Jemima Pett

Sam H A...
816 books | 232 friends

Megan (...
494 books | 453 friends

Angel
6,373 books | 5,000 friends

Diane Rapp
362 books | 1,021 friends

Claude ...
377 books | 5,001 friends

Victori...
2,419 books | 2,930 friends

William
223 books | 5,045 friends

Kathy
3,253 books | 4,969 friends

More friends…

Jemima Pett

Goodreads Author


Born
in The United Kingdom
Website

Twitter

Genre

Influences

Member Since
January 2012


I left school with the careers advice "Well, you're going to do Maths at University aren't you?". And then what?

Well, I tried a lot of things to find out what I should be doing. Eventually I retrained and found I loved working in environmental research, where I could write loads of interesting reports, articles and papers.

And then I settled down a bit more, got my guinea pigs for company and found I had characters with stories that needed to be told. I started writing fiction at last. The Princelings of the East, first the trilogy, then a prequel, then another..., and now I'm writing a science fiction series for grown-ups, too, the Viridian System series.

So this is probably my fifth career.

The moral of the story is... follow your star, it's
...more

To ask Jemima Pett questions, please sign up.

Popular Answered Questions

Jemima Pett Do you ever walk along telling a story to yourself? Favourite characters? Imaginary friends? Does it get in the way of other things? Writing gets them…moreDo you ever walk along telling a story to yourself? Favourite characters? Imaginary friends? Does it get in the way of other things? Writing gets them out of your head and onto the page. Then you never lose them, but they don't interfere any more. It's great. You can always find these people whom you once knew well, intimately, when you thought you'd forgotten them.

If your characters start telling you to do things and you think you should obey them, see a doctor.(less)
Jemima Pett I confess that so far I haven't really suffered from it. Shelving Victor's story for a few years was a form of it, but I wrote other stories while…moreI confess that so far I haven't really suffered from it. Shelving Victor's story for a few years was a form of it, but I wrote other stories while that one was maturing.

Sometimes I don't know what to write next, which is another form of block. Then I re-read what I've written so far, and ask what happens next. Getting the words down is the key thing. If they turn out rubbish, they can be edited. Whole characters can be edited!

But I'm lucky - I'm not under pressure to write "the next blockbuster in the series" by October. I think I might get writer's block if that was the case. I'd recommend writing a 1000 word flash fiction challenge to freshen up. :)
(less)
Average rating: 4.33 · 168 ratings · 97 reviews · 18 distinct worksSimilar authors
The Princelings of the East...

4.19 avg rating — 57 ratings — published 2011 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Traveler in Black and W...

4.56 avg rating — 16 ratings — published 2012 — 4 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Princelings and the Los...

4.62 avg rating — 13 ratings — published 2012 — 4 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
BookElves Anthology Volume 2

by
it was amazing 5.00 avg rating — 7 ratings3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Princelings of the Nort...

4.71 avg rating — 7 ratings3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Princelings and the Pir...

4.47 avg rating — 17 ratings — published 2012 — 4 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Talent Seekers (Princel...

really liked it 4.00 avg rating — 13 ratings — published 2013 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Princelings of the East...

4.67 avg rating — 6 ratings — published 2012 — 2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
BookElves Anthology, Volume 1

by
3.86 avg rating — 7 ratings — published 2014 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Bravo Victor (The Princelin...

4.56 avg rating — 9 ratings — published 2014 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
More books by Jemima Pett…

Saffron grows in exotic eastern countries, or so I thought.  Our bookclub read for the month suggested it grows perfectly well in Cornwall.  This sounds like an excuse to link my usual Saturday Book Review post with a random act

The post The Saffron Trail | Wild Lunch #30DaysWild appeared first on Jemima Pett.

Read more of this blog post »
 •  0 comments  •  flag
Twitter icon
Published on June 22, 2018 23:53
The Princelings of the East The Princelings and the Pir... The Princelings and the Los... The Traveler in Black and W... The Talent Seekers Bravo Victor Willoughby the Narrator
(8 books)
by
4.36 avg rating — 141 ratings

The Perihelix
(1 book)
by
3.57 avg rating — 7 ratings

Upcoming Events

No scheduled events. Add an event.

A Brief History o...
Rate this book
Clear rating

 
The Secret Horses...
Jemima Pett is currently reading
by Megan Shepherd (Goodreads Author)
bookshelves: currently-reading
Rate this book
Clear rating

 
The Way of All Flesh
Rate this book
Clear rating

 

Jemima’s Recent Updates

Jemima Pett wants to read
Crow Country by Mark Cocker
Rate this book
Clear rating
Jemima Pett wants to read
Our Place by Mark Cocker
Rate this book
Clear rating
Jemima Pett started reading
The Secret Horses of Briar Hill by Megan Shepherd
Rate this book
Clear rating
Jemima Pett started reading
The Way of All Flesh by Ambrose Parry
Rate this book
Clear rating
Jemima Pett started reading
Wildcatter by Dave Duncan
Rate this book
Clear rating
Jemima Pett rated a book it was amazing
The Saffron Trail by Rosanna Ley
Rate this book
Clear rating
Delightful, beautifully written, and moreish. Review to follow
Jemima Pett wants to read
King of Swords by Dave Duncan
Rate this book
Clear rating
Jemima Pett made a comment in the group Space Opera Fans July 2018 INDIE Nominations topic
" I'll second Wildcatter.

I'd like to nominate my re-released The Perihelix

All Big Pete and the Swede want, after a hard season mining orichalcum in the
...more "
" Sarah wrote: "My suggestions:

“The Rise of the Jumbies” (first book is “The Jumbies”) - both books have gotten a lot of attention from the middle grade
...more "
Jemima Pett made a comment in the group Great Middle Grade ReadsMG Mysteries & Adventures topic
" Lovely to meet you in here at last Helen. I’ve been attracted to several of your books. I really must get round to reading them! "
More of Jemima's books…
“Flattery was the best medicine, but even I gag on medicine.”
Jemima Pett, The Traveler in Black and White

“Follow your star, it's never too late, even if it doesn't quite happen as you expect.”
Jemima Pett

“Trying is something we do when we think we can’t do something. Even if your doing is not as perfect as you would like, decide to do it, and you will. -- Lady Nimrod of Buckmore in The Princelings and the Lost City”
Jemima Pett

“Trying is something we do when we think we can’t do something. Even if your doing is not as perfect as you would like, decide to do it, and you will. -- Lady Nimrod of Buckmore in The Princelings and the Lost City”
Jemima Pett

“You cannot stop the birds of sorrow from flying over your head, but you can stop them nesting in your hair.”
Eva Ibbotson, The Dragonfly Pool

“Follow your star, it's never too late, even if it doesn't quite happen as you expect.”
Jemima Pett

“Don't cry because it's over, smile because it happened.”
Dr. Seuss

“Insanity is doing the same thing, over and over again, but expecting different results.”
Narcotics Anonymous

71883 Great Middle Grade Reads — 2697 members — last activity Jun 22, 2018 11:37AM
GMGR brings together parents, teachers, librarians, writers and readers, who all love middle grade books. If you've ever wished for your very own magi ...more
17501 Space Opera Fans — 3452 members — last activity 1 minute ago
If you like space opera: an epic scale adventure through the galaxy with military battles, interplanetary politics, realistic interpersonal relationsh ...more
51445 UK Amazon Kindle Forum — 6115 members — last activity 1 hour, 29 min ago
Where every hour is happy hour.
34146 SciFi and Fantasy eBook Club — 3660 members — last activity 3 hours, 34 min ago
This is for those of us whose preferred format is the ebook ... So, Whether you're a Kindle, Nook, Sony, iPad, Google, or whatever person; come on in ...more
27842 Moderator Support Group — 1943 members — last activity Jun 22, 2018 01:46AM
This group is for Moderators and Co-Moderators to discuss, ideas, solutions and the challenges of running a Goodreads group. You must be a moderator t ...more
78904 European Writers' Group — 64 members — last activity Feb 01, 2015 03:58PM
This is a discussion group for GoodReads authors in or from Europe, but members from elsewhere are welcome too, especially those who write stories tak ...more
220 Goodreads Librarians Group — 83905 members — last activity 7 minutes ago
A place where all Goodreads members can work together to improve the Goodreads book catalog. Non-librarians are welcome to join the group as well, to ...more
119602 Dead Good Crime Book Group — 2939 members — last activity Jun 18, 2018 08:34AM
Dead Good is the home for killer crime books, drama and film. We love reading crime and thriller novels and want to share that love with you!
109220 Adventures in SciFi Publishing — 215 members — last activity Oct 19, 2017 12:45PM
Online hangout for readers of Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror. Subscribe to the podcast at: iTunes and Stitcher Radio. Newsletter subscribers are ...more
More of Jemima’s groups…



Comments (showing 1-5)    post a comment »
dateUp arrow    newest »

Jemima Pett Patricia wrote: "I tried "Liking your quote Jemima, but it won't let me. I was able to like the others. Weird."
Strange. I'm having trouble getting my blog to do something at the moment. Maybe it's somethng in the air!
I spotted your mention of guinea pigs, so I thought I MUST contact you! They inspired my books. Victor will be 5 next week - he's my oldest.
Have fun!


Patricia Puddle I tried "Liking your quote Jemima, but it won't let me. I was able to like the others. Weird.


Patricia Puddle Hi Jemima, thanks for the friendship. :) I love your name!! Oh, and you must be a lovely person because you have guinea pigs. I love those little souls and had three. We had them for ten years, but sadly, they have now gone over the rainbow bridge. So upsetting I adored those little guys. Our forever babies brought so much joy, then sadness of their departure.


Jemima Pett You too, SW! Liked some of your book choices too :)


message 1: by S.W.

S.W. Hi Jemima, glad to meet you. Cheers :)


back to top