D.J. Edwardson

Goodreads Author


Website

Twitter

Genre

Influences

Member Since
October 2007


DJ Edwardson traveled a lot when he was younger. These days he’s busy crafting exotic destinations of his own. Although he has written both Science Fiction and Fantasy novels, he likes to say he writes in the “genre of imagination”.

He has a degree in English from Cornell College where his emphasis was on the works of Shakespeare. He’s tried his hand at both acting and directing in the theater, but these days is happiest with a pen in his hand. He lives in Tennessee with his wife and three children amidst an ever-growing library of wonderful books.

You can find out more about DJ, his books, and all the crazy things he's invented in his head at www.djedwardson.com.

To ask D.J. Edwardson questions, please sign up.

Popular Answered Questions

D.J. Edwardson Indeed, you are correct! Almamenth, the amazing healing salve used so often in The Chronotrace Sequence does make a brief appearance in The Last…moreIndeed, you are correct! Almamenth, the amazing healing salve used so often in The Chronotrace Sequence does make a brief appearance in The Last Motley. The connection between the two worlds is even hinted at more strongly in my short story Spirit of Caledonia.(less)
D.J. Edwardson Great question! He's a bacon and eggs sort since moving to Briar's Glen, though in the past he almost always had fish. Portia makes apple fritters on…moreGreat question! He's a bacon and eggs sort since moving to Briar's Glen, though in the past he almost always had fish. Portia makes apple fritters on special occasions, usually with apples supplied by Jacob, who has a special knack for finding them growing in the wild.

As for when the next book comes out, it will probably not be this calendar year. So, possibly 2019. Sorry about that. I wish I could finish it sooner, but I've got too much on my plate (to keep with the previous theme) at the moment!(less)
Average rating: 3.82 · 292 ratings · 76 reviews · 8 distinct worksSimilar authors
The Artificer's Apprentice

3.67 avg rating — 140 ratings — published 2012 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Last Motley

4.32 avg rating — 62 ratings3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Into the Vast

3.60 avg rating — 50 ratings — published 2012 — 5 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Spirit of Caledonia

3.83 avg rating — 29 ratings — published 2013 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Jammer and the Blade

2.80 avg rating — 5 ratings — published 2013 — 4 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Ascent of the Nebula (The C...

4.67 avg rating — 3 ratings3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Through the Viscera

4.50 avg rating — 2 ratings — published 2014
Rate this book
Clear rating
Awakening the Sentients

it was amazing 5.00 avg rating — 1 rating3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
More books by D.J. Edwardson…

2019 Silmaril Awards voting

silmaril awards banner<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/REC-html40/loose...

2019 Silmaril Awards voting is now open! It’s time to vote for your favorite fantasy characters. Voting ends September 16th and the winners will be announced, one each week day, between September 17-28.

I’ll be announcing the winner of the Most Epic Hero award right here on this site, but...

Read more of this blog post »
1 like ·   •  0 comments  •  flag
Twitter icon
Published on September 09, 2019 05:00
Into the Vast Through the Viscera Ascent of the Nebula
(3 books)
by
3.69 avg rating — 55 ratings

Upcoming Events

No scheduled events. Add an event.

The False Prince
Rate this book
Clear rating

 

D.J.’s Recent Updates

The Weight of Glory by C.S. Lewis
“There are no ordinary people. You have never talked to a mere mortal. Nations, cultures, arts, civilizations - these are mortal, and their life is to ours as the life of a gnat. But it is immortals whom we joke with, work with, marry, snub and exploit - immortal horrors or everlasting splendors. This does not mean that we are to be perpetually solemn. We must play. But our merriment must be of that kind (and it is, in fact, the merriest kind) which exists between people who have, from the outset, taken each other seriously - no flippancy, no superiority, no presumption.”
C.S. Lewis
D.J. Edwardson and 2 other people liked Timothy’s status update
Timothy Lumsdaine Timothy Lumsdaine is currently reading Beowulf
D.J. Edwardson is on page 25 of 342 of The False Prince: A fast and intriguing start. Let's see where this one goes.
The False Prince by Jennifer A. Nielsen
Rate this book
Clear rating
" There is an air of anticipation beneath the enormous Party Tree. Overhead, the stars flicker like gemstones scattered across a blanket of black velvet. Tonight, they gleam extra brightly, as though they are leaning nearer to the ground in hop..." Read more of this blog post »
D.J. Edwardson started reading
The False Prince by Jennifer A. Nielsen
Rate this book
Clear rating
D.J. Edwardson finished reading
Merlin's Shadow by Robert Treskillard
Rate this book
Clear rating
Anna Storynerd
Anna Storynerd added a status update: Writing flash fiction based on "Blessings" by Laura Story, with sis #8! Such a good song.
Merlin's Shadow by Robert Treskillard
" Wow, how cool is that? I can't wait to talk to you about it. It's been excellent so far. "
D.J. Edwardson wants to read
A Cast of Stones by Patrick W. Carr
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Place of the Lion by Charles  Williams
" He is indeed odd. Perhaps that is his attraction? I don't know. I just can't see it. "
More of D.J.'s books…
C.S. Lewis
“I can't imagine a man really enjoying a book and reading it only once.”
C.S. Lewis

J.R.R. Tolkien
“I wish it need not have happened in my time," said Frodo.
"So do I," said Gandalf, "and so do all who live to see such times. But that is not for them to decide. All we have to decide is what to do with the time that is given us.”
J.R.R. Tolkien, The Fellowship of the Ring

Malcolm Muggeridge
“Every happening, great and small, is a parable whereby God speaks to us, and the art of life is to get the message.”
Malcolm Muggeridge

J.R.R. Tolkien
“Yet such is oft the course of deeds that move the wheels of the world: small hands do them because they must, while the eyes of the great are elsewhere.”
J.R.R. Tolkien, The Lord of the Rings

J.R.R. Tolkien
“All that is gold does not glitter,
Not all those who wander are lost;
The old that is strong does not wither,
Deep roots are not reached by the frost.

From the ashes a fire shall be woken,
A light from the shadows shall spring;
Renewed shall be blade that was broken,
The crownless again shall be king.”
J.R.R. Tolkien, The Fellowship of the Ring

26989 Goodreads Authors/Readers — 30198 members — last activity 2 hours, 34 min ago
This group is dedicated to connecting readers with Goodreads authors. It is divided by genres, and includes folders for writing resources, book websit ...more
36506 Indie Book Collective — 2974 members — last activity Sep 18, 2019 04:31AM
A group of indie authors, helping each other out and bringing new books to the world
62777 Books, Blogs, Authors and More — 3764 members — last activity Sep 12, 2019 03:59AM
Need a place to advertise your blog? You can do that here. Need a place to advertise your book? You can do that here. Need a place to discuss books? Y ...more
430693 Lewolkien — 16 members — last activity Sep 02, 2019 08:53AM
The term was inaugurated for a conference event at Castle Ministries a few years back to describe a love of literature in the vein of C.S. Lewis and J ...more
58575 Advanced Copies for Review & Book Giveaways — 6870 members — last activity 3 hours, 55 min ago
A place to help authors and reviewers come together to get the word out about new books as well as a group for anyone to post or enter listings for bo ...more
More of D.J.’s groups…



Comments (showing 1-2)    post a comment »
dateUp arrow    newest »

message 2: by D.J.

D.J. Edwardson Lucinda,

Honored to be on your friends list as well. So glad to know we share an appreciation for Tolkien. I love discussing his works and look forward to that as well.

Take care,
DJ


Lucinda Dear D.J,
Thank you for acepting the friendship request. I look forward to future book discussions with you, including those regarding the legendary JRR Tolkien.
Kind Regards
Lucinda x


back to top