Stephanie M. Ward

year in books
Whisper...
2,432 books | 5,001 friends

Shelley...
7,401 books | 2,675 friends

Liz Ledden
182 books | 48 friends

Stacee
3,752 books | 3,973 friends

Katrina
5,562 books | 599 friends

Rowena
217 books | 1,275 friends

tracy
499 books | 33 friends

The Can...
1,438 books | 2,595 friends

More friends…

Stephanie M. Ward

Goodreads Author


Born
in Spokane, The United States
Website

Twitter

Genre

Member Since
January 2012

URL


Stephanie Ward is the author of Arabella and the Magic Pencil, illustrated by Shaney Hyde, published by EK Books in September 2019. Her next picture book is due for release in 2020, but it's all under wraps at the moment so stay tuned for details!

After many years in marketing, Stephanie now spends her time writing sweet, silly and sidesplitting stories for children. Too old to blame it on youth, she still hasn't settled down and spends her spare time traveling. Originally from Spokane, Washington in the U.S., Stephanie's wanderlust inspired her to visit all seven continents, live in four countries and become a citizen of three. At present, she can be found in London, England with her husband and young son.

Member of SCBWI, ASA, PNWA, #Newi
...more

To ask Stephanie M. Ward questions, please sign up.

Popular Answered Questions

Stephanie M. Ward I had the opportunity to travel around the world for a year and within three months visited two very remote places, Antarctica and the Galapagos Islan…moreI had the opportunity to travel around the world for a year and within three months visited two very remote places, Antarctica and the Galapagos Islands. When I encountered Emperor Penguins in the extreme climate of Antarctica, I wondered why they never migrated somewhere with warmer weather. A couple of months later, when visiting the Galapagos Islands, I saw the darling Galapagos Penguins playing in the warm ocean waters and frolicking on the beach. And there was the premise for Wally the Warm-Weather Penguin: What if an Emperor Penguin found out there was a colony of penguins living in a much warmer place?

Full blog post (with loads of fascinating background information!) http://stephaniemward.com/2014/07/07/...(less)
Stephanie M. Ward Yes, Wally the Warm-Weather Penguin is headed to Australia for his next adventure. You may not think of penguins when you think of Australia but there…moreYes, Wally the Warm-Weather Penguin is headed to Australia for his next adventure. You may not think of penguins when you think of Australia but there is a "little"-known penguin, called a Fairy Penguin or Little Blue Penguin that can be found on southern shores in Australia and New Zealand. They are the smallest penguin in the world. Wally will meet some fascinating new creatures Down Under, so stay tuned for the next edition later this year.

Thanks so much for the question, Carmela.(less)
Average rating: 4.52 · 101 ratings · 71 reviews · 2 distinct worksSimilar authors
Arabella and the Magic Pencil

by
4.50 avg rating — 50 ratings2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Wally the Warm-Weather Penguin

4.55 avg rating — 51 ratings — published 2014 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating

* Note: these are all the books on Goodreads for this author. To add more, click here.

Spotlight + Giveaway: The Girl in the Gold Dress

Title: The Girl in the Gold Dress | Author: Christine Paik| Illustrator: Jung Lin Park| Publisher: Imagilore Publishing | Publication Date: April 2021 Book Description: Hannah’s Korean name literally means “Gold Dress,” so why doesn’t she want to be seen wearing her gold hanbok dress? 10-year-old Hannah is facing a big performance for her school’s talent show. The trouble is, she’s ashamed of her Read more of this blog post »
 •  0 comments  •  flag
Share on Twitter
Published on June 08, 2021 03:45

Upcoming Events

No scheduled events. Add an event.

The Buried Giant
Stephanie Ward is currently reading
by Kazuo Ishiguro (Goodreads Author)
bookshelves: currently-reading
Rate this book
Clear rating

 
Robinson Crusoe
Rate this book
Clear rating

 
The House at Pooh...
Rate this book
Clear rating

 

Stephanie’s Recent Updates

Stephanie M. Ward wrote a new blog post

Spotlight + Giveaway: The Girl in the Gold Dress

Title: The Girl in the Gold Dress | Author: Christine Paik| Illustrator: Jung Lin Park| Publisher: Imagilore Publishing | Publication Date: April 2021 Read more of this blog post »
Stephanie Ward rated a book it was amazing
Sassafras and her Teeny Tiny Tail by Candice Marley Conner
Rate this book
Clear rating
Sassafras doesn't have a long, bushy, strong tail like the other squirrels. But that's what makes Sassafras special. When a dog finds a baby squirrel stranded, Sassafras may be the only one that can save her.

Specially designed for dyslexic readers,
...more
Stephanie Ward is now following
Stephanie Ward rated a book it was amazing
Caroline and Mordecai the Gand by Jeff Gunhus
Rate this book
Clear rating
Somehow modern and classic all at once, Caroline & Mordecai the Gand is a haunting, atmospheric fantasy novella of grief, adventure and peace. This highly-imaginative story moves between the contemporary world of middle school, parents and bullies an ...more
Stephanie Ward has read
ESCAPE TO MOLOKAI by Spike Brown
Rate this book
Clear rating
With non-stop action, a vast cast of characters and a resourceful protagonist, Escape to Molokai immerses readers in the history of Hawaii circa 1946. With leprosy on the rise and no cure available, those ill with the disease were quarantined on the ...more
Stephanie Ward is now following
14116632
Stephanie Ward rated a book it was amazing
Mia and Nattie by Marlene M. Bell
Rate this book
Clear rating
Mia and Nattie are a charming duo in this sweet story about friendship, fitting in and never giving up. Mia is a strong, determined little girl who sees herself in this small, quirky lamb. She sweetly assumes the role of mother to a neglected baby la ...more
Stephanie Ward rated a book it was amazing
Dragons Don't Dance Ballet by Jennifer Carson
Rate this book
Clear rating
In the tradition of Dogs Don't Do Ballet and Giraffes Can't Dance, Dragons Don't Dance Ballet is the adorable story of a determined dragon who just won't give up on her dream.

Esmeralda spends her days watching everyone else do what she only wishes sh
...more
Stephanie Ward rated a book it was amazing
Dream It & Do It by Holly A. Sharp
Rate this book
Clear rating
Dream It & Do It is a fascinating book for kids. In clever, easily digestible 2-3 page snippets, readers learn about a diverse selection of people who made their dreams come true. It’s just enough detail to entice young minds without boring them and ...more
Stephanie Ward rated a book it was amazing
Nicholas and the Gang by René Goscinny
Rate this book
Clear rating
More of Stephanie's books…

Topics Mentioning This Author

topics posts views last activity  
Aussie Readers: [Ends 27 Jan] Australia Day Giveaway 1 13 Jan 23, 2015 09:01PM  
Support for Indie...: This topic has been closed to new comments. Introductions - Retired 3082 3026 Jun 29, 2016 05:22AM  
Aussie Readers: This topic has been closed to new comments. Share Your Reviews (and Thoughts) Here - 2019 3141 309 Dec 31, 2019 06:58PM  
Aussie Lovers of...: This topic has been closed to new comments. Currently reading/Just finished! CLOSED 7417 722 Dec 31, 2019 07:03PM  
Fiction Fanatics: This topic has been closed to new comments. 2019 reads 1653 170 Jan 09, 2020 11:13PM  
Books, Blogs, Aut...: Book review request-book reviewers please post here 126 1467 Mar 28, 2020 08:12AM  
Review Group: * Group 243. Children and YA - Mod. L.N. 117 63 May 28, 2020 11:33AM  
WACKY READING CHA...: What are You Reading? #2 1385 105 Jan 01, 2021 10:16PM  
Patrick Dennis
“Morning, I soon discovered, was one o’clock for Auntie Mame. Early Morning was eleven, and the Middle of the Night was nine.”
Patrick Dennis

Sue Fitzmaurice
“You must go on adventures to find out where you belong.”
Sue Fitzmaurice

Mary Botham Howitt
“Will you walk into my parlour?" said the Spider to the Fly”
Mary Howitt, The Spider and the Fly

Mo Willems
“If you ever find yourself in the wrong story, leave.”
Mo Willems, Goldilocks and the Three Dinosaurs

Rick Riordan
“the answer to every problem involved penguins”
Rick Riordan, The Throne of Fire

721 Aussie Readers — 6071 members — last activity 22 minutes ago
A group for all Australian Goodreads members (and those interested in Australia), no matter what they read!
78683 Review Group — 4514 members — last activity 12 minutes ago
Reviews are very important for Self-Published (SP), and Indie authors, just as they are for others. Unfortunately, though, many SP/Indie books don't g ...more
46870 Blogger Lift — 4213 members — last activity 21 hours, 49 min ago
Welcome to Blogger Lift, the largest community of Bloggers on Goodreads. Want a little lift for your blog? You have come to the right place. Meet Blo ...more
62777 Books, Blogs, Authors and More — 3747 members — last activity Jun 11, 2021 04:51AM
Need a place to advertise your blog? You can do that here. Need a place to advertise your book? You can do that here. Need a place to discuss books? Y ...more
26989 Goodreads Authors/Readers — 40003 members — last activity 1 hour, 24 min ago
This group is dedicated to connecting readers with Goodreads authors. It is divided by genres, and includes folders for writing resources, book websit ...more
100482 Genre Specific Review Groups — 1644 members — last activity Jun 12, 2021 10:56PM
Following the example of fellow Goodreads group, "Review Group", this group believes support for our Indie authors is extremely important. Many of the ...more
60696 Making Connections — 13364 members — last activity 14 hours, 54 min ago
Over 1000 books listed to Read & Review.....come join us. This is a place for Authors, Bloggers, Publishers, Reviewers, Book Tours, Giveaways, and Int ...more
69484 Book Promotions — 2649 members — last activity Jun 16, 2021 01:54AM
Well, it seems there is a group for everything else out there, but not one specifically for promoting books. There are places within groups to do it, ...more
33825 How to Promote YOUR book on Amazon — 8040 members — last activity 14 hours, 29 min ago
Are YOU an author? If so I am sure you are aware of how hard it can be to market your book successfully. There is so much you can do on Amazon.com to ...more
25x33 Children's Book Authors/Illustrators — 836 members — last activity May 26, 2021 09:16PM
Hello! I am a published children's book author and illustrator! I have published 12 books throughout my writing career so far, illustrated greeting ca ...more
More of Stephanie’s groups…



Comments (showing 1-2)    post a comment »
dateUp arrow    newest »

message 2: by Kate

Kate Larkinson Hi Steph

Have you seen this?:

LIBRARYBUB FEATURE GIVEAWAY SWEEPSTAKE

Get your book into libraries via a feature with LibraryBub. They connect best-selling and award-winning indie & small press authors with around 10,000 libraries in the USA.

As a best-selling or/and award-winning author, sign up for the giveaway and you can win a feature in their weekly email to around 10,000 US libraries.

The current retail price of the feature is $299.

To enter, click on the link below, answer the difficult (not!) question and fill in your email address.

http://alinkarutkowska.com/giveaways/...

Good luck! Merry Christmas & Happy New Year!

Kate xxx


Raven Haired Girl Thanks so much for your friendship Stephanie, I look forward to learning more about you and chatting about books. Have a great weekend.


back to top