Tahir Shah

more photos (1)


#7 most followed



Nidal
1,552 books | 490 friends

Daniel ...
181 books | 492 friends

Tim But...
26 books | 4,444 friends

Iset
631 books | 137 friends

G.S. Wr...
258 books | 4,862 friends

Ita
Ita
83 books | 13 friends

Ernest ...
546 books | 674 friends

Minty M...
0 books | 45 friends

More friends…



Tahir Shah

Goodreads Author


Born
in London, The United Kingdom
Website

Twitter

Genre

Influences

Member Since
March 2012

URL


Tahir Shah is the author of fifteen books, many of which chronicle a wide range of outlandish journeys through Africa, Asia and the Americas. For him, there’s nothing so important as deciphering the hidden underbelly of the lands through which he travels. Shunning well-trodden tourist paths, he avoids celebrated landmarks, preferring instead to position himself on a busy street corner or in a dusty café and observe life go by. Insisting that we can all be explorers, he says there’s wonderment to be found wherever we are – it’s just a matter of seeing the world with fresh eyes.

In the tradition of A Thousand and One Nights, Shah's first 2013 release, SCORPION SOUP, is a treasury of nested tales. One linking effortlessly into the next, the sto
...more

To ask Tahir Shah questions, please sign up.

Popular Answered Questions

Tahir Shah I've finished the first novel in the series. It's 1000 pages of manuscript. Editing it now. It's called JINN HUNTER -- BOOK ONE: THE PERPLEXITY. More…moreI've finished the first novel in the series. It's 1000 pages of manuscript. Editing it now. It's called JINN HUNTER -- BOOK ONE: THE PERPLEXITY. More on it when I've crunched away at it a little more. The fact I have been hunkered down is the reason it's taken me so long to answer your questions :-)(less)
Tahir Shah The easiest way to get out of your comfort zone is to do so on a micro level... there's little anxiety in making small alterations in your life... and…moreThe easiest way to get out of your comfort zone is to do so on a micro level... there's little anxiety in making small alterations in your life... and it's the small alterations and changes that lead to larger ones. You can start today: Buy a flavour of soup, juice, or anything else, that you've never tasted but which seems weird to the 'normal you'.(less)
Average rating: 4.02 · 8,820 ratings · 1,126 reviews · 26 distinct worksSimilar authors
The Caliph's House: A Year ...

3.96 avg rating — 4,680 ratings — published 2006 — 29 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
In Arabian Nights: A Carava...

4.08 avg rating — 1,384 ratings — published 2007 — 20 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Sorcerer's Apprentice

4.18 avg rating — 780 ratings — published 1998 — 21 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
In Search of King Solomon's...

3.76 avg rating — 478 ratings — published 2002 — 16 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Trail of Feathers: In Searc...

3.95 avg rating — 369 ratings — published 2001 — 10 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Timbuctoo

4.18 avg rating — 223 ratings — published 2012 — 6 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
House of the Tiger King: Th...

4.02 avg rating — 109 ratings — published 2004 — 8 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Beyond The Devil's Teeth

4.23 avg rating — 96 ratings — published 1995 — 7 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Scorpion Soup: A story in a...

4.35 avg rating — 125 ratings — published 2013 — 4 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Travels With Myself

4.24 avg rating — 96 ratings — published 2011 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
More books by Tahir Shah…

The treasure of TimbuctooMany thanks to those of you were able to attend my Reddit AMA live. For those who were unable to attend, I’ll be sharing a selection of questions and answers over the next couple of weeks. To view the entire AMA, please click the above link.


Q. Do you have any thoughts about the future of libraries to share?


A. On nights when I cannot sleep, i dream that I’m stepping into a massive, ancient e...

Read more of this blog post »
3 likes ·   •  0 comments  •  flag
Twitter icon
Published on July 14, 2014 03:51 • 344 views

Upcoming Events

No scheduled events. Add an event.

Tahir’s Recent Updates

Tahir Shah is now friends with Shellie Uchtman
35317175
" Many thanks to all of you for reading! I appreciate it. I'll check back again in a few days to see if there are any final questions. "
" Indeed! "
Tahir Shah made a comment in the group Q&A with Tahir ShahSelf Publishing topic
" Hi Toni,

Self-publishing doesn't have to be crazily expensive... you can start off publishing a manuscripot as an eBook and then do it as a Lulu.com pr
...more "
Tahir Shah made a comment in the group Q&A with Tahir ShahScorpion Soup topic
" Hi Ryan, I think the best way to reach this answer is not to search for it, but allow the answer to find you. I often get all swept up on a trail and ...more "
Tahir Shah made a comment in the group Q&A with Tahir ShahEye Spy topic
" Thank you, Ita. Yes, revenge is strong in Occidental society, just as it is in the Orient. I sometimes gets very worked up and angry and find myself h ...more "
More of Tahir's books…
“My father used to say that stories are part of the most precious heritage of mankind.”
Tahir Shah, In Arabian Nights: A Caravan of Moroccan Dreams

“Settling into a new country is like getting used to a new pair of shoes. At first they pinch a little, but you like the way they look, so you carry on. The longer you have them, the more comfortable they become. Until one day without realizing it you reach a glorious plateau. Wearing those shoes is like wearing no shoes at all. The more scuffed they get, the more you love them and the more you can't imagine life without them.”
Tahir Shah, In Arabian Nights: A Caravan of Moroccan Dreams

“The forest did not tolerate frailty of body or mind. Show your weakness, and it would consume you without hesitation.”
Tahir Shah, House of the Tiger King: The Quest for a Lost City

“The world is a book and those who do not travel read only one page.”
Augustine of Hippo

“This too shall pass.”
مجدود بن آدم سنائی

“Everything can be taken from you in a second, but the human spirit is so strong. War can teach you so much about evil, and so much about good.”
Zainab Salbi

“There is a saying in Tibetan, 'Tragedy should be utilized as a source of strength.'
No matter what sort of difficulties, how painful experience is, if we lose our hope, that's our real disaster.”
Dalai Lama XIV

“The journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step.”
Lao Tzu

72010 Q&A with Tahir Shah — 96 members — last activity Jun 08, 2016 01:15PM
Goodreads Author Tahir Shah will be available June 5th, 2013 to answer your questions. Dear Readers, It's a pleasure to connect with you here on Goodr ...more
97 Great African Reads — 2348 members — last activity Feb 16, 2018 11:39PM
This is a place for people who love Africa and a way, therefore, of sharing great African reads. In 2018 we're reading Africa by Region (read more her ...more
4550 Regency Era Novels — 633 members — last activity Dec 28, 2017 07:31AM
Let's talk about your favorite regency era historicals. Old and new authors! What do you like?
220 Goodreads Librarians Group — 80413 members — last activity 7 minutes ago
A place where all Goodreads members can work together to improve the Goodreads book catalog. Non-librarians are welcome to join the group as well, to ...more
21875 UK Book Club — 5201 members — last activity 15 hours, 16 min ago
This is a book group for GoodReads users in the UK, but members from other countries are welcome too so long as all posts are made in English. The gro ...more
86755 Indie-Licious — 478 members — last activity Feb 16, 2018 02:54PM
A place for readers and writers to connect in an Indie-Licious world.
52937 Around the World in 80 Books — 14141 members — last activity 31 minutes ago
Reading takes you places. Where in the world will your next book take you? If you love world literature, travel writing, or exploring the world throug ...more
More of Tahir’s groups…



No comments have been added yet.