John H. Carroll

Claudet...
2,938 books | 4,993 friends

K.A. Jo...
391 books | 256 friends

William
224 books | 5,024 friends

Mike (t...
3,797 books | 1,255 friends

Mitsy
3,376 books | 1,273 friends

Brian R...
233 books | 5,046 friends

Phillip...
267 books | 285 friends

Melanie...
42 books | 340 friends

More friends…

John H. Carroll

Goodreads Author


Born
in Atlanta, The United States
Website

Twitter

Genre

Influences

Member Since
November 2010

URL


John H. Carroll was the youngest of seven children and was born in Atlanta, Georgia in 1970 where he was kept in a dresser drawer with the clean socks. Luckily, he wasn’t kept with the dirty socks or else he might have grown up to become slightly warped.

As a child, John spent most of his time wandering through the Mojave Desert in an attempt to avoid people. He would stare at the sky, imagining what it would be like to explore different worlds. One of his favorite memories is watching his dad build the fuselage of Evel Kneivel’s skycycle in their garage. One of his least favorite moments was watching that skycycle fall into the Snake River. (Not his dad’s fault and he has documentation to prove it, so nyah)

As a teenager, John spent most of
...more

Average rating: 3.52 · 2,565 ratings · 278 reviews · 35 distinct worksSimilar authors
The Emo Bunny That Should

3.21 avg rating — 513 ratings — published 2011 — 7 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
A New Pet in the Family

by
3.50 avg rating — 223 ratings — published 2011
Rate this book
Clear rating
Attack Of The Sugar Plum Fa...

3.35 avg rating — 165 ratings — published 2011 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Rojuun (Willden #1)

3.79 avg rating — 263 ratings — published 2010 — 6 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Unholy Cow

3.36 avg rating — 153 ratings — published 2011 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Zachary Zombie and the Lost...

3.39 avg rating — 213 ratings — published 2011 — 4 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Kethril (Willden #3)

4.22 avg rating — 72 ratings — published 2011 — 7 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Blue Haired Alien Girlfriend

3.05 avg rating — 143 ratings — published 2010 — 4 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Drippy the Peg-Legged Rainbow

3.51 avg rating — 120 ratings — published 2011 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Dralin (Dralin #1)

3.95 avg rating — 94 ratings — published 2011 — 5 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
More books by John H. Carroll…

Bounty, Book 2 of the Crazed Series

“Bounty” is finally available!

Book 2 of the Crazed Series and the 12th book set in the world of Ryallon.  This is a continuation of Tathan's story from the Willden Trilogy.

Smashwords
Apple
Kobo
Amazon
Amazon UK
B&N
Print

Bounty, Crazed Trilogy Book 2I want to give everyone a heads up that this ends in a bit of a cliffhanger, so you may want to wait until I have the next book out later in the ye... Read more of this blog post »
1 like ·   •  0 comments  •  flag
Twitter icon
Published on January 17, 2019 07:49 • 16 views
The Emo Bunny That Should Zachary Zombie and the Lost... Drippy the Peg-Legged Rainbow Unholy Cow Attack Of The Sugar Plum Fa... A Collection of Stories for...
(6 books)
by
3.33 avg rating — 1,188 ratings

Rojuun Anilyia Kethril
(3 books)
by
3.96 avg rating — 432 ratings

Dralin Ebudae Pelya
(3 books)
by
4.18 avg rating — 181 ratings

Upcoming Events

No scheduled events. Add an event.

Rojuun (Science Fiction & Fantasy)
4 chapters   —   updated May 13, 2015 06:31PM
Description: This is an excerpt from my book, "Rojuun"
Test Pilot (Science Fiction & Fantasy)
1 chapters   —   updated May 13, 2015 06:30PM
Description: Test Pilot is a free short story: Gregg Johnson was a test pilot in the Skull Squadron. The symbol for their squadron was a skull, because death was usually the end result of being a member. Gregg’s job was to get in the cockpit of new spaceships and find out what they could do.
Anilyia (Science Fiction & Fantasy)
1 chapters   —   updated May 13, 2015 06:30PM
Description: This is chapter 1 of book 2 of the "Rojuun" series. It is only a first draft, but will give readers a taste of what is to come.
The Legend of Van...
Rate this book
Clear rating

 
The Complete Ward...
Rate this book
Clear rating

 

John’s Recent Updates

Bounty by John H. Carroll
"Excellent! Could hardly put it down!

As always John has delivered an riveting tale filled with adventure a suspense. From the beginning I was hook by his description and fleshing out of one his most mysterious characters from earlier in the series...." Read more of this review »
John Carroll has read
Bounty by John H. Carroll
Rate this book
Clear rating
John Carroll is currently reading
The Legend of Vanx Malic Books I-IV Bundle by M.R. Mathias
Rate this book
Clear rating
John Carroll rated a book it was amazing
Scars of Devotion by Ben Kramer
Scars of Devotion
by Ben Kramer (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
I decided to give this book a try and I'm glad I did. It is an excellent and enjoyable fantasy with characters that were likable and believable. The pace of the story kept me reading all the way through the end. Being the first book he has published, ...more
John Carroll is currently reading
The Complete WardstoneTrilogy by M.R. Mathias
Rate this book
Clear rating
John Carroll has read
The Fortress of Gold by Stephen L. Nowland
Rate this book
Clear rating
Sidetracked by John H. Carroll
"Pelya is a near unstoppable force! John's handling of intricate fight scenes lets the reader imagine the moves of the characters much as if watching action movies. All the events however, make me wonder where Pelya's journey will end and who else..." Read more of this review »
Cloudswept by John H. Carroll
"An exciting and entertaining read, which is a fantastic and fun addition to the series."
John Carroll rated a book it was amazing
Soul Bonds by E.M. Sinclair
Rate this book
Clear rating
This is the first book in the Circles of Light Series. It is epic fantasy safe for young adults, though there is mild fantasy violence. If you're looking for books to keep your interest for lots of reading that may keep you up well past your bedtime, ...more
John Carroll made a comment on 5 years published
" Thank you. :)

I do agree that some are better than others. There are some I love and some I'm just not so fond of.

I really appreciate that you enjoy my
...more "
More of John's books…
“The flowers like me back.”
John H. Carroll, Rojuun

“There were glowing pumpkins and ghost lights in the yard and cheerful looking spiders and vampire posters everywhere.  “This is just disgusting,” Abel said in disgust, landing on a happy mummy poster staked in the yard.  “Must everything be commercialized these days?  I’m surprised the vampires don’t sparkle.”
John H. Carroll, Unholy Cow

“Runyx hated cherubs.  They were little jerks that ran around in diapers and shot things for no apparent reason.”
John H. Carroll, Unholy Cow

Topics Mentioning This Author

topics posts views last activity  
Nothing But Readi...: Denae's Challenges & Lists 57 140 Nov 21, 2011 02:29PM  
The Life of a Boo...: EllieNYC 200 Books to Love! 389 294 Dec 29, 2011 12:43PM  
Nothing But Readi...: Level 2 of the Serious Readers Challenge for 2011 252 348 Jan 03, 2012 12:26AM  
Kindle Lending: Campbell 28 69 Feb 11, 2013 09:32AM  
Fans of Amish Fic...: Barbara Ann's 2015 Reading Challenge 5 11 Dec 29, 2015 09:17PM  
David Estes Fans ...: Favorite Indie or Self Published Reads 35 28 May 09, 2016 11:49AM  
“The flowers like me back.”
John H. Carroll, Rojuun

“Your friends will know you better in the first minute you meet than your acquaintances will know you in a thousand years.”
Richard Bach

“A professional writer is an amateur who didn't quit.”
Richard Bach

“I couldn't wait for success, so I went ahead without it.”
Jonathan Winters

“If you are one in a million, there are seven thousand of you on the planet.”
M.R. Mathias

3364 Writerpedia — 1295 members — last activity Jan 14, 2019 12:24PM
This is a place to share knowledge. If you are writing and need to know something maybe someone here can give you an answer.
10915 Fantasy Book Club — 2203 members — last activity 11 hours, 14 min ago
For readers of Fantasy, monthly book discussions and other fun stuff! We hold nominations on the first Saturday of the month, the poll opens the foll ...more
55537 Smashwords Authors — 843 members — last activity Mar 21, 2019 12:09PM
A place for Smashwords Authors to find each other. You might be published in paper too but if you use Smashwords you can join here. Share concerns or ...more
6181 Goodreads Sci-Fi/Fantasy Authors — 2025 members — last activity Mar 20, 2019 04:59AM
Either you write it, Read it, But you must LOVE IT! DISCUSS!
31471 Goodreads Author Feedback Group — 11246 members — last activity Mar 21, 2019 06:59PM
This is the official group for authors to give Goodreads feedback about the site. Share your thoughts and questions about the Goodreads Author Program ...more
41948 Fantasy-Faction.com — 711 members — last activity Jan 01, 2017 01:36AM
Fantasy-Faction is a Fantasy Book Review Site and Forum Community. We review some of the genres leading titles as well as interview authors and post u ...more
43373 NOOKBOARDS — 45 members — last activity Nov 29, 2014 10:36PM
A place in the goodreads community for Nookboards members.
110615 Author Discussion Group — 73 members — last activity Sep 12, 2013 11:48PM
Join us here for discussions with select authors. Giveaways, excerpts, Q&As and other great activities will fill these pages.
132400 Amazon India — 213 members — last activity May 26, 2017 01:27AM
Books available on Amazon India
More of John’s groups…



Comments (showing 1-2)    post a comment »
dateUp arrow    newest »

message 2: by John

John Carroll I understand that completely. My wife ran through mine and she was afraid I would get upset if she said anything negative, lol. Once she realized that I was receptive to the critizism she gave me some really good advice.

Don't stress too much if you're behind. If you really enjoy writing, it's a lifetime thing I've found. setting goals for being at a certain point is good, but remember to forgive yourself if you don't make it. Deadlines can take some of the fun out of it.

Anyway, back to writing for me. *grin* 3 chapters left in the book and it's the exciting part. It's even more fun writing the part you can't put down than it is reading it.


message 1: by John

John Carroll Hi Molly.

I put it on there because I noticed you're just starting out and no one's read it. I'm finishing my second book at the moment so I probably won't read until January. After that I plan on at least reading a little bit.

If I don't like it, I'll at least let you know why, whether it's just not my style or if I feel there's something that can be improved . . . if you like. :)

It's hard to get people to start reading and giving their opinions, so I like to help when I can.

I wish you the best. :)

John


back to top