Michael Patrick Hicks

more photos (1)

Char
5,394 books | 1,034 friends

Alex
1,155 books | 393 friends

Kelly (...
2,659 books | 206 friends

Tor/Forge
2,635 books | 2,464 friends

Daniel ...
115 books | 121 friends

John Be...
365 books | 92 friends

Dan Sch...
3,327 books | 2,933 friends

Arjun M...
255 books | 236 friends

More friends…

Michael Patrick Hicks

Goodreads Author


Born
in The United States
Website

Twitter

Genre

Influences

Member Since
September 2011


Michael Patrick Hicks is the author of a number of speculative fiction titles. His debut novel, Convergence, was an Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award 2013 Quarter-Finalist. His most recent work is the horror novel, Mass Hysteria.

He has written for the Audiobook Reviewer and Graphic Novel Reporter websites, in addition to working as a freelance journalist and news photographer.

In between compulsively buying books and adding titles that he does not have time for to his Netflix queue, he is hard at work on his next story.

Popular Answered Questions

Michael Patrick Hicks Revolver was inspired by a few different things. It's a dystopian near-future story, and it came from a lot of my own personal frustrations with…moreRevolver was inspired by a few different things. It's a dystopian near-future story, and it came from a lot of my own personal frustrations with American politics and gender issues. It's very political nature in nature, which is a bit of a first for me (I don't think Convergence was particularly political, and certainly not to the extent of Revolver), and draws from present-day anti-women, anti-poor (not anti-poverty, mind you, but quite literally anti-poor people) politics as filtered through US media, like Fox News, far-right-wing politicians, and those who fund them.

Aside from being mired in election season at the time of writing Revolver, Stephen King's work as Richard Bachman was a huge inspiration. The Bachman faithful might sense particular shades of The Running Man and The Long Walk (two of my personal favorites) through the narrative of suicide as game show. How well all this works, well, I'll leave that up to the readers, but I am happy to see it's striking a positive chord with several early reviewers.(less)
Michael Patrick Hicks Thanks Jennifer! Please check your messages. :)
Average rating: 4.14 · 852 ratings · 374 reviews · 18 distinct worksSimilar authors
Revolver

4.28 avg rating — 74 ratings — published 2015 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Broken Shells: A Subterrane...

4.36 avg rating — 58 ratings2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Convergence

3.92 avg rating — 87 ratings — published 2014 — 4 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Consumption

4.05 avg rating — 39 ratings — published 2014 — 5 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
From The Ashes

4.32 avg rating — 31 ratings
Rate this book
Clear rating
Let Go

4.42 avg rating — 26 ratings2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Emergence (A DRMR Novel Boo...

4.50 avg rating — 24 ratings — published 2015 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Mass Hysteria

3.86 avg rating — 42 ratings4 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Black Site

3.83 avg rating — 18 ratings3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Marque

4.67 avg rating — 9 ratings2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
More books by Michael Patrick Hicks…
The Cabin at the End of the World_Paul Tremblay.jpg






















The Cabin at the End of the World: A Novel

By Paul Tremblay






My rating: 2 of 5 stars


The Cabin at the End of the World has a fantastic premise at its core, and if this story had been a novella or a 90-minute movie, I likely would have enjoyed it a whole lot more. Instead, Tremblay stuffs and stretches a simple yet awesome idea into a full-length novel that's both padded and repetitive to a frustra... Read more of this blog post »
1 like ·   •  0 comments  •  flag
Twitter icon
Published on June 18, 2018 05:00 • 10 views

Upcoming Events

No scheduled events. Add an event.

Cockblock
Michael Hicks is currently reading
by C.V. Hunt (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating

 
Sick House
Michael Hicks is currently reading
by Jeff Strand (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating

 

Michael’s Recent Updates

Michael Hicks started reading
Cockblock by C.V. Hunt
Cockblock
by C.V. Hunt (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
Michael Hicks rated a book really liked it
Devil Sharks by Chris Jameson
Rate this book
Clear rating
Just when you thought it was safe to go for a swim, Chris James returns with another shark themed horror standalone following last year's release of Shark Island. Packed with plenty of summertime thrills, Devil Sharks would be a perfect beach-read if ...more
Michael Hicks and 1 other person liked Tim's status update
Tim
Tim is 60% done with Jurassic, Florida
Rattus New Yorkus by Hunter Shea
" YAY! Got a few ahead of this one, but man-eating rats is totally up my alley. Exciting! "
Michael Hicks and 5 other people liked Kimberly's status update
Kimberly
Kimberly is 67% done with Rattus New Yorkus: Loving this one!!
Michael Hicks wants to read
Wormfood by Jeff Jacobson
Wormfood
by Jeff Jacobson (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
Michael Hicks wants to read
Growth by Jeff Jacobson
Growth
by Jeff Jacobson (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
Sleep Tight by Jeff Jacobson
"Fun, action packed 'monster' book that reminds me of the great B movies of the 70s! "
Michael Hicks wants to read
Sleep Tight by Jeff Jacobson
Sleep Tight
by Jeff Jacobson (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
Michael Hicks wants to read
Trade Yer Coffin For A Gun by Mer Whinery
Rate this book
Clear rating
More of Michael's books…
“The zealots in office told us often enough, and loudly enough, that this was a Christian America. They just never bothered to clarify if we were New or Old Testament.”
Michael Patrick Hicks, Revolver

“Fiction, particularly science fiction, has a duty not only to entertain, but to cast light on the shadowy parts of our society and its possible future.”
Michael Patrick Hicks, Revolver

Topics Mentioning This Author

topics posts views last activity  
Pro-Active Destru...: * Free Kindle Books 1180 514 Apr 27, 2018 12:21AM  
Horror Aficionados : SALE! EBooks, Newly Released, Discounted, & FREEBIES! 31773 4139 7 minutes ago  
“Here's what vampires shouldn't be: pallid detectives that drink Bloody Marys and work only at night; lovelorn southern gentlemen; anorexic teenage girls; boy-toys with big dewy eyes. What should they be? Killers, honey. Stone killers that can't get enough of that tasty Type-A. Bad boys and girls. Hunters. In other words, Midnight America. Red, white and blue, accent on the red. Those vamps got hijacked by a lot of soft-focus romance.
( American Vampire Vol. 1 : Introduction-"SUCK ON THIS" by Stephen King)”
Stephen King

“Never fly commercial. That's the moral of this story.”
Guillermo del Toro, The Strain

“Religion has actually convinced people that there's an invisible man living in the sky who watches everything you do, every minute of every day. And the invisible man has a special list of ten things he does not want you to do. And if you do any of these ten things, he has a special place, full of fire and smoke and burning and torture and anguish, where he will send you to live and suffer and burn and choke and scream and cry forever and ever 'til the end of time!

But He loves you. He loves you, and He needs money! He always needs money! He's all-powerful, all-perfect, all-knowing, and all-wise, somehow just can't handle money!”
George Carlin

“Here's a quick rule of thumb: Don't annoy science fiction writers. These are people who destroy entire planets before lunch. Think of what they'll do to you.”
John Scalzi

“Talk about your ideal scenario, your philosophy, and anything you can think of. Would you like to burn incense and have your baby ushered into the world by a troupe of Tibetan monks? Great. Have your partner give birth standing on one foot while riding horseback? Have the delivery filmed live for a new reality show? Have the entire medical team speak only Mandarin Chinese so that your baby will be able to begin life bilingual? Have the baby licked clean by your pet schnauzer rather than cleaned up by the nurses? Wonderful.”
Armin A. Brott, The Expectant Father: Facts, Tips, and Advice for Dads-To-Be

108 Horror Aficionados — 14103 members — last activity 7 minutes ago
If you love horror literature, movies, and culture, you're in the right place. Whether it's vampires, werewolves, zombies, serial killers, plagues, or ...more
45059 Sci-fi and Heroic Fantasy — 6392 members — last activity 4 hours, 14 min ago
A place for those who walk the green forests of Middle Earth, cross the pale sands of Arakis, sail the blue waters of Earthsea, slip among the shadows ...more
4170 The Sword and Laser — 23673 members — last activity 1 hour, 59 min ago
Online discussion forum for the Sword and Laser video show, podcast and book club! Subscribe to the audio podcast: http://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/ ...more
55537 Smashwords Authors — 841 members — last activity Jun 15, 2018 01:03PM
A place for Smashwords Authors to find each other. You might be published in paper too but if you use Smashwords you can join here. Share concerns or ...more
220 Goodreads Librarians Group — 83853 members — last activity 0 minutes ago
A place where all Goodreads members can work together to improve the Goodreads book catalog. Non-librarians are welcome to join the group as well, to ...more
596 Audiobooks — 8172 members — last activity 5 minutes ago
Audio & audiobooks are getting more and more popular for commuters & those wanting to squeeze in another book or two a month while doing other activit ...more
26989 Goodreads Authors/Readers — 28746 members — last activity 1 hour, 29 min ago
This group is dedicated to connecting readers with Goodreads authors. It is divided by genres, and includes folders for writing resources, book websit ...more
93888 NetGalley Readers — 1779 members — last activity 54 minutes ago
This is a group for those who participate in NetGalley.com to discuss the books that they have been reading from the website.
109220 Adventures in SciFi Publishing — 215 members — last activity Oct 19, 2017 12:45PM
Online hangout for readers of Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror. Subscribe to the podcast at: iTunes and Stitcher Radio. Newsletter subscribers are ...more
2072 Atheists and Skeptics — 2253 members — last activity Jun 16, 2018 01:33PM
This is a group meant for the discussion of atheism and skepticism and the books associated with both. Recommending books arguing for or against relig ...more
More of Michael’s groups…



Comments (showing 1-2)    post a comment »
dateUp arrow    newest »

Michael Hicks Dustin wrote: "Hi, Michael!

Thank you for being my friend. Your work comes highly recommended, and so it's an honor to even be associated with you, man.

I hope all's well and I wish you the best! Have a wonder..."


Thanks, Dustin! All's well on this end, and hopefully on yours, too. Happy reading!


Dustin Hi, Michael!

Thank you for being my friend. Your work comes highly recommended, and so it's an honor to even be associated with you, man.

I hope all's well and I wish you the best! Have a wonderful day!


back to top