Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Gentle Bridges: Conversations with the Dalai Lama on the Sciences of Mind” as Want to Read:
Gentle Bridges: Conversations with the Dalai Lama on the Sciences of Mind
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Gentle Bridges: Conversations with the Dalai Lama on the Sciences of Mind

4.20  ·  Rating details ·  46 ratings  ·  5 reviews
What is the essence of the mind? Could computers ever have consciousness? Can compassion be learned? When does consciousness enter the human embryo? These are just some of the many questions that were discussed during a historic meeting that took place between several prominent Western scientists and the Dalai Lama. Gentle Bridges is a chronicle of this extraordinary exch ...more
Paperback, 288 pages
Published October 16th 2001 by Shambhala (first published November 10th 1992)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Gentle Bridges, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Gentle Bridges

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
4.20  · 
Rating details
 ·  46 ratings  ·  5 reviews


Filter
 | 
Sort order
Bonnie
Apr 21, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: buddhist
This book was compiled from some conversations between His Holiness the Dalai Lama XIV, a couple of interpreters and Buddhist scholars, and half a dozen scientists, that took place in 1987. It's very easy to read and engaging, especially because of the respect among all the participants and their sincere desire to understand the mind better. They each came with questions and ideas and share them openly which led to some very illuminating discussions.
Scott
Dec 19, 2012 rated it really liked it
My sister gave me this for Christmas in 2007 as I'm sure I must've told her I want anything by Francisco Varela, the co-editor with Jeremy Hayward.

I'll rate it again when I get around to reading it.

I discovered a connection in 2010 while skimming a UCLA library book by Herbert Guenther, "From Reductionism to Creativity: rDzogs-chen and the New Sciences of Mind," (2001): Jeremy Hayward wrote the forward!
soufian achhoud
May 08, 2012 marked it as to-read
"If we lose human values & human beings become part of a machine, there is no freedom from pain & pleasure." Dalai Lama
Aunty
Jan 04, 2016 rated it it was amazing
The first book I read from the Mind and Life series. Fascinating research and science presented by his guests. Great perceptive questions and insights from the Dalai Lama.
Klára Šmejkalová
rated it really liked it
Feb 25, 2016
Khin Su
rated it it was amazing
Jun 18, 2017
Yvonne
rated it it was amazing
Jun 06, 2012
Zdenek
rated it it was amazing
Dec 27, 2017
Arathi
rated it really liked it
Jan 16, 2013
Zuzana
rated it liked it
Apr 08, 2014
Austin
rated it it was amazing
Mar 19, 2012
Marina Riker-kucic
rated it really liked it
Aug 07, 2013
Judd Evans
rated it it was amazing
Nov 08, 2009
Barbora Stoklasová
rated it it was amazing
Feb 26, 2017
Lela Ashkarian
rated it it was amazing
Aug 31, 2015
David Maayan
rated it really liked it
Jan 19, 2016
Paul Vittay
rated it really liked it
Feb 22, 2019
Svetlana
rated it really liked it
Aug 04, 2011
Stephen Malina
rated it really liked it
Nov 29, 2014
Robb Seaton
rated it liked it
Jan 17, 2013
Bartoli
rated it really liked it
Feb 04, 2010
Bender
rated it did not like it
May 09, 2014
Ryan
rated it really liked it
Nov 23, 2011
Aaron Brown
rated it really liked it
Aug 28, 2007
Tom Radulovich
rated it really liked it
Jan 08, 2013
grisel
rated it it was amazing
Apr 11, 2015
Heather
rated it really liked it
Jun 01, 2012
Renato Fortuna
rated it really liked it
Jun 17, 2013
Julián Laboy
rated it it was amazing
Jul 21, 2012
Eleonora
rated it liked it
Dec 28, 2016
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »