John L. Clemmer

more photos (1)

year in books
Deborah
6,642 books | 1,221 friends

Jennife...
430 books | 79 friends

Velvet
1,077 books | 22 friends

Anne-Ma...
542 books | 429 friends

Brian W...
483 books | 82 friends

Mick D
203 books | 217 friends

Katey
554 books | 59 friends

Charles...
0 books | 298 friends

More friends…

John L. Clemmer

Goodreads Author


Member Since
March 2012

URL


To ask John L. Clemmer questions, please sign up.

Popular Answered Questions

John L. Clemmer I found that my clearest thinking was early in the morning while having my coffee. The initial story line came out via a series of conversations betwe…moreI found that my clearest thinking was early in the morning while having my coffee. The initial story line came out via a series of conversations between characters. I didn't have the entire plot worked out at the beginning, I let the conversations suggest the next plot development. At least at first!

When a new character role came up as a participant in the conversations, I'd take some time to imagine what that person was like--what their motivations were, their attitude toward the other characters, a bit of their life story that made them the way they were.

From there, I'd find a "direction" came to mind for that sub-plot and how it guided the overarching story line. So, I'd stop, and think about what that meant for the tale. The next step I'd take notes and ask myself questions--and based on my reaction to the questions I would shape how the story went. So the first series of those had tons of possible outcomes, which narrowed as I answered more and more of my own questions based on how I liked or disliked what those choices meant for the work as a whole.

Next came the refinements to make the conversations and narrative descriptions match my decisions, and that guided the next plot development, and so on.

The key take-away for my process is that I didn't know the middle or the ending from the very beginning!
(less)
John L. Clemmer I've got some non-fiction on my list, that I've been saving till I completed writing The Power of the Dhin. In the evenings before bed I'm reading a b…moreI've got some non-fiction on my list, that I've been saving till I completed writing The Power of the Dhin. In the evenings before bed I'm reading a bit of Evan Currie and Neal Asher. (Big surprise there, no?)(less)
Average rating: 3.69 · 150 ratings · 14 reviews · 4 distinct worksSimilar authors
The Way of the Dhin

3.50 avg rating — 100 ratings — published 2016 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Power of the Dhin (Way ...

4.11 avg rating — 46 ratings — published 2017 — 2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Fletcher and Mare: A Dhin U...

3.50 avg rating — 4 ratings
Rate this book
Clear rating
SSCP: Systems Security Cert...

by
0.00 avg rating — 0 ratings — published 2003
Rate this book
Clear rating

* Note: these are all the books on Goodreads for this author. To add more, click here.

The Way of the Dhin The Power of the Dhin
(2 books)
by
3.69 avg rating — 150 ratings

Upcoming Events

No scheduled events. Add an event.

The Human
John Clemmer is currently reading
by Neal Asher (Goodreads Author)
bookshelves: currently-reading
Rate this book
Clear rating

 
Bone Silence
Rate this book
Clear rating

 
Pandora's Star
John Clemmer is currently reading
by Peter F. Hamilton (Goodreads Author)
bookshelves: currently-reading
Rate this book
Clear rating

 

John’s Recent Updates

John Clemmer is currently reading
The Human by Neal Asher
Rate this book
Clear rating
John Clemmer finished reading
The Evolutionary Void by Peter F. Hamilton
Rate this book
Clear rating
John Clemmer is currently reading
The Evolutionary Void by Peter F. Hamilton
Rate this book
Clear rating
John Clemmer finished reading
The Temporal Void by Peter F. Hamilton
Rate this book
Clear rating
John Clemmer is currently reading
The Temporal Void by Peter F. Hamilton
Rate this book
Clear rating
John Clemmer finished reading
The Dreaming Void by Peter F. Hamilton
Rate this book
Clear rating
John Clemmer finished reading
The Bosch by Neal Asher
Rate this book
Clear rating
John Clemmer is currently reading
The Bosch by Neal Asher
Rate this book
Clear rating
John Clemmer finished reading
The Legacy of Heorot by Larry Niven
Rate this book
Clear rating
John Clemmer is currently reading
The Legacy of Heorot by Larry Niven
Rate this book
Clear rating
More of John's books…

Topics Mentioning This Author

topics posts views last activity  
All things Fandom: OT: 2016 LibertyCon Authors 5 25 Jun 30, 2016 09:47PM  
Douglas Adams
“But the plans were on display…”
“On display? I eventually had to go down to the cellar to find them.”
“That’s the display department.”
“With a flashlight.”
“Ah, well, the lights had probably gone.”
“So had the stairs.”
“But look, you found the notice, didn’t you?”
“Yes,” said Arthur, “yes I did. It was on display in the bottom of a locked filing cabinet stuck in a disused lavatory with a sign on the door saying ‘Beware of the Leopard.”
Douglas Adams, The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy

109220 Adventures in SciFi Publishing — 213 members — last activity Sep 14, 2020 02:58PM
Online hangout for readers of Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror. Subscribe to the podcast at: iTunes and Stitcher Radio. Newsletter subscribers ar ...more
1865 SciFi and Fantasy Book Club — 27895 members — last activity 13 minutes ago
Hi there! SFFBC is a welcoming place for readers to share their love of speculative fiction through group reads, buddy reads, challenges, ...more
126776 Sci-Fi, fantasy and speculative Indie Authors Review — 1602 members — last activity Jan 18, 2021 10:13AM
Are you an Indie Author? Self-published or published by an Indie publisher? Do you enjoy discovering new books and new authors? Or are you just mad ab ...more
954 Hard SF — 1036 members — last activity Jul 03, 2020 03:35AM
This is a discussion group for this specific subgenre in SF where the plausibility of the science counts.



No comments have been added yet.