Michael Patrick Hicks

more photos (1)




Shelby
583 books | 46 friends

Therin ...
1,014 books | 513 friends

Lee Gol...
532 books | 690 friends

Char
4,823 books | 863 friends

Jodie
1,143 books | 177 friends

Kelly (...
2,383 books | 194 friends

Pamellia
1,425 books | 88 friends

Kevin K...
1,809 books | 1,971 friends

More friends…



Michael Patrick Hicks

Goodreads Author


Born
in The United States
Website

Twitter

Genre

Influences

Member Since
September 2011


Michael Patrick Hicks has worked as a probation officer, a comic book reviewer, news writer and photographer, and, now, author. His work has appeared in various newspapers in Michigan, as well as several The University of Michigan publications, and websites, such as Graphic Novel Reporter and Leelanau.com. He holds two bachelor’s degrees from The University of Michigan in Journalism & Screen Studies and Behavioral Science. His first novel is CONVERGENCE.

Popular Answered Questions

Michael Patrick Hicks Revolver was inspired by a few different things. It's a dystopian near-future story, and it came from a lot of my own personal frustrations with…moreRevolver was inspired by a few different things. It's a dystopian near-future story, and it came from a lot of my own personal frustrations with American politics and gender issues. It's very political nature in nature, which is a bit of a first for me (I don't think Convergence was particularly political, and certainly not to the extent of Revolver), and draws from present-day anti-women, anti-poor (not anti-poverty, mind you, but quite literally anti-poor people) politics as filtered through US media, like Fox News, far-right-wing politicians, and those who fund them.

Aside from being mired in election season at the time of writing Revolver, Stephen King's work as Richard Bachman was a huge inspiration. The Bachman faithful might sense particular shades of The Running Man and The Long Walk (two of my personal favorites) through the narrative of suicide as game show. How well all this works, well, I'll leave that up to the readers, but I am happy to see it's striking a positive chord with several early reviewers.(less)
Michael Patrick Hicks Back in 1999, I’d read a story off the BBC News site about a team of scientists who, with a series of wires and recording devices, were able to tap…moreBack in 1999, I’d read a story off the BBC News site about a team of scientists who, with a series of wires and recording devices, were able to tap into a cat’s brain and create a live recording of what the feline was seeing. And that’s where the kernel of the idea for what grew into the DRMR technology I write about in Convergence came from. There have been a lot of other significant medical and technological breakthroughs in the fifteen years since, particularly through DARPA’s research, which really helped solidify the ideas I was having and writing about.(less)
Average rating: 4.16 · 649 ratings · 257 reviews · 16 distinct worksSimilar authors
Revolver

4.22 avg rating — 55 ratings — published 2015 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Convergence

3.91 avg rating — 75 ratings — published 2014 — 4 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Consumption

4.13 avg rating — 30 ratings — published 2014 — 2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Let Go

4.46 avg rating — 24 ratings2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
From The Ashes

4.32 avg rating — 22 ratings
Rate this book
Clear rating
Emergence (A DRMR Novel Boo...

4.42 avg rating — 19 ratings — published 2015 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Black Site

3.80 avg rating — 15 ratings3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Mass Hysteria

4.21 avg rating — 14 ratings3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Preservation: A DRMR Short ...

4.50 avg rating — 2 ratings2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Clones: The Anthology

by
4.12 avg rating — 153 ratings — published 2015 — 2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
More books by Michael Patrick Hicks…
moneyback.jpg






















Money Back Guarantee (Mail Order Massacres)







By Hunter Shea






My rating: 5 of 5 stars


Hunter Shea bring his Mail Order Massacres novella trilogy to a close in Money Back Guarantee (or does he?!). In the first book, Shea treated us to mutant sea creatures running amok in a placid suburban town, and then showed us a little bit too much through the lenses of X-Ray specs. In this final installment, the... Read more of this blog post »
 •  0 comments  •  flag
Twitter icon
Published on August 18, 2017 12:04 • 1 view

Upcoming Events

No scheduled events. Add an event.

Enemy of the State
Rate this book
Clear rating

 
MODERN HORRORS: A...
Rate this book
Clear rating

 
Writing Character...
Rate this book
Clear rating

 

Michael’s Recent Updates

Michael Hicks is currently reading
Enemy of the State by Kyle Mills
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Grip of It by Jac Jemc
Michael Hicks entered a giveaway
The Lost City of the Monkey God by Douglas Preston
The Lost City of the Monkey God: A True Story
by Douglas Preston (Goodreads Author)
10 copies available, ends on September 03, 2017 Enter to win »
Michael Hicks and 1 other person liked Kimberly's status update
Kimberly
Kimberly is on page 86 of 219 of Dream Woods: Thunderstorm H/C: Re-read
Michael Hicks wants to read
The Journal of Jeremy Todd by John  Quick
The Journal of Jeremy Todd
by John Quick (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
Michael Hicks wants to read
The Hunger by Alma Katsu
The Hunger
by Alma Katsu (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
Michael Hicks rated a book it was amazing
Money Back Guarantee by Hunter Shea
Rate this book
Clear rating
Hunter Shea bring his Mail Order Massacres novella trilogy to a close in Money Back Guarantee (or does he?!). In the first book, Shea treated us to mutant sea creatures running amok in a placid suburban town, and then showed us a little bit too much ...more
Michael Hicks rated a book liked it
Thrawn by Timothy Zahn
Thrawn (Star Wars)
by Timothy Zahn (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
Review is forthcoming.
Michael Hicks wants to read
High Strange Horror by Jonathan Raab
Rate this book
Clear rating
More of Michael's books…
“The zealots in office told us often enough, and loudly enough, that this was a Christian America. They just never bothered to clarify if we were New or Old Testament.”
Michael Patrick Hicks, Revolver

“Fiction, particularly science fiction, has a duty not only to entertain, but to cast light on the shadowy parts of our society and its possible future.”
Michael Patrick Hicks, Revolver

Topics Mentioning This Author

topics posts views last activity  
Pro-Active Destru...: * Free Kindle Books 1179 473 Mar 11, 2017 02:18AM  
“Here's what vampires shouldn't be: pallid detectives that drink Bloody Marys and work only at night; lovelorn southern gentlemen; anorexic teenage girls; boy-toys with big dewy eyes. What should they be? Killers, honey. Stone killers that can't get enough of that tasty Type-A. Bad boys and girls. Hunters. In other words, Midnight America. Red, white and blue, accent on the red. Those vamps got hijacked by a lot of soft-focus romance.
( American Vampire Vol. 1 : Introduction-"SUCK ON THIS" by Stephen King)”
Stephen King

“Never fly commercial. That's the moral of this story.”
Guillermo del Toro, The Strain

“Religion has actually convinced people that there's an invisible man living in the sky who watches everything you do, every minute of every day. And the invisible man has a special list of ten things he does not want you to do. And if you do any of these ten things, he has a special place, full of fire and smoke and burning and torture and anguish, where he will send you to live and suffer and burn and choke and scream and cry forever and ever 'til the end of time!

But He loves you. He loves you, and He needs money! He always needs money! He's all-powerful, all-perfect, all-knowing, and all-wise, somehow just can't handle money!”
George Carlin

“Here's a quick rule of thumb: Don't annoy science fiction writers. These are people who destroy entire planets before lunch. Think of what they'll do to you.”
John Scalzi

“Talk about your ideal scenario, your philosophy, and anything you can think of. Would you like to burn incense and have your baby ushered into the world by a troupe of Tibetan monks? Great. Have your partner give birth standing on one foot while riding horseback? Have the delivery filmed live for a new reality show? Have the entire medical team speak only Mandarin Chinese so that your baby will be able to begin life bilingual? Have the baby licked clean by your pet schnauzer rather than cleaned up by the nurses? Wonderful.”
Armin A. Brott, The Expectant Father: Facts, Tips, and Advice for Dads-To-Be

108 Horror Aficionados — 13147 members — last activity 40 minutes ago
If you love horror literature, movies, and culture, you're in the right place. Whether it's vampires, werewolves, zombies, serial killers, plagues, or ...more
4170 The Sword and Laser — 23448 members — last activity 2 hours, 56 min ago
Online discussion forum for the Sword and Laser video show, podcast and book club! Subscribe to the audio podcast: http://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/ ...more
45059 Sci-fi and Heroic Fantasy — 5954 members — last activity 22 minutes ago
A place for those who walk the green forests of Middle Earth, cross the pale sands of Arakis, sail the blue waters of Earthsea, slip among the shadows ...more
55537 Smashwords Authors — 841 members — last activity Aug 19, 2017 05:31AM
A place for Smashwords Authors to find each other. You might be published in paper too but if you use Smashwords you can join here. Share concerns or ...more
26989 Goodreads Authors/Readers — 27225 members — last activity 6 minutes ago
This group is dedicated to connecting readers with Goodreads authors. It is divided by genres, and includes folders for writing resources, book websit ...more
596 Audiobooks — 7414 members — last activity 8 minutes ago
Audio & audiobooks are getting more and more popular for commuters & those wanting to squeeze in another book or two a month while doing other activit ...more
93888 NetGalley Readers — 1339 members — last activity 1 hour, 3 min ago
This is a group for those who participate in NetGalley.com to discuss the books that they have been reading from the website.
220 Goodreads Librarians Group — 74747 members — last activity 21 minutes ago
A place where all Goodreads members can work together to improve the Goodreads book catalog. Non-librarians are welcome to join the group as well, to ...more
109220 Adventures in SciFi Publishing — 212 members — last activity Aug 15, 2017 02:25AM
Online hangout for readers of Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror. Subscribe to the podcast at: iTunes and Stitcher Radio. Newsletter subscribers are ...more
67316 Audiobook Fans — 221 members — last activity Aug 02, 2017 07:32AM
Do you love audiobooks? If you're addicted like we are, join our group and the discussions! We'd love to have you join and put your two cents in!
More of Michael’s groups…



Comments (showing 1-2)    post a comment »
dateUp arrow    newest »

Michael Hicks Dustin wrote: "Hi, Michael!

Thank you for being my friend. Your work comes highly recommended, and so it's an honor to even be associated with you, man.

I hope all's well and I wish you the best! Have a wonder..."


Thanks, Dustin! All's well on this end, and hopefully on yours, too. Happy reading!


Dustin Hi, Michael!

Thank you for being my friend. Your work comes highly recommended, and so it's an honor to even be associated with you, man.

I hope all's well and I wish you the best! Have a wonderful day!


back to top