Amanda Bridgeman

year in books
Jeremy
1,119 books | 267 friends

Thomas
2,812 books | 137 friends

Elizabe...
1,400 books | 164 friends

NAN Lab...
818 books | 5,067 friends

Luciana
520 books | 296 friends

Dianne ...
517 books | 1,169 friends

T. Kent
188 books | 2,233 friends

Steve A...
282 books | 2,214 friends

More friends…

Amanda Bridgeman

Goodreads Author


Born
Australia
Website

Twitter

Genre

Member Since
November 2012


Amanda is a Tin Duck Award winner, an Aurealis and Ditmar Awards finalist and author of several science fiction novels. Her works include the best-selling military SF/space opera AURORA series (previously published by Momentum Books/Pan Macmillan Australia), alien contact drama THE TIME OF THE STRIPES, and sci-fi crime thriller THE SUBJUGATE (published by Angry Robot Books, UK) which has been optioned for TV by an Oscar and Golden Globe nominated production company.

Born in the seaside/country town of Geraldton, Western Australia, she moved to Perth (Western Australia) to study film & television/creative writing at Murdoch University, earning her a BA in Communication Studies. Perth has been her home ever since, aside from a nineteen-month
...more

To ask Amanda Bridgeman questions, please sign up.

Popular Answered Questions

Amanda Bridgeman Oooh, that's a tough one. I have so many favourites: Han and Leia (Star Wars), Aragorn and Arwen (LOTR), Princess Sorsha and Madmartigan (Willow), Neo…moreOooh, that's a tough one. I have so many favourites: Han and Leia (Star Wars), Aragorn and Arwen (LOTR), Princess Sorsha and Madmartigan (Willow), Neo and Trinity (The Matrix series), Gannicus and Melitta (Spartacus), Jack and Annie (Speed), Hawkeye and Cora (The Last of The Mohicans), Robin and Marian (Robin Hood: Prince of Thieves), and even though they were robbed of the chance to actually become a couple, Ripley and Hicks (Aliens). Each couple is different, but they all have a certain spark between them that makes me smile.(less)
Amanda Bridgeman Sometimes you just have to sit down and force yourself to write, and eventually with a little effort the ideas and words can start to flow. Other time…moreSometimes you just have to sit down and force yourself to write, and eventually with a little effort the ideas and words can start to flow. Other times, you need to just work on something completely different, or take a break from writing altogether to let your mind refresh. I call these 'brain-breathers'.(less)
Average rating: 3.99 · 669 ratings · 151 reviews · 13 distinct worksSimilar authors
The Subjugate (Salvi Brentt...

3.74 avg rating — 134 ratings — published 2018 — 4 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Aurora: Darwin (Aurora, #1)

3.79 avg rating — 201 ratings — published 2013 — 7 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Aurora: Centralis (Aurora, #4)

4.33 avg rating — 49 ratings — published 2015 — 5 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Aurora: Pegasus (Aurora, #2)

4.05 avg rating — 88 ratings — published 2013 — 6 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Time of the Stripes

3.82 avg rating — 55 ratings3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Aurora: Meridian (Aurora, #3)

4.24 avg rating — 54 ratings — published 2014 — 6 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Aurora: Eden (Aurora, #5)

4.57 avg rating — 35 ratings — published 2015 — 6 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Aurora: Decima (Aurora #6)

4.62 avg rating — 29 ratings4 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Aurora: Aurizun (Aurora 7)

4.63 avg rating — 16 ratings3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Sensation (Salvi Brentt...

really liked it 4.00 avg rating — 4 ratings2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
More books by Amanda Bridgeman…

Aurora: Atlas (Aurora #8)

Those of you following my social media will note that I shared this cover and blurb with my newsletter subscribers a couple of weeks ago and promised to reveal it...
 •  0 comments  •  flag
Share on Twitter
Published on August 27, 2020 03:52
Aurora: Darwin Aurora: Pegasus Aurora: Meridian Aurora: Centralis Aurora: Eden Aurora: Decima Aurora: Aurizun
(7 books)
by
4.08 avg rating — 472 ratings

The Subjugate The Sensation
(2 books)
by
3.75 avg rating — 138 ratings

(1 book)
by
0.00 avg rating — 0 ratings

Upcoming Events

No scheduled events. Add an event.

Amanda’s Recent Updates

Amanda Bridgeman wants to read
A Memory Called Empire by Arkady Martine
Rate this book
Clear rating
Amanda Bridgeman wants to read
The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern
The Night Circus
by Erin Morgenstern (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
Amanda Bridgeman wants to read
This Is How You Lose the Time War by Amal El-Mohtar
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Sensation by Amanda Bridgeman
"Another very cool murder mystery and exploration of the technology introduced in book one. Whodunnits have been around forever and have been done a million different ways so its cool to periodically come across a fresh and inventive take on the genre" Read more of this review »
This Is How You Lose the Time War by Amal El-Mohtar
This Is How You Lose the Time War
by Amal El-Mohtar (Goodreads Author)
progress: 
 
Rate this book
Clear rating
Amanda Bridgeman started reading
A Memory Called Empire by Arkady Martine
Rate this book
Clear rating
Amanda Bridgeman is currently reading
This Is How You Lose the Time War by Amal El-Mohtar
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Sensation by Amanda Bridgeman
"The Sensation, The Salvation Series, Book II, by Amanda Bridgeman
Publisher: Angry Robot
Genre: Mystery & Thrillers | Sci Fi & Fantasy
Release Date: October 13, 2020
💥💥💥💥
This is a fast paced crime drama set in a tech-rich future and I loved it!

The charac" Read more of this review »
Amanda Bridgeman rated a book it was amazing
The Rush's Edge by Ginger  Smith
The Rush's Edge
by Ginger Smith (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
I was lucky enough to read an advanced copy of this book. It’s an enjoyable sci-fi saga with equal doses of action, thrills and heart. Perfect for fans of Battlestar Galactica, The Expanse and Firefly. 4.5 stars.
Amanda Bridgeman started reading
The Rush's Edge by Ginger  Smith
The Rush's Edge
by Ginger Smith (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
More of Amanda's books…
“At least”
Amanda Bridgeman, Aurora Series Box Set

Topics Mentioning This Author

“There must be something in books, something we can’t imagine, to make a woman stay in a burning house; there must be something there. You don’t stay for nothing.”
Ray Bradbury, Fahrenheit 451

31471 THE Group for Authors! — 11631 members — last activity Sep 17, 2020 08:59PM
This is a group for authors to discuss their craft, as well as publishing and book marketing.
25x33 Sci-fi Women — 1794 members — last activity Aug 09, 2020 09:51AM
A discussion of women in literary science fiction.
1865 SciFi and Fantasy Book Club — 26973 members — last activity 8 minutes ago
Hi there! SFFBC is a welcoming place for readers to share their love of speculative fiction through group reads, buddy reads, challenges, ...more



No comments have been added yet.