Love "Fahrenheit 451"? Check Out These 8 Books

Posted by Marie on May 09, 2018
Fahrenheit 451

“It was a pleasure to burn.”

So goes the haunting first line of Ray Bradbury’s Fahrenheit 451. Since its 1953 publication, this powerful and prescient classic remains a staple of the dystopian genre. To date, the novel has more than 1.2 million ratings from Goodreads members with an average rating of 3.9 stars.

Before HBO’s adaptation hits the small screen on May 19, we took a look at what other dystopian classics Fahrenheit 451 fans have read and loved. To make sure we’re serving up the best recommendations, we only included titles with at least a 3.9 star rating.

If you’d like to add another title to this list, make sure to share them with us in the comments! Don’t forget to add what catches your eye to your Want-to-Read shelf.

Rate this book
Clear rating
Rate this book
Clear rating
Rate this book
Clear rating
Rate this book
Clear rating
Rate this book
Clear rating
Rate this book
Clear rating
Rate this book
Clear rating
Rate this book
Clear rating
What books would you recommend for Fahrenheit 451 fans? Let us know in the comments.

Check out more recent blogs:
7 Buzzy Books Hitting Shelves Today
How to Start a Successful Book Club
Fan Favorite Audiobooks for Long-Distance Commutes

Comments Showing 1-22 of 22 (22 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Jay (new)

Jay DiNitto Rand's Anthem is one of my favorites, and it's a quick, low-investment read.


message 2: by Kenya (new)

Kenya Starflight Hmmm, already read four of these, DNFed "Clockwork Orange," and "The Moon Is a Harsh Mistress" is already on my TBR list. I'm kind of burned out on Le Guin at the moment... I guess that leaves "We," LOL...


message 3: by Benjamin (new)

Benjamin Appleby-Dean Nice to see We in the list - it's often overlooked.

I'd also recommend Marge Piercy's dystopian/utopian hybrid, Woman on the Edge of Time.


message 5: by Honesty (new)

Honesty Fahrenheit 451- It was a pleasure to read.


message 6: by Lindsey (new)

Lindsey I've read half of these, not bad (and of course Fahrenheit 451, a favorite).


message 7: by Nono (new)

Nono 3/9...


Anna (lion_reads) Hm, a thin list. I already read 60% of these.

Also, no Wyndham?


message 9: by Lyubov (new)

Lyubov "We" is a masterpiece <3


message 10: by Thea (new)

Thea Thank you so much for those recs , Fahrenheit 451 is one of my favorite books !! Probably the first dystopian book i've read .


message 11: by Phobos (new)

Phobos Jay wrote: "Rand's Anthem is one of my favorites, and it's a quick, low-investment read."

Rand's writing is Garbage just like her politics.


message 12: by Kenya (new)

Kenya Starflight Phobos wrote: "Jay wrote: "Rand's Anthem is one of my favorites, and it's a quick, low-investment read."

Rand's writing is Garbage just like her politics."


Tell us how you really feel, please...


message 13: by Phobos (new)

Phobos Oryx & Crake by Atwood is also great. So is High-Rise by JG Ballard, It Can't Happen Here by Sinclair Lewis and The Wanting Seed by Burgess.


message 14: by Bookfan (new)

Bookfan You absolutely must have A Canticle for Lebowitz on that list!


message 15: by Amy (new)

Amy Chris wrote: "Phobos wrote: "Rand's writing is Garbage just like her politics."

Why don't you tell us whose politics you do like, so we can determine how much weight to give your opinions?"


That is the best response of all time... you're a genius. :-)


message 16: by Kim (new)

Kim These are hardly unknown, and would probably already have been discovered by someone who's read Fahrenheit 451, but I think I'd reach outside the immediate read-alikes for Watchmen, World War Z, The Ballad of Black Tom, and maybe even Biting the Sun if someone wanted recommendations based on Fahrenheit.


message 17: by Timothy (new)

Timothy G. Huguenin Feed by MT Anderson, one of the most relevant dystopian books right now IMO
Feed by M.T. Anderson


message 18: by Swati (new)

Swati Nain Never let me go by Kazuo Ishiguro would fit right in, I imagine.


message 19: by Victorien (new)

Victorien Sukarieh https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mNKwe...

their is a 2018 adaptation of the book


message 20: by Corey (new)

Corey It is wrong to suggest my own novel? Well, I'm going to, as Shelf Monkey owes many debts to Bradbury's classic.

Although books still get burned. But for a good reason.

Shelf Monkey by Corey Redekop


message 21: by Honesty (new)

Honesty Bookfan wrote: "You absolutely must have A Canticle for Lebowitz on that list!"

Agreed!


message 22: by Christopher (last edited May 19, 2018 04:39PM) (new)

Christopher Check out We by Eugene Zamiatin. It's recognized as the inspiration for Orwell's 1984. It tells the story of of a society where citizens are not individuals but merely numbers that live in glass apartments and every action is regulated. The society believes that happiness and freedom are incompatible.

We


back to top