Goodreads hits 1 million members!

Posted by Otis Chandler on March 31, 2008
Lots of great news this morning! Goodreads finally hit 1 million registered members - and we were listed as the 18th most useful website by the Daily Telegraph.

Goodreads has constantly surprised us by fast it's grown, and how passionately people like it. Members have added an astounding 18 million books to their profiles! Nearly two million of those are on the to-read shelf which is one of Goodreads' most popular features. After all, Goodreads excels at helping people find good books to read!

But Goodreads isn't all about just cataloging and shelving your books. It's also a great way to interact with other people who like the same stuff you do. Members have created over 3,000 groups in all kinds of genres. Popular book clubs have been formed for fans of Sci-fi, Gilmore Girls, Young Adult, Harry Potter, Cookbooks, Horror, Sailing novels, and much more.

My favorite group however is the Goodreads Feedback group - it's where we get to know the people who care about Goodreads - and make the product better, one tweak at a time. So a heartfelt thank you to everyone who's participated in the site - but especially to those who have helped out in the feedback group - we owe it all to you!

Comments Showing 1-3 of 3 (3 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Andrew (new)

Andrew Congratulations Otis & Goodreads.

One of the signs of your growing success is how at parties, people keep wanting to meet you because you founded Goodreads.


message 2: by Jon (new)

Jon Congrats dude! Absolutely fantastic.


message 3: by Sig (new)

Sig Rosenblum Really great--and a boon to authors who can reach new fans. Thanks for a terrific site!

Sig Rosenblum


back to top