Clara Kensie




Teenrea...
228 books | 75 friends

Mariah
1,259 books | 1,053 friends

Kelly
2,455 books | 594 friends

Gillian
2,158 books | 730 friends

YA Wedn...
842 books | 694 friends

Lisa Ma...
6,552 books | 1,276 friends

Fangirl...
191 books | 699 friends

Wren | ...
674 books | 1,111 friends

More friends…



Clara Kensie

Goodreads Author


Born
March 29

Website

Twitter

Genre

Member Since
January 2011

URL


Winner of the 2015 RITA Award for Best First Book!

Latest release: AFTERMATH (November 2016, Merit Press/Simon and Schuster), a story of hope, healing, and triumph over tragedy, for fans of Room and The Lovely Bones.

Clara Kensie grew up near Chicago, reading every book she could find and using her diary to write stories about a girl with psychic powers who solved mysteries. She purposely did not hide her diary, hoping someone would read it and assume she was writing about herself. Since then, she's swapped her diary for a computer and admits her characters are fictional, but otherwise she hasn't changed one bit.

Today, Clara is the author of dark fiction for young adults. Her debut, the super-romantic thriller RUN TO YOU Book One: DECEPTIO
...more

Average rating: 4.11 · 1,119 ratings · 279 reviews · 9 distinct works · Similar authors
Run To You Part I: First Sight

3.87 avg rating — 261 ratings — published 2014 — 8 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Aftermath

4.29 avg rating — 192 ratings — published 2016 — 5 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Run To You Part II: Second ...

4.18 avg rating — 167 ratings — published 2014 — 7 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Third Charm (Run to You, #3)

4.17 avg rating — 155 ratings — published 2014 — 7 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Fourth Shadow (Run To You #4)

3.97 avg rating — 78 ratings — published 2014 — 5 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Fifth Touch (Run To You #5)

4.01 avg rating — 74 ratings — published 2014 — 5 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Deception So Deadly (Run to...

4.29 avg rating — 70 ratings — published 2015 — 2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Run To You Part VI: Sixth S...

4.03 avg rating — 76 ratings — published 2014 — 5 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Run to You Book Two: Decept...

4.39 avg rating — 46 ratings — published 2015 — 2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
More books by Clara Kensie…

Announcing a new Aftermath Goodreads giveaway! The last one was SO successful that I’m doing it again. This time the prize is a signed, annotated hardcover copy of Aftermath AAANNNNDDDDD an Aftermath “Do It Double” tote bag.


[image error]






This giveaway started only a few hours ago and it’s already blowing up. So get going – enter now! Go go go!





.goodreadsGiveawayWidget { color: #555; font-fa... Read more of this blog post »
1 like ·   •  0 comments  •  flag
Twitter icon
Published on February 15, 2017 09:34 • 24 views
Run To You Part I: First Sight Run To You Part II: Second ... Third Charm Fourth Shadow Fifth Touch Run To You Part VI: Sixth S...
Run To You (6 books)
by
4.07 avg rating — 927 ratings

Upcoming Events

No scheduled events. Add an event.

Faking Normal
Clara is currently reading
by Courtney C. Stevens (Goodreads Author)
bookshelves: currently-reading
Rate this book
Clear rating

 
Sad Perfect
Clara is currently reading
by Stephanie Elliot (Goodreads Author)
bookshelves: currently-reading
Rate this book
Clear rating

Clara Clara said: " So excited to read this book! I'm having a giveaway for it too, so stay tuned for details! "

 
The Artist's Way:...
Rate this book
Clear rating

 

Clara’s Recent Updates

Clara is now friends with Rafael
63892375
The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli
"Release date: April 11, 2017

THIS is how you write a diverse book with realistic characters!! This whole thing was hilariously real and wonderfully done.

Let me just lay out the these characters to start with:

Molly: the main character. She is obses..." Read more of this review »
Clara and 27 other people liked Gaby's review of The Upside of Unrequited:
The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli
"Getting to read this early = my greatest bookseller perk to date. Read all in one day despite all plans to go to bed at a normal hour. My feels are completely incoherent. This book reaches levels of amazing and brilliant I didn't even know existed..." Read more of this review »
Clara wants to read
The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli
Rate this book
Clear rating
Easy by Tammara Webber
"Easy broke me out of a reading rut and provided me with a much needed escape during a very stressful time in my life. This book is emotional, with realistic characters and truly satisfying. It is a sexy steamy romance but it has decent angst, some..." Read more of this review »
Clara wants to read
Easy by Tammara Webber
Rate this book
Clear rating
Clara wants to read
Queer, There, and Everywhere by Sarah Prager
Rate this book
Clear rating
Clara wants to read
Saints and Misfits by S.K. Ali
Saints and Misfits
by S.K. Ali (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
Clara wants to read
Get Even by Gretchen McNeil
Rate this book
Clear rating
Clara wants to read
Kiss of Broken Glass by Madeleine Kuderick
Rate this book
Clear rating
More of Clara's books…
“Some stories won't have a happy ending, but there's always hope that the next one will. Hope is everything. Even when there's nothing else. Especially when there's nothing else.”
Clara Kensie, Aftermath

“My Keeper took everything from me: my home, my family, my voice. He made me powerless. But I'm home now. It may be split in two, but I have it back. My family may be broken, but I have it back. I have my voice back. I am not powerless anymore.”
Clara Kensie, Aftermath

“Alexa's face whitens. The coil of hair loosens itself from her finger. "You did it for me. You never fought back. Because you thought you were keeping me safe."
I pull up my gaze to meet hers. "Yeah."
"I--" It's a strangled, high-pitched sound, laced with shock and grief. Then she bites her lips shut. Her chin trembles, just once, before she turns away.”
Clara Kensie, Aftermath

“My Keeper took everything from me: my home, my family, my voice. He made me powerless. But I'm home now. It may be split in two, but I have it back. My family may be broken, but I have it back. I have my voice back. I am not powerless anymore.”
Clara Kensie, Aftermath

“Alexa's face whitens. The coil of hair loosens itself from her finger. "You did it for me. You never fought back. Because you thought you were keeping me safe."
I pull up my gaze to meet hers. "Yeah."
"I--" It's a strangled, high-pitched sound, laced with shock and grief. Then she bites her lips shut. Her chin trembles, just once, before she turns away.”
Clara Kensie, Aftermath

“My sister has never not told me something before. We used to share every secret, every thought. While I was in the attic, it felt like we were forever far away. Now I'm with her again. We're so close that we're touching, but there's still a distance between us.”
Clara Kensie, Aftermath

“The only thing that gave me comfort in the attic was thinking about my family. Now I'm home, but it's not the home I imagined. Not the family I imagined. I'd convinced myself that they'd continued on with their happy, carefree lives without me, that they were doing it double, because I couldn't do it at all.
I was wrong.”
Clara Kensie, Aftermath

“Do it double, because some can't do it at all.”
Clara Kensie, Aftermath

75778 The YA Book Club — 13534 members — last activity 1 hour, 49 min ago
This is a book club for all those who love Young Adult books. We know you love to read, and so do we. We will have optional group reads each month. If ...more
51118 Rated YA-MA — 3594 members — last activity 8 hours, 8 min ago
A group for adult lovers of Young Adult fiction. We feature a different type of book for each month's group read, in order to cater to a variety of r ...more
110843 Yay For YA — 67 members — last activity Jul 15, 2014 11:14AM
If you have a passion for YA books and you want to find somewhere to discuss all things YA, This group would be perfect for you!
164715 The Motivated Writer — 70 members — last activity Jun 23, 2016 07:54PM
A group of writers focused on writing productivity and living the writer's life. We read books that help us strengthen our writing muscles and get to ...more
220 Goodreads Librarians Group — 70192 members — last activity 6 minutes ago
A place where all Goodreads members can work together to improve the Goodreads book catalog. Non-librarians are welcome to join the group as well, to ...more
166871 Square In Wonderland Book Club — 124 members — last activity Mar 20, 2017 02:50PM
Book Club from the combining forces of Dana from Dana Square (http://www.danasquare.blogspot.com/) and Steph from In Wonderland (http://www.stephwonde ...more
207770 Beat the Backlist — 144 members — last activity Mar 23, 2017 02:47AM
A group for all of those participating in the Beat the Backlist challenge hosted by Austine & Tia of NovelKnight Book Reviews! This challenge focuses ...more
More of Clara’s groups…



Comments (showing 1-3)    post a comment »
dateUp arrow    newest »

message 3: by Clara

Clara Stacey wrote: "Thank you for the friendship! I'm looking forward to sharing reviews and books :)"

Wheeeeee! Hi, Stacey, I'm excited to connect with you on Goodreads! It's my new favorite site. *grin* Have an amazing day!! ❤
xoxo
Clara


Stacey Thank you for the friendship! I'm looking forward to sharing reviews and books :)


Lucinda Dear Clara,
Thanks so much for acepting my friendship request!

Regards
Lucinda x


back to top