Curtis C. Chen

year in books
Robynn
718 books | 11 friends

Mike
6,497 books | 1,267 friends

Cat Rambo
1,789 books | 2,946 friends

Meg
Meg
1,760 books | 143 friends

T.J. Berry
548 books | 143 friends

MaryAnn...
35 books | 82 friends

Greta
1,561 books | 71 friends

Don
Don
937 books | 303 friends

More friends…

Curtis C. Chen

Goodreads Author


Born
in Kaohsiung, Taiwan
Website

Twitter

Genre

Influences

Member Since
December 2010

URL


Once a Silicon Valley software engineer, CURTIS C. CHEN (陳致宇) now writes speculative fiction and runs puzzle games near Portland, Oregon. His debut novel WAYPOINT KANGAROO (a 2017 Locus Awards Finalist and Endeavour Award Finalist) is a science fiction thriller about a superpowered spy facing his toughest mission yet: vacation. The sequel, KANGAROO TOO, lands our hero on the Moon to confront long-buried secrets.

Curtis' short stories have appeared in Playboy Magazine, Daily Science Fiction, MISSION: TOMORROW, and OREGON READS ALOUD. He is a graduate of the Clarion West and Viable Paradise writers' workshops.

You can find Curtis at Puzzled Pint Portland on the second Tuesday of most every month. And yes, there is a puzzle hidden in each of the
...more

To ask Curtis C. Chen questions, please sign up.

Popular Answered Questions

Curtis C. Chen Yes! I'm working on some other novel projects right now, but I hope to get back to Kangaroo later this year.
Curtis C. Chen Yes! I'm told the publisher (Macmillan Audio) is working on an Audible version, but I don't know the release date yet. Keep an eye on this web page fo…moreYes! I'm told the publisher (Macmillan Audio) is working on an Audible version, but I don't know the release date yet. Keep an eye on this web page for links when available: https://us.macmillan.com/kangarootoo/...(less)
Average rating: 4.01 · 2,137 ratings · 433 reviews · 23 distinct worksSimilar authors
Waypoint Kangaroo (Kangaroo...

3.97 avg rating — 964 ratings — published 2016 — 5 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Kangaroo Too (Kangaroo, #2)

4.02 avg rating — 407 ratings — published 2017 — 4 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Oregon Reads Aloud: A Colle...

by
4.07 avg rating — 15 ratings — published 2016
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Fallen Executive (Ninth...

4.25 avg rating — 8 ratings — published 2019
Rate this book
Clear rating
Thursday's Children: Flash ...

by
4.10 avg rating — 10 ratings — published 2014 — 2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Assassin's Nest (Ninth ...

by
really liked it 4.00 avg rating — 2 ratings
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Stolen Xiǎohái (Ninth S...

liked it 3.00 avg rating — 2 ratings
Rate this book
Clear rating
By The Light of The Moon

0.00 avg rating — 0 ratings
Rate this book
Clear rating
SNAFU: An Anthology of Mili...

by
4.11 avg rating — 366 ratings — published 2014 — 7 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Ninth Step Station: The Com...

by
4.01 avg rating — 200 ratings — published 2019 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
More books by Curtis C. Chen…

My CoNZealand Schedule





Most of us won’t be in New Zealand for Worldcon this year #becauseofthepandemic but there will still be plenty of online programming to overwhelm everyone, as per usual. Here’s what I’m up to next week (links go to Grenadine):









17:00, Tuesday 28 Jul 2020 PDT
Workshop: Pitch Perfect
(Perfection not guaranteed) The purpose of an “elevator pitch,” or something you might share to a Twitter pitch contest,

Read more of this blog post »
 •  0 comments  •  flag
Share on Twitter
Published on July 24, 2020 09:14
Waypoint Kangaroo Kangaroo Too
(2 books)
by
3.98 avg rating — 1,371 ratings

Upcoming Events

No scheduled events. Add an event.

The Epic Crush of...
Rate this book
Clear rating

 
Please Like Me [B...
Curtis Chen is currently reading
by Mindy Kaling (Goodreads Author)
bookshelves: currently-reading
Rate this book
Clear rating

 
The Paradox of Ch...
Rate this book
Clear rating

 

Curtis’s Recent Updates

Curtis Chen is currently reading
The Epic Crush of Genie Lo by F.C. Yee
Rate this book
Clear rating
Curtis Chen is currently reading
Please Like Me [But Keep Away] by Mindy Kaling
Rate this book
Clear rating
Curtis Chen is currently reading
The Paradox of Choice by Barry Schwartz
Rate this book
Clear rating
Curtis Chen rated a book it was amazing
A Song for a New Day by Sarah Pinsker
A Song for a New Day
by Sarah Pinsker (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
Curtis Chen is currently reading
Upgraded by Neil Clarke
Upgraded
by Neil Clarke (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
Curtis Chen is currently reading
Control by Lydia Kang
Control (Control, #1)
by Lydia Kang (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
Curtis Chen is currently reading
The Kiss Quotient by Helen Hoang
Rate this book
Clear rating
" As with all Philip K. Dick stories, the movie adaptation is nothing like the original. :) The story is very much Cold War influenced; the movie is mor ...more "
Curtis Chen is currently reading
I'm the One That I Want by Margaret Cho
Rate this book
Clear rating
Curtis Chen is currently reading
A Song for Quiet by Cassandra Khaw
Rate this book
Clear rating
More of Curtis's books…
“The Princess of Mars Cruises’ flagship passenger liner Dejah Thoris is even larger than the Beanstalk climber, but a smaller portion of its interior volume is used to house passengers. The rest is the fuel supply, power plant, main engines, and cargo bays. It’s one of the largest civilian spacecraft ever built, and that says a lot about human civilization: we have slipped the surly bonds of Earth, now let’s party hearty.”
Curtis C. Chen, Waypoint Kangaroo: A Novel

“Never let it be said I’m not an equal opportunity insubordinate: I ignore my own advice just as often as I ignore anyone else’s.”
Curtis C. Chen, Waypoint Kangaroo: A Novel

Topics Mentioning This Author

topics posts views last activity  
Sci-fi and Heroic...: 2016 Locus Award Winners Announced 8 48 Jun 25, 2017 06:32AM  
The Seasonal Read...: This topic has been closed to new comments. Completed Tasks: PLEASE DO NOT DELETE ANY POST IN THIS THREAD 3001 462 Aug 31, 2017 09:01PM  
Adventures in Sci...: Science Fiction Books to Review 65 166 Oct 19, 2017 12:45PM  
The Sword and Laser: This topic has been closed to new comments. 2018 March Madness Nominations (Closed) 327 827 Feb 27, 2018 03:22AM  
“You can't say, I won't write today because that excuse will extend into several days, then several months, then... you are not a writer anymore, just someone who dreams about being a writer.”
Dorothy C. Fontana

480667 The Ink to Film Book Club — 147 members — last activity Oct 14, 2020 04:57AM
A group where people can chat about books that have been made or are being made into films/TV. Discussions of past, future, or potential adaptations w ...more
109220 Adventures in SciFi Publishing — 214 members — last activity Sep 14, 2020 02:58PM
Online hangout for readers of Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror. Subscribe to the podcast at: iTunes and Stitcher Radio. Newsletter subscribers ar ...more
56917 Q&A with Patty Jansen — 103 members — last activity May 30, 2012 03:48PM
Discussion about Science Fiction and Fantasy, about writing and science in writing, and new releases
126236 SFWA Pacific Northwest Reading Series — 48 members — last activity Jan 29, 2020 10:38PM
The greater Pacific Northwest is home to Ursula K. Le Guin, Kay Kenyon, Jay Lake, Nancy Kress, Brent Weeks, Ted Chiang and Ramona Quimby. Although Ram ...more
758790 9th Step Irregulars — 5 members — last activity Oct 01, 2018 10:52AM
Our mission is to spread the word on Ninth Step Station and introduce the world to Myako Koreda and Lt Emma Higashi. * * * Years of disaster and con ...more
More of Curtis’s groups…



Comments (showing 1-1)    post a comment »
dateUp arrow    newest »

Stephanie Griffin Hey Curtis! Just heard Grammar Girl talk about you and your new book, Waypoint Kangaroo! Hurrah!


back to top