June's Most Anticipated Young Adult Books

Posted by Sharon on June 1, 2020
As dedicated readers already know, some of the best and most innovative stories on the shelves come from the constantly evolving realm of young adult fiction. Every month our team looks at the books being published and how they're resonating with early readers. We use this information to put together a roundup of soon-to-be favorites.
 
New in June: Kester Grant invokes an alternate history French Revolution in The Court of Miracles. Shaun David Hutchinson writes of love on the campaign trail in The State of UsAnd debut author Roseanne A. Brown weaves a West African folktale of dark magic in A Song of Wraiths and Ruin. Also look for lady gunslingers, helpful dragons, and a villain known as the Spider King.
 
Add the books that catch your eye to your Want to Read shelf and let us know what you're reading and recommending in the comments!


Rate this book
Clear rating
My Calamity Jane reads like a whole shelf full of genre goodness. It's historical fiction, fantasy, romance, and Western all tied together with twine and barbed wire. This third installation of the Lady Janies series features a couple of characters you probably know (Calamity Jane and Annie Oakley), a few you might not (Frank "The Pistol Prince" Butler), and a tour of 1876 you can't get anywhere else.

Check out our exclusive interview with Hand, Ashton, and Meadows.

Release date: June 2


Rate this book
Clear rating
Set in alternate history of France circa 1828, The Court of Miracles follows the stealthy adventures of Eponine "Nina" Thénardier, renowned cat burglar and member of the Thieves Guild. As the Revolution rages, Nina must evade the cruelties of the city's criminal guilds while protecting her naive younger sister, Cosette. From the mean streets of Paris to the spectacular court of Louis XVII, Kester Grant's new series introduces a stylish new location to the YA map.

Release date: June 2


Rate this book
Clear rating
Recommended for fans of Naomi Novik and Susan DennardForest of Souls introduces readers to the realm of the Spider King, lord of the Dead Wood, who rules over a kingdom of trees and restless spirits. Newly appointed court spy Sirscha Ashwyn—the first soulguide in living memory—must venture forth to save the soul of her best friend Saengo. Meanwhile, the storms of war gather on the horizon.

Release date: June 23


Rate this book
Clear rating
Evadne has spent eight long years waiting for the return of her sister Halcyon, who left to serve in the queen's army. But when Halcyon returns too early, it's clear that trouble is afoot. Wrongly accused of murder, Halcyon is convicted at trial. Eva volunteers to serve part of her sister's sentence, vowing to find the truth. The book is a testament to the power of love between sisters and a promising new tale from the author of The Queen's Rising.

Release date: June 23


Rate this book
Clear rating
Author Patrick Ness (the Chaos Walking trilogyA Monster Calls) returns with a wild new flight of imagination: Sarah Dewhurst and her father, outcasts in the poor town of Frome, Washington, are forced to hire a dragon to work their farm. It's a last resort for the truly desperate, but the new dragon helper may be more than he appears. A prophecy is unveiled, the FBI gets involved, and a deadly assassin shows up. Uh-oh.

Release date: June 2


Rate this book
Clear rating
High school senior Meg has it all figured out—good grades, Cornell in the fall, and a volunteer job at a voter registration call center. But life gets more complex when a cold call connects Meg to Colby, a proud and wounded kid from small-town Ohio, living on the other side of America's fractured social divide. That first call leads to many more deep conversations, a long-distance friendship, and a new set of options for both. It's a hopeful story in tough times.

Release date: June 16


Rate this book
Clear rating
A desperate refugee and a grieving crown princess find their lives entangled in the desert city of Ziran. Escaping from his war-torn homeland, Malik has finally arrived in the city just in time for the Solstasia festival, presided over by princess Karina. Dark forces conspire to set the two against one another as each falls into the shadows of magic and spirits. Debut author Roseanne A. Brown has assembled a fascinating new world inspired by West African folklore.

Release date: June 2


Rate this book
Clear rating
A star-crossed romance from the author of We Are the Ants and Brave Face, The State of Us starts with a compelling premise: What if your mom were running for President of the United States? That's Dean Arnault's dilemma, and he really doesn't want the hassle. But then Dean meets someone on the campaign trail, Dre Rosario. Unfortunately, Dre is working for the opposition. Romance is complicated enough without partisan politics involved, but what can you do? Love is love.

Check out our interview with Hutchinson and other authors of June's best queer YA titles.

Release date: June 2




Which new releases are you looking forward to reading? Let's talk books in the comments!

Check out more recent articles, including:
June's Most Anticipated New Books
The Top 40 Hit Books of the Year (So Far)
Alice Oseman Recommends Her Favorite YA Graphic Novels

Comments Showing 1-18 of 18 (18 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Lexa (last edited Jun 02, 2020 06:49AM) (new)

Lexa A Song of Wraiths and Ruin seems good, I think I’m pretty excited about that! I already have My Plain Jane but I haven’t read it yet. Now that I see My Calamity Jane, I think I might read My Plain Jane😂 oops. I’m also waiting for an author, Sara Cannon, to come out with her next book called Vengeful Darkness, I guess it’s not on here😢 but the series is really good, it started out with Beautiful Demons Which was really good, I got hooked about 3 years ago when she was on book 8, now she is writing book 11, and I’m so excited! Alright thats it for my long paragraph now😂


message 2: by Lexa (new)

Lexa RobertDPryor wrote: "Start now making every month extra $15,000 or more just by doing an easy j0b 0nl!ne from home. I have received $16947 from this j0b last month just by giving it only 2 hrs a day using my mobile dev..."


Uh dude, not sure if you know but this is a website for book lovers, not necessarily for trying to get people to come to this website which might be a scam. No offense but I’d like to keep goodreads about books and not about doing jobs or anything. Maybe post that stuff on a different website?


message 3: by Tabitha (new)

Tabitha Lexa wrote: "RobertDPryor wrote: "Start now making every month extra $15,000 or more just by doing an easy j0b 0nl!ne from home. I have received $16947 from this j0b last month just by giving it only 2 hrs a da..."

Don't respond to stuff like this, it's a bot and not a real person. It is definitely a scam, don't click the link. Unfortunately this kind of thing will continue unless goodreads implements some way to report other users.


Caidyn (he/him/his) One book that's not included in this is I'll Be the One! I gave it 5 stars and it was an amazing book.


message 5: by Claire (new)

Claire I received my pre-order of A Song of Wraiths and Ruin and can't wait to read it!

Forest of Souls and The Court of Miracles are also on pre-order! :)


message 6: by Mairy (new)

Mairy Sister of Sword & Song is on my TBR. In the meantime I am reading another YA June 2020 release and I am so enjoying it: The Invincible Summer of Juniper Jones <3


message 7: by RD (new)

RD ((Sigh)) Are we ever going to come up with better YA titles than "Something of Something and Something"?


message 8: by RD (new)

RD Tabitha wrote: "Lexa wrote: "RobertDPryor wrote: "Start now making every month extra $15,000 or more just by doing an easy j0b 0nl!ne from home. I have received $16947 from this j0b last month just by giving it on..."

When I see these posts, I will flag them. It's the best we can do until GR allows us to report users.


message 9: by Katie (new)

Katie RD wrote: "((Sigh)) Are we ever going to come up with better YA titles than "Something of Something and Something"?"

To be fair, I'm pretty sure George R. R. Martin started it about 20 years ago ;)


message 10: by Eva (new)

Eva B. Caidyn (BW Reviews; he/him/his) wrote: "One book that's not included in this is I'll Be the One! I gave it 5 stars and it was an amazing book."

I'm so excited for that one, it sounds like a ton of fun!


message 11: by Sylvia (new)

Sylvia Queen of coins and Whispers. Ff romance!


message 12: by Herman (new)

Herman Gigglethorpe RD wrote: "((Sigh)) Are we ever going to come up with better YA titles than "Something of Something and Something"?"

Was it Daughter of Smoke and Bone that started the [Noun] of [Noun] and [Noun] trend? Now even the Hunger Games is using a similar title.


message 13: by TMR (new)

TMR I love this collection.


message 14: by SW (new)

SW RD wrote: "((Sigh)) Are we ever going to come up with better YA titles than "Something of Something and Something"?"

This made me LOL 😂


message 15: by Lawz_ack (new)

Lawz_ack So excited don't know which one to start with🤗💝💝💝


message 16: by Tim (new)

Tim Croteau Best book BY FAR coming out in June is S.A. Chakraborty’s “Empire of Gold”!!


message 17: by Haley Renee (new)

Haley Renee The Caffeinated Reader Court of Miracles is amazing! Happy publication day to it! Also, I'm so excited for Forest of Souls


message 18: by Lacey (new)

Lacey Harper Herman wrote: "RD wrote: "((Sigh)) Are we ever going to come up with better YA titles than "Something of Something and Something"?"

Was it Daughter of Smoke and Bone that started the [Noun] of [Noun] and [Noun] ..."


More like George R. R. Martin... A Song of Ice and Fire


back to top