April's Most Anticipated Romance Reads

Posted by Sharon on April 1, 2021
 
Some people love books. Some people fall in love. And some people love books about falling in love. Every month our team sorts through the new romance books and sees how early readers are responding. We use this information to curate a list of soon-to-be-beloved favorites.
 
New in April: An inherited property comes with a sexy groundskeeper in Sarah Hogle’s Twice Shy. Elderly matchmakers help out a lonely retirement home manager in Sally Thorne’s Second First Impressions. And author Bolu Babalola gathers history’s best love stories in Love in Color: Mythical Tales from Around the World, Retold. Also keep an eye peeled for baby whisperers, MMA vampires, and the Dowager Marchioness of Willingham.
 
Add what catches your fancy to your Want to Read shelf, and let us know what you're reading and recommending in the comments.


Rate this book
Clear rating
Sally Thorne’s new romantic comedy takes place in an unlikely setting: the Providence Luxury Retirement Villa. Ruthie Midona has been working the front desk at Providence for years, dedicated to caring for the elderly residents. Can the retirees help Ruthie remember that she is still young and beautiful and unattached? This new hire Teddy Prescott is kind of hot. And he’s the owner’s son? Bingo.

Read our exclusive interview with Sally Thorne.


Rate this book
Clear rating
Vanessa Price has a perfectly good life going. She finally quit her job to travel the globe and found a loyal YouTube following along the way. But when her half sister suddenly leaves Vanessa in charge of a baby girl, life downshifts dramatically. Then there’s the handsome lawyer next door who apparently has mystical “baby whisperer” abilities. And we’re not even going to mention the geriatric Chihuahua. It’s all here in the latest rom-com from the author of The Friend Zone.


Rate this book
Clear rating
In her debut short story anthology, internationally acclaimed writer Bolu Babalola revamps traditional love stories from history and mythology—from the magical folktales of West Africa to the ancient legends of the Middle East and classical Greek myths. Some stories are ancient, some are contemporary. Some are happy, some are tragic. Some take place in our world, some in other worlds entirely. Sometimes you just want a little something different.


Rate this book
Clear rating
Fans of Christina Lauren and Evie Dunmore will want to consider this latest historical rom-com from Martha Waters (To Have and to Hoax), who packs her stories with witty bon mots, scandalous faux pas, and characters like the terrible Dowager Marchioness of Willingham. A secret wager between two high-society flirts leads to all manner of trouble at a series of grand balls, house parties, and secret rendezvous.  


Rate this book
Clear rating
Author Sarah Hogle (You Deserve Each Other) has crafted a fascinating scenario in her latest offering. Maybell Parish has inherited a beautiful but ramshackle property in the Smoky Mountains. Her fellow inheritor is a cranky but gorgeous groundskeeper, and they are not getting along. What’s more, Great-Aunt Violet has set certain conditions on the inheritance. Can Maybell hit the reset button on her entire life and improvise her way to love? Let’s find out!


Rate this book
Clear rating
Naomi Grant has a vision. Her sex-positive startup company has become a worldwide sensation, and she’s dedicated to improving the sex lives of people everywhere—a noble goal, to be sure. Now Naomi has been paired with a hot young rabbi to host a seminar series on Modern Intimacy. They’re qualified to teach this stuff, sure, but can they put it into practice in their own lives? It should be an interesting experiment.


Rate this book
Clear rating
Priscilla Oliveras’ Keys to Love series, set amid the warm sunsets of Key West, continues with a story of true love in jeopardy. Photographer Alejandro Miranda has returned to his hometown—and to the girl he reluctantly left behind. That’s Anamaría Navarro, now a firefighter and paramedic. The spark is still there, no doubt, but these two will have to work through some trust issues first. Still, Key West! It’s a nice place to put in the work.


Rate this book
Clear rating
Veteran romance author J.R. Ward is back with Lover Unveiled, the 19th installment (!) of the popular Black Dagger Brotherhood series. Our new hero (and Brother) is a vampire MMA fighter named Sahvage, who until recently had been living underground—figuratively and, occasionally, literally—for several centuries. Newcomer Mae has persuaded Sahvage to help her fight off an ancient evil and a new threat to the Brotherhood.


Which new releases are you looking forward to reading? Let's talk books in the comments!

Check out more recent articles, including:
33 Sexy Spring Romances to Seduce You
Goodreads Members' Most Anticipated Books of April
Readers' Most Anticipated YA Books for April

Comments Showing 1-8 of 8 (8 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by TMR (new)

TMR So excited for these novels,


message 2: by Nyah ☾ (new)

Nyah ☾ Been waiting months omg I'm so excited!!


message 3: by Emily (new)

Emily Carter-Dunn Love in Colour came out ages ago. I assume it's only just being released in the US?


message 4: by Alyson (new)

Alyson Howlett Are any of these considered clean romances?


Lisa (Remarkablylisa) so one POC romance huh? lol we can do better goodreads.


message 6: by Bill (new)

Bill And no LGBTQA+ REALLY?!


message 7: by Desert Lumens (new)

Desert Lumens Woohoo


message 8: by Judi (new)

Judi Why are so many covers bright colours with cartoon characters now? I honestly don’t even look at the book or blurb on those books. Such a turn off for me. They look like children’s book covers and there’s nothing romantic about that!


back to top