Jeanne Thornton

year in books

Jeanne Thornton’s Followers (148)

member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
William...
2,171 books | 29 friends

Melanie...
1,234 books | 176 friends

Ryan
985 books | 132 friends

Dev Jan...
2,077 books | 166 friends

Imogen
817 books | 625 friends

Sabrina
1,077 books | 107 friends

rosalind
11,145 books | 366 friends

Oriana
2,126 books | 1,550 friends

More friends…

Jeanne Thornton

Goodreads Author


Born
in Muskegon, MI, The United States
Website

Genre

Influences

Member Since
October 2007

URL


Jeanne Thornton is the author of Summer Fun (Soho 2021), The Black Emerald (Instar 2014), and The Dream of Doctor Bantam (OR 2012). She is the copublisher of Instar Books and the editor, with Tara Madison Avery, of the Ignatz Award-winning We're Still Here: An All-Trans Comics Anthology. Her fiction has appeared in n+1, WIRED, The Evergreen Review, and more. More information is at www.jeannethornton.com. ...more

Average rating: 4.14 · 1,395 ratings · 333 reviews · 9 distinct worksSimilar authors
Meanwhile, Elsewhere: Scien...

by
4.01 avg rating — 348 ratings — published 2017 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Summer Fun

4.26 avg rating — 325 ratings — published 2021 — 7 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Tales of Two Cities: The Be...

by
3.81 avg rating — 296 ratings — published 2014 — 9 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
We're Still Here: An All-Tr...

by
4.37 avg rating — 161 ratings — published 2018
Rate this book
Clear rating
Transcendent 2: The Year's ...

by
4.13 avg rating — 130 ratings — published 2017 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Dream of Doctor Bantam

4.02 avg rating — 132 ratings — published 2012 — 5 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Black Emerald

4.55 avg rating — 62 ratings — published 2014 — 2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Where we're going we don't ...

by
4.63 avg rating — 16 ratings — published 2014
Rate this book
Clear rating
Procyon Science Fiction Ant...

by
really liked it 4.00 avg rating — 4 ratings — published 2016 — 2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
More books by Jeanne Thornton…

a/s/l


















I’m
fine, she says; her armor is already up. I immediately fold, a little bit: what
was my purpose in calling here if I’m only going to upset her? I never know how
to handle these things. I wish I knew how to have a project or something with
Siobhan: when I have a project, I know how to relate to people. It’s the
project that relates to people, and I’m just the tiny Fionna riding in the
back, waving hi

Read more of this blog post »
 •  0 comments  •  flag
Share on Twitter
Published on September 23, 2020 07:00
The Penguin Dicti...
Rate this book
Clear rating

 
Jerusalem
Jeanne Thornton is currently reading
by Alan Moore (Goodreads Author)
bookshelves: currently-reading
Rate this book
Clear rating

 
Nixon Agonistes: ...
Rate this book
Clear rating

 

Jeanne’s Recent Updates

Jeanne Thornton is now friends with Jennie Frost
Jeanne Thornton rated a book it was amazing
Schopenhauer's Porcupines by Deborah Anna Luepnitz
Rate this book
Clear rating
Jeanne Thornton and 2 other people liked C.E.'s review of Summer Fun:
Summer Fun by Jeanne Thornton
"It’s hard to say I “loved” this novel - I often found it difficult to stay with but was absolutely wrapped up in it, intensely curious and eager to know more. Summer Fun hangs in a place I’ve never encountered before in a novel, exploring suspended p" Read more of this review »
Summer Fun by Jeanne Thornton
"sincerely incredible, my favorite book of 2021"
Jeanne Thornton rated a book it was amazing
Light from Uncommon Stars by Ryka Aoki
Light from Uncommon Stars
by Ryka Aoki (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
Jeanne Thornton rated a book it was amazing
Clairvoyant of the Small by Susan Bernofsky
Rate this book
Clear rating
Jeanne Thornton and 1 other person liked Maya's review of Summer Fun:
Summer Fun by Jeanne Thornton
"Opaque, intelligent, breathless, beautiful.
The omniscient first person is a unique achievement.
Also, this book may hold the record for most bathing/soaking/swimming in anything I've ever read."
Jeanne Thornton finished reading
Meanwhile, Elsewhere by Cat Fitzpatrick
Rate this book
Clear rating
Jeanne Thornton rated a book it was amazing
Tori Amos Bootleg Webring by Megan Milks
Tori Amos Bootleg Webring
by Megan Milks (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
Jeanne Thornton wants to read
My Alcoholic Escape from Reality by Kabi Nagata
Rate this book
Clear rating
More of Jeanne's books…
Quotes by Jeanne Thornton  (?)
Quotes are added by the Goodreads community and are not verified by Goodreads. (Learn more)

“We are poison women, Diane, because our bodies do all turn what enters them into poison, and we make poison and spread poison, because we are sadness itself. There is no way for us not to be that.”
Jeanne Thornton, Summer Fun

Topics Mentioning This Author

topics posts views last activity  
Goodreads Librari...: Editor's name incorrect in this book? 4 19 Aug 16, 2018 05:10PM  
Queereaders: June 2021 - What are you reading? 51 66 Jul 03, 2021 06:50AM  
Readers Sharing R...: TimInCalifornia's Reviews 60 11 Apr 01, 2022 10:05AM  
Readers Sharing R...: LGBTQ 356 137 Apr 12, 2022 07:24PM  
“It takes vast willpower, luck, and skill to be the first. But it takes a gigantic heart to be number two.”
Johan Harstad, Buzz Aldrin, waar ben je gebleven?

“The junk merchant doesn't sell his product to the consumer, he sells the consumer to his product. He does not improve and simplify his merchandise. He degrades and simplifies the client.”
William S. Burroughs, Naked Lunch

“You see, control can never be a means to any practical end...It can never be a means to anything but more control...like junk..”
William S. Burroughs, Naked Lunch

“Shevek saw that he had touched in these men an impersonal animosity that went very deep. Apparently they, like the tables on the ship, contained a woman, a suppressed, silenced, bestialized woman, a fury in a cage. He had no right to tease them. They knew no relation but possession. They were possessed.”
Ursula K. Le Guin, The Dispossessed

“O nobly-born, when thou art driven [hither and thither] by the ever-moving wind of karma, thine intellect, having no object upon which to rest, will be like a feather tossed about by the wind, riding on the horse of breath. Ceaselessly and involuntarily wilt thou be wandering about. To all those who are weeping [thou wilt say], ‘Here I am; weep not.’ But they not hearing thee, thou wilt think, ‘I am dead!’ And again, at that time, thou wilt be feeling very miserable. Be not miserable in that way.”
W.Y. Evans-Wentz, The Tibetan Book of the Dead

220 Goodreads Librarians Group — 161333 members — last activity 2 minutes ago
A place where all Goodreads members can work together to improve the Goodreads book catalog. Non-librarians are welcome to join the group as well, to ...more
109220 Adventures in SciFi Publishing — 215 members — last activity Nov 22, 2021 03:43PM
Online hangout for readers of Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror. Subscribe to the podcast at: iTunes and Stitcher Radio. Newsletter subscribers ar ...more
10105 Gold Wake Press — 188 members — last activity May 21, 2010 02:18AM
Gold Wake Press publishes poetry, & plays/novels-in-verse. ...more
10871 The New Weird — 292 members — last activity Feb 08, 2022 04:57PM
I am not starting this group because I feel I know a lot about the New Weird. Quite the contrary. I'm starting the group because I don't know much, bu ...more



No comments have been added yet.