John Dickson Carr

in The United States
November 30, 1906

February 27, 1977



AKA Carter Dickson, Carr Dickson and Roger Fairbairn.

John Dickson Carr was born in Uniontown, Pennsylvania, in 1906. It Walks by Night, his first published detective novel, featuring the Frenchman Henri Bencolin, was published in 1930. Apart from Dr Fell, whose first appearance was in Hag's Nook in 1933, Carr's other series detectives (published under the nom de plume of Carter Dickson) were the barrister Sir Henry Merrivale, who debuted in The Plague Court Murders (1934).

Average rating: 4.18 · 47,219 ratings · 1,865 reviews · 229 distinct worksSimilar authors
The Three Coffins (Dr. Gide...

3.91 avg rating — 2,249 ratings — published 1935 — 49 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Hag's Nook (Dr. Gideon Fell...

3.70 avg rating — 861 ratings — published 1932 — 27 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Burning Court

3.89 avg rating — 584 ratings — published 1937 — 35 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Crooked Hinge (Dr. Gide...

3.84 avg rating — 540 ratings — published 1937 — 27 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Case of the Constant Su...

3.76 avg rating — 581 ratings — published 1941 — 32 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
He Who Whispers (Dr. Gideon...

3.89 avg rating — 513 ratings — published 1946 — 24 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Mad Hatter Mystery (Dr....

3.64 avg rating — 459 ratings — published 1933 — 28 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Emperor's Snuff-Box

3.84 avg rating — 404 ratings — published 1942 — 33 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Problem of the Green Ca...

3.91 avg rating — 402 ratings — published 1939 — 24 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Blind Barber (Dr. Gideo...

3.47 avg rating — 342 ratings — published 1934 — 26 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
More books by John Dickson Carr…
Hag's Nook The Mad Hatter Mystery The Eight of Swords The Blind Barber Death-Watch The Three Coffins The Arabian Nights Murder
(23 books)
3.74 avg rating — 8,868 ratings

It Walks by Night Castle Skull The Lost Gallows The Corpse in the Waxworks The Four False Weapons
(5 books)
3.67 avg rating — 832 ratings

Till Death Do Us Part
(1 book)
3.80 avg rating — 256 ratings

Below Suspicion Patrick Butler for the Defence
(2 books)
3.40 avg rating — 253 ratings

The Men Who Explained Miracles Merrivale, March and Murder
(3 books)
3.93 avg rating — 119 ratings

More series by John Dickson Carr…
“I am a mathematician, sir. I never permit myself to think.”
John Dickson Carr, The Hollow Man

“We don't fall in love with a woman because of her good character.”
John Dickson Carr, He Who Whispers

“Alan Campbell opened one eye.

From somewhere in remote distances, muffled beyond sight or sound, his soul crawled back painfully, through subterranean corridors, up into his body again. Toward the last it moved to a cacophony of hammers and lights.

Then he was awake.

The first eye was bad enough. But, when he opened his second eye, such as rush of anguish flowed through his brain that he hastily closed them again.”
John Dickson Carr, The Case of the Constant Suicides



Topics Mentioning This Author