Curtis C. Chen

Amelia
719 books | 253 friends

Fran
941 books | 220 friends

Jen
Jen
1,526 books | 32 friends

Wesley Chu
294 books | 1,373 friends

Marlee ...
2 books | 124 friends

Jaymi
1,685 books | 178 friends

Elizabe...
1,333 books | 486 friends

Dan Kob...
247 books | 1,150 friends

More friends…

Curtis C. Chen

Goodreads Author


Born
in Taiwan
Website

Twitter

Genre

Influences

Member Since
December 2010

URL


Once a Silicon Valley software engineer, CURTIS C. CHEN (陳致宇) now writes speculative fiction and runs puzzle games near Portland, Oregon. His debut novel WAYPOINT KANGAROO (a 2017 Locus Awards Finalist and Endeavour Award Finalist) is a science fiction thriller about a superpowered spy facing his toughest mission yet: vacation. The sequel, KANGAROO TOO, lands our hero on the Moon to confront long-buried secrets.

Curtis' short stories have appeared in Playboy Magazine, Daily Science Fiction, MISSION: TOMORROW, and OREGON READS ALOUD. He is a graduate of the Clarion West and Viable Paradise writers' workshops.

You can find Curtis at Puzzled Pint Portland on the second Tuesday of most every month. And yes, there is a puzzle hidden in each of the
...more

To ask Curtis C. Chen questions, please sign up.

Popular Answered Questions

Curtis C. Chen Yes! I'm told the publisher (Macmillan Audio) is working on an Audible version, but I don't know the release date yet. Keep an eye on this web page…moreYes! I'm told the publisher (Macmillan Audio) is working on an Audible version, but I don't know the release date yet. Keep an eye on this web page for links when available: https://us.macmillan.com/kangarootoo/...(less)
Curtis C. Chen Kermit the Frog and Miss Piggy. FOR OBVIOUS REASONS.
Average rating: 4.02 · 1,415 ratings · 296 reviews · 16 distinct worksSimilar authors
Waypoint Kangaroo (Kangaroo...

3.98 avg rating — 752 ratings — published 2016 — 5 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Kangaroo Too (Kangaroo, #2)

really liked it 4.00 avg rating — 293 ratings — published 2017 — 4 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Oregon Reads Aloud: A Colle...

by
4.18 avg rating — 11 ratings
Rate this book
Clear rating
Thursday's Children: Flash ...

by
4.10 avg rating — 10 ratings — published 2014 — 2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Fallen Executive (Ninth...

3.67 avg rating — 3 ratings — published 2019
Rate this book
Clear rating
By The Light of The Moon

0.00 avg rating — 0 ratings
Rate this book
Clear rating
SNAFU: An Anthology of Mili...

by
4.10 avg rating — 285 ratings — published 2014 — 7 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Mission: Tomorrow

by
3.84 avg rating — 32 ratings — published 2015 — 5 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Ninth Step Station: The Com...

by
4.37 avg rating — 19 ratings — expected publication 2019 — 2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
2016 Young Explorer's Adven...

by
4.43 avg rating — 14 ratings — published 2015 — 4 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
More books by Curtis C. Chen…

Presented without comment:

Alice + Tye = Wrestlemania
 •  0 comments  •  flag
Twitter icon
Published on January 28, 2019 20:33 • 9 views
Waypoint Kangaroo Kangaroo Too
(2 books)
by
3.99 avg rating — 1,045 ratings

Upcoming Events

No scheduled events. Add an event.

Small Gods
Rate this book
Clear rating

 
(R)evolution
Curtis Chen is currently reading
by P.J. Manney (Goodreads Author)
bookshelves: currently-reading
Rate this book
Clear rating

 
A Paradise Built ...
Rate this book
Clear rating

 

Curtis’s Recent Updates

Curtis Chen is currently reading
Small Gods by Terry Pratchett
Rate this book
Clear rating
Curtis Chen is currently reading
(R)evolution by P.J. Manney
Rate this book
Clear rating
Curtis Chen is currently reading
A Paradise Built in Hell by Rebecca Solnit
Rate this book
Clear rating
Curtis Chen made a comment in the group The Ink to Film Book ClubThe Martian Discussion topic
" Before. :) Fun fact: I was reading the book when I took a Willamette Writers workshop with Robert Dugoni, who had recently finished it, and we had a l ...more "
Curtis Chen rated a book really liked it
Trail of Lightning by Rebecca Roanhorse
Rate this book
Clear rating
Curtis Chen is currently reading
AI Superpowers by Kai-Fu Lee
Rate this book
Clear rating
Curtis Chen is currently reading
The Magicians by Lev Grossman
Rate this book
Clear rating
Curtis Chen is currently reading
The Bear and the Nightingale by Katherine Arden
Rate this book
Clear rating
Curtis Chen has read
Kangaroo Too by Curtis C. Chen
Rate this book
Clear rating
Curtis Chen rated a book it was amazing
Homicide by David Simon
Rate this book
Clear rating
More of Curtis's books…
“The Princess of Mars Cruises’ flagship passenger liner Dejah Thoris is even larger than the Beanstalk climber, but a smaller portion of its interior volume is used to house passengers. The rest is the fuel supply, power plant, main engines, and cargo bays. It’s one of the largest civilian spacecraft ever built, and that says a lot about human civilization: we have slipped the surly bonds of Earth, now let’s party hearty.”
Curtis C. Chen, Waypoint Kangaroo: A Novel

“Never let it be said I’m not an equal opportunity insubordinate: I ignore my own advice just as often as I ignore anyone else’s.”
Curtis C. Chen, Waypoint Kangaroo: A Novel

Topics Mentioning This Author

topics posts views last activity  
Sci-fi and Heroic...: 2016 Locus Award Winners Announced 8 48 Jun 25, 2017 06:32AM  
The Seasonal Read...: This topic has been closed to new comments. Completed Tasks: PLEASE DO NOT DELETE ANY POST IN THIS THREAD 3002 433 Aug 31, 2017 09:01PM  
Adventures in Sci...: Science Fiction Books to Review 65 164 Oct 19, 2017 12:45PM  
The Sword and Laser: This topic has been closed to new comments. 2018 March Madness Nominations (Closed) 328 818 Feb 27, 2018 03:22AM  
“You can't say, I won't write today because that excuse will extend into several days, then several months, then... you are not a writer anymore, just someone who dreams about being a writer.”
Dorothy C. Fontana

109220 Adventures in SciFi Publishing — 212 members — last activity Feb 19, 2019 10:26AM
Online hangout for readers of Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror. Subscribe to the podcast at: iTunes and Stitcher Radio. Newsletter subscribers are ...more
480667 The Ink to Film Book Club — 92 members — last activity Feb 14, 2019 10:34AM
A group where people can discuss books being made into films. Feel free to discuss any project covered or not yet covered by the podcast!
56917 Q&A with Patty Jansen — 104 members — last activity May 30, 2012 03:48PM
Discussion about Science Fiction and Fantasy, about writing and science in writing, and new releases
126236 SFWA Pacific Northwest Reading Series — 38 members — last activity Feb 09, 2019 02:35PM
The greater Pacific Northwest is home to Ursula K. Le Guin, Kay Kenyon, Jay Lake, Nancy Kress, Brent Weeks, Ted Chiang and Ramona Quimby. Although Ram ...more
758790 9th Step Irregulars — 5 members — last activity Oct 01, 2018 10:52AM
Our mission is to spread the word on Ninth Step Station and introduce the world to Myako Koreda and Lt Emma Higashi. * * * Years of disaster and confl ...more
More of Curtis’s groups…



Comments (showing 1-1)    post a comment »
dateUp arrow    newest »

Stephanie Griffin Hey Curtis! Just heard Grammar Girl talk about you and your new book, Waypoint Kangaroo! Hurrah!


back to top