Zeenat Mahal


#27 top librarians
#28 most followed
#83 best reviewers
#117 top reviewers
#46 top users
#7 top readers
Lana Ko...
92 books | 4,738 friends

Megha A...
1,070 books | 137 friends

Manjul ...
296 books | 49 friends

MaggieR...
2,228 books | 954 friends

Arti
369 books | 44 friends

Aadya
448 books | 277 friends

Pragyna
659 books | 18 friends

Elizabe...
503 books | 206 friends

More friends…

Zeenat Mahal

Goodreads Author


Born
in Lahore, Pakistan
August 01

Twitter

Genre

Member Since
June 2013

URL


Zeenat Mahal is the #1 bestselling romance author of She Loves Me He Loves Me Not, Haveli, The Accidental Fiancee, Twice Upon a Time, The Historian and the Hunter and The Contract. She has an MFA in creative writing from Kingston University London. She writes and teaches creative writing in Lahore. She likes to stay in touch with her readers via Instagram, Facebook and Twitter.

To ask Zeenat Mahal questions, please sign up.

Popular Answered Questions

Zeenat Mahal Hi Hina. Thank you for the questions. Sorry about the delay in answering them but when you have a Goodreads app on the phone...
Anyway, the answer to…more
Hi Hina. Thank you for the questions. Sorry about the delay in answering them but when you have a Goodreads app on the phone...
Anyway, the answer to the first is as old and boring as ever. Since i can remember :) But i wrote my first good story at the age of eleven, which was printed in The News daily. It was so exciting!
Zeenat Mahal is my pseudonym.(less)
Zeenat Mahal Thank you for your question, Iqra. And it's one that has made me think...something I don't often do :D
Jokes apart, I didn't really look at it this…more
Thank you for your question, Iqra. And it's one that has made me think...something I don't often do :D
Jokes apart, I didn't really look at it this way till you pointed it out. I was merely thinking of it as 'romance writing', which is constrained by boy-meets-girl-and-love-happens theme. However, I think being South Asian is synonymous with big families and unbreakable familial bonds, and I have included these beautiful relationships along with the romance, unknowingly perhaps.
I was pleasantly surprised to find out that most people who read The Contract loved Aunty Salma a lot. Haveli's Bi Amma is also often cited as one of the characters my readers loved most. In my latest, She Loves Me He Loves Me Not, my early readers absolutely love Fardeen's family, Swaba, Salaar and the parents.
Love, after all, comes in so many different shades. We are lucky to have so many people who may madden us often, but they love us much more.
(less)
Average rating: 3.71 · 1,428 ratings · 309 reviews · 7 distinct worksSimilar authors
She Loves Me, He Loves Me Not

4.01 avg rating — 291 ratings — published 2015 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Haveli

3.71 avg rating — 362 ratings — published 2013 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Contract

3.64 avg rating — 449 ratings — published 2013 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Accidental Fiancee

3.31 avg rating — 186 ratings — published 2015 — 2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Historian and the Hunter

4.58 avg rating — 31 ratings2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Walled City

3.51 avg rating — 45 ratings — published 2013 — 2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Twice Upon a Time: Two Nove...

by
3.71 avg rating — 63 ratings — published 2015
Rate this book
Clear rating
More books by Zeenat Mahal…
As a committed reader, I have had several experiences when I’ve felt changed by a book. One of them was Barabra Taylor Bradford’s Woman of Substance. Not only was Emma Harte one of the most inspiring heroines of all times, and by the way on my list of icons along with Audrey Hepburn, Jackie O. and Coco Chanel, the kind of courage and determination she exhibits is reminiscent of Greek tragic her... Read more of this blog post »
 •  0 comments  •  flag
Twitter icon
Published on February 26, 2018 05:37 • 64 views • Tags: books, fantasy, fiction, reading, women

Upcoming Events

No scheduled events. Add an event.

The Captive Mind
Zeenat Mahal is currently reading
bookshelves: currently-reading
Rate this book
Clear rating

 
No god but God: T...
Rate this book
Clear rating

 
Letters To Milena
Zeenat Mahal is currently reading
bookshelves: currently-reading
Rate this book
Clear rating

 

Zeenat’s Recent Updates

Zeenat Mahal is now friends with Asif Kazi
22805607
Zeenat Mahal has read
The Historian and the Hunter by Zeenat Mahal
Rate this book
Clear rating
I really enjoyed writing Laila and Shirin's story. They're such strong, independent women. I love what they do. I'm a bookworm myself and was more drawn to Laila's job as historian, and the idea of having a whole archive at one's disposal was fascina ...more
Zeenat Mahal rated a book it was amazing
You Rise Today! by Muhammad Omar Iftikhar
You Rise Today!
by Muhammad Omar Iftikhar (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
I have to admit that I like reading self-help books. I think they're a great way of getting perspective checks, especially when one is going through a stressful period in life. You Rise Today! rises to the occasion and made me rethink, and re-evaluat ...more
Zeenat Mahal has read
The Historian and the Hunter by Zeenat Mahal
Rate this book
Clear rating
I really enjoyed writing Laila and Shirin's story. They're such strong, independent women. I love what they do. I'm a bookworm myself and was more drawn to Laila's job as historian, and the idea of having a whole archive at one's disposal was fascina ...more
Zeenat Mahal rated a book really liked it
Tales of the Dervishes by Idries Shah
Rate this book
Clear rating
Zeenat Mahal has read
The Historian and the Hunter by Zeenat Mahal
Rate this book
Clear rating
I really enjoyed writing Laila and Shirin's story. They're such strong, independent women. I love what they do. I'm a bookworm myself and was more drawn to Laila's job as historian, and the idea of having a whole archive at one's disposal was fascina ...more
220
THE HISTORIAN AND THE HUNTER by Zeenat Mahal
"“The Historian and the Hunter” – Zeenat Mahals’ latest work brings demons to Lahore!

By Muhammad Omar Iftikhar

Zeenat Mahal has the knack of using the right words at the right place. Her character's point-of-view is spot on while her narration takes..." Read more of this review »
THE HISTORIAN AND THE HUNTER by Zeenat Mahal
More of Zeenat's books…
“Zafar, the eagle has not landed—the eagle refuses to land actually. I need help.”
Zeenat Mahal, Haveli

“Good humour was miles behind a second cup of morning tea. It was too early for nonsense.”
Zeenat Mahal, The Contract

Topics Mentioning This Author

topics posts views last activity  
Reading with Style: RG Questions & Answers 30 55 May 30, 2015 02:02PM  
The Perks Of Bein...: This topic has been closed to new comments. Group Read-A-Thon May 2015 85 404 May 31, 2015 08:50PM  
Reading with Style: This topic has been closed to new comments. RwS Completed Tasks - Spring 2015 1103 94 May 31, 2015 09:05PM  
Fans of Eloisa Ja...: Monday Puzzler, June 22, 2015 : The Acceptance Scene 16 31 Jun 26, 2015 05:22PM  
Nothing But Readi...: New 2 U Authors: 2015 164 556 Jan 12, 2016 05:53PM  
Around the World ...: Pakistan 33 495 Jun 08, 2018 08:00AM  
A Million More Pages: Fairy Tale Spell-Out ~ see message 6 for a special announcement 218 254 Jul 03, 2018 08:36AM  
“With enough courage, you can do without a reputation.”
Margaret Mitchell

“The greatest threat to freedom is the absence of criticism.”
Wole Soyinka

“Whatever it is you're seeking won't come in the form you're expecting.”
Haruki Murakami

“I think there's just one kind of folks. Folks.”
Harper Lee, To Kill a Mockingbird

“Fret not where the road will take you. Instead concentrate on the first step. That's the hardest part and that's what you are responsible for.”
Elif Shafak, The Forty Rules of Love

75668 Bloggers/Book Lovers from India — 2187 members — last activity Aug 15, 2018 08:38PM
A place for bloggers, readers and writers from India to connect. If you are outside India, and interested in books and Indian culture, please feel fre ...more
126753 Readers and Writers of Asian Romances — 53 members — last activity Apr 24, 2018 01:44AM
For people who love to write tender, clean romances that are based in Asia, and those who adore reading them; for fans of love stories.
61322 Reading Romances — 2054 members — last activity Jun 13, 2018 07:57AM
Reading Romances was a website focused on romance reviews from March 2011 until October 2015, now it's a group on Goodreads!
48109 South Asian Literature — 782 members — last activity Feb 12, 2018 01:59AM
For readers around the world interested in literature from or about South Asia! Countries of interest include India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Nepal, Bhut ...more
169633 The Book Club Group — 43 members — last activity Nov 02, 2017 08:18PM
We are Writers and Readers who have come together to promote books...just because we love them..:) All are welcome to join us.
41860 Nora Roberts fan club — 187 members — last activity Feb 12, 2018 08:07AM
This is for people who love to read Nora roberts. I learned that every 60 seconds someone buys a nora roberts book. Join and have fun.
161092 The MFRW Book Place — 376 members — last activity Apr 24, 2018 06:54PM
A place where authors in the Marketing for Romance Writers organization can share their books with readers. Authors interested in joining MFRW (It's F ...more
7505 Romance Readers and Writers — 977 members — last activity Jul 03, 2017 09:26PM
Romance Readers and Writers is a fun and friendly group who are brought together by their love of discussing about their favorite books and the author ...more
26989 Goodreads Authors/Readers — 28933 members — last activity 43 minutes ago
This group is dedicated to connecting readers with Goodreads authors. It is divided by genres, and includes folders for writing resources, book websit ...more
50781 FABClub (Female Authors Book Club) — 660 members — last activity Aug 10, 2018 09:15PM
We read books written by female authors and then we talk about them. All gender identities are welcome to become members of this group. All book selec ...more
More of Zeenat’s groups…



No comments have been added yet.