Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Seeking Wisdom from God: A Quest for Truth” as Want to Read:
Seeking Wisdom from God: A Quest for Truth
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Read Book

Seeking Wisdom from God: A Quest for Truth

by
3.68  ·  Rating details ·  28 Ratings  ·  20 Reviews
From the single, pure, infallible truth of Jesus Christ from which Christianity was born, the religion has since splintered into an overwhelmingly vast number of denominations, each laying claim to the firm truth of its doctrine. This situation can sow confusion for modern-day Christians as they wrestle with complex questions about spirituality and morality. In light of th ...more
Paperback, 3rd, 220 pages
Published January 11th 2011 by WestBow Press
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Seeking Wisdom from God, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Seeking Wisdom from God

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Rating details
Sort: Default
|
Filter
Teresa
Sep 23, 2013 rated it it was amazing
I won this book free through Goodreads First Reads.From the first day I received this book I was excited, I am always looking for a good Christian book to learn and grow from. I found this book to be inspirational and encouraging. I couldn’t put this book down; I just wanted to keep reading. It took me three days. I can understand why to be hesitant to share stories because people might think you crazy or that you are just not telling the truth. I have experience things,dreamed some amazing drea ...more
Shirley
Jun 18, 2012 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
My knowledge of the Bible is very limited so I will neither attempt to agree nor disagree with Thomas Walker's interpretations of scriptures. I was lucky enough to receive this book as part of The Library Thing Member Giveaway. My hope in entering for a copy of the book was to reach a better understanding of the Bible. Many scriptures leave me in a state of muddled confusion. I appreciated the opportunity to have passages interpreted. The book exceeded my expectations because Bible quotations an ...more
Sheena
May 13, 2012 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
This book is very inspirational. Being a person that has had a lot of faith and then lost that faith due to trials in life this book is a tool that I can use on my journey back to the LORD. I love that the author Mr. Thomas Walker, tells you about how he didn't believe in traditional religion, and how a group of people that prayed for him caused him to change his views and helped him find GOD. I also like how all the chapters kind of play off of each other; its like they pick off where the last ...more
Emily (Heinlen) Davis
Mar 16, 2012 rated it it was amazing
This was a great book. It was easy-to-read and straightforward. The author clearly explains Christian and biblical messages without being too preachy. This is definitely a must read for anyone who needs to reaffirm his or her faith or anyone looking to become a Christian for the first time, but needs more information and advice.
Shannon
May 13, 2012 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: first-reads
love to read books that bring me closer to God. I'm looking forward to reading this book and learning!
Katherine
- I received this book for free from LibraryThing Member Giveaway in exchange for an honest review -

The author claims to, in this book, reveal "a fresh and unique viewpoint on some Biblical topics," (page xiii) and it was interesting to see some of his thoughts and interpretations of areas of the text, although I tend to be much more progressive, and he more traditional, so there was much within the book that I did disagree with, even if his writing style was engaging and enjoyable.

For example,
...more
Scott Haraburda
Sep 13, 2013 rated it really liked it
Shelves: first-reads
Goodreads First Reads Giveaway Book.

------------------------------------

Looking for answers to Christianity based upon the Words in the Bible would find Seeking Wisdom from God: A Quest for Truth a great addition to their library. It’s the author’s personal attempt to find answers to probing questions about life, about God, and about our purpose in life. And, it’s written in simple easy to understand words, using several personal examples, and is heavy in biblical references throughout.

The autho
...more
Thomas Walker
Apr 03, 2011 added it  ·  (Review from the author)  ·  review of another edition
ForeWord Clarion Review
RELIGION
Seeking Wisdom from God: A Quest for Truth
Thomas H. Walker
WestBow Press
978-1-4497-1023-1
Four Stars (out of Five)
Seeking Wisdom from God: A Quest for Truth is both a traditionally Christian and surprisingly revolutionary book. From the outset, Thomas H. Walker reminds us that “Jesus did not come to earth to set up another religious denomination, but to put an end to religion.”
Using the premise that God’s message is like a jigsaw puzzle, Walker reassures the reader t
...more
Ashley E
May 03, 2012 rated it liked it
Shelves: first-reads
Seeking Wisdom from God starts out by exploring the layman's role in the church, but quickly expands to much more. Thomas H. Walker does not have a doctorate. He doesn't preach in a church. He's a regular guy, who happened to believe (as it says in the Bible) that anyone could ask for wisdom from God... and receive it. After touching on this, Walker goes on to describe some of the wisdom that he has received.

I treated this book as a devotional, reading a chapter a day and breaking in down into m
...more
Samantha
May 12, 2014 rated it really liked it
You know that guy in your Bible study class who always has something to add? Sometimes it is profound, but other times makes you raise an eyebrow in uncertainty. That was sort of how I felt reading this book.

I read this a chapter at a time as a summer devotional, and it really is a little heavy for reading too much in one sitting. I appreciated that it was not made up of the easy to read "fluff" that makes up many devotionals. Walker approaches many Biblical topics with honesty, personal example
...more
Liz
Jun 18, 2012 rated it did not like it  ·  review of another edition
Thomas H. Walker’s book uses the idea that God’s message is like a jigsaw puzzle; all the pieces will fit together to form God’s love. In a logical way he goes through a series of scriptural concepts to show his point.

I do not believe that this was necessarily an easy to understand book, despite the short length of it. I found myself only able to read a few pages at a time without getting bored; I was never really drawn in. While I believe that his basic message was good I felt as though he kind
...more
Christine
May 20, 2012 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: first-reads
This was, by far, the best book I've won from a Goodreads giveaway.

It took me a while to read, but it really was an extraordinary book. The author breaks down lessons so that they complete all of the pieces of a jigsaw puzzle. Each chapter discusses a new puzzle piece that is important for seeing the bigger picture. The whole thing was very well thought out and the lessons were very well presented. As most students need repetition, each chapter repeats the point in a few different ways.

This whol
...more
Gayle P.
Mar 21, 2012 rated it it was amazing
I truly enjoyed Seeking Wisdom from God: A Quest for Truth by Thomas H. Walker. He wrote this book in a manner that you could understand the points that he drove to the hearts and minds of his readers. For me the Bible parables that he used worked very well for me. The Bible can sometimes be complex-ed and other times simple that a two-year old can understand. The author wrote this in a way that you wanted to read more and he didn't write where he was talking at you but to you. My favorite parab ...more
William Potter
Mar 08, 2014 rated it it was amazing
I was intrigued by this book and the author did a great job in delivering his thoughts and interpretation on numerous Bible quotes and other topics.

He often used examples from his own life to highlight the point and that made him real to me as a person.

In reading other reviews, I did see some disagreement regarding some material in this book. I read this book with the mindset that the author is providing his opinion on topics. Whether I agree or not is not the point. The point is he has taken th
...more
Jill
Jul 02, 2012 rated it it was ok
A question of faith

***
One man’s journey illustrates how his own personal interpretation of Scripture, myths, and historical facts could lead readers to spiritual growth and support his philosophy of life and faith. Although this non-academic work is expected to open the hearts of readers to a Christian way of life, it is defeated by the many contradictions. For example, the author speaks of racism and “hatred [as] a seed sown by the evil one into the hearts of men” (Chapter 12) only to turn aro
...more
Independent Author
Mar 08, 2014 rated it it was amazing
I found this book to be very thought provoking and a good read.

To start – I liked this author as he talks about his beliefs and also about Christianity without getting on a “high horse”.

He also uses examples from his own personal life when discussing topics such as patience.
While I may not agree with his viewpoint on several topics – I do feel that he is entitled to express his viewpoints and I commend him for doing so.

All in all, I felt this book was well thought out and concisely written which
...more
Taylor Troncin
Jan 01, 2014 rated it it was ok
Shelves: pre-2016-read
I won a free copy of this book through a goodreads giveaway.

I really was not that interested in this book in the first place. Now, I know that the "logical" thing would have been to pass up the giveaway. However, I really wanted to try it...

Now there is some helpful advice in here.

You'll just have to read it for yourself to find the pieces of advice that work for you! :)
Michelle
Thomas Walker presents many logical theories about the truth of God's wisdom. Walker truly studied the bible and presents these theories with conviction. This book is not a simple read to be plopped back on a bookshelf but rather a book to be read, pondered, read some more, etc. Thanks to Goodreads for my "win" of this book.
Theresa
Apr 12, 2012 rated it really liked it
I won this book from a LibraryThing giveaway

This is a great book. It takes you on a journey of spiritual growth. It brings up many issues and The Bibles answer to them. You won't be disappointed when you read this book.
Theresa El-Thomas
Sep 05, 2013 marked it as to-read
I never recieved the copy I won on goodreads. O well.
.
Clover
rated it it was amazing
May 14, 2012
Gabby-Lily Raines
rated it liked it
Feb 09, 2013
Joalby Phoenix
rated it really liked it
Mar 19, 2012
Jill E. Kohler
rated it it was amazing
Aug 04, 2016
Sandra
rated it liked it
Jul 26, 2014
Marwa Abdallah
rated it did not like it
Jan 26, 2015
Dawn
rated it liked it
May 13, 2012
Kourtney
rated it it was ok
May 27, 2012
Melomaan
rated it liked it
Apr 28, 2013
Vivian Vilmin
rated it it was amazing
Mar 21, 2012
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • Awakening the Brain: The Neuropsychology of Grace
  • Port Royal
  • The Thinara King (The Child of the Erinyes, #2)
  • Opium Fiend: A 21st Century Slave to a 19th Century Addiction
  • Inner River: A Pilgrimage to the Heart of Christian Spirituality
  • Moms' Ultimate Guide to the Tween Girl World
  • X-It
  • Speaking the Truth in Love
  • Rooted in Danger (Blackthorne, Inc. #3)
  • Following the Path: The Search for a Life of Passion, Purpose, and Joy
  • The New Answers Book 3: Over 35 Questions on Evolution/Creation and the Bible
  • Recreatable: How God Heals the Brokenness of Life
  • Putting Jesus in His Place: The Case for the Deity of Christ
  • Our Covenant God: Living in the Security of His Unfailing Love
  • The Gaggle: How the Guys You Know Will Help You Find the Love You Want
  • The Domino Effect
  • The Power of a Woman's Words
  • Frayed (Madison Lark, #1)
15 followers
http://www.facebook.com/thomash.w2
http://www.facebook.com/seekingwisdom...

THOMAS H. WALKER is an inspirational speaker, musician, teacher and award-winning author. He received his MBA from Indiana Wesleyan University, graduating with honors. Nominated for “Who’s Who Among College Scholars,” Mr. Walker presently serves as Senior Vice President with a church design/build company for which he has con
...more