Michael Patrick Hicks

more photos (1)




Shelby ...
4,316 books | 438 friends

Bill
2,638 books | 280 friends

Ted Ger...
22 books | 61 friends

Michael...
643 books | 1,465 friends

Lisa vo...
6 books | 51 friends

Edward ...
882 books | 490 friends

Z. Rider
169 books | 143 friends

Marian
566 books | 1,228 friends

More friends…



Michael Patrick Hicks

Goodreads Author


born
in The United States
gender
male

website

twitter username

genre

influences

member since
September 2011


About this author

Michael Patrick Hicks has worked as a probation officer, a comic book reviewer, news writer and photographer, and, now, author. His work has appeared in various newspapers in Michigan, as well as several The University of Michigan publications, and websites, such as Graphic Novel Reporter and Leelanau.com. He holds two bachelor’s degrees from The University of Michigan in Journalism & Screen Studies and Behavioral Science. His first novel is CONVERGENCE.


Popular Answered Questions

Michael Patrick Hicks Revolver was inspired by a few different things. It's a dystopian near-future story, and it came from a lot of my own personal frustrations with…moreRevolver was inspired by a few different things. It's a dystopian near-future story, and it came from a lot of my own personal frustrations with American politics and gender issues. It's very political nature in nature, which is a bit of a first for me (I don't think Convergence was particularly political, and certainly not to the extent of Revolver), and draws from present-day anti-women, anti-poor (not anti-poverty, mind you, but quite literally anti-poor people) politics as filtered through US media, like Fox News, far-right-wing politicians, and those who fund them.

Aside from being mired in election season at the time of writing Revolver, Stephen King's work as Richard Bachman was a huge inspiration. The Bachman faithful might sense particular shades of The Running Man and The Long Walk (two of my personal favorites) through the narrative of suicide as game show. How well all this works, well, I'll leave that up to the readers, but I am happy to see it's striking a positive chord with several early reviewers.(less)
Michael Patrick Hicks Back in 1999, I’d read a story off the BBC News site about a team of scientists who, with a series of wires and recording devices, were able to tap…moreBack in 1999, I’d read a story off the BBC News site about a team of scientists who, with a series of wires and recording devices, were able to tap into a cat’s brain and create a live recording of what the feline was seeing. And that’s where the kernel of the idea for what grew into the DRMR technology I write about in Convergence came from. There have been a lot of other significant medical and technological breakthroughs in the fifteen years since, particularly through DARPA’s research, which really helped solidify the ideas I was having and writing about.(less)
Average rating: 4.18 · 119 ratings · 64 reviews · 5 distinct works · Similar authors
Convergence
4.14 of 5 stars 4.14 avg rating — 44 ratings — published 2014 — 4 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Consumption
4.0 of 5 stars 4.00 avg rating — 16 ratings — published 2014 — 2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Emergence (A DRMR Novel Boo...
4.5 of 5 stars 4.50 avg rating — 6 ratings — published 2015 — 2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Revolver
5.0 of 5 stars 5.00 avg rating — 2 ratings — published 2015
Rate this book
Clear rating
No Way Home
by
4.2 of 5 stars 4.20 avg rating — 50 ratings — published 2015 — 2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
More books by Michael Patrick Hicks…

Many thanks to Tommy Muncie for this insightful and gracious review of REVOLVER! Some choice snippets follow, but please give it a read in full over at the link below.


What makes it so brilliant is that it stirs emotions in the reader that mirror the way emotions are stirred by the media within the story itself: a strong reaction and a response are what’s desired.



‘Revolver’ is a brave, power...

Read more of this blog post »
Like  •  0 comments  •  flag
Published on August 24, 2015 12:30 • 1 view

Upcoming Events

No scheduled events. Add an event.

Luna
Michael Hicks is currently reading
by Rick Chesler (Goodreads Author)
bookshelves: currently-reading
Rate this book
Clear rating

 
The Expectant Fat...
Rate this book
Clear rating

 
Writing Character...
Rate this book
Clear rating

 

Michael's Recent Updates

Michael Hicks is currently reading
Luna by Rick Chesler
Luna
by Rick Chesler (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
Michael Hicks and 1 other person liked David’s status update
Michael Hicks wants to read
A Head Full of Ghosts by Paul Tremblay
A Head Full of Ghosts
by Paul Tremblay (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
Michael Hicks wants to read
The Rats by James Herbert
Rate this book
Clear rating
Michael Hicks is now following 11811 (Eleven)'s reviews
4460829
The Dinosaur Lords by Victor Milán
"When I requested this book from Netgalley, I didn't realize it was a preview excerpt. Sorry for the misunderstanding but I have no desire to read and review an incomplete book.

Adding insult to injury, The Kindle edition is $12.99 so I'm waiting o..." Read more of this review »
S.E. Lehenbauer S.E. Lehenbauer is currently reading The Martian
The Heart Goes Last by Margaret Atwood
The Heart Goes Last: A Novel
by Margaret Atwood (Goodreads Author)
read in August, 2015
Rate this book
Clear rating
Margaret Atwood’s The Heart Goes Last is a strange beast, but not one that I can recommend.

Conceptually, the book is terrific – Atwood presents us with an economically wreaked near-future America and the married couple of Charmaine and Stan. They liv
...more
Michael Hicks wants to read
The Hunt by Tim Lebbon
The Hunt
by Tim Lebbon (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
Michael Hicks made a comment in the group Horror Aficionados Audio Deals topic
" Nicholas Sansbury Smith's EXTINCTION HORIZON is today's Audible Daily Deal. Only $3.95!

[image]

http://www.audible.com/pd/Sci-Fi-Fant...
...more "
More of Michael's books…

Topics Mentioning This Author

topics posts views last activity  
Pro-Active Destru...: * Free Kindle Books 825 172 Aug 28, 2015 09:50AM  
Stephen King
“Here's what vampires shouldn't be: pallid detectives that drink Bloody Marys and work only at night; lovelorn southern gentlemen; anorexic teenage girls; boy-toys with big dewy eyes. What should they be? Killers, honey. Stone killers that can't get enough of that tasty Type-A. Bad boys and girls. Hunters. In other words, Midnight America. Red, white and blue, accent on the red. Those vamps got hijacked by a lot of soft-focus romance.”
Stephen King

Guillermo del Toro
“Never fly commercial. That's the moral of this story.”
Guillermo del Toro, The Strain

George Carlin
“Religion has actually convinced people that there's an invisible man living in the sky who watches everything you do, every minute of every day. And the invisible man has a special list of ten things he does not want you to do. And if you do any of these ten things, he has a special place, full of fire and smoke and burning and torture and anguish, where he will send you to live and suffer and burn and choke and scream and cry forever and ever 'til the end of time!

But He loves you. He loves you, and He needs money! He always needs money! He's all-powerful, all-perfect, all-knowing, and all-wise, somehow just can't handle money!”
George Carlin

John Scalzi
“Here's a quick rule of thumb: Don't annoy science fiction writers. These are people who destroy entire planets before lunch. Think of what they'll do to you.”
John Scalzi

“Talk about your ideal scenario, your philosophy, and anything you can think of. Would you like to burn incense and have your baby ushered into the world by a troupe of Tibetan monks? Great. Have your partner give birth standing on one foot while riding horseback? Have the delivery filmed live for a new reality show? Have the entire medical team speak only Mandarin Chinese so that your baby will be able to begin life bilingual? Have the baby licked clean by your pet schnauzer rather than cleaned up by the nurses? Wonderful.”
Armin A. Brott, The Expectant Father: Facts, Tips, and Advice for Dads-To-Be

108 Horror Aficionados — 10664 members — last activity 1 minute ago
If you love horror literature, movies, and culture, you're in the right place. Whether it's vampires, werewolves, zombies, serial killers, plagues, or ...more
55537 Smashwords Authors — 748 members — last activity 21 hours, 56 min ago
A place for Smashwords Authors to find each other. You might be published in paper too but if you use Smashwords you can join here. Share concerns or ...more
139977 Ford Audiobook Club — 7973 members — last activity 55 minutes ago
Time spent in traffic is an opportunity – for more books. Plus, join this group for perks like exclusive videos, Q&As, and Google Hangouts with our fe ...more
26989 Goodreads Authors/Readers — 21590 members — last activity 1 minute ago
This group is dedicated to connecting readers with Goodreads authors. It is divided by genres, and includes folders for writing resources, book websit ...more
596 Audiobooks — 5421 members — last activity 27 minutes ago
Audio & audiobooks are getting more and more popular for commuters & those wanting to squeeze in another book or two a month while doing other activit ...more
4170 The Sword and Laser — 21767 members — last activity 1 minute ago
Online discussion forum for the Sword and Laser video show, podcast and book club! Subscribe to the audio podcast: http://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/ ...more
25x33 NetGalley Readers — 361 members — last activity 1 hour, 0 min ago
This is a group for those who participate in netgalley.com to share the books that they have been reading from the website.
45059 Sci-fi and Heroic Fantasy — 4210 members — last activity 3 hours, 24 min ago
A place for those who walk the green forests of Middle Earth, cross the pale sands of Arakis, sail the blue waters of Earthsea, slip among the shadows ...more
109220 Adventures in SciFi Publishing — 156 members — last activity Aug 18, 2015 03:31AM
Online hangout for readers of Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror. Subscribe to the podcast at: iTunes and Stitcher Radio. Newsletter subscribers are ...more
49238 Men's Book Club — 330 members — last activity Aug 26, 2015 12:04AM
The Men's Book Club group was created specifically for men, but anyone can join. It just gives us a place to hang out and talk about books and whateve ...more
More of Michael’s groups…



No comments have been added yet.