Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “For Sale by Owner: Stories” as Want to Read:
For Sale by Owner: Stories
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

For Sale by Owner: Stories

by
4.40  ·  Rating details ·  55 ratings  ·  12 reviews
Bound to the bustling "big houses" of contemporary suburbia, the women in Kelcey Parker’s tales of twisted domesticity weave secrets, soccer balls, kisses, and dreams into the fabric of an evolving American subculture. Suburban sprawl transcends geography as children, husbands, and all things domestic overpopulate the interior landscapes of young divorcees, best-friends-fo
...more
Paperback, 144 pages
Published February 1st 2011 by Kore Press

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about For Sale by Owner, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about For Sale by Owner

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.40  · 
Rating details
 ·  55 ratings  ·  12 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of For Sale by Owner: Stories
Literary Mama
While Parker's collection consists almost entirely of tales of domesticity, the reader is never bored or lulled by anything resembling the ordinary. In fact, the stories are utterly distinct, each distinguished from the others not just by specific characters and details, but through the voice, form, and style. The story "Possession" for example, is divided into segments bearing titles like "Laundry," "Holiday," and "Toothbrush," which reflect different aspects of daily life.

Read Literary Mama's
...more
Ryan  Smith
Feb 18, 2011 rated it really liked it
Kelcey Parker’s debut collection of stories will leave you feeling, among other things, very surprised. The surprise at work is not because of the material she works with—the seemingly quotidian bricks of the domestic Midwestern suburbs—but in the way she infuses those materials with a truly unique velocity and darkly playful touch. The suburbs and soccer moms and unfaithful husbands aren’t the ones you read about in books or watch on sitcoms, but the ones you yourself drive past every day and s ...more
Steve
Sep 01, 2013 rated it it was amazing
I must admit that I'm not typically a fan of the short story form. I much prefer fiction in its long form (which, by the way, is why I'm excited for Parker's soon-to-be-released novel from Rose Metal Press entitled *Liliane's Balcony*). What I often find lacking in short-form fiction is the kind of engagement with character and theme that leaves a lasting impression after I've put the book down. I often find that short stories disappear from my memory as soon as I've finished them. There are cer ...more
Juliana Gray
Aug 30, 2012 rated it it was amazing
These are odd stories in the vein of Kelly Link or Kevin Wilson-- not quite magical realism, but definitely weird. "Quirky" is a word that Parker probably hears a lot. But they're also grounded in the domestic--almost all of the protagonists are young wives and mothers, struggling to be happy in the lives they've created.
Kristy Lin Billuni
Jun 27, 2014 rated it it was amazing
When Hello Kitty-devoted, dark-humored girls grow up and raise families, they become the heroines of Kelcey Parker's grim and satisfying stories. While I read this collection, I wept tears of joy over each obsessive scrapbooking, wedding vow bungling, baby shower ruining scene because it offered me permission to write down my own ugliest triumphs and my most evil dreams.
Jennifer
Jun 26, 2012 rated it it was amazing
For Sale By Owner lets us see--often hilariously--the doubts and mishaps that swirl around the isolated modern family. I enjoyed this book thoroughly. I laughed aloud many times but these stories also made me think hard about what we expect from families,and how often our expectations fall short.
Samantha
Well-written, witty, some interesting experimental stories, but incredibly depressing depiction of white picket fence life.
Jen McConnell
Mar 07, 2011 rated it it was amazing
Ms. Parker's collection of stories is dazzling. They are true and painful and funny. She doesn't pull any punches about the joy and heartbreak that go hand in hand with love, marriage and children.
Jessica
Dec 29, 2016 marked it as to-read
2017 read harder challenge task 21 & 22 ...more
Meghan Lindsey
Feb 17, 2014 rated it it was amazing
I read this book then attended a reading done by Kelcey and I must say, her witty writing style shines through both on paper and in person. A+
Donna
Mar 31, 2012 rated it it was amazing
Absolutely loved these smart, sly, inventive stories.
Ginger Horner
rated it really liked it
Jan 13, 2018
Jennifer
rated it it was amazing
Feb 07, 2011
Rachel Chapman
rated it it was amazing
Sep 10, 2012
Molly
rated it it was amazing
Mar 05, 2011
Dan Cafaro
rated it really liked it
Jan 29, 2012
Donna Rosser
rated it really liked it
Jul 27, 2014
Chad Matthews
rated it really liked it
Jul 27, 2014
Paul Anderson
rated it really liked it
Dec 06, 2011
Soren
rated it it was amazing
Jul 21, 2013
Amy
rated it it was amazing
Jan 07, 2012
Rani
rated it really liked it
Dec 17, 2017
Joshua
rated it it was amazing
Feb 24, 2011
Joseph Bates
rated it it was amazing
Mar 27, 2013
Brandy Bohm
rated it really liked it
Feb 03, 2013
Dean Ramser
rated it it was amazing
May 25, 2020
David Lee
rated it it was amazing
Mar 21, 2013
Andrew Bergman
rated it really liked it
Mar 15, 2015
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
Kelcey Parker Ervick is the author of The Bitter Life of Božena Němcová, a hybrid work of biography, memoir, and art. She is the author of two award-winning works of fiction: For Sale By Owner (Kore Press) and Liliane’s Balcony (Rose Metal Press), a novella set at Frank Lloyd Wright's Fallingwater. A recipient of grants from the Indiana Arts Commission and the Sustainable Arts Foundation, she teac ...more

News & Interviews

Author and illustrator Alice Oseman is known to her long-time fans for her young adult novels about—as she calls them—"teenage disasters," start...
112 likes · 9 comments