Amy Hatvany

Eleanor
2,809 books | 103 friends

Jamie
1,994 books | 239 friends

Chelsea...
1,289 books | 4,999 friends

Jennife...
341 books | 1,490 friends

Carrie
1,771 books | 391 friends

Joy
Joy
4,769 books | 291 friends
Friend details

Stacy K...
1,352 books | 18 friends

Margare...
989 books | 901 friends

More friends…

Amy Hatvany

Goodreads Author


Born
in Seattle, The United States
Website

Twitter

Genre

Member Since
March 2009


Amy Hatvany was born in Seattle, WA in 1972, the youngest of three children. She graduated from Western Washington University in 1994 with a degree in Sociology only to discover most sociologists are unemployed. Soon followed a variety of jobs – some of which she loved, like decorating wedding cakes; others which she merely tolerated, like receptionist. In 1998, Amy finally decided to sell her car, quit her job, and take a chance on writing books.

The literary gods took kindly to her aspirations and THE KIND OF LOVE THAT SAVES YOU was published in 2000 by Bantam Doubleday. THE LANGUAGE OF SISTERS was picked up by NAL in 2002. (Both titles published under "Yurk.")

Amy spends most of her time today with her second and final husband, Stephan. (
...more

Average rating: 3.81 · 24,964 ratings · 3,123 reviews · 14 distinct worksSimilar authors
Outside the Lines

3.87 avg rating — 5,571 ratings — published 2012 — 12 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Best Kept Secret

3.83 avg rating — 4,843 ratings — published 2011 — 5 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Safe with Me

3.88 avg rating — 3,518 ratings — published 2014 — 15 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Heart Like Mine

3.72 avg rating — 3,459 ratings — published 2013 — 12 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Somewhere Out There

3.89 avg rating — 3,329 ratings — published 2016 — 8 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
It Happens All the Time

3.57 avg rating — 2,167 ratings — published 2017 — 8 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Language of Sisters

3.73 avg rating — 124 ratings — published 2002 — 2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
A Casual Encounter

3.67 avg rating — 3 ratings
Rate this book
Clear rating
Tell Me Everything

0.00 avg rating — 0 ratings2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Sex in the Suburbs

0.00 avg rating — 0 ratings
Rate this book
Clear rating
More books by Amy Hatvany…

Amy Hatvany hasn't written any blog posts yet.

Upcoming Events

No scheduled events. Add an event.

Amy’s Recent Updates

Amy Hatvany is now friends with Jenn
1288382
Amy Hatvany and 14 other people liked Anita's review of It Happens All the Time:
It Happens All the Time by Amy Hatvany
"I've just finished this book and it's so hard to put into words all my thoughts. Sexual consent is so critical to what we teach and what we ourselves learned growing up. My vision of a rapist wasn't the frat boy or the football player we flirted w..." Read more of this review »
It Happens All the Time by Amy Hatvany
"You've been best friends with someone since you were in your teens. This is the person you've trusted most in your life and who knows you better than anyone. While you know he's been in love with you, in your eyes he's just a brother figure... a b..." Read more of this review »
It Happens All the Time by Amy Hatvany
"A Must Read

Perfect for fans of We Were the Mulvaneys. Hatvany's use of multiple perspectives flows flawlessly. I will have both of my children read this when they are older."
Amy Hatvany rated a book it was amazing
The Good Widow by Liz Fenton
The Good Widow
by Liz Fenton (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
I was lucky enough to get my hands on a early copy of THE GOOD WIDOW and I cannot recommend it highly enough.

The writing is smart, but accessible, funny, and thoughtful. The pace is taut, but not so much that it feels forced. I really connected with
...more
Amy Hatvany is accepting questions on her profile page.
Amy Hatvany rated a book it was amazing
The Forever Bridge by T. Greenwood
The Forever Bridge
by T. Greenwood (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
Amy Hatvany rated a book it was amazing
A Paris Apartment by Michelle Gable
A Paris Apartment
by Michelle Gable (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
Amy Hatvany rated a book it was amazing
Your Perfect Life by Liz Fenton
Your Perfect Life
by Liz Fenton (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
Amy Hatvany rated a book it was amazing
Someone Else's Love Story by Joshilyn Jackson
Rate this book
Clear rating
More of Amy's books…
“being a good mother does not mean being perfect every single moment. we screw up. we get mad, we drink too much, eat too much, yell too much. a good mother learns from her mistakes and does what she can to not let them happen over and over.”
Amy Hatvany

“What other people think of you is none of your business," she says. "You can't change it, you can't control it. The only thing you can control is your reaction to it.”
Amy Hatvany (Yurk), Best Kept Secret

“Humiliation is about shame. Becoming humble is about being of use to others. It helps you get off the self-pity pot and stop wallowing around in your own crap.”
Amy Hatvany (Yurk), Best Kept Secret

Polls

More...

Topics Mentioning This Author

“Plotting is like sex. Plotting is about desire and satisfaction, anticipation and release. You have to arouse your reader's desire to know what happens, to unravel the mystery, to see good triumph. You have to sustain it, keep it warm, feed it, just a little bit, not too much at a time, as your story goes on. That's called suspense. It can bring desire to a frenzy, in which case you are in a good position to bring off a wonderful climax.”
Colin Greenland

“We read five words on the first page of a really good novel and we begin to forget that we are reading printed words on a page; we begin to see images.”
John Champlin Gardner Jr., On Becoming a Novelist

“Write what disturbs you, what you fear, what you have not been willing to speak about. Be willing to be split open.”
Natalie Goldberg, Writing Down the Bones: Freeing the Writer Within

“Writing is a form of therapy; sometimes I wonder how all those who do not write, compose, or paint can manage to escape the madness, melancholia, the panic and fear which is inherent in a human situation.”
Graham Greene, Ways of Escape

“I love writing. I love the swirl and swing of words as they tangle with human emotions.”
James Michener

1823 Writers Wanted!!! — 133 members — last activity Dec 22, 2017 09:42AM
This group is dedicated to all goodreads members who love to write. We discuss our personal writing and review. This is also a place to start writing ...more
8255 Tips for Self Promotion, Sales, and Advertising — 2423 members — last activity May 29, 2019 05:21AM
Tips from authors for authors. List what works for you and what hasn't. Whether you're selling a few author copies or just trying to get your name out ...more
3364 Writerpedia — 1296 members — last activity Mar 27, 2019 09:05PM
This is a place to share knowledge. If you are writing and need to know something maybe someone here can give you an answer.
25x33 Women's Fiction authors — 765 members — last activity Nov 21, 2018 05:36PM
A group for authors of contemporary women's fiction only. (This isn't the place for sci-fi or fantasy.) Post a description of your book for readers to ...more
2996 Chicks On Lit — 4839 members — last activity Sep 18, 2019 10:24AM
(Est. Feb 14, 2008) More than a reading group of women but a place for honest, respectful, intelligent conversations led by adult women. Discussions a ...more
28257 Comfort Reads — 1322 members — last activity Feb 14, 2019 07:21AM
When life gets busy and you need a break from serious reading what do you reach for? A comfort read means something different to everyone so join us, ...more
43879 She Known As Jess BlogSpot — 19 members — last activity Aug 09, 2011 11:06AM
Book Reviews, Guest Reviewer Reviews, Published and Unpublished Author Interviews, Giveaways, Writing, Photography and much more.
33611 Make a book a bestseller — 961 members — last activity Sep 23, 2014 03:20PM
If a bunch of people can get Betty White to host Saturday Night Live seems like we can make a great book(s) a bestseller.
More of Amy’s groups…



No comments have been added yet.