M.R. Carey

Siminel
1,372 books | 181 friends

Shorty
3,414 books | 310 friends

Burke B...
4,633 books | 263 friends

Jeffrey
253 books | 5 friends

Elzibub
1,684 books | 109 friends

Anna
878 books | 19 friends

Adam Pe...
411 books | 117 friends

Michelle
1,484 books | 101 friends

More friends…

M.R. Carey

Goodreads Author


Born
in Liverpool, The United Kingdom
Website

Genre

Member Since
June 2014

URL


Mike Carey is the acclaimed writer of Lucifer and Hellblazer (now filmed as Constantine). He has recently completed a comics adaptation of Neil Gaiman's Neverwhere, and is the current writer on Marvel's X-Men and Ultimate Fantastic Four. He has also written the screenplay for a movie, Frost Flowers, which is soon to be produced by Hadaly Films and Bluestar Pictures.

Also writes as Mike Carey

To ask M.R. Carey questions, please sign up.

Popular Answered Questions

M.R. Carey Hi Kim. It grew out of a very specific commission. I’d agreed to write a short story for an anthology of dark fantasy and horror on the theme of…moreHi Kim. It grew out of a very specific commission. I’d agreed to write a short story for an anthology of dark fantasy and horror on the theme of “school days”. Charlaine Harris and Toni Kelner were editing, and I’d had to back out of their previous collection because of time problems, so I was determined not to miss the boat again.

But having said I’d do it, I couldn’t come up with a single workable idea. The deadline started to loom, and everything that came into my head was sort of a grimdark Harry Potter riff – not the slightest bit original, and not appealing either.

Then I woke up one morning with the idea of Melanie in my mind. There was no story, to start with – there was just her. This little girl sitting in a classroom, writing an essay about what she was going to do when she grew up. Only that was never going to happen because she was already dead and didn’t know it.

Everything flowed from that first image, and it flowed really quickly. I wrote the short story, Iphigenia In Aulis, in four days, and for two of those I was in Norway for a comics convention. It was one of those rare situations where the story obsesses you so much that you use every spare moment to write some more of it down. I was sneaking away to the hotel room in between panels to add a few more paragraphs, and writing in bed before I got up to shower.

And once the short was done, I had the very strong feeling that the story wasn’t. I persuaded my editors at Orbit to vary out my contract so I could write The Girl With All the Gifts. Fortunately they were really flexible and helpful. Of course, it helped that they were sold on the story.
(less)
M.R. Carey I think one of the reasons for that, Vesper, is that I'd just completed a novel where I was co-writing with my wife, Linda, and our daughter Louise.…moreI think one of the reasons for that, Vesper, is that I'd just completed a novel where I was co-writing with my wife, Linda, and our daughter Louise. Most of the characters in that book, The City of Silk and Steel, are female, and I enjoyed writing the dynamics of those relationships. I was still in that head-space when I came to write GIRL, and choosing a female protagonist and point of view character felt like a natural and unforced choice.

Of course the other half of your question is why a child - and that arises of necessity from the nature of the story. It's really a coming of age narrative as much as anything else, and Melanie's changing perspective on the world and her place in it is a big part of the point.

The hardest part for me was writing the scene in which Dr Caldwell attempts to dissect Melanie. It was challenging in the sense that I found it hard to put that sequence of events into words. My mind wanted to slip away from it.(less)
Average rating: 3.92 · 178,601 ratings · 21,468 reviews · 9 distinct worksSimilar authors
The Girl With All the Gifts...

3.94 avg rating — 147,848 ratings — published 2014 — 75 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Boy on the Bridge (The ...

really liked it 4.00 avg rating — 11,756 ratings — published 2017 — 31 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Fellside

3.56 avg rating — 9,639 ratings — published 2016 — 9 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Girl With All the Gifts...

3.98 avg rating — 2,708 ratings5 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Boy on the Bridge: Exte...

4.07 avg rating — 55 ratings — published 2017 — 2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Iphigenia In Aulis

really liked it 4.00 avg rating — 2 ratings
Rate this book
Clear rating
Someone Like Me

4.50 avg rating — 2 ratings — expected publication 2018 — 7 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
An Apple for the Creature

by
3.85 avg rating — 6,966 ratings — published 2012 — 18 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Dark Cities

by
3.33 avg rating — 193 ratings — published 2017 — 6 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
More books by M.R. Carey…
The Girl With All the Gifts The Boy on the Bridge
(2 books)
by
3.94 avg rating — 159,579 ratings

Upcoming Events

No scheduled events. Add an event.

M.r.’s Recent Updates

“you can't save people from the world. There's nowhere else to take them.”
M.R. Carey, The Girl With All the Gifts

“Melanie thinks: when your dreams come true, your true has moved. You've already stopped being the person who had the dreams, so it feels more like a weird echo of something that already happened to you a long time ago.”
M.R. Carey, The Girl With All the Gifts

“And then like Pandora, opening the great big box of the world and not being afraid, not even caring whether what’s inside is good or bad. Because it’s both. Everything is always both. But you have to open it to find that out.”
M.R. Carey, The Girl with All the Gifts

Polls

167545
Books To Movies March 2018
In Honor Of The Academy Awards

A Wrinkle in Time A Wrinkle in Time (A Wrinkle in Time Quintet, #1) by Madeleine L'Engle by Madeleine L'Engle
It was a dark and stormy night; Meg Murry, her small brother Charles Wallace, and her mother had come down to the kitchen for a midnight snack when they were upset by the arrival of a most disturbing stranger.

"Wild nights are my glory," the unearthly stranger told them. "I just got caught in a downdraft and blown off course. Let me be on my way. Speaking of way, by the way, there is such a thing as a tesseract".
 
  3 votes 27.3%

Boy Erased: A Memoir Boy Erased A Memoir by Garrard Conley by Garrard Conley
A beautiful, raw and compassionate memoir about identity, love and understanding.

The son of a Baptist pastor and deeply embedded in church life in small town Arkansas, as a young man Garrard Conley was terrified and conflicted about his sexuality.
 
  2 votes 18.2%

The Girl with All the Gifts The Girl with All the Gifts (The Hungry Plague, #1) by M.R. Carey by M.R. Carey
Melanie is a very special girl. Dr. Caldwell calls her "our little genius."

Every morning, Melanie waits in her cell to be collected for class. When they come for her, Sergeant Parks keeps his gun pointing at her while two of his people strap her into the wheelchair. She thinks they don't like her. She jokes that she won't bite, but they don't laugh.

Melanie loves school. She loves learning about spelling and sums and the world outside the classroom and the children's cells. She tells her favorite teacher all the things she'll do when she grows up. Melanie doesn't know why this makes Miss Justineau look sad.

The Girl with All the Gifts is a sensational thriller, perfect for fans of Stephen King, Justin Cronin, and Neil Gaiman.
 
  2 votes 18.2%

Ready Player One Ready Player One (Ready Player One, #1) by Ernest Cline by Ernest Cline
In the year 2044, reality is an ugly place. The only time teenage Wade Watts really feels alive is when he's jacked into the virtual utopia known as the OASIS. Wade's devoted his life to studying the puzzles hidden within this world's digital confines, puzzles that are based on their creator's obsession with the pop culture of decades past and that promise massive power and fortune to whoever can unlock them. When Wade stumbles upon the first clue, he finds himself beset by players willing to kill to take this ultimate prize. The race is on, and if Wade's going to survive, he'll have to win—and confront the real world he's always been so desperate to escape.
 
  2 votes 18.2%

Forever My Girl Forever My Girl (The Beaumont Series, #1) by Heidi McLaughlin by Heidi McLaughlin
I was never supposed to be a rock star. I had my life all planned out for me. Play football in college. Go to the NFL. Marry my high school sweetheart and live happily ever after.

I broke both our hearts that day when I told her I was leaving. I was young. I made the right decision for me, but the wrong decision for us. I've poured my soul into my music, but I've never forgotten her. Her smell, her smile.
 
  1 vote 9.1%

Wonder Wonder by R.J. Palacio by R.J. Palacio
'My name is August.
I won't describe to you what I look like.
Whatever you're thinking, it's probably worse.'

Ten-year-old August Pullman wants to be ordinary. He does ordinary things. He eats ice-cream. He plays on his Xbox. He feels ordinary - inside.

But Auggie is far from ordinary. Born with a terrible facial abnormality, he has been home-schooled by his parents his entire life, in an attempt to protect him from the cruelty of the outside world. Now, Auggie's parents are sending him to a real school. Can he convince his new classmates that he's just like them, underneath it all?
 
  1 vote 9.1%

11 total votes
More...

Topics Mentioning This Author

topics posts views last activity  
The Seasonal Read...: Best Review Contest (Winter 2013) 8 84 Feb 16, 2014 04:37AM  
The Seasonal Read...: This topic has been closed to new comments. Winter Challenge 2013: Completed Tasks (Do Not Delete Posts) 2511 607 Feb 28, 2014 09:00PM  
Aussie Readers: **Summer Reading Challenge - 2013/2014** 678 334 Mar 04, 2014 08:24PM  
Aussie Readers: **Autumn Reading Challenge - 2014** 545 275 Jul 04, 2014 07:58PM  
Reading with Style: Author Chains 49 127 Aug 02, 2014 03:03PM  



No comments have been added yet.