Jemima Pett

year in books
Benjami...
568 books | 3,089 friends

David Owen
991 books | 1,358 friends

Michell...
24,749 books | 1,454 friends

Julie L...
449 books | 4,491 friends

Walker ...
422 books | 1,597 friends

Steve G...
1,011 books | 388 friends

M.J. Ma...
493 books | 600 friends

Katie
3,216 books | 280 friends

More friends…

Jemima Pett

Goodreads Author


Born
in The United Kingdom
Website

Twitter

Genre

Influences

Member Since
January 2012


Jemima Pett has been living in a world of her own for many years. Day-dreaming in class, writing stories since she was eight, drawing maps of fantasy islands with train systems and timetables at ten. Unfortunately no-one wanted a fantasy island designer then, so she tried a few careers, getting great experiences in business, environmental research and social work. She finally got back to building her own worlds, and wrote about them. Her business background enabled her to become an independent author, responsible for her own publications.

Her first series, the Princelings of the East, mystery adventures for advanced readers set in a world of tunnels and castles (and entirely populated by guinea pigs although you needn’t read them that way),
...more

To ask Jemima Pett questions, please sign up.

Popular Answered Questions

Jemima Pett Do you ever walk along telling a story to yourself? Favourite characters? Imaginary friends? Does it get in the way of other things? Writing gets them…moreDo you ever walk along telling a story to yourself? Favourite characters? Imaginary friends? Does it get in the way of other things? Writing gets them out of your head and onto the page. Then you never lose them, but they don't interfere any more. It's great. You can always find these people whom you once knew well, intimately, when you thought you'd forgotten them.

If your characters start telling you to do things and you think you should obey them, see a doctor.(less)
Jemima Pett I confess that so far I haven't really suffered from it. Shelving Victor's story for a few years was a form of it, but I wrote other stories while tha…moreI confess that so far I haven't really suffered from it. Shelving Victor's story for a few years was a form of it, but I wrote other stories while that one was maturing.

Sometimes I don't know what to write next, which is another form of block. Then I re-read what I've written so far, and ask what happens next. Getting the words down is the key thing. If they turn out rubbish, they can be edited. Whole characters can be edited!

But I'm lucky - I'm not under pressure to write "the next blockbuster in the series" by October. I think I might get writer's block if that was the case. I'd recommend writing a 1000 word flash fiction challenge to freshen up. :)
(less)
Average rating: 4.35 · 191 ratings · 119 reviews · 23 distinct worksSimilar authors
The Princelings of the East...

4.16 avg rating — 62 ratings — published 2011
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Princelings and the Los...

4.64 avg rating — 14 ratings — published 2012 — 4 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Traveler in Black and W...

4.59 avg rating — 17 ratings — published 2012 — 4 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Princelings and the Pir...

4.59 avg rating — 17 ratings — published 2012 — 5 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
BookElves Anthology Volume 2

by
4.88 avg rating — 8 ratings3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Talent Seekers (Princel...

4.07 avg rating — 14 ratings — published 2013 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Princelings of the East...

4.67 avg rating — 6 ratings — published 2012 — 2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
BookElves Anthology, Volume 1

by
4.11 avg rating — 9 ratings — published 2014 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Bravo Victor (The Princelin...

4.56 avg rating — 9 ratings — published 2014 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Perihelix (Viridian Sys...

3.67 avg rating — 9 ratings8 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
More books by Jemima Pett…

Greed and Retribution – #flashfiction OUT TODAY!

Greed and Retribution is the second of my Flash Fiction collection to hit the press. Greed and Retribution: The Carruthers Collection and Other Twisty Tales If you’ve been reading my flash fiction long, you’ll have come across Carruthers and his

The post Greed and Retribution – #flashfiction OUT TODAY! appeared first on Jemima Pett.

Read more of this blog post »
 •  0 comments  •  flag
Share on Twitter
Published on May 06, 2021 00:00
The Princelings of the East The Princelings and the Pir... The Princelings and the Los... The Traveler in Black and W... The Talent Seekers Bravo Victor Willoughby the Narrator
(10 books)
by
4.39 avg rating — 154 ratings

The Perihelix Curved Space to Corsair
(2 books)
by
3.70 avg rating — 10 ratings

Upcoming Events

No scheduled events. Add an event.

The Kingdoms
Rate this book
Clear rating

 
Goth Girl and the...
Rate this book
Clear rating

 
Sand of Bone
Jemima Pett is currently reading
by Blair MacGregor (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating

 

Jemima’s Recent Updates

Jemima Pett wrote a new blog post

Greed and Retribution – #flashfiction OUT TODAY!

Greed and Retribution is the second of my Flash Fiction collection to hit the press. Greed and Retribution: The Carruthers Collection and Other Twisty Read more of this blog post »
Jemima Pett wants to read
Finding the Mother Tree by Suzanne Simard
Rate this book
Clear rating
Jemima Pett rated a book it was amazing
Goodnight Mister Tom by Michelle Magorian
Rate this book
Clear rating
Goodnight Mister Tom had already seeped into the recesses of my brain as a children’s book to match the credentials of those such as the Wind in the Willows. The story of an evacuee from the East End of London to the wilds of somewhere, it could be p ...more
" Welcome Anita - hope you have a good time here :) "
Jemima Pett started reading
Goodnight Mister Tom by Michelle Magorian
Rate this book
Clear rating
Jemima Pett rated a book really liked it
Finding Sustainability by Trent A. Romer
Finding Sustainability
by Trent A. Romer (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
The blurb for Finding Sustainability is exceptionally good. It starts with three questions that are of interest to many business owners. Then it adds a kicker which is about who you are and what you personally believe in.

The great thing about it is t
...more
Jemima Pett wants to read
Max's Christmas Adventure by Wendy Leighton-Porter
Rate this book
Clear rating
Jemima Pett rated a book it was amazing
The Shadow of Atlantis by Wendy Leighton-Porter
Rate this book
Clear rating
This is the first in the Shadows from the Past series of books, in which Jemima (good name!) and Joe, friend Charlie and cat Max travel back in time to various exciting events in the past, by means of a strange book they find in their attic.

Not surpr
...more
Jemima Pett started reading
Goth Girl and the Ghost of a Mouse by Chris Riddell
Rate this book
Clear rating
Jemima Pett started reading
Sand of Bone by Blair MacGregor
Sand of Bone
by Blair MacGregor (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
More of Jemima's books…
“Flattery was the best medicine, but even I gag on medicine.”
Jemima Pett, The Traveler in Black and White

“Follow your star, it's never too late, even if it doesn't quite happen as you expect.”
Jemima Pett

“Trying is something we do when we think we can’t do something. Even if your doing is not as perfect as you would like, decide to do it, and you will. -- Lady Nimrod of Buckmore in The Princelings and the Lost City”
Jemima Pett

“Trying is something we do when we think we can’t do something. Even if your doing is not as perfect as you would like, decide to do it, and you will. -- Lady Nimrod of Buckmore in The Princelings and the Lost City”
Jemima Pett

“You cannot stop the birds of sorrow from flying over your head, but you can stop them nesting in your hair.”
Eva Ibbotson, The Dragonfly Pool

“Follow your star, it's never too late, even if it doesn't quite happen as you expect.”
Jemima Pett

“Insanity is doing the same thing, over and over again, but expecting different results.”
Narcotics Anonymous

“I may not have gone where I intended to go, but I think I have ended up where I needed to be.”
douglas adams, The Long Dark Tea-Time of the Soul

71883 Great Middle Grade Reads — 3475 members — last activity 2 hours, 58 min ago
GMGR brings together parents, teachers, librarians, writers and readers, who all love middle grade books. If you've ever wished for your very own magi ...more
17501 Space Opera Fans — 4050 members — last activity 3 hours, 49 min ago
If you like space opera: an epic scale adventure through the galaxy with military battles, interplanetary politics, realistic interpersonal relationsh ...more
51445 UK Amazon Kindle Forum — 6359 members — last activity 2 hours, 55 min ago
Where every hour is happy hour.
34146 SciFi and Fantasy eBook Club — 3736 members — last activity May 05, 2021 09:16AM
This is for those of us whose preferred format is the ebook ... So, Whether you're a Kindle, Nook, Sony, iPad, Google, or whatever person; come on in ...more
27842 Moderator Support Group — 2125 members — last activity 18 hours, 41 min ago
This group is for Moderators and Co-Moderators to discuss, ideas, solutions and the challenges of running a Goodreads group. You must be a moderator t ...more
220 Goodreads Librarians Group — 125028 members — last activity 0 minutes ago
A place where all Goodreads members can work together to improve the Goodreads book catalog. Non-librarians are welcome to join the group as well, to ...more
78904 European Writers' Group — 65 members — last activity Feb 01, 2015 03:58PM
This is a discussion group for GoodReads authors in or from Europe, but members from elsewhere are welcome too, especially those who write stories tak ...more
214387 The Insecure Writer's Support Group Book Club — 451 members — last activity Apr 11, 2021 09:54AM
Writers and Readers, NOTE: Reading or adding a book to our shelves does not mean we endorse it. The Insecure Writer's Support Group Book Club is for ...more
119602 Dead Good Crime Book Group — 2777 members — last activity May 05, 2021 12:24PM
Dead Good is the home for killer crime books, drama and film. We love reading crime and thriller novels and want to share that love with you!
109220 Adventures in SciFi Publishing — 214 members — last activity Sep 14, 2020 02:58PM
Online hangout for readers of Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror. Subscribe to the podcast at: iTunes and Stitcher Radio. Newsletter subscribers ar ...more
More of Jemima’s groups…



Comments (showing 1-5)    post a comment »
dateUp arrow    newest »

Jemima Pett Patricia wrote: "I tried "Liking your quote Jemima, but it won't let me. I was able to like the others. Weird."
Strange. I'm having trouble getting my blog to do something at the moment. Maybe it's somethng in the air!
I spotted your mention of guinea pigs, so I thought I MUST contact you! They inspired my books. Victor will be 5 next week - he's my oldest.
Have fun!


Patricia Puddle I tried "Liking your quote Jemima, but it won't let me. I was able to like the others. Weird.


Patricia Puddle Hi Jemima, thanks for the friendship. :) I love your name!! Oh, and you must be a lovely person because you have guinea pigs. I love those little souls and had three. We had them for ten years, but sadly, they have now gone over the rainbow bridge. So upsetting I adored those little guys. Our forever babies brought so much joy, then sadness of their departure.


Jemima Pett You too, SW! Liked some of your book choices too :)


message 1: by S.W.

S.W. Hi Jemima, glad to meet you. Cheers :)


back to top