D.J. Edwardson

Goodreads Author


Website

Twitter

Genre

Influences

Member Since
October 2007


DJ Edwardson traveled a lot when he was younger. These days he’s busy crafting exotic destinations of his own. Although he has written both Science Fiction and Fantasy novels, he likes to say he writes in the “genre of imagination”.

He has a degree in English from Cornell College where his emphasis was on the works of Shakespeare. He’s tried his hand at both acting and directing in the theater, but these days is happiest with a pen in his hand. He lives in Tennessee with his wife and three children amidst an ever-growing library of wonderful books.

You can find out more about DJ, his books, and all the crazy things he's invented in his head at www.djedwardson.com.

To ask D.J. Edwardson questions, please sign up.

Popular Answered Questions

D.J. Edwardson Indeed, you are correct! Almamenth, the amazing healing salve used so often in The Chronotrace Sequence does make a brief appearance in The Last…moreIndeed, you are correct! Almamenth, the amazing healing salve used so often in The Chronotrace Sequence does make a brief appearance in The Last Motley. The connection between the two worlds is even hinted at more strongly in my short story Spirit of Caledonia.(less)
D.J. Edwardson Great question! He's a bacon and eggs sort since moving to Briar's Glen, though in the past he almost always had fish. Portia makes apple fritters on…moreGreat question! He's a bacon and eggs sort since moving to Briar's Glen, though in the past he almost always had fish. Portia makes apple fritters on special occasions, usually with apples supplied by Jacob, who has a special knack for finding them growing in the wild.

As for when the next book comes out, it will probably not be this calendar year. So, possibly 2019. Sorry about that. I wish I could finish it sooner, but I've got too much on my plate (to keep with the previous theme) at the moment!(less)
Average rating: 3.82 · 291 ratings · 75 reviews · 8 distinct worksSimilar authors
The Artificer's Apprentice

3.67 avg rating — 139 ratings — published 2012 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Last Motley

4.32 avg rating — 62 ratings3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Into the Vast

3.60 avg rating — 50 ratings — published 2012 — 5 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Spirit of Caledonia

3.83 avg rating — 29 ratings — published 2013 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Jammer and the Blade

2.80 avg rating — 5 ratings — published 2013 — 4 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Ascent of the Nebula (The C...

4.67 avg rating — 3 ratings3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Through the Viscera

4.50 avg rating — 2 ratings — published 2014
Rate this book
Clear rating
Awakening the Sentients

it was amazing 5.00 avg rating — 1 rating3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
More books by D.J. Edwardson…

Back from The VOID

the VOID virtual reality experience<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/REC-html40/loose...

My recent vacation included lots of great experiences, but there’s one in particular I’d like to talk about.

It’s something called The VOID.

If you’re not familiar with The VOID, it is basically a holodeck. You know, like from Star Trek the Next Generation. You think I’m exaggerating but I...

Read more of this blog post »
 •  0 comments  •  flag
Twitter icon
Published on August 01, 2019 06:00
Into the Vast Through the Viscera Ascent of the Nebula
(3 books)
by
3.69 avg rating — 55 ratings

Upcoming Events

No scheduled events. Add an event.

The Place of the ...
Rate this book
Clear rating

 

D.J.’s Recent Updates

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen
" Ha ha, yes! Perhaps a case of art imitating life? Or life imitating art??? "
D.J. Edwardson started reading
The Place of the Lion by Charles  Williams
Rate this book
Clear rating
D.J. Edwardson rated a book liked it
Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen
Rate this book
Clear rating
Elizabeth Bennet's biggest problem is that she can't seem to make up her mind. Is Mr. Wickham a dashing young charmer or a snake? Is Mr. Darcy the rudest person in all of England or the most misunderstood?

The answers come in 60 some odd chapters whic
...more
Timothy Lumsdaine
Timothy Lumsdaine is on page 400 of 1216 of The Lord of the Rings
On Reading Well by Karen Swallow Prior
"Not exactly what I expected but still very interesting. A lot of ideas I will mull over for a while."
Jacob Stock
Jacob Stock is on page 240 of 449 of Little Women
D.J. Edwardson wants to read
Keeper of Shadows by Bridgett Powers
Keeper of Shadows
by Bridgett Powers (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
D.J. Edwardson wants to read
Churchill by Andrew Roberts
Rate this book
Clear rating
Gilead by Marilynne Robinson
" No, I think four stars is just about right.

All I can remember about this book is that it was well-written and took place in Iowa. Perhaps the fault is
...more "
Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen
" Actually, Dickens was roundly criticized during his day for his use of the vernacular and writing down to the level of the commoner. His very populari ...more "
More of D.J.'s books…
C.S. Lewis
“I can't imagine a man really enjoying a book and reading it only once.”
C.S. Lewis

J.R.R. Tolkien
“I wish it need not have happened in my time," said Frodo.
"So do I," said Gandalf, "and so do all who live to see such times. But that is not for them to decide. All we have to decide is what to do with the time that is given us.”
J.R.R. Tolkien, The Fellowship of the Ring

Malcolm Muggeridge
“Every happening, great and small, is a parable whereby God speaks to us, and the art of life is to get the message.”
Malcolm Muggeridge

J.R.R. Tolkien
“Yet such is oft the course of deeds that move the wheels of the world: small hands do them because they must, while the eyes of the great are elsewhere.”
J.R.R. Tolkien, The Lord of the Rings

J.R.R. Tolkien
“All that is gold does not glitter,
Not all those who wander are lost;
The old that is strong does not wither,
Deep roots are not reached by the frost.

From the ashes a fire shall be woken,
A light from the shadows shall spring;
Renewed shall be blade that was broken,
The crownless again shall be king.”
J.R.R. Tolkien, The Fellowship of the Ring

26989 Goodreads Authors/Readers — 30125 members — last activity 17 minutes ago
This group is dedicated to connecting readers with Goodreads authors. It is divided by genres, and includes folders for writing resources, book websit ...more
36506 Indie Book Collective — 2974 members — last activity Aug 13, 2019 06:43AM
A group of indie authors, helping each other out and bringing new books to the world
62777 Books, Blogs, Authors and More — 3764 members — last activity 1 hour, 12 min ago
Need a place to advertise your blog? You can do that here. Need a place to advertise your book? You can do that here. Need a place to discuss books? Y ...more
430693 Lewolkien — 14 members — last activity May 02, 2019 05:05PM
The term was inaugurated for a conference event at Castle Ministries a few years back to describe a love of literature in the vein of C.S. Lewis and J ...more
58575 Advanced Copies for Review & Book Giveaways — 6744 members — last activity 1 hour, 37 min ago
A place to help authors and reviewers come together to get the word out about new books as well as a group for anyone to post or enter listings for bo ...more
More of D.J.’s groups…



Comments (showing 1-2)    post a comment »
dateUp arrow    newest »

message 2: by D.J.

D.J. Edwardson Lucinda,

Honored to be on your friends list as well. So glad to know we share an appreciation for Tolkien. I love discussing his works and look forward to that as well.

Take care,
DJ


Lucinda Dear D.J,
Thank you for acepting the friendship request. I look forward to future book discussions with you, including those regarding the legendary JRR Tolkien.
Kind Regards
Lucinda x


back to top