Terry Madden

Goodreads Author


Born
in Los Angeles, The United States
Website

Twitter

Genre

Influences

Member Since
October 2011

URL


Terry is the author of the fantasy series Three Wells of the Sea. She has won top awards for both fiction and screenwriting. Her subjects range from historical to science fiction and fantasy and she's as fascinated by the warfare tactics of the Celts as she is by orbiting space telescopes. Terry has worked in molecular biology and genetic research labs and currently teaches high school chemistry and astronomy. She enjoys hiking, stargazing, and gaming.

To ask Terry Madden questions, please sign up.

Popular Answered Questions

Terry Madden I'm currently reading Dave Butler's alternate history/dark fantasy "Witchy Eye" and thoroughly enjoying it. This summer, I want to educate myself with…moreI'm currently reading Dave Butler's alternate history/dark fantasy "Witchy Eye" and thoroughly enjoying it. This summer, I want to educate myself with some of the greats of science fiction whom I haven't yet had the chance to read. I want to try a Verner Vinge novel, and I have yet to read Asimov's "I, Robot." I'd also like to get back to some Kim Stanley Robinson, like his Mars series and "Consider Phlebas" is also in my queue. In the fantasy realm, I'm looking forward to reading L.D. Colter's "A Borrowed Hell." If you have any particular favorites of Vinge's please let me know! I'm looking for recommendations there.(less)
Terry Madden I would live in the Earthsea Archipelago from Ursula LeGuin's series of that name. I wouldn't mind learning magic, as Ged did, but women don't become …moreI would live in the Earthsea Archipelago from Ursula LeGuin's series of that name. I wouldn't mind learning magic, as Ged did, but women don't become mages in that world, so there is a bit of sexism going on. I'd have to fix that.

In terms of science fiction, I would say the world of Ancillary Justice might be very intriguing. The opposite of sexism rules it. Though fighting the battles with the crew of the Rocinante would be pretty cool in the Expanse series. The world is anything but eutopia, however.(less)
Average rating: 4.16 · 529 ratings · 135 reviews · 9 distinct worksSimilar authors
Three Wells of the Sea (Thr...

4.12 avg rating — 103 ratings6 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Salamander's Smile (Thr...

4.44 avg rating — 34 ratings — published 2017 — 2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Wood

4.73 avg rating — 15 ratings — published 2015
Rate this book
Clear rating
Halls of the Sunless (Three...

4.50 avg rating — 6 ratings
Rate this book
Clear rating
Animal: Digital Science Fic...

4.20 avg rating — 5 ratings — published 2015
Rate this book
Clear rating
Three Wells of the Sea Seri...

by
4.75 avg rating — 4 ratings
Rate this book
Clear rating
L. Ron Hubbard Presents Wri...

by
4.07 avg rating — 332 ratings — published 2014 — 6 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Undercurrents: An Anthology...

by
4.40 avg rating — 15 ratings — published 2018 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Infinity Cluster

by
4.53 avg rating — 15 ratings — published 2015 — 2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
More books by Terry Madden…

Crom Cruach and the Cult of the Head

PictureThe reproduction of the Killycluggin Stone in Co. Cavan, Ireland. "Here once stood a lofty idol, that saw many a fight, whose name was the Cromm Cruach; it caused every tribe to live without peace.

He was their god, the wizened Cromm, hidden by many mists: as for the folk that believed in him, the eternal Kingdom beyond every haven shall not be theirs.

For him ingloriously they slew their hapless fi
Read more of this blog post »
 •  0 comments  •  flag
Share on Twitter
Published on May 16, 2018 07:35
Three Wells of the Sea The Salamander's Smile
(2 books)
by
4.20 avg rating — 137 ratings

Upcoming Events

No scheduled events. Add an event.

Autobiography of ...
Rate this book
Clear rating

 
Waking Up: A Guid...
Rate this book
Clear rating

 

Terry’s Recent Updates

Terry Madden wants to read
Surely You're Joking, Mr. Feynman! by Richard P. Feynman
Rate this book
Clear rating
Terry Madden is currently reading
Longitude by Dava Sobel
Rate this book
Clear rating
Terry Madden rated a book really liked it
The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness
Rate this book
Clear rating
Passionate Minds by David Bodanis
"This is the best kind of biography. If you know a reasonable amount already, it gives you lots of detail, but if you didn't then it fills it all in without any fuss. I got more out of this than if it had been my first trajectory across the Enlightenm" Read more of this review »
Terry Madden is currently reading
Autobiography of DuPont de Nemours by Elizabeth Fox-Genovese
Rate this book
Clear rating
Terry Madden is currently reading
Waking Up by Sam Harris
Rate this book
Clear rating
Terry Madden is currently reading
The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness
Rate this book
Clear rating
Terry Madden is currently reading
Dangerous Liaisons by Pierre Choderlos de Laclos
Rate this book
Clear rating
Terry Madden wants to read
The Wonder by Emma Donoghue
The Wonder
by Emma Donoghue (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
Terry Madden rated a book really liked it
Erotic Stories for Punjabi Widows by Balli Kaur Jaswal
Rate this book
Clear rating
More of Terry's books…
Rumi
“My soul is from elsewhere, I'm sure of that, and I intend to end up there.”
Mawlana Jalal-al-Din Rumi

Rumi
“The wound is the place where the Light enters you.”
Rumi

Rumi
“Everything in the universe is within you. Ask all from yourself.”
Mawlana Jalal-al-Din Rumi

Alfred Bester
“Number 99 was an eviscerated ceramics plant. During the war a succession of blazing explosions had burst among the stock of thousands of chemical glazes, fused them, and splashed them into a wild rainbow reproduction of a lunar crater. Great splotches of magenta, violet, bice green, burnt umber, and chrome yellow were burned into the stone walls. Long streams of orange, crimson, and imperial purple had erupted through windows and doors to streak the streets and surrounding ruins with slashing brush strokes. This became the Rainbow House of Chooka Frood.”
Alfred Bester, The Demolished Man

Ray Bradbury
“Writing is supposed to be difficult, agonizing, a dreadful exercise, a terrible occupation.”
Ray Bradbury, Zen in the Art of Writing

26989 Goodreads Authors/Readers — 33924 members — last activity 2 hours, 33 min ago
This group is dedicated to connecting readers with Goodreads authors. It is divided by genres, and includes folders for writing resources, book websit ...more
10915 Fantasy Book Club — 530 members — last activity 4 hours, 0 min ago
For readers of Fantasy, monthly book discussions and other fun stuff! We hold nominations on the first Saturday of the month, the poll opens the fo ...more
45059 Sci-fi and Heroic Fantasy — 6930 members — last activity 11 hours, 46 min ago
A place for those who walk the green forests of Middle Earth, cross the pale sands of Arakis, sail the blue waters of Earthsea, slip among the shadows ...more
1865 SciFi and Fantasy Book Club — 26375 members — last activity 3 hours, 40 min ago
Hi there! SFFBC is a welcoming place for readers to share their love of speculative fiction through group reads, buddy reads, challenges, ...more
180340 Irish Mythology Reinvented — 60 members — last activity Oct 23, 2018 05:17PM
I'm looking to meet and chat with people about Irish Mythology in modern literature, what people are reading, how it's being interpreted and what I sh ...more
220 Goodreads Librarians Group — 108202 members — last activity 7 minutes ago
A place where all Goodreads members can work together to improve the Goodreads book catalog. Non-librarians are welcome to join the group as well, to ...more
124330 Readers That Love Giveaways, Ebook Deals, and Free Books! — 3045 members — last activity 8 hours, 24 min ago
This group is for readers, bloggers, & book lovers who enjoy entering giveaways, sweepstakes, and finding freebies! Hosted by Fire & Ice Book Promos. ...more
109784 GOOD REVIEWS — 7459 members — last activity Jun 02, 2020 02:47PM
This Group is only for authors who are looking for reviews and Reviewers who love to read books and share their reviews.
17501 Space Opera Fans — 3898 members — last activity May 30, 2020 06:15PM
If you like space opera: an epic scale adventure through the galaxy with military battles, interplanetary politics, realistic interpersonal relationsh ...more
100482 Genre Specific Review Groups — 1617 members — last activity May 31, 2020 01:44AM
Following the example of fellow Goodreads group, "Review Group", this group believes support for our Indie authors is extremely important. Many of the ...more
More of Terry’s groups…



No comments have been added yet.