Waken (Silver John, #1)
  • The Myth of Sisyphus
  • The Shattered Mask (Forgotten Realms: Sembia, #3)
  • The Parched Sea (Forgotten Realms: The Harpers, #1)
  • Brimstone Angels (Brimstone Angels, #1)
  • Realms of the Dragons (Forgotten Realms: Anthologies, #9)
  • Shadow's Witness (Forgotten Realms: Sembia, #2)
  • The Halls Of Stormweather (Forgotten Realms: Sembia, #1)
  • Streams of Silver: The Graphic Novel (Legend of Drizzt: The Graphic Novel, #5)
  • The Crystal Shard: The Graphic Novel (Legend of Drizzt: The Graphic Novel, #4)
See similar books…

Other books in the series

Gamma World (2 books)
  • Sooner Dead

Related Articles

Now that we’re halfway through the year, it’s time to check in on the 2022 Goodreads Reading Challenge, our rigorous annual initiative for book...
175 likes · 46 comments