Rachel Dacus

more photos (2)

year in books
Kevin
263 books | 321 friends

William...
728 books | 4,721 friends

Dr. App...
2,387 books | 3,044 friends

Michael...
1,070 books | 2,369 friends

Rose Ke...
197 books | 70 friends

Karen
3,423 books | 137 friends

Mary
483 books | 608 friends

Jeff Ne...
751 books | 475 friends

More friends…

Rachel Dacus

Goodreads Author


Born
in Buffalo, NY, The United States
Website

Twitter

Genre

Influences
Jane Austen, Jodi Taylor, Susanna Kearsley, Matt Haig

Member Since
August 2007


Rachel Dacus writes fiction and poetry with a supernatural twist. She is the author of three novels: The Time Gatherer, a coming-of-age, time-travel love story; The Invisibles, a novel of sisterhood and family secrets; and The Renaissance Club, a time-travel romance of a great artist in history falling for his superfan from the future. "Unique and spellbinding twist to the time-traveling adventure, perfect for fans of Susanna Kearsley and Diana Gabaldon."

Dacus' four poetry collections are Arabesque, Gods of Water and Air (poetry, prose, and drama), Earth Lessons, and Femme au Chapeau. She lives in Northern California with her husband and a tiny but mighty Silky Terrier.
...more

To ask Rachel Dacus questions, please sign up.

Popular Answered Questions

Rachel Dacus Losing yourself in exploring yourself.
Rachel Dacus I write every day. And I respect my Muse. If she doesn't want to show up on one project, I turn to another. But I keep putting words down after words.…moreI write every day. And I respect my Muse. If she doesn't want to show up on one project, I turn to another. But I keep putting words down after words.(less)
Average rating: 4.14 · 237 ratings · 76 reviews · 11 distinct worksSimilar authors
The Invisibles

3.95 avg rating — 102 ratings2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Renaissance Club

4.36 avg rating — 50 ratings — published 2018 — 5 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Renaissance Club (The T...

3.92 avg rating — 39 ratings
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Time Gatherer (The Time...

4.45 avg rating — 11 ratings
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Time Gatherer

3.89 avg rating — 9 ratings2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Gods of Water and Air

4.67 avg rating — 9 ratings — published 2013 — 4 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Femme Au Chapeau

4.86 avg rating — 7 ratings — published 2005 — 2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Earth Lessons

4.67 avg rating — 6 ratings — published 2013 — 2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Renaissance Club (The T...

it was amazing 5.00 avg rating — 2 ratings
Rate this book
Clear rating
Arabesque

it was amazing 5.00 avg rating — 2 ratings — published 2018 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
More books by Rachel Dacus…

My 36th Anniversary & Writing Love Stories

It’s fully springtime here in Northern California, with roses, lilacs, and poppies bursting out by the handfuls. Walking around my neighborhood is walking from garden to garden. And it’s my 36th wedding anniversary! Being a lover of roses and all flowering plants, my wish for a celebration was to spend it outdoors. We went to …

Continue reading "My 36th Anniversary & Writing Love Stories"

The p

Read more of this blog post »
 •  0 comments  •  flag
Share on Twitter
Published on April 22, 2021 14:35

Upcoming Events

No scheduled events. Add an event.

The City We Became
Rachel is currently reading
by N.K. Jemisin (Goodreads Author)
bookshelves: currently-reading
Rate this book
Clear rating

 
Haiku Mind: 108 P...
Rate this book
Clear rating

 
American Sonnets ...
Rate this book
Clear rating

 

Rachel’s Recent Updates

26989
Rachel wants to read
Circe by Madeline Miller
Circe
by Madeline Miller (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
Rachel is now following Alethea's reviews
20188041
Rachel liked a question about Last Tang Standing:
Last Tang Standing by Lauren Ho
Rachel liked a question about Last Tang Standing:
Last Tang Standing by Lauren Ho
Rachel rated a book it was amazing
Last Tang Standing by Lauren Ho
Last Tang Standing
by Lauren Ho (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
When I find an author who can write genuinely funny fiction, in any genre, I become an instant monster reader and consume whatever they write. The good news with Lauren Ho's debut novel is that there was a laugh-aloud for me on every single page, and ...more
Rachel is on page 18 of 449 of The City We Became
The City We Became by N.K. Jemisin
The City We Became (Great Cities, #1)
by N.K. Jemisin (Goodreads Author)
progress: 
 
Rate this book
Clear rating
Rachel rated a book it was amazing
The City of Brass by S.A. Chakraborty
Rate this book
Clear rating
The unusual setting for an epic fantasy story drew me in, and Chakraborty didn't disappoint. She clearly has lived in and studied the Middle East, and her deep familiarity with this region inspired a magical world that is simply breathtaking. I also ...more
Rachel rated a book really liked it
Beach Read by Emily Henry
Beach Read
by Emily Henry (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
Rachel rated a book it was amazing
Sondheim by Stephen Sondheim
Rate this book
Clear rating
More of Rachel's books…
“I love the needle poke, the red pop/
and when an arc of red drops,/
quivering and shaped like wings/
beg me to lick them off,/
quickly savoring your shoulder/
newly marked with a nearly invisible/
but indelible butterfly”
Rachel Dacus, Gods of Water and Air

“I have an everyday religion that works for me. Love yourself first, and everything else falls into line.”
Lucille Ball

“I needed a drink, I needed a lot of life insurance, I needed a vacation, I needed a home in the country. What I had was a coat, a hat and a gun. I put them on and went out of the room.”
Raymond Chandler, Farewell, My Lovely

“The Moving Finger writes; and, having writ,
Moves on: nor all thy Piety nor Wit
Shall lure it back to cancel half a Line,
Nor all thy Tears wash out a Word of it.”
Omar Khayyám

“I love you without knowing how, or when, or from where. I love you simply, without problems or pride: I love you in this way because I do not know any other way of loving but this, in which there is no I or you, so intimate that your hand upon my chest is my hand, so intimate that when I fall asleep your eyes close.”
Pablo Neruda, 100 Love Sonnets

“But I love your feet
only because they walked
upon the earth and upon
the wind and upon the waters,
until they found me.”
Pablo Neruda

28172 Poetry Readers Challenge — 883 members — last activity 16 hours, 59 min ago
Let's talk about poetry books. This group's members read poetry collections, with the goal of reviewing twenty in a year. C'mon. Do it. It's good for ...more
1126904 #AdventureSociety — 35 members — last activity Nov 14, 2020 06:04AM
The #AdventureSociety is a book club for adventurous people. For as long as people have been telling stories, they've been telling adventure stories. ...more
26989 Goodreads Authors/Readers — 39558 members — last activity 58 minutes ago
This group is dedicated to connecting readers with Goodreads authors. It is divided by genres, and includes folders for writing resources, book websit ...more



Comments (showing 1-2)    post a comment »
dateUp arrow    newest »

Maureen Mullis Hi Rachel! Thank you for adding this fellow author into your circle of friends here on Goodreads. I hope you'll add my novels including the cozy mysteries (What Would Nancy Do?, Lethal Prescription), In the Company of Women, The Christmas to Remember and Finding Normal to your to-read list. I look forward to reading your book reviews and recommendations. Happy reading!


LouAnn Rachel--what a lovely review of Breaking the Glass. Thanks so much!

LouAnn




back to top