Dharma Kelleher

year in books
Tobin M...
474 books | 4,898 friends

Nancy L...
349 books | 1,430 friends

Matthew
99 books | 592 friends

Bruce C...
292 books | 575 friends

Harriet
86 books | 72 friends

Kayla K...
3,941 books | 3,719 friends

Kathy
3,305 books | 605 friends

Isabell...
22 books | 878 friends

More friends…

Dharma Kelleher

Goodreads Author


Born
in Atlanta, GA, The United States
November 19

Website

Twitter

Genre

Influences
Lawrence Block, Sara Paretsky, Jim Butcher

Member Since
November 2008

URL


As one of the only transgender authors in crime fiction, Dharma brings a unique voice to the genre, specializing in gritty thrillers with a feminist kick.

She is the author of the Jinx Ballou bounty hunter series and the Shea Stevens outlaw biker series. Her work has also appeared in several anthologies. 

Fans of Sara Paretsky, Stieg Larsson, and Elmore Leonard will love her work because it is bold, fast-paced, emotionally gripping, and hard to put down.

Dharma lives in the scorching Arizona desert with her wife and three feline overlords.

 You can learn more about Dharma and her work at https://dharmakelleher.com.
...more

To ask Dharma Kelleher questions, please sign up.

Popular Answered Questions

Dharma Kelleher Wow! That's a tough question. Most of my favorite characters aren't in a relationship, in part because most of what I read is crime fiction.

If I had …more
Wow! That's a tough question. Most of my favorite characters aren't in a relationship, in part because most of what I read is crime fiction.

If I had to choose, I would go with Sookie Stackhouse and Eric Northman from Charlaine Harris' Southern Vampire series. (less)
Dharma Kelleher On the rare occasions that I experience writer's block, I usually am trying too hard to be perfect. Often I'm trying to edit when I should be writing.…moreOn the rare occasions that I experience writer's block, I usually am trying too hard to be perfect. Often I'm trying to edit when I should be writing.

When I get stuck, I let myself write garbage until better ideas surface. First drafts are going to suck. Let them suck. They're called rough drafts for a reason. (less)
Average rating: 4.16 · 410 ratings · 133 reviews · 16 distinct worksSimilar authors
Chaser (Jinx Ballou, Bounty...

4.12 avg rating — 105 ratings — published 2018 — 2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Iron Goddess: A Shea Steven...

3.99 avg rating — 149 ratings4 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Extreme Prejudice (Jinx Bal...

4.58 avg rating — 31 ratings2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
A Broken Woman (Jinx Ballou...

4.63 avg rating — 27 ratings — published 2019 — 2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Snitch (Shea Stevens Outlaw...

3.68 avg rating — 41 ratings5 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Blood Sisters (Shea Stevens...

4.50 avg rating — 16 ratings
Rate this book
Clear rating
Boosted: A Shea Stevens Sho...

4.60 avg rating — 10 ratings2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Sappho: A Short Story

4.57 avg rating — 7 ratings — published 2010
Rate this book
Clear rating
Date Night: A Flash Fiction...

4.20 avg rating — 5 ratings
Rate this book
Clear rating
TERF Wars: A Jinx Ballou Novel

it was amazing 5.00 avg rating — 7 ratings2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
More books by Dharma Kelleher…
Iron Goddess: A Shea Steven... Snitch
(2 books)
by
3.92 avg rating — 188 ratings

Chaser Extreme Prejudice A Broken Woman TERF Wars: A Jinx Ballou Novel
(4 books)
by
4.31 avg rating — 166 ratings

Upcoming Events

No scheduled events.

Dharma’s Recent Updates

Dharma Kelleher is now friends with Tobin Marks
81417416
Dharma Kelleher has read
The Pursuit of Perfection by Kristine Kathryn Rusch
Rate this book
Clear rating
Dharma Kelleher finished reading
Writing a Novel in Seven Days by Dean Wesley Smith
Rate this book
Clear rating
Dharma Kelleher finished reading
The Heroine's Journey by Gail Carriger
Rate this book
Clear rating
Dharma Kelleher has read
Captive by Catherine Oxenberg
Rate this book
Clear rating
Dharma Kelleher is currently reading
Blood Sisters by Dharma Kelleher
Rate this book
Clear rating
Dharma Kelleher has read
Critical Mass by Sara Paretsky
Rate this book
Clear rating
Dharma Kelleher rated a book it was amazing
By Way of Sorrow by Robyn Gigl
Rate this book
Clear rating
A Brilliant Legal Thriller

This novel is not only an exciting, edge-of-your-seat thriller on par with any of John Grisham’s books, but it also takes an unflinching exploration of how transgender people, and in particular trans women of color, are tre
...more
Dharma Kelleher is currently reading
Mastering Simple Facebook Ads For Authors by Mark J. Dawson
Rate this book
Clear rating
Dharma Kelleher is currently reading
By Way of Sorrow by Robyn Gigl
Rate this book
Clear rating
More of Dharma's books…

Topics Mentioning This Author

topics posts views last activity  
2021 Reading Chal...: Mad Giles' 144 Books, 12x12 Reading Challenge 2 16 Jun 02, 2016 11:49PM  
Crazy Challenge C...: This topic has been closed to new comments. The Funny Pages 933 487 Dec 27, 2016 05:34PM  
Crazy Challenge C...: Woodstock 109 103 Jan 18, 2017 04:15PM  
Crazy Challenge C...: This topic has been closed to new comments. No Vowels!! 1111 551 Jan 23, 2017 06:22PM  
Crazy Challenge C...: How Many Pages? - 2016 386 233 Mar 10, 2017 09:24AM  
“Your life is an occasion. Rise to it.”
Suzanne Weyn, Mr. Magorium's Wonder Emporium

“When King Lear dies in act five, do you know what Shakespeare has written? He has written, 'He dies.' No more. No fanfare, no metaphor, no brilliant final words. The culmination of the most influential piece of dramatic literature is, 'He dies.' Now I am not asking you to be happy at my leaving but all I ask you to do is to turn the page and let the next story begin.
-- Mr. Magorium”
Suzanne Weyn, Mr. Magorium's Wonder Emporium

“There are a million things one might do with a block of wood. But what do you think might happen if someone, just once, believed in it?”
Suzanne Weyn, Mr. Magorium's Wonder Emporium

137018 Mystery & Thriller LGBTQQA — 218 members — last activity Jun 12, 2021 10:06AM
For those who love Mystery and Thriller stories with Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Questioning, Queer, and Asexual protagonists.
25x33 Women's Fiction authors — 778 members — last activity Apr 09, 2021 06:44AM
A group for authors of contemporary women's fiction only. (This isn't the place for sci-fi or fantasy.) Post a description of your book for readers to ...more
94484 Authors, Readers & Writers — 236 members — last activity May 04, 2020 10:13PM
A BiblioCrunch group for authors (self-published, indie, traditional), readers and writers to connect with one another and share the love of literatur ...more
107612 Margo Moon hosts a Q&A — 14 members — last activity Jul 09, 2013 04:10AM
Ask Margo Moon absolutely anything about being an Indie Author, the writing of Grand Theft Equine, or her upcoming novel Inner Compass. This Q&A will ...more
26989 Goodreads Authors/Readers — 40026 members — last activity 2 hours, 7 min ago
This group is dedicated to connecting readers with Goodreads authors. It is divided by genres, and includes folders for writing resources, book websit ...more
132 Guilty Pleasures — 589 members — last activity Apr 20, 2016 12:03PM
Forum for discussing/recommending queer texts, open to the idea that the definition of "queer" is still in process. Interests in all genres, fiction a ...more
84067 Psychological Thrillers — 2718 members — last activity Jun 17, 2021 09:02AM
This group is dedicated to all fans of Psychological Thrillers by authors including, but not limited to: James Patterson, Jeffery Deaver, John Sanford ...more
140537 The Psychological Thriller, Mystery, True Crime Genre Couch — 145 members — last activity Sep 21, 2020 06:29AM
This is an open group that enjoys the thriller genre. Book discussions, reviews, author chats, book contests. Book polls, Sharing of thoughts and idea ...more
73787 The Alliance of Independent Authors (ALLi) — 640 members — last activity 32 minutes ago
This group is moderated by Jessica Bell, publisher of Vine Leaves Press. Jessica is also a widely published indie author and a Goodreads Librarian. Sh ...more
84674 Crime, Mysteries & Thrillers — 12786 members — last activity 5 hours, 9 min ago
Welcome and join us for our monthly group reads. We read Mysteries, Thrillers, and a variety of subgenres. True Crime, Cozy Mysteries, and Series are ...more
More of Dharma’s groups…



No comments have been added yet.