Olga Godim

more photos (1)

year in books

Olga Godim’s Followers (68)

member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
Nataliya
1,884 books | 2,090 friends

Lynelle...
3,020 books | 1,712 friends

Obsidian
2,759 books | 310 friends

Tatiana
2,713 books | 4,469 friends

Lisa Wolf
3,862 books | 1,926 friends

Christi...
2,033 books | 391 friends

Mary Eve
11,032 books | 323 friends

MrsJose...
1,769 books | 216 friends

More friends…

Olga Godim

Goodreads Author


Born
February 20

Website

Genre

Influences

Member Since
January 2012

URL


I'm a fantasy writer. I live in Vancouver, Canada, and have two wonderful children: a son and a daughter. Both have already flown the nest, so instead of children I now collect monkeys. I have over 300 monkey figurines in my collection.

I’ve been making up stories with magic and swords since I was very young but I only started writing professionally in the 21st century. Before that, I was a computer programmer. Besides writing short stories and novels, I also work as a journalist for a local newspaper. I enjoy writing cultural pieces and personal profiles of the local artists.

My favorite things:
• Favorite hobby: reading.
• Favorite genres: fantasy and romance, although sometimes I find delight in a serious mainstream novel or a cozy mystery
...more

WEP Dec 2022 – The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face

This is the last 2022 WEP story about Altenay, the Finder – my entry for the WEP Dec 2022 challenge The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Altenay gripped the teacup in her cramping fingers. She was so angry her hands shook, while a peaceful teahouse swirled with its usual activities. The waiters carried trays of teas and sweets. Cigar smoke and the scents of spices mixed in the air.

Read more of this blog post »
 •  0 comments  •  flag
Share on Twitter
Published on November 29, 2022 14:14
Average rating: 4.35 · 83 ratings · 52 reviews · 12 distinct works
Hero Lost: Mysteries of Dea...

by
4.43 avg rating — 21 ratings3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Dark Matter: Artificial

by
4.54 avg rating — 13 ratings3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Almost Adept

3.92 avg rating — 12 ratings — published 2014 — 2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Lost and Found in Russia

3.92 avg rating — 12 ratings — published 2013 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Toe to Toe: Standing Tall a...

by
4.88 avg rating — 8 ratings — published 2008
Rate this book
Clear rating
Squirrel of Magic

4.38 avg rating — 8 ratings — published 2014 — 2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Society of Misfit Stori...

by
4.60 avg rating — 5 ratings — published 2017 — 4 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Eagle En Garde (Eagle #1)

4.40 avg rating — 5 ratings — published 2014
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Society of Misfit Stori...

0.00 avg rating — 0 ratings
Rate this book
Clear rating
Twist of Luck

0.00 avg rating — 0 ratings — published 2012 — 2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
More books by Olga Godim…

Olga’s Recent Updates

Olga Godim has read
Weather Girl by Rachel Lynn Solomon
Weather Girl
by Rachel Lynn Solomon (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
DNF
I only got as far as the author's intro. She says her protagonist, Ari, has a mental illness: for years before the story starts, Ari has been struggling with depression. I didn't read further. I know I don't want to read this book. I have a mental
...more
Olga Godim and 2 other people liked Obsidian's review of Weather Girl:
Weather Girl by Rachel Lynn Solomon
"Trigger warning: This book has a solid trigger before reading warning readers regarding depression and suicide. 

Thought this was a solid romance though have to say that the initial crush/like that Ari has on Russ doesn't really ring true. I wish that" Read more of this review »
Olga Godim rated a book really liked it
Maggie Finds Her Muse by Dee Ernst
Maggie Finds Her Muse
by Dee Ernst (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
A delightful book and a delightful heroine. She is 48 years old. She is a romance writer. And she is in Paris for the first time in her life. I haven't enjoyed a book so much in a while. It's funny and sweet and romantic. One of the best books I've r ...more
Olga Godim has read
Virgin River by Robyn Carr
Rate this book
Clear rating
DNF
After reading some good reviews, I decided to try this book. I read almost half of it, but I'm so bored, I can't force myself to continue. DNF.
...more
Virgin River by Robyn Carr
"So the thing is I read parts of this series a few years ago. I didn’t start right at the beginning though. In fact the first book I read in this series, was Paradise Valley (Virgin River #7). I was totally lost on who everyone was, but I liked the id" Read more of this review »
Olga Godim rated a book really liked it
The Girl Who Fell Beneath the Sea by Axie Oh
Rate this book
Clear rating
I don't often read YA books and I almost never like them. This book was an exception. I loved it. Besides, it didn't really have a feel of a YA story. There was no teenage angst there, for one thing, which was a huge plus for me.
Instead, it read lik
...more
Hunt the Stars by Jessie Mihalik
Olga Godim rated a book liked it
My True Love Gave to Me by Regina Scott
Rate this book
Clear rating
I read this book long ago, but never wrote a review. At that time, I gave it 3 stars, so it must be an OK Christmas novel. I don't remember the story now and I'm not about to re-read it, so still no review. This note is for my record-keeping only. ...more
Olga Godim rated a book it was ok
Wild Designs by Katie Fforde
Wild Designs
by Katie Fforde (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
I read this book long ago, but never wrote a review. At that time, I gave it 2 stars. I don't remember the story now and I'm not about to re-read it, so still no review. This note is just for my record-keeping. ...more
Olga Godim rated a book liked it
Sweetwater and the Witch by Jayne Castle
Sweetwater and the Witch
by Jayne Castle (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
3.5 stars
I loved it. A terrific romantic thriller. I couldn't tear myself from its pages and finished the novel in one day. Of course, the author uses lots of her own previously employed plot twists, but that's not a crime. They are her own after all
...more
More of Olga's books…

Topics Mentioning This Author

topics posts views last activity  
Basically Books!: ARR # 86 - LOST AND FOUND IN RUSSIA by Olga Godim 5 10 Mar 25, 2013 11:12AM  
Making Connections: 902. LOST AND FOUND IN RUSSIA by Olga Godim 22 75 Sep 01, 2013 06:09PM  
Nothing But Readi...: New 2 U Authors: 2013 197 429 Jan 06, 2014 06:11PM  
Making Connections: 1986. - ALMOST ADEPT by Olga Godim 22 75 Mar 23, 2014 08:04PM  
“Success seems to be largely a matter
of hanging on after others have let go.”
William Feather

Albert Einstein
“Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the universe.”
Albert Einstein

Richard Dawkins
“We are all atheists about most of the gods that humanity has ever believed in. Some of us just go one god further.”
Richard Dawkins, The God Delusion

35160 Fantasy Aficionados — 2425 members — last activity Nov 06, 2022 08:23AM
This is a place for lovers of all types of fantasy literature and culture. Here, you can discuss your favorite books, authors, and series. There is pl ...more
10915 Fantasy Book Club — 766 members — last activity 18 hours, 43 min ago
For readers of Fantasy, monthly book discussions and other fun stuff! We hold nominations on the first Saturday of the month, the poll opens the fo ...more
30887 Basically Books! — 1765 members — last activity Nov 15, 2022 03:35AM
Run by 4 GR friends, Basically Books is a place for booklovers who like to read, write and chat about anything. Read, Review, Relish
1865 SciFi and Fantasy Book Club — 33382 members — last activity 19 minutes ago
Hi there! SFFBC is a welcoming place for readers to share their love of speculative fiction through group reads, buddy reads, challenges, ...more
60696 Making Connections — 13704 members — last activity 1 hour, 19 min ago
Over 1000 books listed to Read & Review.....come join us. This is a place for Authors, Bloggers, Publishers, Reviewers, Book Tours, Giveaways, and Int ...more
94882 Authors Helping Authors — 1054 members — last activity Sep 04, 2022 12:36AM
Being an indie author means you are part of an ever-growing family of like-minded individuals all working toward the same ultimate goal-writing and pu ...more
34560 Jewish Book Carnival — 1448 members — last activity Nov 25, 2022 05:32AM
This is the GoodReads group for the Jewish Book Carnival, a monthly forum for sharing links and information on Jewish books and the blogs that cover t ...more
105737 Calling All Canadians!! — 546 members — last activity Sep 06, 2022 11:15PM
Are you a Canadian? Do you write, blog, read and review books? Canadian Authors join us and promote away. Book promo's, do you have a book tour happ ...more
167105 Book Cover Reviews — 265 members — last activity Nov 25, 2022 02:47PM
A place to come for in-depth discussion of your (or anybody else's) book cover designs. Draft DIY covers, final covers, pre-made covers, ebooks, print ...more
More of Olga’s groups…



Comments (showing 1-10)    post a comment »
dateUp arrow    newest »

message 10: by Olga

Olga Godim Kyra wrote: "Hi Olga, it's nice to meet you!"

Hi, Kyra.
[Waving my hand and smiling.]


message 9: by Kyra

Kyra Halland Hi Olga, it's nice to meet you!


message 8: by Olga

Olga Godim Carol wrote: "Olga--did you see Frank Tuttle linked to your review?

http://frank-tuttle.blogspot.com/2013..."


Thank you, Carol. I didn't see it before.


carol. Olga--did you see Frank Tuttle linked to your review?

http://frank-tuttle.blogspot.com/2013...


message 6: by Olga

Olga Godim Genia wrote: "Hello Olga, thank you for the compliment on my reviews. I hope you enjoy them, even when they are scathing (perhaps even especially when they are scathing)."
LOL. Yeah, critique is always more fun to read than praise, although I must admit I rarely write reviews for books I dislike. I tend not to finish them.


message 5: by Genia

Genia Lukin Hello Olga, thank you for the compliment on my reviews. I hope you enjoy them, even when they are scathing (perhaps even especially when they are scathing).


Nataliya Thanks for the friend request, Olga! I look forward to discussing books with you.


Regina Thank you for the friend request I look forward to talking about books!


message 2: by Aderyn (last edited Feb 26, 2012 12:46PM)

Aderyn Wood Thanks for the request, and it's nice to meet a fellow daydreamer :) I'll be checking out your reviews too.


message 1: by Dana

Dana Simpson Hi Olga. I have been comparing our libraries, and wow, we share many favorites. I have been reading your comments, and I agree that reviews are subjective. I am very passionate over my favorites, such as Wicked the Life and Times of the Wicked Witch of the West.


back to top