Stephanie Fowers




Massimi...
5,409 books | 5,001 friends

Loralee
308 books | 84 friends

Diana
567 books | 144 friends

Diann Read
11 books | 737 friends

LAWonder10
15,515 books | 839 friends

Tilak K...
193 books | 147 friends

Erin
1,115 books | 691 friends

Kimberl...
251 books | 1,312 friends

More friends…



Stephanie Fowers

Goodreads Author


Website

Genre

Member Since
April 2008

URL


Stephanie Fowers loves bringing stories to life, and depending on her latest madcap ideas will do it through written word, song, and/ or film. She absolutely adores Bollywood and bonnet movies; i.e., BBC (which she supposes includes non-bonnet movies Sherlock and Dr. Who). Presently, she lives in Salt Lake where she's living the life of the starving artist. Stephanie plans to bring more of her novels out to greet the light of day. Be sure to watch for her upcoming books, including YA fantasy, science fiction, mysteries, steampunk, regency Greek fantasy, and more--many more--romantic comedies in her line of sweet romances called "Hopeless Romantics." May the adventures begin.

To ask Stephanie Fowers questions, please sign up.

Popular Answered Questions

Stephanie Fowers That's super hard. The first step is realization. When you are surfing the internet, spending excess amounts on other entertainment, and basically…moreThat's super hard. The first step is realization. When you are surfing the internet, spending excess amounts on other entertainment, and basically wasting time; that is when you know you have writer's block.
The next step is to identify the problem. What are you working on right now? Is there something about it that bothers you? Do you not know what you're going to do next? Do you wish you could erase the last few chapters? Is it boring you? It is too confusing? Can you not see the characters? Does the project seem overwhelming?
After that, you need to come up with a plan of action. If you are overwhelmed, dig deeper. If you don't know your characters, give them personality tests and cast them with your favorite actors. If you don't know where you're going with the plot, make a list of questions that need to be answered before you can go on. If you are confused, organize your thoughts in easy to read outlines and make a synopsis of your plot. And if you are hungry, go eat a sandwich!
Sometimes you just need a break. Get out. Live life, but make a plan to come back.
Sometimes you just need inspiration: watch your favorite movie, get hooked on a series on Netflix, listen to music, rearrange your room, fix the temperature, make a collage or a soundtrack to your novel.
Sometimes you need validation: find a friend who is willing to read your book and then promise them chapters. Even if they don't care, ask them to pretend to care, haha. Tell them that you are reporting to them and if you do not give them the desired chapters/ outlines/, etc., then you owe them money.
If you need to get stern with yourself, put a program on your computer that blocks your social media for a few hours.
You could also be concerned that you need to have everything perfect right now. You don't. The most important thing to do right now is to fill up your document with words. You can worry about fine tuning it later.

All writers get writer's block. But it's up to you to defeat it. In the end, it is all about endurance. Even though you love writing, it will always end up being a job. And if you can keep a job and/ or go to school and finish your homework, if you can meet your deadlines and fulfill your responsibilities then you can be a writer too.. It's like cleaning a messy room. You have to start somewhere--so start with that dirty sock!(less)
Stephanie Fowers It has always been my opinion that orphans have the best adventures--especially if the world has turned against them. Unfortunately and FORTUNATELY…moreIt has always been my opinion that orphans have the best adventures--especially if the world has turned against them. Unfortunately and FORTUNATELY for me my life is full of loving people who protect me and keep me from such adventures.
But reading can take you anywhere and help you see the world through someone else's eyes. You can live unlimited adventures, cry with the characters, and still emerge pretty unscathed.
And writing is even better. Not only do I get the adventure, but I also get the steering wheel. I can put my characters through all sorts of troubles and give them the best happy endings...and I can take the people I love along for the ride--and hopefully they don't get motion sick.
Maybe that's why I love reading my stories out loud and/ or sharing them with the people who appreciate them. It's the best of both worlds--the imaginary one and the real one colliding. And you don't have to be a friendless orphan to enjoy them :-D
(less)
Average rating: 3.53 · 3,382 ratings · 562 reviews · 12 distinct works · Similar authors
Rules of Engagement

3.58 avg rating — 682 ratings — published 2005 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Prank Wars

3.52 avg rating — 790 ratings — published 2012 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Jane and Austen

by
3.30 avg rating — 745 ratings — published 2014 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Meet Your Match

3.56 avg rating — 591 ratings — published 2007 — 2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
With a Kiss

3.46 avg rating — 314 ratings — published 2013 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
At Midnight

3.94 avg rating — 105 ratings — published 2013 — 2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
As the Sun Sets

4.10 avg rating — 80 ratings — published 2013 — 2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
A Fantasy Christmas

by
really liked it 4.00 avg rating — 28 ratings — published 2013 — 5 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Twisted Tales Trilogy

4.20 avg rating — 10 ratings — published 2014
Rate this book
Clear rating
Strange and Lovely: Paranor...

by
4.46 avg rating — 26 ratings — published 2014 — 2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
More books by Stephanie Fowers…
Jane and Austen crunched cover

Jane and Austen

Stephanie Fowers


Regular Price $3.99

Bargain Price$ 0.99


Blurb:

Jane is an irrepressible optimist who will settle for nothing less than

a fairy-tale romance. Austen is a type A financial consultant who lives

by the book. When this mismatched pair teams up to plan a wedding, they

find themselves playing out a novel by Jane’s favorite author…

Perfect for fans of Pride and Prejudic...

Read more of this blog post »
 •  0 comments  •  flag
Twitter icon
Published on October 14, 2015 08:17 • 24 views
With a Kiss At Midnight As the Sun Sets
Twisted Tales (3 books)
by
3.67 avg rating — 499 ratings

Upcoming Events

No scheduled events. Add an event.

Fool Moon
Stephanie Fowers is currently reading
by Jim Butcher (Goodreads Author)
bookshelves: currently-reading
Rate this book
Clear rating

 
World War Z: An O...
Stephanie Fowers is currently reading
by Max Brooks (Goodreads Author)
bookshelves: currently-reading
Rate this book
Clear rating

 
Lorna Doone
Stephanie Fowers is currently reading
bookshelves: currently-reading
Rate this book
Clear rating

 

Stephanie's Recent Updates

Stephanie Fowers is now friends with Inspired Kathy
1143268
Stephanie Fowers voted for 1 books on the list Newbery 2015
A Piece of Sky by Ann  Hunter
Vote on this list »
Stephanie Fowers is now following
457898
Stephanie Fowers made a comment in the group Clean RomancesClean New Adult Books topic
" CaliGirlRae wrote: "That'd be awesome, Stephanie! Thank you! Please tell her me and my mom are big fans! :-) I haven't been able to share many IRs wit ...more "
" Loren wrote: "Hi Stephanie,
As a Jane Austen fan, I love the tile of your book:)Much success with them all!"


Thanks Loren. I greatly appreciate the enco
...more "
Stephanie Fowers is now following J.C. Whyte's reviews
21011835
Stephanie Fowers is now following
7135956
J.C. Whyte
Author of Karmack
" Also true Valshar. I completely agree--Jane Austen introduces us to a series of really good women in fiction...and in life :-D "
69613
More of Stephanie's books…
“I’d like to extend a special thank you to my favorite sins: fairy tales and chick flicks.”
Stephanie Fowers

“Every moment built up to this point; every skill I've acquired, every pain-filled memory leads me here. Finally, I know what I am made for.”
Stephanie Fowers, Prank Wars

Topics Mentioning This Author

topics posts views last activity  
Nothing But Readi...: Blast Off Bronze 486 271 Dec 10, 2013 06:35PM  
Around the World ...: Utah 9 200 Jun 11, 2015 06:05PM  
2016 Reading Chal...: #readwomen - 2015 1020 1019 Jan 05, 2016 03:37PM  
Crazy Challenge C...: A-Z Authors 2016 140 148 Jun 06, 2016 05:57AM  
The Green Jell-O ...: Young Adult: Speculative 23 38 Jun 20, 2016 07:15PM  
Crazy Challenge C...: A-Z Book Title Challenge-2016 140 180 Jun 23, 2016 09:12PM  
“I’d like to extend a special thank you to my favorite sins: fairy tales and chick flicks.”
Stephanie Fowers

“Every moment built up to this point; every skill I've acquired, every pain-filled memory leads me here. Finally, I know what I am made for.”
Stephanie Fowers, Prank Wars

69691 Reviews of Good Indie Books — 149 members — last activity Jun 17, 2016 01:32PM
Did you know that newspapers rarely review self-published books? So, how are we supposed to find the best indie books out there? Jane Austen, William ...more
10067 Clean Romances — 3438 members — last activity 4 hours, 26 min ago
This group is dedicated to building a up a list of clean romance books. Not "Christian" or "Inspirational" (there are other groups for those), but goo ...more
14184 Clean Reads for Mormon Teenagers — 595 members — last activity Jun 22, 2016 04:14PM
If you're a Mormon teenager (or just a Mormon in general) then you probably know what it's like to go to the library or bookstore and try to find an A ...more
36975 Jane Austen — 697 members — last activity Apr 17, 2016 08:12PM
I know there are too many groups about this terrific writer already, but I thought whats the harm in one more! So feel free to join :) This is a publi ...more
475 Jane Austen — 4094 members — last activity Jun 22, 2016 05:06PM
Readers of Jane, gather here to discuss anything from Frank Churchill's secrets to Lady Catherine's whims. What finally "persuaded" Anne Elliot? What ...more
101690 Clean,Non Religious-Reads — 177 members — last activity 7 hours, 10 min ago
I wanted to create a group for like-minded readers... adults and young adults, who want to find books to read-'in all genres', that have no- to-only o ...more
5471 LDS Ladies Book Club — 1340 members — last activity 1 hour, 25 min ago
This is a book club for LDS women (or women respectful of the LDS/Mormon/The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints faith) to read and discuss bo ...more
5989 Clean Reads — 1898 members — last activity Jun 23, 2016 09:23AM
This is a group for people who love to read a good book, but don't want to have to put it down one chapter in because of things that, if it were a mov ...more
127917 The Jane Austen Book Club — 8 members — last activity Oct 16, 2014 07:48AM
Show off your Jane Austen nerdiness in this book club dedicated to her! Each month we'll read a book that somehow has to do with Jane Austen- whether ...more
48377 Love With The Lights Off — 226 members — last activity May 26, 2016 05:31PM
A group for readers and writers of romances that fall somewhere between squeaky clean and graphic. (We still consider them clean and/or sweet.) Who is ...more
More of Stephanie’s groups…



Comments (showing 1-2)    post a comment »
dateUp arrow    newest »

Stephanie Skeem Thanks for the add. I like your name by the way. I tried to find some of the books you've written on here, but couldn't figure out where they were at. Hmm...maybe I'll keep looking.

Hope you have a great day.
*Cheers*
Steph


Tristi Welcome aboard, Miss Stephanie!! I happen to have excellent taste in books, so be sure to come check out my list. :)


back to top