Clara Kensie




William...
532 books | 4,294 friends

Ruth Ka...
127 books | 319 friends

Michelle
3,619 books | 44 friends

Stacee
2,922 books | 3,011 friends

Aditi N...
1,247 books | 404 friends

Sofii♡ ...
424 books | 1,734 friends

Sara (A...
1,521 books | 459 friends

Rodi Szoke
5 books | 982 friends

More friends…



Clara Kensie

Goodreads Author


Born
March 29

Website

Twitter

Genre

Member Since
January 2011

URL


Winner of the 2015 RITA Award for Best First Book!

Latest release: AFTERMATH (November 2016, Simon and Schuster/Simon Pulse), a story of hope, healing, and triumph over tragedy, for fans of Room and The Lovely Bones.

Clara Kensie grew up near Chicago, reading every book she could find and using her diary to write stories about a girl with psychic powers who solved mysteries. She purposely did not hide her diary, hoping someone would read it and assume she was writing about herself. Since then, she's swapped her diary for a computer and admits her characters are fictional, but otherwise she hasn't changed one bit.

Today, Clara is the author of dark fiction for young adults. Her debut, the super-romantic thriller RUN TO YOU Book One: DECEPTIO
...more

Average rating: 4.12 · 1,217 ratings · 294 reviews · 9 distinct works · Similar authors
Aftermath

4.31 avg rating — 277 ratings — published 2016 — 4 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Run To You Part I: First Sight

3.87 avg rating — 263 ratings — published 2014 — 8 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Run To You Part II: Second ...

4.18 avg rating — 168 ratings — published 2014 — 7 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Third Charm (Run to You, #3)

4.17 avg rating — 156 ratings — published 2014 — 7 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Fourth Shadow (Run To You #4)

3.98 avg rating — 80 ratings — published 2014 — 5 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Fifth Touch (Run To You #5)

4.01 avg rating — 76 ratings — published 2014 — 5 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Deception So Deadly (Run to...

4.28 avg rating — 72 ratings — published 2015 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Run To You Part VI: Sixth S...

4.04 avg rating — 78 ratings — published 2014 — 5 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Deception So Dark (Deceptio...

4.36 avg rating — 47 ratings — published 2015 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
More books by Clara Kensie…


YA authors love our readers! A bunch of us have teamed up to bring you an amazing giveaway: you can win a $200 Barnes & Noble gift card AND a library of our best-selling, award-winning, and stellar break-out young adult books! 



Betsy Aldredge and Carrie DuBois-Shaw, Sasquatch, Love, and Other Imaginary Things:  Pride and Prejudice meets Animal Planet’s Finding Bigfoot in this humorous and... Read more of this blog post »
 •  0 comments  •  flag
Twitter icon
Published on June 21, 2017 13:21 • 3 views
Deception So Deadly Deception So Dark
(2 books)
by
4.06 avg rating — 940 ratings

Upcoming Events

No scheduled events. Add an event.

Reason to Breathe
Clara is currently reading
by Rebecca Donovan (Goodreads Author)
bookshelves: currently-reading
Rate this book
Clear rating

 
Mindspeak
Clara is currently reading
by Heather Sunseri (Goodreads Author)
bookshelves: currently-reading
Rate this book
Clear rating

 

Clara’s Recent Updates

Clara is now friends with Mark Adams
4002051
Clara is currently reading
Reason to Breathe by Rebecca Donovan
Rate this book
Clear rating
Clara rated a book really liked it
People I Want to Punch in the Throat by Jen Mann
Rate this book
Clear rating
Funny! I wanted a light, humorous audiobook for my commute, and this fit the bill. Suburban moms will find this book very relatable.
Clara wants to read
Haunted by the Keres by Lauren Jankowski
Rate this book
Clear rating
Clara wants to read
From the Ashes by Lauren Jankowski
Rate this book
Clear rating
Clara wants to read
Through Storm and Night by Lauren Jankowski
Rate this book
Clear rating
Clara wants to read
Sere from the Green by Lauren Jankowski
Rate this book
Clear rating
Clara is currently reading
People I Want to Punch in the Throat by Jen Mann
Rate this book
Clear rating
Clara wants to read
The Hazel Wood by Melissa Albert
The Hazel Wood
by Melissa Albert (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
Clara rated a book it was amazing
You Are a Badass by Jen Sincero
Rate this book
Clear rating
Listened to this book on audio. Lots of great advice, very inspiring and motivating. I'm going to buy it in print so I can re-read the parts that resonated with me the most, and to have it on hand for quick reference. Highly recommend.
More of Clara's books…
“Some stories won't have a happy ending, but there's always hope that the next one will. Hope is everything. Even when there's nothing else. Especially when there's nothing else.”
Clara Kensie, Aftermath

“Do it double, because some can't do it at all.”
Clara Kensie, Aftermath

“My Keeper took everything from me: my home, my family, my voice. He made me powerless. But I'm home now. It may be split in two, but I have it back. My family may be broken, but I have it back. I have my voice back. I am not powerless anymore.”
Clara Kensie, Aftermath

Topics Mentioning This Author

topics posts views last activity  
SOS: Serious Over...: "I Spy" Title Challenge 804 522 May 29, 2017 04:46PM  
One Million Pages...: Lindy-Lane's MILL 113 119 Jun 05, 2017 03:50PM  
“My Keeper took everything from me: my home, my family, my voice. He made me powerless. But I'm home now. It may be split in two, but I have it back. My family may be broken, but I have it back. I have my voice back. I am not powerless anymore.”
Clara Kensie, Aftermath

“Alexa's face whitens. The coil of hair loosens itself from her finger. "You did it for me. You never fought back. Because you thought you were keeping me safe."
I pull up my gaze to meet hers. "Yeah."
"I--" It's a strangled, high-pitched sound, laced with shock and grief. Then she bites her lips shut. Her chin trembles, just once, before she turns away.”
Clara Kensie, Aftermath

“My sister has never not told me something before. We used to share every secret, every thought. While I was in the attic, it felt like we were forever far away. Now I'm with her again. We're so close that we're touching, but there's still a distance between us.”
Clara Kensie, Aftermath

“The only thing that gave me comfort in the attic was thinking about my family. Now I'm home, but it's not the home I imagined. Not the family I imagined. I'd convinced myself that they'd continued on with their happy, carefree lives without me, that they were doing it double, because I couldn't do it at all.
I was wrong.”
Clara Kensie, Aftermath

“Do it double, because some can't do it at all.”
Clara Kensie, Aftermath

75778 The YA Book Club — 14192 members — last activity 37 minutes ago
This is a book club for all those who love Young Adult books. We know you love to read, and so do we. We will have optional group reads each month. If ...more
51118 Rated YA-MA — 3594 members — last activity 1 hour, 46 min ago
A group for adult lovers of Young Adult fiction. We feature a different type of book for each month's group read, in order to cater to a variety of r ...more
110843 Yay For YA — 67 members — last activity Jul 15, 2014 03:14AM
If you have a passion for YA books and you want to find somewhere to discuss all things YA, This group would be perfect for you!
164715 The Motivated Writer — 71 members — last activity Jun 04, 2017 07:22AM
A group of writers focused on writing productivity and living the writer's life. We read books that help us strengthen our writing muscles and get to ...more
220 Goodreads Librarians Group — 73023 members — last activity 0 minutes ago
A place where all Goodreads members can work together to improve the Goodreads book catalog. Non-librarians are welcome to join the group as well, to ...more
166871 Square In Wonderland Book Club — 126 members — last activity Apr 18, 2017 06:38AM
Book Club from the combining forces of Dana from Dana Square (http://www.danasquare.blogspot.com/) and Steph from In Wonderland (http://www.stephwonde ...more
207770 Beat the Backlist — 150 members — last activity 22 hours, 30 min ago
A group for all of those participating in the Beat the Backlist challenge hosted by Austine & Tia of NovelKnight Book Reviews! This challenge focuses ...more
60696 Making Connections — 11159 members — last activity 2 hours, 16 min ago
Over 1000 books listed to Read & Review.....come join us. This is a place for Authors, Bloggers, Publishers, Reviewers, Book Tours, Giveaways, and Int ...more
More of Clara’s groups…



Comments (showing 1-3)    post a comment »
dateUp arrow    newest »

message 3: by Clara

Clara Stacey wrote: "Thank you for the friendship! I'm looking forward to sharing reviews and books :)"

Wheeeeee! Hi, Stacey, I'm excited to connect with you on Goodreads! It's my new favorite site. *grin* Have an amazing day!! ❤
xoxo
Clara


Stacey Thank you for the friendship! I'm looking forward to sharing reviews and books :)


Lucinda Dear Clara,
Thanks so much for acepting my friendship request!

Regards
Lucinda x


back to top