Jennifer Lyn Parsons

Goodreads Author


Born
in The United States
September 25, 1975

Website

Twitter

Genre

Influences

Member Since
August 2010

URL


A software engineer by trade, Jennifer Lyn Parsons is a life-long lover of story with a capital S. Her work has been seen in various magazines and she has published three books, with quite a few more in her back pocket. She counts Jim Jarmusch and Laura Ingalls Wilder as two of her biggest influences. Make of that what you will.

When not writing either code or fiction, she reads books and comics, and sometimes makes things out of wool or paper. She finds joy in making things, be they digital or analog.

Average rating: 4.27 · 92 ratings · 23 reviews · 50 distinct worksSimilar authors
Luna Station Quarterly: Iss...

by
really liked it 4.00 avg rating — 9 ratings — published 2012
Rate this book
Clear rating
Luna Station Quarterly: Iss...

by
it was amazing 5.00 avg rating — 4 ratings
Rate this book
Clear rating
Castles and Starships: Tale...

it was amazing 5.00 avg rating — 2 ratings — published 2014
Rate this book
Clear rating
Luna Station Quarterly: Iss...

by
4.75 avg rating — 4 ratings2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Luna Station Quarterly Issu...

by
4.75 avg rating — 4 ratings
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Best of Luna Station Qu...

by
4.25 avg rating — 4 ratings — published 2015
Rate this book
Clear rating
Luna Station Quarterly: Iss...

by
4.67 avg rating — 3 ratings — published 2017 — 2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Luna Station Quarterly: Iss...

by
4.67 avg rating — 3 ratings — published 2015 — 2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Luna Station Quarterly: Iss...

by
4.33 avg rating — 3 ratings
Rate this book
Clear rating
Luna Station Quarterly: Iss...

by
4.33 avg rating — 3 ratings — published 2016 — 2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
More books by Jennifer Lyn Parsons…

Take On Me has been my journey. Now it’s your turn to take the next step…

I had originally set out to write a novel about gay werewolves in NYC. I had even written 50,000 words of a first draft during NaNoWriMo years ago. Then I put the book down and basically forgot about it, moving forward with other books while I left that one to marinate.


A couple years later the best cat ever died and I had to learn to be an adult without him. I was struggling and needed some way to

Read more of this blog post »
1 like ·   •  0 comments  •  flag
Share on Twitter
Published on February 13, 2020 22:06

Upcoming Events

No scheduled events. Add an event.

Every Tool's a Ha...
Rate this book
Clear rating

 
Ragnarok
Jennifer Parsons is currently reading
read in August, 2012
Rate this book
Clear rating

 
Singing the Soul ...
Rate this book
Clear rating

 

Jennifer’s Recent Updates

Jennifer Parsons marked as to-acquire
A Key, an Egg, an Unfortunate Remark by Harry Connolly
Rate this book
Clear rating
Jennifer Parsons wants to read
Waking the Moon by Elizabeth Hand
Rate this book
Clear rating
Jennifer Parsons marked as to-acquire
Cat Pictures Please and Other Stories by Naomi Kritzer
Rate this book
Clear rating
Jennifer Parsons marked as to-acquire
24/6 The Power of Unplugging One Day a Week by Tiffany Shlain
Rate this book
Clear rating
Jennifer Parsons marked as to-acquire
The Fionavar Tapestry by Guy Gavriel Kay
Rate this book
Clear rating
Jennifer Parsons marked as to-acquire
The Imaginaries by Emily Winfield Martin
Rate this book
Clear rating
Jennifer Parsons marked as to-acquire
The Ultimate Micro-RPG Book by James D’Amato
Rate this book
Clear rating
Jennifer Parsons finished reading
Record of a Spaceborn Few by Becky Chambers
Rate this book
Clear rating
Jennifer Parsons finished reading
To Be Taught, If Fortunate by Becky Chambers
Rate this book
Clear rating
Jennifer Parsons is currently reading
Record of a Spaceborn Few by Becky Chambers
Rate this book
Clear rating
More of Jennifer's books…
Neil Gaiman
“No, look, there's a blue box. It's bigger on the inside than it is on the outside. It can go anywhere in time and space and sometimes even where it's meant to go. And when it turns up, there's a bloke in it called The Doctor and there will be stuff wrong and he will do his best to sort it out and he will probably succeed 'cause he's awesome. Now sit down, shut up, and watch 'Blink'.”
Neil Gaiman

Thomas Jefferson
“I do not take a single newspaper, nor read one a month, and I feel myself infinitely the happier for it.”
Thomas Jefferson

Philip K. Dick
“Reality is that which, when you stop believing in it, doesn't go away.”
Philip K. Dick, I Hope I Shall Arrive Soon

“Many native traditions held clowns and tricksters as essential to any contact with the sacred. People could not pray until they had laughed, because laughter opens and frees from rigid preconception. Humans had to have tricksters within the most sacred ceremonies for fear that they forget the sacred comes through upset, reversal, surprise. The trickster in most native traditions is essential to creation, to birth.”
Byrd Gibbens

A.S. Byatt
“He was beautiful, that was always affirmed, but his beauty was hard to fix or to see, for he was always glimmering, flickering, melting, mixing, he was the shape of a shapeless flame, he was the eddying thread of needle-shapes in the shapeless mass of the waterfall. He was the invisible wind that hurried the clouds in billows and ribbons. You could see a bare tree on the skyline bent by the wind, holding up twisted branches and bent twigs, and suddenly its formless form would resolve itself into that of the trickster.”
A. S. Byatt, Ragnarok: The End of the Gods

46745 The Geek Girls Book Club — 809 members — last activity Sep 16, 2019 11:36AM
The GGBC grew out of NYT TV reviewer Ginina Bellafonte's comments on her review of "A Game of Thrones", saying that: "While I do not doubt that ther ...more
136341 Speculative Short Fiction Deserves Love — 261 members — last activity Dec 09, 2018 07:47AM
A group for discussion and recommendation of SF & fantasy short stories, novelettes, novellas, collections, and anthologies. Anyone can join! Anyone ...more
45369 Luna Station Quarterly — 34 members — last activity Jul 02, 2014 06:21AM
A group for our authors and readers to discuss the authors they love, be they female or otherwise.
62938 Vaginal Fantasy Book Club — 17082 members — last activity Dec 02, 2020 05:53AM
Forum for the Vaginal Fantasy Book Club hosted by Felicia Day, Veronica Belmont, Kiala Kazebee and Bonnie Burton. From January 2012 to April 2018, the ...more
109220 Adventures in SciFi Publishing — 214 members — last activity Sep 14, 2020 02:58PM
Online hangout for readers of Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror. Subscribe to the podcast at: iTunes and Stitcher Radio. Newsletter subscribers ar ...more
220 Goodreads Librarians Group — 116827 members — last activity 8 minutes ago
A place where all Goodreads members can work together to improve the Goodreads book catalog. Non-librarians are welcome to join the group as well, to ...more
160053 LabZero — 21 members — last activity Dec 11, 2019 07:30PM
LabZero awesome book club
More of Jennifer’s groups…



Comments (showing 1-1)    post a comment »
dateUp arrow    newest »

message 1: by Robin

Robin Clark Hello Jennifer, thank you for being my friend.
Peace and happiness be with you,
description


back to top