Jennifer Lyn Parsons

Goodreads Author


Born
in The United States
September 25, 1975

Website

Genre

Influences

Member Since
August 2010

URL


I write speculative fiction and fairy tales, read books as part of the Geek Girls Book Club, and devour comic books and video games.

I’ll write in any genre and format that the story requires, though I have a special affinity for fairy tales and space opera. Occasionally, I’ll play with a bit of historical fiction.

My writing influences range from Laura Ingalls Wilder to Neil Gaiman to Ray Bradbury to the Grimm Brothers, though whether I wear any of those inspirations on my sleeve, I will leave for you to determine.

In addition to my own writing, I also edit, design, and generally handle most aspects of organizing Luna Station Quarterly, an online literary journal devoted to female speculative fiction writers. The Quarterly is the daughter pub
...more

Average rating: 4.19 · 74 ratings · 24 reviews · 42 distinct works
Luna Station Quarterly: Iss...

by
3.88 avg rating — 8 ratings — published 2012
Rate this book
Clear rating
Luna Station Quarterly: Iss...

by
4.20 avg rating — 5 ratings — published 2016 — 2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Luna Station Quarterly: Iss...

by
4.67 avg rating — 3 ratings — published 2015 — 2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Luna Station Quarterly: Iss...

by
4.33 avg rating — 3 ratings — published 2016 — 2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Best of Luna Station Qu...

by
4.33 avg rating — 3 ratings — published 2015
Rate this book
Clear rating
A Stirring in the Bones

4.33 avg rating — 3 ratings — published 2012 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Luna Station Quarterly: Iss...

by
it was amazing 5.00 avg rating — 2 ratings
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Man Who Walked

it was amazing 5.00 avg rating — 2 ratings
Rate this book
Clear rating
Castles and Starships: Tale...

it was amazing 5.00 avg rating — 2 ratings — published 2014
Rate this book
Clear rating
Luna Station Quarterly: Iss...

by
4.50 avg rating — 2 ratings — published 2017
Rate this book
Clear rating
More books by Jennifer Lyn Parsons…

castles&starships-cover400x400


Damn, I am really excited to put this book out.


Smooth production from start to finish, it’s in a neat small format, with the pretty and smooth matte finish that I love. But that’s just the physical details.


I’m proud of the stories and format of this book. It’s got a way of weaving through the Astyrred that lets a reader jump in pretty much anywhere, and stop whenever they need to. It’s a gre...

Read more of this blog post »
2 likes ·   •  0 comments  •  flag
Twitter icon
Published on February 24, 2014 18:03 • 104 views

Upcoming Events

No scheduled events. Add an event.

The Tiger's Daughter
Rate this book
Clear rating

 
The View from the...
Rate this book
Clear rating

 
Awakening Your Ik...
Rate this book
Clear rating

 

Jennifer’s Recent Updates

Jennifer Parsons wants to read
The Collected Stories of Diane Williams by Diane Williams
Rate this book
Clear rating
Jennifer Parsons wants to read
The Collected Stories by Lydia Davis
Rate this book
Clear rating
Jennifer Parsons started reading
The Tiger's Daughter by K. Arsenault Rivera
Rate this book
Clear rating
Jennifer Parsons wants to read
A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab
Rate this book
Clear rating
Jennifer Parsons wants to read
Bibliophile by Jane Mount
Rate this book
Clear rating
Jennifer Parsons wants to read
Uncommon Type by Tom Hanks
Rate this book
Clear rating
Jennifer Parsons wants to read
Fierce Fairytales by Nikita Gill
Rate this book
Clear rating
Jennifer Parsons wants to read
The Rule of Luck by Catherine Cerveny
Rate this book
Clear rating
Jennifer Parsons wants to read
Bitwise by David Auerbach
Rate this book
Clear rating
Jennifer Parsons wants to read
The Daily Ukulele by Jim Beloff
Rate this book
Clear rating
More of Jennifer's books…
Neil Gaiman
“No, look, there's a blue box. It's bigger on the inside than it is on the outside. It can go anywhere in time and space and sometimes even where it's meant to go. And when it turns up, there's a bloke in it called The Doctor and there will be stuff wrong and he will do his best to sort it out and he will probably succeed 'cause he's awesome. Now sit down, shut up, and watch 'Blink'.”
Neil Gaiman

Thomas Jefferson
“I do not take a single newspaper, nor read one a month, and I feel myself infinitely the happier for it.”
Thomas Jefferson

Philip K. Dick
“Reality is that which, when you stop believing in it, doesn't go away.”
Philip K. Dick, I Hope I Shall Arrive Soon

“Many native traditions held clowns and tricksters as essential to any contact with the sacred. People could not pray until they had laughed, because laughter opens and frees from rigid preconception. Humans had to have tricksters within the most sacred ceremonies for fear that they forget the sacred comes through upset, reversal, surprise. The trickster in most native traditions is essential to creation, to birth.”
Byrd Gibbens

A.S. Byatt
“He was beautiful, that was always affirmed, but his beauty was hard to fix or to see, for he was always glimmering, flickering, melting, mixing, he was the shape of a shapeless flame, he was the eddying thread of needle-shapes in the shapeless mass of the waterfall. He was the invisible wind that hurried the clouds in billows and ribbons. You could see a bare tree on the skyline bent by the wind, holding up twisted branches and bent twigs, and suddenly its formless form would resolve itself into that of the trickster.”
A. S. Byatt, Ragnarok: The End of the Gods

46745 The Geek Girls Book Club — 839 members — last activity Sep 25, 2018 11:17AM
The GGBC grew out of NYT TV reviewer Ginina Bellafonte's comments on her review of "A Game of Thrones", saying that: "While I do not doubt that there ...more
136341 Speculative Short Fiction Deserves Love — 256 members — last activity Jul 29, 2017 12:24PM
A group for discussion and recommendation of SF & fantasy short stories, novelettes, novellas, collections, and anthologies. Anyone can join! Anyone c ...more
45369 Luna Station Quarterly — 34 members — last activity Jul 02, 2014 06:21AM
A group for our authors and readers to discuss the authors they love, be they female or otherwise.
62938 Vaginal Fantasy Book Club — 17768 members — last activity 48 minutes ago
Forum for the Vaginal Fantasy Book Club hosted by Felicia Day, Veronica Belmont, Kiala Kazebee and Bonnie Burton. From January 2012 to April 2018, the ...more
109220 Adventures in SciFi Publishing — 214 members — last activity Oct 19, 2017 12:45PM
Online hangout for readers of Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror. Subscribe to the podcast at: iTunes and Stitcher Radio. Newsletter subscribers are ...more
220 Goodreads Librarians Group — 87400 members — last activity 25 minutes ago
A place where all Goodreads members can work together to improve the Goodreads book catalog. Non-librarians are welcome to join the group as well, to ...more
160053 LabZero — 20 members — last activity Jan 10, 2018 02:22PM
LabZero awesome book club
More of Jennifer’s groups…



Comments (showing 1-1)    post a comment »
dateUp arrow    newest »

message 1: by Robin

Robin Clark Hello Jennifer, thank you for being my friend.
Peace and happiness be with you,
description


back to top