,
Curtis C. Chen

year in books

Curtis C. Chen’s Followers (132)

member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
Sara
4,555 books | 39 friends

Annie
610 books | 84 friends

Mike
6,955 books | 1,312 friends

Corey W...
378 books | 48 friends

Luke El...
760 books | 412 friends

Jacquel...
1,149 books | 74 friends

Mignon
471 books | 3,552 friends

Wesley Chu
298 books | 1,478 friends

More friends…

Curtis C. Chen

Goodreads Author


Born
in Kaohsiung, Taiwan
Website

Twitter

Genre

Influences

Member Since
December 2010

URL


Once a Silicon Valley software engineer, CURTIS C. CHEN (陳致宇) now writes speculative fiction and runs puzzle games near Portland, Oregon. His debut novel WAYPOINT KANGAROO (a 2017 Locus Awards Finalist and Endeavour Award Finalist) is a science fiction thriller about a superpowered spy facing his toughest mission yet: vacation. The sequel, KANGAROO TOO, lands our hero on the Moon to confront long-buried secrets.

Curtis' short stories have appeared in Playboy Magazine, Daily Science Fiction, MISSION: TOMORROW, and OREGON READS ALOUD. He is a graduate of the Clarion West and Viable Paradise writers' workshops.

You can find Curtis at Puzzled Pint Portland on the second Tuesday of most every month. And yes, there is a puzzle hidden in each of the
...more

To ask Curtis C. Chen questions, please sign up.

Popular Answered Questions

Curtis C. Chen Yes! I'm working on some other novel projects right now, but I hope to get back to Kangaroo later this year.…moreYes! I'm working on some other novel projects right now, but I hope to get back to Kangaroo later this year.(less)
Curtis C. Chen Yes! I'm told the publisher (Macmillan Audio) is working on an Audible version, but I don't know the release date yet. Keep an eye on this web page fo…moreYes! I'm told the publisher (Macmillan Audio) is working on an Audible version, but I don't know the release date yet. Keep an eye on this web page for links when available: https://us.macmillan.com/kangarootoo/...(less)
Average rating: 3.96 · 2,741 ratings · 544 reviews · 22 distinct worksSimilar authors
Waypoint Kangaroo (Kangaroo...

3.94 avg rating — 1,147 ratings — published 2016 — 5 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
SNAFU: An Anthology of Mili...

by
4.04 avg rating — 482 ratings — published 2014 — 7 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Kangaroo Too (Kangaroo, #2)

4.01 avg rating — 477 ratings — published 2017 — 4 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Ninth Step Station: The Com...

by
3.96 avg rating — 264 ratings — published 2019 — 4 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Oregon Reads Aloud: A Colle...

by
4.22 avg rating — 18 ratings — published 2016 — 4 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Thursday's Children: Flash ...

by
4.09 avg rating — 11 ratings — published 2014 — 2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Fallen Executive (Ninth...

4.25 avg rating — 8 ratings — published 2019
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Assassin's Nest (Ninth ...

by
really liked it 4.00 avg rating — 2 ratings
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Stolen Xiǎohái (Ninth S...

liked it 3.00 avg rating — 2 ratings
Rate this book
Clear rating
By The Light of The Moon

0.00 avg rating — 0 ratings
Rate this book
Clear rating
More books by Curtis C. Chen…

My #Nebulas2022 Schedule

I’ll be on two panels at the SFWA Nebula Conference (ONLINE) next weekend:

“Finding the Right Literary Agent & Maintaining Your Sanity Along the Way” (Sunday, May 22, 2022, at 3:00 PM Pacific time) also with Emmeline Duncan, Stina Leicht, and Samantha Mills; moderated by Kate Heartfield.

“Cyberpunk in the Asia Pacific” (Sunday, May 22, 2022, at 6:00 PM Pacific Time) also with T. R. Napper, Chris McK

Read more of this blog post »
 •  0 comments  •  flag
Share on Twitter
Published on May 15, 2022 15:52
Waypoint Kangaroo Kangaroo Too
(2 books)
by
3.96 avg rating — 1,624 ratings

Aliens: Vasquez
Curtis Chen is currently reading
by V. Castro (Goodreads Author)
bookshelves: currently-reading
Rate this book
Clear rating

 
Living Forever & ...
Curtis Chen is currently reading
by Emily C. Skaftun (Goodreads Author)
bookshelves: currently-reading
Rate this book
Clear rating

 

Curtis’s Recent Updates

Curtis Chen is currently reading
Aliens by V. Castro
Aliens: Vasquez
by V. Castro (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
Curtis Chen is currently reading
Living Forever & Other Terrible Ideas by Emily C. Skaftun
Rate this book
Clear rating
Curtis Chen rated a book it was amazing
Phasers on Stun! by Ryan Britt
Rate this book
Clear rating
Curtis Chen finished reading
Minor Feelings by Cathy Park Hong
Rate this book
Clear rating
Curtis Chen is currently reading
Minor Feelings by Cathy Park Hong
Rate this book
Clear rating
Curtis Chen is currently reading
Dreyer’s English by Benjamin Dreyer
Rate this book
Clear rating
Curtis Chen rated a book it was amazing
Big Feelings by Liz Fosslien
Rate this book
Clear rating
Curtis Chen is currently reading
The Ones We're Meant to Find by Joan He
The Ones We're Meant to Find
by Joan He (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
Curtis Chen finished reading
One Nation Under Song by L. Kris Gowen
Rate this book
Clear rating
Curtis Chen rated a book it was amazing
Defekt by Nino Cipri
Defekt (LitenVerse, #2)
by Nino Cipri (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
More of Curtis's books…
Quotes by Curtis C. Chen  (?)
Quotes are added by the Goodreads community and are not verified by Goodreads. (Learn more)

“Never let it be said I’m not an equal opportunity insubordinate: I ignore my own advice just as often as I ignore anyone else’s.”
Curtis C. Chen, Waypoint Kangaroo: A Novel

“The Princess of Mars Cruises’ flagship passenger liner Dejah Thoris is even larger than the Beanstalk climber, but a smaller portion of its interior volume is used to house passengers. The rest is the fuel supply, power plant, main engines, and cargo bays. It’s one of the largest civilian spacecraft ever built, and that says a lot about human civilization: we have slipped the surly bonds of Earth, now let’s party hearty.”
Curtis C. Chen, Waypoint Kangaroo: A Novel

Topics Mentioning This Author

topics posts views last activity  
Sci-fi and Heroic...: 2016 Locus Award Winners Announced 8 48 Jun 25, 2017 06:32AM  
The Seasonal Read...: This topic has been closed to new comments. Completed Tasks: PLEASE DO NOT DELETE ANY POST IN THIS THREAD 2963 481 Aug 31, 2017 09:01PM  
Adventures in Sci...: Science Fiction Books to Review 64 168 Oct 19, 2017 12:45PM  
The Sword and Laser: This topic has been closed to new comments. 2018 March Madness Nominations (Closed) 324 832 Feb 27, 2018 03:22AM  
“You can't say, I won't write today because that excuse will extend into several days, then several months, then... you are not a writer anymore, just someone who dreams about being a writer.”
Dorothy C. Fontana

480667 The Ink to Film Book Club — 183 members — last activity Jul 20, 2022 11:19AM
A group where people can chat about books that have been made or are being made into films/TV. Discussions of past, future, or potential adaptations w ...more
109220 Adventures in SciFi Publishing — 214 members — last activity Nov 22, 2021 03:43PM
Online hangout for readers of Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror. Subscribe to the podcast at: iTunes and Stitcher Radio. Newsletter subscribers ar ...more
56917 Q&A with Patty Jansen — 102 members — last activity May 30, 2012 03:48PM
Discussion about Science Fiction and Fantasy, about writing and science in writing, and new releases
126236 SFWA Pacific Northwest Reading Series — 54 members — last activity Jan 29, 2020 10:38PM
The greater Pacific Northwest is home to Ursula K. Le Guin, Kay Kenyon, Jay Lake, Nancy Kress, Brent Weeks, Ted Chiang and Ramona Quimby. Although Ram ...more
758790 9th Step Irregulars — 5 members — last activity Oct 01, 2018 10:52AM
Our mission is to spread the word on Ninth Step Station and introduce the world to Myako Koreda and Lt Emma Higashi. * * * Years of disaster and con ...more
More of Curtis’s groups…



Comments (showing 1-1)    post a comment »
dateUp arrow    newest »

Stephanie Griffin Hey Curtis! Just heard Grammar Girl talk about you and your new book, Waypoint Kangaroo! Hurrah!


back to top