D.J. Edwardson

Goodreads Author


Website

Twitter

Genre

Influences

Member Since
October 2007


DJ Edwardson traveled a lot when he was younger. These days he’s busy crafting exotic destinations of his own. Although he has written both Science Fiction and Fantasy novels, he likes to say he writes in the “genre of imagination”.

He has a degree in English from Cornell College where his emphasis was on the works of Shakespeare. He’s tried his hand at both acting and directing in the theater, but these days is happiest with a pen in his hand. He lives in Tennessee with his wife and three children amidst an ever-growing library of wonderful books.

You can find out more about DJ, his books, and all the crazy things he's invented in his head at www.djedwardson.com.
...more

To ask D.J. Edwardson questions, please sign up.

Popular Answered Questions

D.J. Edwardson Indeed, you are correct! Almamenth, the amazing healing salve used so often in The Chronotrace Sequence does make a brief appearance in The Last Motle…moreIndeed, you are correct! Almamenth, the amazing healing salve used so often in The Chronotrace Sequence does make a brief appearance in The Last Motley. The connection between the two worlds is even hinted at more strongly in my short story Spirit of Caledonia.(less)
D.J. Edwardson Great question! He's a bacon and eggs sort since moving to Briar's Glen, though in the past he almost always had fish. Portia makes apple fritters on …moreGreat question! He's a bacon and eggs sort since moving to Briar's Glen, though in the past he almost always had fish. Portia makes apple fritters on special occasions, usually with apples supplied by Jacob, who has a special knack for finding them growing in the wild.

As for when the next book comes out, it will probably not be this calendar year. So, possibly 2019. Sorry about that. I wish I could finish it sooner, but I've got too much on my plate (to keep with the previous theme) at the moment!(less)
Average rating: 3.82 · 315 ratings · 78 reviews · 8 distinct worksSimilar authors
The Artificer's Apprentice

3.69 avg rating — 146 ratings — published 2012 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Last Motley

4.19 avg rating — 78 ratings3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Into the Vast

3.59 avg rating — 51 ratings — published 2012 — 5 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Spirit of Caledonia

3.83 avg rating — 29 ratings — published 2013 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Jammer and the Blade

2.80 avg rating — 5 ratings — published 2013 — 4 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Ascent of the Nebula (The C...

4.67 avg rating — 3 ratings3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Through the Viscera

4.50 avg rating — 2 ratings — published 2014
Rate this book
Clear rating
Awakening the Sentients

it was amazing 5.00 avg rating — 1 rating3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
More books by D.J. Edwardson…

Bookish Bits: sprinting for 26 miles

Bookish Bits

Bookish Bits


Welcome to an especially momentous installment of Bookish Bits, the hodgepodge catchall for all things escritorial.


A well-known author once gave the following succinct advice to success in writing:


Write. Finish Things. Keep Writing.


I am happy to report that I have finished not one but two things of late.


The first is the editing for Truesilver, book one in my upcoming epic fantasy series Th

Read more of this blog post »
 •  0 comments  •  flag
Share on Twitter
Published on October 12, 2020 06:00
Into the Vast Through the Viscera Ascent of the Nebula
(3 books)
by
3.68 avg rating — 56 ratings

Upcoming Events

No scheduled events. Add an event.

D.J.’s Recent Updates

D.J. Edwardson and 5 other people liked Sarah's status update
Sarah
Sarah is on page 286 of 407 of The Fellowship of the Ring: Y'know, if you can't listen to Bilbo's Song of Earendil in the Hall of Fire in Rivendell, listening to it in a hammock under the fall leaves is a pretty solid second choice.
D.J. Edwardson wants to read
The Book that Made Your World by Vishal Mangalwadi
Rate this book
Clear rating
D.J. Edwardson started reading
The Discarded Image by C.S. Lewis
Rate this book
Clear rating
D.J. Edwardson finished reading
The Skin Map by Stephen R. Lawhead
Rate this book
Clear rating
D.J. Edwardson and 13 other people liked Kellyn Roth's status update
Kellyn Roth
Kellyn Roth added a status update: Whenever you want to scream about a book but none of your friends have read it, contact the author! No, seriously. I've done this. It's the most satisfying thing ever.
D.J. Edwardson and 2 other people liked Douglas Bond's blog post: LUTHER : In Real Time--Episode 1
" Today is the opening day of the audio theater Luther: In Real Time that I have been commissioned to write by Ligonier Ministries. I have written an episode every week for the six months leading up to Luther's cosmic stand before the emperor at th..." Read more of this blog post »
D.J. Edwardson finished reading
An Echo of the Fae by Jenelle Leanne Schmidt
Rate this book
Clear rating
D.J. Edwardson started reading
The Skin Map by Stephen R. Lawhead
Rate this book
Clear rating
D.J. Edwardson finished reading
One Realm Beyond by Donita K. Paul
Rate this book
Clear rating
" Another year closes on the Silmaril Awards…And thanks to YOU all, it was a fantastic event. But it’s not quite finished yet… because we have some prizes to award! Here are the winners of this year’s giveaway!$50 Book D..." Read more of this blog post »
More of D.J.'s books…
C.S. Lewis
“I can't imagine a man really enjoying a book and reading it only once.”
C.S. Lewis

J.R.R. Tolkien
“I wish it need not have happened in my time," said Frodo.
"So do I," said Gandalf, "and so do all who live to see such times. But that is not for them to decide. All we have to decide is what to do with the time that is given us.”
J.R.R. Tolkien, The Fellowship of the Ring

Malcolm Muggeridge
“Every happening, great and small, is a parable whereby God speaks to us, and the art of life is to get the message.”
Malcolm Muggeridge

J.R.R. Tolkien
“Yet such is oft the course of deeds that move the wheels of the world: small hands do them because they must, while the eyes of the great are elsewhere.”
J.R.R. Tolkien, The Lord of the Rings

J.R.R. Tolkien
“All that is gold does not glitter,
Not all those who wander are lost;
The old that is strong does not wither,
Deep roots are not reached by the frost.

From the ashes a fire shall be woken,
A light from the shadows shall spring;
Renewed shall be blade that was broken,
The crownless again shall be king.”
J.R.R. Tolkien, The Fellowship of the Ring

26989 Goodreads Authors/Readers — 36220 members — last activity 4 minutes ago
This group is dedicated to connecting readers with Goodreads authors. It is divided by genres, and includes folders for writing resources, book websit ...more
36506 Indie Book Collective — 2976 members — last activity Oct 17, 2020 09:44AM
A group of indie authors, helping each other out and bringing new books to the world
62777 Books, Blogs, Authors and More — 3766 members — last activity Oct 13, 2020 07:54AM
Need a place to advertise your blog? You can do that here. Need a place to advertise your book? You can do that here. Need a place to discuss books? Y ...more
430693 Lewolkien — 17 members — last activity Apr 26, 2020 02:20PM
The term was inaugurated for a conference event at Castle Ministries a few years back to describe a love of literature in the vein of C.S. Lewis and J ...more
58575 Advanced Copies for Review & Book Giveaways — 8526 members — last activity 1 hour, 44 min ago
A place to help authors and reviewers come together to get the word out about new books as well as a group for anyone to post or enter listings for bo ...more
52389 Editors and Writers — 2469 members — last activity Oct 21, 2020 07:14AM
Are you a writer looking for an editor or proofreader? Are you an editor looking for publishing experience? This is the place to make contact.
More of D.J.’s groups…



Comments (showing 1-2)    post a comment »
dateUp arrow    newest »

message 2: by D.J.

D.J. Edwardson Lucinda,

Honored to be on your friends list as well. So glad to know we share an appreciation for Tolkien. I love discussing his works and look forward to that as well.

Take care,
DJ


message 1: by L

L Dear D.J,
Thank you for acepting the friendship request. I look forward to future book discussions with you, including those regarding the legendary JRR Tolkien.
Kind Regards
Lucinda x


back to top