Michael  Meyerhofer

more photos (5)

mark me...
20,599 books | 1,944 friends

John Ma...
1,466 books | 1,971 friends

Brian B...
24 books | 10 friends

John
98 books | 2,257 friends

Rachel ...
814 books | 769 friends

Jonathon
605 books | 217 friends

Sequoia
228 books | 1,735 friends

Lyn LeJ...
375 books | 1,448 friends

More friends…

Michael Meyerhofer

Goodreads Author


Website

Twitter

Genre

Influences

Member Since
July 2007


I'm the author of the Dragonkin Trilogy, a dark/epic fantasy series. The first book, WYTCHFIRE, also won the Whirling Prize and was a Readers Choice nomination by Big Al's Books and Pals. The sequels, KNIGHTSWRATH and KINGSTEEL, are both available now, as well, with an additional series in the works.

I've also published a few poetry books. My latest is WHAT TO DO IF YOU'RE BURIED ALIVE. Previous poetry books are DAMNATIO MEMORIAE (lit. "damned memory", winner of the Brick Road Poetry Book Contest), BLUE COLLAR EULOGIES (Steel Toe Books), and LEAVING IOWA (winner of the Liam Rector First Book Award). I was also happy to have my poem, "For My Brother," featured in Goodreads' June 2014 newsletter. For more information and at least one embarras
...more

Average rating: 3.94 · 862 ratings · 113 reviews · 16 distinct worksSimilar authors
Wytchfire (The Dragonkin Tr...

3.78 avg rating — 374 ratings — published 2013 — 6 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Knightswrath (Dragonkin Tri...

3.93 avg rating — 180 ratings — published 2015 — 2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Kingsteel (The Dragonkin Tr...

3.84 avg rating — 116 ratings — published 2015 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Dragonkin Trilogy Omnib...

4.37 avg rating — 43 ratings — published 2017 — 2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Dragonward (The Godsfal...

4.02 avg rating — 43 ratings — published 2016 — 2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Blue Collar Eulogies

4.19 avg rating — 26 ratings — published 2009
Rate this book
Clear rating
Leaving Iowa

4.12 avg rating — 25 ratings
Rate this book
Clear rating
Damnatio Memoriae

4.77 avg rating — 22 ratings — published 2011 — 2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
What To Do If You're Buried...

it was amazing 5.00 avg rating — 6 ratings — published 2015
Rate this book
Clear rating
Pure Elysium

by
4.67 avg rating — 6 ratings — published 2011
Rate this book
Clear rating
More books by Michael Meyerhofer…

Excerpts of Reviews

Hi, folks. I was just putting together some promotional materials and I thought I'd share some excerpts of book reviews. These are for WYTCHFIRE, my debut fantasy novel. I hope you'll check it out!

MM

"Meyerhofer's literary expertise and colorful world-building make his characters leap off the page, pulling you into the story from the start… congratulations, Mr. Meyerhofer, on being the recipient... Read more of this blog post »
 •  0 comments  •  flag
Twitter icon
Published on June 16, 2014 15:05 Tags: fantasy, reviews
Wytchfire Knightswrath Kingsteel
(3 books)
by
3.83 avg rating — 670 ratings

The Dragonward The Wintersea The Undergod
(3 books)
by
3.98 avg rating — 47 ratings

Upcoming Events

No scheduled events. Add an event.

Ode to Dogs (Select)
1 chapters   —   updated Jun 06, 2016 01:19PM
Description:
KNIGHTSWRATH, Prologue (Science Fiction & Fantasy)
1 chapters   —   updated May 14, 2015 05:58PM
Description: I'm very pleased to share his excerpt from Knightswrath, the highly anticipated second book in my award-winning dark fantasy trilogy!
WYTCHFIRE, First Chapter (Science Fiction & Fantasy)
1 chapters   —   updated May 13, 2015 06:39PM
Description: Here's an excerpt of my fantasy novel, WYTCHFIRE, Book I in a trilogy. Enjoy!
FOR MY BROTHER (Poetry)
1 chapters   —   updated Jun 03, 2014 02:13PM
Description: Winner of the Goodreads Poetry Contest, June 2014
The Wintersea
Rate this book
Clear rating

 

Michael’s Recent Updates

Michael Meyerhofer made a comment in the group ¡ POETRY !My Third Book, FREE on Kindle! topic
" Hi, everyone. Just wanted to say that for the next few days, the Kindle version of my third poetry book, Damnatio Memoriae ("damned memory"), winner o ...more "
Michael Meyerhofer is now friends with Theresa Griffin
51471352
" AN APOLOGY TO EGGNOG


Once a year I seek you out,
find you willing but unimpressed
by my smile and touch
with their sense of capitalist entitlement,
their f
...more "
" TIME SHARE

I remember how her mouth lay open:
eyes drooped like a sack of kittens,
jaw slack though not quite in horror, more
like a kind of pre-biblical
...more "
Michael Meyerhofer is currently reading
The Wintersea by Michael Meyerhofer
Rate this book
Clear rating
" UPON READING THAT ALL BLUE-EYED PEOPLE SHARE A SINGLE COMMON ANCESTOR

Back in the days of bone-trowels and stone-tipped spears,
everybody had brown eyes
...more "
" Machismo

I.

In college, I had a crush on a dark-haired beauty
whose name I don’t remember, who I never talked to

except one night when she stepped off t
...more "
Michael Meyerhofer rated a book it was amazing
Fifteen Poems by Leonard Cohen
Rate this book
Clear rating
Michael Meyerhofer rated a book it was amazing
Multitudes by Allison Joseph
Rate this book
Clear rating
Michael Meyerhofer rated a book it was amazing
Natural State by Jon Tribble
Rate this book
Clear rating
More of Michael's books…
“It seems we’ve left skin
in each other’s lungs. I should have

looked under your bed skirt
for my wallet, but how

could credit cards compare
to the sneeze after we’ve parted?

Gone and still you make me
reach for a tissue—still my palms

turn circles in the red
breakwater of your heartbeat.

I want to tell you, I have nothing
but respect for your ribcage

now that we both know
it’s not big enough to hold us.”
Michael Meyerhofer

Topics Mentioning This Author

topics posts views last activity  
Gigi's Company: Book Cover Challenge 2597 493 Apr 16, 2019 01:59PM  
“There is nothing to writing. All you do is sit down at a typewriter and bleed.”
Ernest Hemingway

“There is no friend as loyal as a book.”
Ernest Hemingway

“Happiness in intelligent people is the rarest thing I know.”
Ernest Hemingway, The Garden of Eden

233 ¡ POETRY ! — 21396 members — last activity 6 minutes ago
No pretensions: just poetry. Stop by, recommend books, offer up poems (excerpted), tempt us, taunt us, tell us what to read and where to go (to read i ...more
10915 Fantasy Book Club — 2228 members — last activity 5 hours, 34 min ago
For readers of Fantasy, monthly book discussions and other fun stuff! We hold nominations on the first Saturday of the month, the poll opens the foll ...more
126776 Sci-Fi, fantasy and speculative Indie Authors Review — 1520 members — last activity Apr 20, 2019 01:19PM
Are you an Indie Author? Self-published or published by an Indie publisher? Do you enjoy discovering new books and new authors? Or are you just mad ab ...more
45059 Sci-fi and Heroic Fantasy — 6677 members — last activity 1 minute ago
A place for those who walk the green forests of Middle Earth, cross the pale sands of Arakis, sail the blue waters of Earthsea, slip among the shadows ...more
80482 Sword & Sorcery: "An earthier sort of fantasy" — 702 members — last activity 1 hour, 8 min ago
Readers, authors, illustrators, and editors aggregate here to discuss Sword & Sorcery books and related media (movies, comics, blogposts, etc.).
34146 SciFi and Fantasy eBook Club — 3683 members — last activity Apr 22, 2019 09:18AM
This is for those of us whose preferred format is the ebook ... So, Whether you're a Kindle, Nook, Sony, iPad, Google, or whatever person; come on in ...more
120232 Flights of Fantasy — 1229 members — last activity 2 hours, 40 min ago
Fantasy, Sci-Fi, Horror, and YA/MG. We reads it. As a group, we seek to read BotM that are a little off the beaten paths. We love the Gaimans, Sanders ...more
33825 How to Promote YOUR book on Amazon — 7717 members — last activity Apr 22, 2019 12:01PM
Are YOU an author? If so I am sure you are aware of how hard it can be to market your book successfully. There is so much you can do on Amazon.com to ...more
149275 The Nooks of Books — 299 members — last activity Apr 30, 2017 02:10PM
This is a group to talk about your favorite books, music, movies, and you! Whether you are a demigod, shadow hunter, tribute, warrior, or even a wizar ...more
220 Goodreads Librarians Group — 93438 members — last activity 11 minutes ago
A place where all Goodreads members can work together to improve the Goodreads book catalog. Non-librarians are welcome to join the group as well, to ...more
More of Michael’s groups…



No comments have been added yet.