Dharma Kelleher

year in books
C.L. Ca...
1,672 books | 2,184 friends

Paula B...
847 books | 376 friends

Art Taylor
465 books | 850 friends

Glenda ...
4,740 books | 107 friends

Matthew
75 books | 576 friends

Kayla K...
3,656 books | 3,637 friends

Lise Gold
33 books | 463 friends

J.R. Ri...
4 books | 733 friends

More friends…

Dharma Kelleher

Goodreads Author


Born
in Atlanta, GA, The United States
November 19

Website

Twitter

Genre

Influences
Lawrence Block, Sara Paretsky, Jim Butcher

Member Since
November 2008

URL


As one of the only transgender authors in crime fiction, Dharma brings a unique voice to the genre, specializing in gritty thrillers with a feminist kick.

She is the author of the Jinx Ballou bounty hunter series and the Shea Stevens outlaw biker series. Her work has also appeared in several anthologies. 

Fans of Sara Paretsky, Stieg Larsson, and Elmore Leonard will love her work because it is bold, fast-paced, emotionally gripping, and hard to put down.

Dharma lives in the scorching Arizona desert with her wife and three feline overlords.

 You can learn more about Dharma and her work at https://dharmakelleher.com.
...more

To ask Dharma Kelleher questions, please sign up.

Popular Answered Questions

Dharma Kelleher Wow! That's a tough question. Most of my favorite characters aren't in a relationship, in part because most of what I read is crime fiction.

If I had …more
Wow! That's a tough question. Most of my favorite characters aren't in a relationship, in part because most of what I read is crime fiction.

If I had to choose, I would go with Sookie Stackhouse and Eric Northman from Charlaine Harris' Southern Vampire series. (less)
Dharma Kelleher On the rare occasions that I experience writer's block, I usually am trying too hard to be perfect. Often I'm trying to edit when I should be writing.…moreOn the rare occasions that I experience writer's block, I usually am trying too hard to be perfect. Often I'm trying to edit when I should be writing.

When I get stuck, I let myself write garbage until better ideas surface. First drafts are going to suck. Let them suck. They're called rough drafts for a reason. (less)
Average rating: 4.08 · 279 ratings · 106 reviews · 12 distinct worksSimilar authors
Iron Goddess (Shea Stevens #1)

3.98 avg rating — 126 ratings4 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Chaser (Jinx Ballou, Bounty...

4.11 avg rating — 55 ratings — published 2018 — 2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
A Broken Woman (Jinx Ballou...

4.65 avg rating — 17 ratings — published 2019 — 2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Extreme Prejudice (Jinx Bal...

4.55 avg rating — 20 ratings2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Snitch (Shea Stevens #2)

3.65 avg rating — 37 ratings3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Boosted: A Shea Stevens Sho...

4.56 avg rating — 9 ratings2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Sappho: A Short Story

4.50 avg rating — 6 ratings — published 2010
Rate this book
Clear rating
Date Night: A Flash Fiction...

really liked it 4.00 avg rating — 4 ratings
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Beast of Bayou Beaurega...

3.67 avg rating — 3 ratings
Rate this book
Clear rating
Jinx Ballou Bounty Hunter B...

it was amazing 5.00 avg rating — 1 rating
Rate this book
Clear rating
More books by Dharma Kelleher…
Iron Goddess Snitch
(2 books)
by
3.91 avg rating — 163 ratings

Chaser Extreme Prejudice
(2 books)
by
4.23 avg rating — 75 ratings

Upcoming Events

No scheduled events. Add an event.

Body Work
Dharma Kelleher is currently reading
by Sara Paretsky (Goodreads Author)
bookshelves: currently-reading
Rate this book
Clear rating

 
Audio For Authors...
Rate this book
Clear rating

 
Help! My Marketin...
Rate this book
Clear rating

 

Dharma’s Recent Updates

Dharma Kelleher is currently reading
Body Work by Sara Paretsky
Body Work
by Sara Paretsky (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
Dharma Kelleher is currently reading
Audio For Authors by Joanna Penn
Rate this book
Clear rating
Dharma Kelleher finished reading
Blood Rites by Jim Butcher
Rate this book
Clear rating
Dharma Kelleher is currently reading
Help! My Marketing Strategies Suck by Mal Cooper
Rate this book
Clear rating
Dharma Kelleher is currently reading
Blood Rites by Jim Butcher
Rate this book
Clear rating
Dharma Kelleher finished reading
Death Masks by Jim Butcher
Rate this book
Clear rating
Dharma Kelleher is currently reading
Death Masks by Jim Butcher
Rate this book
Clear rating
Dharma Kelleher is currently reading
Summer Knight by Jim Butcher
Rate this book
Clear rating
Dharma Kelleher finished reading
Grave Peril by Jim Butcher
Rate this book
Clear rating
Dharma Kelleher is currently reading
Grave Peril by Jim Butcher
Rate this book
Clear rating
More of Dharma's books…

Topics Mentioning This Author

topics posts views last activity  
2020 Reading Chal...: Mad Giles' 144 Books, 12x12 Reading Challenge 2 16 Jun 02, 2016 11:49PM  
Crazy Challenge C...: This topic has been closed to new comments. The Funny Pages 947 485 Dec 27, 2016 05:34PM  
Crazy Challenge C...: Woodstock 109 103 Jan 18, 2017 04:15PM  
Crazy Challenge C...: This topic has been closed to new comments. No Vowels!! 1122 541 Jan 23, 2017 06:22PM  
Crazy Challenge C...: How Many Pages? - 2016 386 230 Mar 10, 2017 09:24AM  
“Your life is an occasion. Rise to it.”
Suzanne Weyn, Mr. Magorium's Wonder Emporium

“When King Lear dies in act five, do you know what Shakespeare has written? He has written, 'He dies.' No more. No fanfare, no metaphor, no brilliant final words. The culmination of the most influential piece of dramatic literature is, 'He dies.' Now I am not asking you to be happy at my leaving but all I ask you to do is to turn the page and let the next story begin.
-- Mr. Magorium”
Suzanne Weyn, Mr. Magorium's Wonder Emporium

“There are a million things one might do with a block of wood. But what do you think might happen if someone, just once, believed in it?”
Suzanne Weyn, Mr. Magorium's Wonder Emporium

137018 Mystery & Thriller LGBTQQA — 166 members — last activity May 12, 2020 11:00AM
For those who love Mystery and Thriller stories with Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Questioning, Queer, and Asexual protagonists.
25x33 Women's Fiction authors — 768 members — last activity May 05, 2020 09:30PM
A group for authors of contemporary women's fiction only. (This isn't the place for sci-fi or fantasy.) Post a description of your book for readers to ...more
94484 Authors, Readers & Writers — 236 members — last activity May 04, 2020 10:13PM
A BiblioCrunch group for authors (self-published, indie, traditional), readers and writers to connect with one another and share the love of literatur ...more
107612 Margo Moon hosts a Q&A — 14 members — last activity Jul 09, 2013 04:10AM
Ask Margo Moon absolutely anything about being an Indie Author, the writing of Grand Theft Equine, or her upcoming novel Inner Compass. This Q&A will ...more
26989 Goodreads Authors/Readers — 33895 members — last activity 45 minutes ago
This group is dedicated to connecting readers with Goodreads authors. It is divided by genres, and includes folders for writing resources, book websit ...more
132 Guilty Pleasures — 586 members — last activity Apr 20, 2016 12:03PM
Forum for discussing/recommending queer texts, open to the idea that the definition of "queer" is still in process. Interests in all genres, fiction a ...more
84067 Psychological Thrillers — 4038 members — last activity 11 hours, 27 min ago
This group is dedicated to all fans of Psychological Thrillers by authors including, but not limited to: James Patterson, Jeffery Deaver, John Sanford ...more
140537 The Psychological Thriller, Mystery, True Crime Genre Couch — 139 members — last activity Feb 20, 2020 11:44AM
This is an open group that enjoys the thriller genre. Book discussions, reviews, author chats, book contests. Book polls, Sharing of thoughts and idea ...more
73787 The Alliance of Independent Authors (ALLi) — 511 members — last activity May 06, 2020 04:59AM
The group's focus is two-fold: 1. To showcase our members' books and events. 2. To foster recognition, connection and collaboration between members. ...more
84674 Crime, Mysteries & Thrillers — 11225 members — last activity 1 hour, 42 min ago
Welcome and join us for our monthly group reads. We read Mysteries, Thrillers, and a variety of subgenres. True Crime, Cozy Mysteries, and Series are ...more
More of Dharma’s groups…



No comments have been added yet.