Susan DeFreitas

Carl White
2,916 books | 4,570 friends

Richard...
182 books | 259 friends

Michell...
524 books | 121 friends

Ariana ...
0 books | 174 friends

Elizabe...
42 books | 341 friends

Rebecca...
2,007 books | 5,000 friends

Theresa
2,183 books | 114 friends

Shaindel
379 books | 2,583 friends

More friends…

Susan DeFreitas

Goodreads Author


Website

Twitter

Genre

Influences
Monica Drake, Barbara Kingsolver, Lydia Millett

Member Since
November 2011


Susan DeFreitas is the author of the novel Hot Season (Harvard Square Editions), which won the 2017 Gold IPPY Award for Best Fiction of the West-Mountain region. Her fiction, nonfiction, and poetry has appeared in over thirty journals and anthologies, and in 2014 her work was a finalist for a Best of the Net award. She holds an MFA from Pacific University and lives in Portland, Oregon, where she serves as a collaborative editor with Indigo Editing & Publications.

To ask Susan DeFreitas questions, please sign up.

Popular Answered Questions

Susan DeFreitas I'll admit, it's not really an issue for me, as I've found ways to turn off my inner editor. (You know, that voice inside your head that says, "This…moreI'll admit, it's not really an issue for me, as I've found ways to turn off my inner editor. (You know, that voice inside your head that says, "This is crap! What are you doing? Where is this going? Who cares?") (less)
Susan DeFreitas The fact that you have a license to learn, really learn, about ANYTHING. In the course of writing my first novel, Hot Season, I learned about desert…moreThe fact that you have a license to learn, really learn, about ANYTHING. In the course of writing my first novel, Hot Season, I learned about desert ecology, wildfire, the history of environmental activism, and the habits of javelinas (desert critters who resemble pigs). For the sci fi novel I'm working on, I've learned about artificial intelligence and the history of sex machines. Never a dull moment.(less)
Average rating: 4.39 · 103 ratings · 39 reviews · 3 distinct worksSimilar authors
Hot Season

4.26 avg rating — 78 ratings2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Pyrophitic

it was amazing 5.00 avg rating — 4 ratings — published 2014 — 2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Milkfist #1

by
4.76 avg rating — 21 ratings
Rate this book
Clear rating

* Note: these are all the books on Goodreads for this author. To add more, click here.

“In the library of ancient books housed within the 16th century Spanish monastery of El Escorial, there exists a book of unknown origin—handmade, like all the rest, exquisite, like all the rest, but which, unlike the rest, is written in an unknown script.” That’s the opening of my latest short story, “The Library of the Lost,” which was inspired by my recent ... Read More Read more of this blog post »
 •  0 comments  •  flag
Twitter icon
Published on December 17, 2018 10:19

Upcoming Events

No scheduled events. Add an event.

Susan’s Recent Updates

Susan DeFreitas wrote a new blog post
“In the library of ancient books housed within the 16th century Spanish monastery of El Escorial, there exists a book of unknown origin—handmade, l... Read more of this blog post »
Susan DeFreitas voted for The Overstory as Best Fiction in the Semifinal Round of the 2018 Goodreads Choice Awards.
The Overstory by Richard Powers
Susan DeFreitas rated a book really liked it
Dept. of Speculation by Jenny Offill
Rate this book
Clear rating
What complex feelings a simple story can weave, and what a complex effect simple prose can have. A novel that anyone who's been married will relate to, and one every student of fiction should read.
Susan DeFreitas rated a book it was amazing
Farewell Navigator by Leni Zumas
Farewell Navigator: Stories
by Leni Zumas (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
Fans of Carmen Maria Machado, Kelly Link, Aimee Bender, and Karen Joy Fowler, take note: You'll love this collection of quirky, feminist, speculative-ish short stories.
Susan DeFreitas rated a book it was amazing
The Listeners by Leni Zumas
The Listeners
by Leni Zumas (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
A close study of family constellation dynamics, post-traumatic coping mechanisms, and aging punk rock syndrome (I made that one up), this is character-driven fiction at its finest.
Susan DeFreitas rated a book it was amazing
The Listeners by Leni Zumas
The Listeners
by Leni Zumas (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
A close study of family constellation dynamics, post-traumatic coping mechanisms, and aging punk rock syndrome (I made that one up), this is character-driven fiction at its finest.
The Botany of Desire by Michael Pollan
" And now I have to read Omnivore's! "
Susan DeFreitas made a comment in the group Eco-fictionThe Overstory topic
" It is, but so worth it! Would love to hear your thoughts when you're farther through it. =) "
The Overstory by Richard Powers
" SO GOOD "
More of Susan's books…
“Some things are like that—they strike you as repugnant for instinctive reasons, probably having to do with your culture and the way you were raised. The French word “gauche” comes to mind, but I preferred the Hebrew word “treyf.” Literally, it means not kosher, but I also use it to describe things like cars, bars, strip clubs, guns, dogs, rock-n-roll, and football games. Things that are treyf, you avoid, not because you hate them per se, but because in avoiding them you keep yourself from becoming like the people you hate.”
Aaron Cometbus, Cometbus

Tom Robbins
“Just because you're naked doesn't mean you're sexy. Just because you're cynical doesn't mean you're cool.”
Tom Robbins

Kurt Vonnegut
“Why don't you take a flying fuck at a rolling doughnut? Why don't you take a flying fuck at the mooooooooooooon?”
Kurt Vonnegut, Slapstick, or Lonesome No More!
tags: humor

Emily St. John Mandel
“Survival is insufficient.”
Emily St. John Mandel, Station Eleven

Emily St. John Mandel
“A fragment for my friend--
If your soul left this earth I would follow and find you
Silent, my starship suspended in night”
Emily St. John Mandel, Station Eleven

25x33 Eco-fiction — 110 members — last activity 19 hours, 10 min ago
Ecofiction, eco-fiction, green fiction--call it what you will, I believe it's an up-and-coming genre. Looking for those who agree to share the books y ...more
64477 Pacific U MFA — 77 members — last activity Jun 23, 2013 03:37AM
A place for faculty, students, and alumni to post their own books as well as books they've read. The purpose is to help fellow and future students fil ...more
138403 Binders Ink — 262 members — last activity Dec 28, 2014 11:43PM
BFOWW for the win.
179584 Our Shared Shelf — 222009 members — last activity 2 hours, 8 min ago
Dear Readers, As part of my work with UN Women, I have started reading as many books and essays about equality as I can get my hands on. There is so m ...more
25x33 Sci-fi Women — 1669 members — last activity Dec 11, 2018 01:15PM
A discussion of women in literary science fiction.
31062 Jorge Luis Borges — 116 members — last activity Jun 30, 2012 07:07AM
Borges, of all the authors, does not yet have a group on Goodreads. What? He does. Now.
More of Susan’s groups…



No comments have been added yet.