Melanie Conklin

Goodreads Author


Born
in Louisiana, The United States
Website

Twitter

Genre

Member Since
September 2011


Melanie Conklin is the author of Counting Thyme and Every Missing Piece. Melanie grew up in North Carolina and worked as a product designer before she began her writing career. When she’s not writing, Melanie spends her time doodling and dreaming up new ways to be creative. She lives in New Jersey with her family.

To ask Melanie Conklin questions, please sign up.

Popular Answered Questions

Melanie Conklin I was inspired to write Counting Thyme after I read WONDER by R.J. Palacio. Auggie's story touched my heart, and I found myself asking the question: W…moreI was inspired to write Counting Thyme after I read WONDER by R.J. Palacio. Auggie's story touched my heart, and I found myself asking the question: What would it be like to be the sibling of a child facing a difficult situation, like a life-threatening illness? That's what started the story of Thyme and her little brother, Val.(less)
Melanie Conklin Whenever I want to get lost in a story, I re-read WHEN YOU REACH ME by Rebecca Stead. It's such a great book and always makes me smile and laugh!…moreWhenever I want to get lost in a story, I re-read WHEN YOU REACH ME by Rebecca Stead. It's such a great book and always makes me smile and laugh!(less)
Average rating: 4.29 · 2,733 ratings · 520 reviews · 2 distinct worksSimilar authors
Counting Thyme

4.28 avg rating — 2,473 ratings — published 2016 — 9 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Every Missing Piece

4.37 avg rating — 270 ratings — published 2020 — 4 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating

* Note: these are all the books on Goodreads for this author. To add more, click here.

WRAD is Almost Here!

I love World Read Aloud Day! It’s so much fun to connect with students around the country and the world to celebrate our love of books together. This year, I’m chatting with nearly a dozen different classes on February 3rd, but as usual my slots filled up very quickly.

If your class would like to hear me read the first chapter of Counting Thyme or Every Missing Piece, I have those videos on my

Read more of this blog post »
1 like ·   •  0 comments  •  flag
Share on Twitter
Published on January 28, 2021 11:38

Upcoming Events

No scheduled events. Add an event.

Wonderland
Melanie is currently reading
by Barbara O'Connor (Goodreads Author)
bookshelves: currently-reading
Rate this book
Clear rating

 
The Glass Hotel
Melanie is currently reading
by Emily St. John Mandel (Goodreads Author)
bookshelves: currently-reading
Rate this book
Clear rating

 
Focused
Melanie is currently reading
by Alyson Gerber (Goodreads Author)
bookshelves: currently-reading
Rate this book
Clear rating

 

Melanie’s Recent Updates

Melanie wants to read
Drive Your Plow Over the Bones of the Dead by Olga Tokarczuk
Rate this book
Clear rating
Melanie is on page 35 of 288 of Wonderland
Wonderland by Barbara O'Connor
Wonderland
by Barbara O'Connor (Goodreads Author)
progress: 
 
Rate this book
Clear rating
Melanie is currently reading
Wonderland by Barbara O'Connor
Wonderland
by Barbara O'Connor (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
Melanie finished reading
The List of Things That Will Not Change by Rebecca Stead
Rate this book
Clear rating
Melanie rated a book it was amazing
Cloud Hopper by Beth Kephart
Cloud Hopper
by Beth Kephart (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
Lyrical and atmospheric, this story is a great choice for fans of Kevin Henkes and Gary D Schmidt. Follow Sophie's journey as she searches for the identity of a hopper who crashed at the local airfield. This story has a timeless feeling, the words ar ...more
Melanie started reading
The List of Things That Will Not Change by Rebecca Stead
Rate this book
Clear rating
Melanie rated a book it was amazing
Cloud Hopper by Beth Kephart
Cloud Hopper
by Beth Kephart (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
Lyrical and atmospheric, this story is a great choice for fans of Kevin Henkes and Gary D Schmidt. Follow Sophie's journey as she searches for the identity of a hopper who crashed at the local airfield. This story has a timeless feeling, the words ar ...more
Melanie is currently reading
Cloud Hopper by Beth Kephart
Cloud Hopper
by Beth Kephart (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
Melanie wants to read
Yesterday Is History by Kosoko Jackson
Yesterday Is History
by Kosoko Jackson (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
Melanie wants to read
Root Magic by Eden Royce
Root Magic
by Eden Royce (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
More of Melanie's books…
“When someone tells you that your little brother might die, you're quick to agree to anything.”
Melanie Conklin

“purple in the dog food”
Melanie Conklin, Counting Thyme

“Once people knew about the cancer, I wouldn't be able to stop them from talking about Val every time they saw me. And then I would stop being me, because my time was something I could only buy at home.”
Melanie Conklin, Counting Thyme

Polls

What book should we read in June?

You may write in titles, provided the book is a 2017 Newbery contender and already published.

 
  57 votes 38.0%

 
  20 votes 13.3%

 
  15 votes 10.0%

Booked by Kwame Alexander (write-in)
 
  14 votes 9.3%

 
  9 votes 6.0%

 
  9 votes 6.0%

Wolf Hollow (write-in)
 
  8 votes 5.3%

 
  6 votes 4.0%

The Wild Robot (write-in)
 
  6 votes 4.0%

counting thyme (write-in)
 
  3 votes 2.0%

Wolf hollow (write-in)
 
  2 votes 1.3%

the nine lives of jacob tibbs (write-in)
 
  1 vote 0.7%

150 total votes
More...

Topics Mentioning This Author

topics posts views last activity  
Mid-Continent Pub...: New Kit Keeper Titles (Jan - Jun 2019) 7 45 Jun 11, 2019 08:23AM  
The Next Best Boo...: The Title Game - Part Deux 8182 2524 Mar 01, 2021 05:46PM  
“We believe in ordinary acts of bravery, in the courage that drives one person to stand up for another.”
Veronica Roth, Divergent

“I might be in love with you." He smiles a little. "I'm waiting until I'm sure to tell you, though.”
Veronica Roth, Divergent

“It is nice to be nice," said Kamala with a sage nod. "And it is also nice to eat people.”
Roshani Chokshi, The Star-Touched Queen

“A memory is a fine legacy to leave behind.”
Roshani Chokshi, The Star-Touched Queen

“Trust is won in years. Not words.”
Roshani Chokshi, The Star-Touched Queen

71883 Great Middle Grade Reads — 3464 members — last activity 57 minutes ago
GMGR brings together parents, teachers, librarians, writers and readers, who all love middle grade books. If you've ever wished for your very own magi ...more
62172 BookExpo America — 968 members — last activity Dec 08, 2020 07:16AM
This is a discussion group for those planning on attending BookExpo 2018 May 31st - June 1st, and BookCon June 2nd-3rd. Feel free to share past experi ...more
93364 Gliterary Girl YA Book Chat — 53 members — last activity Jun 27, 2014 09:11AM
The writers over at http://www.gliterarygirl.com decided to start a book club on the site. We would love you to come and join us, but we also want to ...more
16778 Free Books, .99, Giveaways & Reviews - Check Them Out! — 8981 members — last activity Apr 11, 2021 12:29AM
This group is for authors, publishers and bloggers to post giveaways and freebies for readers.
64233 Addicted to YA — 44034 members — last activity 32 minutes ago
“One must always be careful of books," said Tessa, "and what is inside them, for words have the power to change us.” ― Cassandra Clare, Clockwork Ange ...more
26989 Goodreads Authors/Readers — 39097 members — last activity 1 hour, 55 min ago
This group is dedicated to connecting readers with Goodreads authors. It is divided by genres, and includes folders for writing resources, book websit ...more
25x33 .. — 3312 members — last activity Jan 07, 2018 02:51PM
.....
More of Melanie’s groups…



No comments have been added yet.