Daniel M. Bensen

more photos (1)


#137 top reviewers
Lois Bu...
248 books | 553 friends

Abby Go...
1,031 books | 622 friends

Adam Stone
255 books | 158 friends

Kalin
1,990 books | 2,883 friends

Krista D.
474 books | 132 friends

Rachel ...
1,121 books | 254 friends

Nick de...
1,051 books | 68 friends

J.C. Mc...
454 books | 658 friends

More friends…

Daniel M. Bensen

Goodreads Author


Born
Chicago, The United States
Website

Twitter

Genre

Member Since
March 2012


Daniel M. Bensen writes alternate history, science fiction, and fantasy. He teaches English in Sofia Bulgaria, where he lives with his wife and daughters in the Balkan Tower of Matriarchy.

Average rating: 3.9 · 350 ratings · 148 reviews · 9 distinct works
The Kingdoms of Evil

3.47 avg rating — 89 ratings — published 2011 — 2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Junction

3.87 avg rating — 39 ratings — published 2019 — 5 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Tales From Alternate Earths 2

by
3.89 avg rating — 27 ratings2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Groom of the Tyrannosaur Queen

4.17 avg rating — 24 ratings
Rate this book
Clear rating
Petrolea

4.50 avg rating — 4 ratings2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Tales From Alternate Earths

by
4.04 avg rating — 102 ratings2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Tales From The Universe: Te...

by
4.12 avg rating — 49 ratings2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Apex Magazine -- January 2019

by
4.18 avg rating — 11 ratings2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Domesticated Velociraptors

by
4.60 avg rating — 5 ratings2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
More books by Daniel M. Bensen…

Transportation – an essay

The Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America blog bought one of my essays. It’s about trauma and fiction, and what they’re for.


Transportation

by Daniel M. Bensen


Trigger warnings: cancer, hospitals


I had cancer. Don’t worry. I just got the results from my four-year CT scan checkup and I’m fine.


I remember, though, when I’d drink coffee and still feel tired. I had stopped doing my podcast, my...

Read more of this blog post »
 •  0 comments  •  flag
Twitter icon
Published on September 10, 2019 06:33

Upcoming Events

No scheduled events. Add an event.

Proxima Rising: H...
Daniel Bensen is currently reading
by Brandon Q. Morris (Goodreads Author)
bookshelves: currently-reading
Rate this book
Clear rating

 
Captain Vorpatril...
Daniel Bensen is currently reading
by Lois McMaster Bujold (Goodreads Author)
bookshelves: currently-reading
read in November, 2012
Rate this book
Clear rating

 

Daniel’s Recent Updates

Daniel M. Bensen wrote a new blog post

Transportation – an essay

The Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America blog bought one of my essays. It’s about trauma and fiction, and what they’re for.
Transportation... Read more of this blog post »
Daniel Bensen rated a book liked it
Our Mathematical Universe by Max Tegmark
Rate this book
Clear rating
Daniel Bensen is currently reading
Proxima Rising by Brandon Q. Morris
Rate this book
Clear rating
Daniel Bensen finished reading
Our Mathematical Universe by Max Tegmark
Rate this book
Clear rating
Daniel Bensen rated a book liked it
3zekiel by Peter Cawdron
3zekiel
by Peter Cawdron (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
Daniel Bensen started reading
Captain Vorpatril's Alliance by Lois McMaster Bujold
Rate this book
Clear rating
Daniel Bensen rated a book it was amazing
The Blood Mirror by Brent Weeks
Rate this book
Clear rating
Daniel Bensen rated a book it was amazing
A Slip of the Keyboard by Terry Pratchett
Rate this book
Clear rating
Daniel Bensen is currently reading
Our Mathematical Universe by Max Tegmark
Rate this book
Clear rating
Daniel Bensen is currently reading
A Slip of the Keyboard by Terry Pratchett
Rate this book
Clear rating
More of Daniel's books…
“Don't worry, Njrea," said Vrem, but everyone went just a little bit still when Trals's raptor got close. Andrea stared down at the wide, yellow eyes, the twitching taloned fingers. The little beast opened its mouth and chuckled at her, like a crow with a dirty joke on its mind.”
Daniel Bensen, Groom of the Tyrannosaur Queen

“went just a little bit still when Trals's raptor got close. Andrea stared down at the wide, yellow eyes, the twitching taloned fingers. The little beast opened its mouth and chuckled at her, like a crow with a dirty joke on its mind.”
Daniel Bensen, Groom of the Tyrannosaur Queen

“everyone went just a little bit still when Trals's raptor got close. Andrea stared down at the wide, yellow eyes, the twitching taloned fingers. The little beast opened its mouth and chuckled at her, like a crow with a dirty joke on its mind.”
Daniel Bensen, Groom of the Tyrannosaur Queen

Topics Mentioning This Author

“Bad books on writing tell you to "WRITE WHAT YOU KNOW", a solemn and totally false adage that is the reason there exist so many mediocre novels about English professors contemplating adultery.”
Joe Haldeman

“Don't worry, Njrea," said Vrem, but everyone went just a little bit still when Trals's raptor got close. Andrea stared down at the wide, yellow eyes, the twitching taloned fingers. The little beast opened its mouth and chuckled at her, like a crow with a dirty joke on its mind.”
Daniel Bensen, Groom of the Tyrannosaur Queen

“Writing is a matter of finding the appropriate balance of dinosaurs and sodomy.”
Michael Swanwick

4170 The Sword and Laser — 23413 members — last activity 1 hour, 37 min ago
Online discussion forum for the Sword and Laser podcast and monthly book club pick. Subscribe to the audio podcast: http://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast ...more
53792 Indie Book Club — 1613 members — last activity Sep 07, 2019 08:44AM
This group is a book club to compliment the blog I maintain at http://indiebookblogger.blogspot.com We will focus on group reads of indie/small pub au ...more
25x33 Zero Pressure Book Club — 7 members — last activity Apr 04, 2014 09:06AM
Reading books for a monthly club doesn't always work out. This book club is for sharing books you love or want to talk about, especially (but not limi ...more
109220 Adventures in SciFi Publishing — 213 members — last activity Feb 19, 2019 10:26AM
Online hangout for readers of Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror. Subscribe to the podcast at: iTunes and Stitcher Radio. Newsletter subscribers are ...more
220 Goodreads Librarians Group — 97530 members — last activity 5 minutes ago
A place where all Goodreads members can work together to improve the Goodreads book catalog. Non-librarians are welcome to join the group as well, to ...more
109518 Writers-Room — 151 members — last activity Aug 24, 2019 02:47PM
Writers-Room is for international indie authors to have their voices heard. We already have a FREE website, here you can list your books, tell us some ...more
139949 Ask the Author — 636 members — last activity Apr 16, 2017 10:01PM
Hello friends, writers and readers. This is group about the new www.goodreads.com instrument "Ask the Author". let's use this best goodreads.com tool ...more
More of Daniel’s groups…



No comments have been added yet.