Emma Lesko

Bisky S...
1,097 books | 3,446 friends

Renee
813 books | 2,371 friends

Deb
Deb
1,558 books | 548 friends

Heather
2,732 books | 635 friends

Carrie ...
4,166 books | 178 friends

Deborah...
1,835 books | 4,499 friends

Kimberly
23,931 books | 156 friends

Katrina...
183 books | 4,133 friends

More friends…

Emma Lesko

Goodreads Author


Born
The United States
Website

Twitter

Genre

Influences
Beverly Cleary, Lenore Look, Sara Pennypacker, Anna Branford, Annie Ba ...more

Member Since
March 2014


Emma Lesko grew up near Detroit, Michigan, where she ate dirt, taught her guinea pig to turn the basement lights on with his teeth, and read books in a garbage can. Like all kids, Emma had some superpowers. She had supersonic ears, super-strong taste buds and a super-smelling nose. Sometimes her superpowers were spectacular, and sometimes they gave her a feeling of barf. Though Emma has written a gazillion kids’ stories, Super Lexi is the first one she ever showed anybody.

Emma Lesko is currently not accepting new questions.

Popular Answered Questions

Emma Lesko As a little kid, I never got into "kid-friendly" activities. Overnight camping trips, field trips, school performances, carnivals, class parties, you…moreAs a little kid, I never got into "kid-friendly" activities. Overnight camping trips, field trips, school performances, carnivals, class parties, you name it, they overwhelmed me. I did not like them. But in the 80s, kids' perspectives were not validated as well as they are today, so I frequently faced grown-ups who told me all kids liked that stuff. No one really believed me.

I decided to write SUPER LEXI about a second-grade girl who hates musical performances & staring eyeballs because I think kids need to be told there's more than one way to experience the world. There is power in the written word. I thought if a grown-up wrote a book that says it's OK to see the world this way, then it would be official for whatever kid needs to hear that. (less)
Emma Lesko It's so nice to hear from you, Cade!

I do have a few more ideas for SUPER LEXI books and hope to complete them, but there are no official releases…more
It's so nice to hear from you, Cade!

I do have a few more ideas for SUPER LEXI books and hope to complete them, but there are no official releases scheduled after the Christmas book comes out in November. When I do have release dates on future books, I'll announce them on my Facebook page - http://www.facebook.com/EmmaLeskoAuthor

Thank you for your question! (less)
Average rating: 4.69 · 62 ratings · 30 reviews · 2 distinct worksSimilar authors
Super Lexi

by
4.89 avg rating — 35 ratings — published 2014
Rate this book
Clear rating
Super Lexi Is Not a Fan of ...

4.44 avg rating — 27 ratings — published 2014
Rate this book
Clear rating

* Note: these are all the books on Goodreads for this author. To add more, click here.

description

Grab your chance to win chapter book SUPER LEXI IS NOT A FAN OF CHRISTMAS!

#1 New Release in kids' special needs books on Amazon! Click here to enter the Goodreads giveaway! Read more of this blog post »
 •  0 comments  •  flag
Twitter icon
Published on November 13, 2014 10:51 • 71 views • Tags: chapter-book, christmas, emma-lesko, giveaway, humor, special-needs

Upcoming Events

No scheduled events. Add an event.

Unusual Chickens ...
Rate this book
Clear rating

 
The Year the Swal...
Emma Lesko is currently reading
by Kathryn Fitzmaurice (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating

 

Emma’s Recent Updates

Emma Lesko is now friends with Carissa Mina
12878921
Emma Lesko started reading
Unusual Chickens for the Exceptional Poultry Farmer by Kelly        Jones
Rate this book
Clear rating
Emma Lesko is currently reading
The Year the Swallows Came Early by Kathryn Fitzmaurice
Rate this book
Clear rating
Emma Lesko rated a book it was amazing
Nature Calls by Jessica  Young
Rate this book
Clear rating
A cute camping story about resourceful, creative Finley Flowers, who is sure to appeal to fans of Judy Moody, Lola Levine and the like. When Finley heads to Camp Acorn, she’s on mission to prove to her brother and herself that she’s tough enough to h ...more
Emma Lesko has read
Mouse Scouts by Sarah Dillard
Mouse Scouts
by Sarah Dillard (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
Gentle, charming chapter book about a mouse scout troop working toward their gardening badge. Cute cast of characters with diverse personalities, and lots of scenes that could lead to productive discussions with kids about collaboration. I thought th ...more
Emma Lesko started reading
Lola Levine Is Not Mean! by Monica Brown
Lola Levine Is Not Mean!
by Monica Brown (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
Emma Lesko wants to read
Lola Levine by Monica Brown
Lola Levine: Drama Queen
by Monica Brown (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
Emma Lesko wants to read
Lola Levine Is Not Mean! by Monica Brown
Lola Levine Is Not Mean!
by Monica Brown (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
Emma Lesko finished reading
EllRay Jakes Walks the Plank by Sally Warner
Rate this book
Clear rating
Emma Lesko finished reading
Willy Maykit in Space by Greg Trine
Rate this book
Clear rating
More of Emma's books…
“Your carbon dioxide is breaking my concentration.”
Emma Lesko, Super Lexi

“I don’t like banging on noisy instruments, I don’t like songs that get stuck in my head,and I don’t like eyeballs staring at me. That’s how come I don’t like music class. The other kids at school like music a lot. That’s no biggie, though. Everybody’s different from everybody, and I’m different about music.”
Emma Lesko, Super Lexi

“My daddy carried me out to the car like a baby,which I am not. I didn’t mind, though. His shoulder can be the correct place for my face sometimes.”
Emma Lesko, Super Lexi

Topics Mentioning This Author

topics posts views last activity  
The Diverse Shelf: Books for Children - Recommendations 5 11 May 26, 2014 04:48PM  
“I don’t like banging on noisy instruments, I don’t like songs that get stuck in my head,and I don’t like eyeballs staring at me. That’s how come I don’t like music class. The other kids at school like music a lot. That’s no biggie, though. Everybody’s different from everybody, and I’m different about music.”
Emma Lesko, Super Lexi

“My daddy carried me out to the car like a baby,which I am not. I didn’t mind, though. His shoulder can be the correct place for my face sometimes.”
Emma Lesko, Super Lexi

“Your carbon dioxide is breaking my concentration.”
Emma Lesko, Super Lexi

“Do one thing every day that scares you.”
Eleanor Roosevelt

“Stop acting so small. You are the universe in ecstatic motion.”
Rumi

188 Children's Books — 4344 members — last activity 2 minutes ago
From picture-books to juvenile fiction, award-winners to overlooked gems, the world of children's literature provides an endless supply of fabulous bo ...more
57055 The Humour Club — 1317 members — last activity 11 hours, 28 min ago
A group for readers and writers of humorous fiction.
71883 Great Middle Grade Reads — 2780 members — last activity 4 minutes ago
GMGR brings together parents, teachers, librarians, writers and readers, who all love middle grade books. If you've ever wished for your very own magi ...more



No comments have been added yet.