Christina McMullen

more photos (1)

Christina McMullen’s Followers (282)

member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
J.A. Ir...
9,699 books | 583 friends

Lori C
2,444 books | 637 friends

V.M. Sawh
174 books | 23 friends

E.A. Pa...
217 books | 98 friends

India A...
293 books | 517 friends

Richard
670 books | 71 friends

Shoshan...
263 books | 117 friends

Jane Jago
592 books | 181 friends

More friends…

Christina McMullen

Goodreads Author


Born
in The United States
Twitter

Genre

Influences
Octavia Butler, Robert Lynn Asprin, Ray Bradbury, Kurt Vonnegut Jr

Member Since
January 2013

URL


Christina McMullen is a sci-fi and urban fantasy author who dreams of jetpacks and electric sheep.

Christina enjoys travel, vegan cooking, modern and classic art, and championing the progressive nature of ebooks and independent authors. She is obsessed with robots and the internet, and revels in the fact that she was fortunate enough to have been born in an era where she was able to witness the 'future' finally come into being. And for the record, the year 2000 will forever be the future no matter how far it falls into the past. Call it a perk of growing up at the end of a millennium.

In 2014, she took a vow to read and review only independently published authors. It is unlikely that this will ever change as she has since dedicated the t
...more

To ask Christina McMullen questions, please sign up.

Popular Answered Questions

Christina McMullen Step away. This could be as simple as walking to the kitchen and getting a snack or moving on to something else for a few days. Typically, the longer …moreStep away. This could be as simple as walking to the kitchen and getting a snack or moving on to something else for a few days. Typically, the longer I stare at a blank page, the worse it gets. Sooner or later, the 'Ah ha!' moment will hit me.(less)
This question contains spoilers... (view spoiler)
Christina McMullen I don't think so. Writing a children's book is tough and I have to give credit to those who can write something that will keep the interest wiggly, sq…moreI don't think so. Writing a children's book is tough and I have to give credit to those who can write something that will keep the interest wiggly, squirmy little humans with a five second attention span.
I do have plans to write a few more young adult tales and I may even write something in the middle grade category (8-13 yrs old) but I'm no Dr. Seuss. ;)(less)
Average rating: 4.31 · 707 ratings · 293 reviews · 24 distinct worksSimilar authors
The Eyes of The Sun (The Ey...

4.09 avg rating — 107 ratings — published 2012 — 6 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Kind of Like Life

4.53 avg rating — 80 ratings — published 2014 — 4 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Past Life Strife (Rise of t...

4.09 avg rating — 74 ratings — published 2014 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
A Space Girl from Earth (Ky...

3.93 avg rating — 74 ratings — published 2017 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Going Green

4.31 avg rating — 59 ratings — published 2014 — 4 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Dissonant

4.57 avg rating — 44 ratings — published 2013 — 5 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
All the Nothing We've Done:...

really liked it 4.00 avg rating — 45 ratings2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Bluebeard's Children (The E...

4.42 avg rating — 33 ratings — published 2013 — 6 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
A Shot at the Big Time: A M...

4.65 avg rating — 26 ratings3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Mother of Darkness (The Eye...

4.58 avg rating — 26 ratings — published 2014 — 5 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
More books by Christina McMullen…

Staring Into The Eyes Of The Sun: Looking Back At The Last Ten Years

This coming Saturday marks a momentous occasion. An occasion that, if you read the title of this post, likely doesn't come as any surprise. That's right, I'm talking about the ten year anniversary of publishing what would be my first Science Fantasy novel, The Eyes of The Sun. I've had thoughts as to how I'd planned to mark this moment for a while now. At one point, I'd hoped to do a series of
2 likes ·   •  3 comments  •  flag
Share on Twitter
Published on November 08, 2022 12:45
The Eyes of The Sun Bluebeard's Children Mother of Darkness
(3 books)
by
4.30 avg rating — 210 ratings

Past Life Strife (Rise of t... Splitsville You Wish Friends without Benefits Frack You
(5 books)
by
4.34 avg rating — 140 ratings

A Space Girl from Earth The Princess Rebellion The Needs of the Many
(3 books)
by
4.12 avg rating — 103 ratings

Christina’s Recent Updates

" Thank you both! "
Christina McMullen is now friends with V.M. Sawh
149546953
Christina McMullen rated a book it was amazing
Breaking News by C.B. Archer
Rate this book
Clear rating
Once again, this is one of those unofficial reviews because as the title says, this is a Maxima City book and I created Maxima City. But I didn't write this book. In fact, I didn't have a single clue what this one was going to be about because instea ...more
Christina McMullen added a status update: Hi Strangers! I'm not actually here, just passing through to let anyone who happened to be a FB friend of mine know that yes, I unfriended you and no, it's not because I don't like you. I simply do not like FB, but I cant delete my account until I delete my author page and I'm not yet ready to do that.
More of Christina's books…
Quotes by Christina McMullen  (?)
Quotes are added by the Goodreads community and are not verified by Goodreads. (Learn more)

“All of Dwayne's books are like a game of Six Degrees of Kevin Bacon, except the bacon is actually bacon on a Happy Clown Burger sandwich.”
Christina McMullen

“Love is a powerful emotion, but only for those of us who are strong enough to endure the pain it can bring.”
Christina McMullen, The Eyes of The Sun: The Complete Trilogy

Topics Mentioning This Author

“Joe was so tired that he had slept through first hour Spanish, second hour history, and most of third hour English. The English teacher, Mrs. Lane, hadn't taken a liking to that. She decided to send Joe to the principal to discuss why he was so sleepy, which Joe hadn't taken a liking to.”
Belart Wright, Average Joe and the Extraordinaires

“All of Dwayne's books are like a game of Six Degrees of Kevin Bacon, except the bacon is actually bacon on a Happy Clown Burger sandwich.”
Christina McMullen

“Why would you want a quote from me?”
Ben Mariner

“sAWESOME!”
Roodg Scenerybane

126776 Sci-Fi, fantasy and speculative Indie Authors Review — 1652 members — last activity Nov 06, 2022 08:41AM
Are you an Indie Author? Self-published or published by an Indie publisher? Do you enjoy discovering new books and new authors? Or are you just mad ab ...more
206325 SIA Showcase for Readers and Writers — 1070 members — last activity Nov 17, 2022 07:26AM
From the group that coined the term bookwhack*, here is the official bookwhack group! In all seriousness, we at Support Indie Authors understand how ...more
168198 Annals of Gentalia - The WorldForums - Official Fan Group — 28 members — last activity Nov 15, 2018 08:28AM
This is the Official GoodReads Fan Page for the Annals of Gentalia Book Series. Please come and share the fuzzy memories and crazy theories you have a ...more
154267 Brain to Books Cyber Convention (FAIRGROUNDS) — 849 members — last activity Mar 05, 2019 07:10AM
Welcome to CyCon! Find more at HTTP://WWW.B2BCYCON.COM We meet "LIVE at The McKinley" April 2019! ...more
153603 Trail-Mix Readers — 621 members — last activity Feb 27, 2022 12:01PM
We love to read, and we will read whatever we want! We like a little bit of this and a little bit of that, so each month, we feature six Books of th ...more
211160 EMPOWERING PERFECT IMPERFECTIONS... with INDIA — 103 members — last activity Feb 09, 2018 03:55PM
EMPOWERING PERFECT IMPERFECTIONS... with INDIA is a group devoted to readers who wish to discuss books with heartfelt subjects such as abuse, hope, lo ...more
More of Christina’s groups…



Comments (showing 1-11)    post a comment »
dateUp arrow    newest »

Christina McMullen Andrew wrote: "Christina

How are you adding amazon reviews? I quested goodreads on importing reviews. I can add them to by blog.

How else are you doing this? I have 1 and hopefully a few more on the way. Looks ..."


I don't import them. When I write a review, I copy it to both Amazon and Goodreads. I suspect others do the same. I know that if you have a Kindle device synced up to Goodreads, it will prompt you for a review that will then be posted to both, but I don't have my Goodreads and Kindle accounts on the same email.


Christina McMullen Andrew wrote: "Christina - Thanks for responding

Thought I might give you a lift! I read the preview for
"Past Life Strife" amazingly gifted writer. Added to read.

Have a good day
Andy"


Thank you! :)


message 9: by Andrew (last edited Aug 04, 2015 04:53AM)

Andrew Christina

How are you adding amazon reviews? I quested goodreads on importing reviews. I can add them to by blog.

How else are you doing this?


Andrew Christina - Thanks for responding

Thought I might give you a lift! I read the preview for
"Past Life Strife" amazingly gifted writer. Added to read.

Have a good day
Andy


Christina McMullen Dwayne wrote: "They say we're not supposed to contact people when they review our books, but - well, you know. **** the rules.

Your review saying "Mr. Meeker" is like The Twilight Zone written by Kurt Vonnegut ..."


I sure as heck hope we are allowed to contact our friends who review, damit!
I don't know what it is, but your books are drawing out the comparisons for me. Though I've got to write up Old Pops' last beer and I don't have anything to compare it to. Just finished that one as well and you've got me hooked! I'll be buying more books soon!


Dwayne Fry They say we're not supposed to contact people when they review our books, but - well, you know. **** the rules.

Your review saying "Mr. Meeker" is like The Twilight Zone written by Kurt Vonnegut was, possibly, the greatest compliment I could imagine. Thank you.

The latest, saying "Happy Clown Burger" will appeal to fans of South Park and Jean Shepherd... I dunno. Imagining Jean Shepherd's take on South Park had me laughing for about five minutes straight. I love it!


message 5: by Owen

Owen O'Neill Thanks for the friend request. Much appreciated! : )


Christina McMullen Ayana wrote: "Hi Christina, thanks for the friendship! It's lovely to 'meet' you, and I look forward to getting to know you better."

Thanks! Nice to 'meet' you as well. :)


Christina McMullen B.B. wrote: "Christina wrote: "B.B. wrote: "Christina wrote: "B.B. wrote: "Your first paragraph in your about section made me chuckle! :P Great writing :)"
Thanks! I really am bad about updates though."

I can ..."


Blog about the awkwardness of blogging. That's what I do. ;)


Christina McMullen B.B. wrote: "Christina wrote: "B.B. wrote: "Your first paragraph in your about section made me chuckle! :P Great writing :)"
Thanks! I really am bad about updates though."

I can understand that. I love your st..."


Did somebody say awkward? Awkward is my middle name! :D
Trust me, I know exactly what you mean though. I try to put as much thought into reviews as possible but yes, it can be tough! And don't get me stared on book blurbs. I mean, we're authors, we write for a living. Why is non-book writing so hard?


Christina McMullen B.B. wrote: "Your first paragraph in your about section made me chuckle! :P Great writing :)"
Thanks! I really am bad about updates though.


back to top