Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Angel on the Square (St. Petersburg #1)” as Want to Read:
Angel on the Square (St. Petersburg #1)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Angel on the Square (St. Petersburg #1)

3.88  ·  Rating details ·  2,243 Ratings  ·  172 Reviews
From the author of the National Book Award-winning novel Homeless Bird comes “an absorbing saga”* about a young heroine coming of age in the tumultuous years leading up to the Russian revolution.

Gripping, accessible historical fiction that's perfect for schools and classrooms, as well as for fans of Ruta Sepetys and Elizabeth Wein.

In the fall of 1914, safe behind palace wa
...more
ebook, 304 pages
Published October 6th 2009 by HarperCollins (first published August 21st 2001)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.
This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-10)
Rating details
Sort: Default
|
Filter
Jenny
Apr 11, 2008 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Ina
Jul 06, 2012 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Angel on the Square is one of my absolute favorite books. It's an easy read, seemingly not much depth, and not really a tearjerker or focused on hot guys or the destruction of the world...but rather it's a middle grade book set in one of my favorite time periods, the Russian Revolution and the events leading up to it.

Katya is the typical poor little rich girl, and you know, even if it's just a book for the younger ages, her character development doesn't feel like moral judgment at all. It isn'
...more
Georgia Herod
May 29, 2009 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
This is the first Whelan book I read--and I loved it. I enjoy young adult fiction. In this book and all others I've read--she creates strong female protagonists who overcome great adversity. They are dynamic, growing from beginning to end. Another feature of Whelan's writing is authenticity regarding setting, time frame, history, and culture. One aspect of the last which I very much enjoy is her use of words in the language of the land (for example, in this, as well as the successive books about ...more
Devon
Jan 31, 2010 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: own
This book was something different, kind of a treat for me, because it’s about World War I – not my comfort zone – but also about Russia, which is something I’ve been interested in lately.

It’s meant for children, as per usual, but the shallowness of this book was not a problem for me, really. I felt like the length was suitable for the story. I would’ve liked a little more of a follow up – checking in on Misha, especially, because he was so important to Katya, and, thus, to you as the reader. Bu
...more
Kate Matson
Summary from Goodreads:
In the fall of 1914, safe behind palace walls, Katya Ivanova sees St. Petersburg as a magical place.The daughter of a lady-in-waiting to the Empress, Katya spends all her time with the Grand Duchesses; the royal family feels like her own. But outside the palace, a terrible war is sweeping through Europe, and Russia is beginning to crumble under the weight of a growing revolution. Now, as Katya's once-certain future begins to dissolve, she must seek to understand what is ha
...more
Hailey Hudson
Aug 13, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
One of my longtime favorites.
Linda Lipko
Continuing my journey to study Russian history, I found this book on one of my shelves and spent a pleasant rainy day reading this well written historical novel.

Combining fact with fiction, Angel on the Square is wonderful for many reasons, primarily because it does just what historical fiction should do, ie it opens the door to a glimpse of history and wets the appetite to search for more knowledge about the subject.

Twelve year old Katya Ivanova lived a life of splendor behind guilded palace wa
...more
Rebecca
Apr 01, 2009 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Wealthy, twelve-year-old Katya Ivanova and her mother have always lived a luxurious life in their mansion in the city of St. Petersburg, Russia. They spend their summers on their country estate, The Oaks, and Katya's mother is a close friend of Empress Alexandra. When the Empress invites Katya's mother to come live in the palace as a lady-in-waiting and to bring Katya along to be a companion to her youngest daughter, Anastasia, Katya is thrilled. She and Anastasia, or Stana as she is called, bec ...more
Richelle
Jan 18, 2011 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I picked this book up because I really liked Homeless Bird, another book by the same author. This is a junior historical fiction book set in Russia during the time of the revolution. The main character, Katya, is born into an aristocratic family and is fiercely loyal to the Romanov family. Her opinion of them begins to be torn as she has opportunities to see how the majority of the Russian citizens live. Even though I know the main historical events of this period, the fictional characters' live ...more
Margaret Alyse Smith
"Angel on the Square" is an incredibely good book. It takes place in 1913-1918, and Katya Ivanovna is a 13 year old girl who is the daughter of an aristocrat. Her life changes when her mother is accepted as a Lady-in-Waiting to the Empress of Russia, Tsarina Alexandra. Katya and her mother move into the palace with the Imperial Family, which consists of Tsar Nicholas II, Tsarina Alexandra, Grand Duchess Olga, Grand Duchess Tatiana, Grand Duchess Maria, Grand Duchess Anastasia, and Tsarevich Alex ...more
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • The Iron Peacock
  • Betsy and the Emperor
  • The Broken Blade (Pierre La Page #1)
  • A Murder for Her Majesty
  • Nory Ryan's Song (Nory Ryan, #1)
  • The Singing Tree
  • The Ides of April (Roman Empire Sequence, #2)
  • Year of Impossible Goodbyes
  • Stowaway
  • The Ghost in the Tokaido Inn (Samurai Detective, #1)
  • The Ravenmaster's Secret: Escape From The Tower Of London
  • Madeleine Takes Command
  • Master Cornhill
  • It's a Jungle Out There (The Rani Adventures, #1)
  • Mary Jones and Her Bible
  • In Search of Honor
  • Only the Names Remain: The Cherokees and The Trail of Tears
  • The Great and Terrible Quest
14233
Gloria Whelan is the best-selling author of many novels for young readers, including Homeless Bird, winner of the National Book Award; Friutlands: Louisa May Alcott Made Perfect; Angel on the Square and its companion, The Impossible Journey; Once on this Island, winner of the Great Lakes Book Award; Farewell to the Island; and Return to the Island. She lives with her husband, Joseph, in the woods ...more
More about Gloria Whelan...

Other Books in the Series

St. Petersburg (4 books)
  • The Impossible Journey (Angel on the Square, #2)
  • Burying the Sun  (Angel on the Square, #3)
  • The Turning (Angel on the Square, #4)
“It is hard to give up what you know for what you don’t know.” 18 likes
“I thought I understood what was best. I knew too little and believed too soon.” 8 likes
More quotes…