Cozy Up with November's Most Anticipated Romances

Posted by Sharon on November 1, 2020
Some people love books. Some people fall in love. And some people fall in love with books about falling in love. Every month our team sorts through the new romance books and sees how early readers are responding. We use this information to curate a list of soon-to-be-beloved favorites.

New in November: A broke British bloke tempts fate in The Flip Side, heavenly creatures collide in Archangel’s Sun, and two civil rights activists explore 1963 Harlem in Confessions in B-Flat. Also: Victorian romance, astrological passion, and sexy leopards.

Add what catches your fancy to your Want to Read shelf, and let us know what you’re reading and recommending in the comments.


Rate this book
Clear rating
This second installment in the Proper Romance Victorian series brings readers back to London circa 1865, where desperate aristocrat Hollis Darby is barely maintaining his family fortunes by secretly authoring penny dreadfuls under a pseudonym. Meanwhile, bankruptcy has forced Ana Newport to resume her secret identity as the Phantom Fox, a skilled cat burglar reclaiming her family’s stolen jewels. Can these two keep their secrets from each other? Should they? Corsets! Frock coats! Love!


Rate this book
Clear rating
Winner of this month’s informal Best Author Name award, debut novelist Alexandria Bellefleur has delivered a spirited queer rom-com with astrological significance. After being set up on a blind date, Darcy and Elle quickly conclude that it was a disaster. It’s OK. No harm, no foul. But when Darcy asks astrologist Elle to be her fake girlfriend for a while, to save face, the two women discover that fake romance can sometimes lead to the real thing.

Read our exclusive interview with Alexandria Bellefleur.


Rate this book
Clear rating
Author Nalini Singh’s Guild Hunter series continues with its kinetic blend of paranormal romance and urban fantasy. Titus, the archangel of the continent of Africa, is desperately trying to hold back a cosmic tidal wave of death and disease, but he’s not getting much help. The earth’s surviving angels and archangels are fighting off a rebellion of vampires. Ain’t that always the way? Titus’ only hope is the venerable entity known as the Hummingbird, whose mind is a “broken kaleidoscope.” That might be trouble.


Rate this book
Clear rating
Recommended for fans of Jenny Colgan and Nick Hornby, The Flip Side is a British romantic comedy themed on the capriciousness of currency. Young British bachelor Josh is having a run of extremely bad luck. Broke, broken-up-with, and back home with his parents, Josh decides he has nothing to lose and leaves his fate up to the flip of a coin. It works out OK, so he keeps flipping coins. But when the girl of his dreams wanders into frame, Josh must decide whether to tempt fate one more time.


Rate this book
Clear rating
Brooklyn native Donna Hill (Big Girls Don’t Cry) is back with a love story set in the roiling cauldron of Harlem circa 1963. Jason Tanner has just arrived in New York City to work with his mentor, Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Beat poet Anita Hopkins, meanwhile, follows the philosophy of Malcolm X and his call to achieve freedom by any means necessary. Can love bring together these two civil rights activists with different ideologies? There’s only one way to find out.


Rate this book
Clear rating
Shape-shifter Sevastyan Amurov has anger issues. The rage in his soul tends to burn everything and anyone within range. But to his surprise, the red-haired woman Flambe Carver has the innate ability to soothe his restless soul. She’s into it, too, which is good. She’s got a stalker, though, which is bad. When Sevastyan takes Flambe under his protection, a confrontation is inevitable. Author Christine Feehan specializes in these kinds of raw and provocative romance books. Buckle up.


Rate this book
Clear rating
Lady Helena Lark is scheduled to be married, quite against her will, to the breathtakingly dull Duke of Lusk. She wants out. To keep her in line, Helena’s family has hired the mercenary bodyguard Declan Shaw, who has his own set of problems. Chief among them: He can’t keep his hands off his new client. A Duchess a Day is the first of Charis Michaels’ new Awakened by a Kiss series, which takes forgotten fairy-tale characters and makes them the heroes of their own stories.


Which of this month’s romances are you looking forward to reading? Let’s talk books in the comments!

Check out more recent articles, including:
Readers' Most Anticipated Books of November
Contemporary Romance Rewrites 'Pride and Prejudice' with an Astrological Twist
Escape the Present with These 24 Historical Romances

Comments Showing 1-14 of 14 (14 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Jennifer (new)

Jennifer DeHeer Blah.


message 2: by Kim (new)

Kim The Flip Side is already on my TBR.


message 3: by ✨Savannah✨ (new)

✨Savannah✨ Normally I love romances but this collection was a little bland


message 4: by superawesomekt (new)

superawesomekt Ho hum


message 5: by Sage (new)

Sage North I would love to read "Confessions in B-Flat" by Donna Hill.


message 6: by ✨Savannah✨ (new)

✨Savannah✨ Blue wrote: "I would love to read "Confessions in B-Flat" by Donna Hill."

Good for you!


message 7: by Dreena (new)

Dreena Kat Some of these are OK but... not all. Usually, these collections are a bit spicier. :/


Carol She's So Novel꧁꧂ ✨Savannah✨ wrote: "
Good for you!"


Yes, great that Blue found something she would enjoy.

I might be interested in the Gentleman & the Thief, but I have yet to read the first part of this series.


message 9: by Lisa (new)

Lisa  R Smith I just ordered “Written in the Stars”


message 10: by Katherine (last edited Nov 05, 2020 05:59PM) (new)

Katherine Hayward Pérez The Flip Side and Confessions in B Flat sound good.


message 11: by DORIS (new)

DORIS IAM ABOUT TO ORDER A SLEW OF BOOKS REALLY SOON GOODREADS. HAVE SOME GREAT BOOKS OWN HERE HAPPY READING YALLLL


message 12: by Sage (new)

Sage North Everybody is celebrating. It's a happy night. A good night for reading.


message 13: by Tracy (new)

Tracy Valentine "Confessions in B-Flat" sounds amazing! And as I have a weakness for both fairy tales and Regency romances, "A Duchess A Day" is now definitely on my must-read list.


message 14: by Phil (new)

Phil Unicorns Lisa R. Smith wrote: "I just ordered “Written in the Stars”"

That book sounds really good to me


back to top