D.K. Marley

Michael
1,130 books | 224 friends

Anne Mo...
6 books | 358 friends

Maria✦❋...
999 books | 1,309 friends

Eva Mil...
7,923 books | 644 friends

Jack Getze
187 books | 1,185 friends

Poppy F...
1 book | 164 friends

Laura Lee
188 books | 488 friends

Jasmine
1,403 books | 149 friends

More friends…

D.K. Marley

Goodreads Author


Born
The United States
Website

Twitter

Genre

Influences

Member Since
April 2018

URL


D. K. Marley is a historical fiction writer specializing in Shakespearean themes. Her grandmother, an English Literature teacher, gave her a volume of Shakespeare's plays when she was eleven, inspiring DK to delve further into the rich Elizabethan language. Eleven years ago she began the research leading to the publication of her first novel "Blood and Ink," an epic tale of lost dreams, spurned love, jealousy and deception in Tudor England as the two men, William Shakespeare and Kit Marlowe, fight for one name and the famous works now known as the Shakespeare Folio.
She is an avid Shakespearean / Marlowan, a member of the Marlowe Society, the Shakespeare Fellowship and a signer of the Declaration of Intent for the Shakespeare Authorship Deba
...more

To ask D.K. Marley questions, please sign up.

Popular Answered Questions

D.K. Marley If you have a historical fiction novel you want me to review on my blog, email me a synopsis and a link to your ebook. Is this what you are asking?…moreIf you have a historical fiction novel you want me to review on my blog, email me a synopsis and a link to your ebook. Is this what you are asking? Email: dkmarley.author@gmail.com(less)
Average rating: 4.4 · 20 ratings · 15 reviews · 3 distinct works
Blood and Ink

4.47 avg rating — 15 ratings — published 2010 — 6 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Prince of Sorrows

4.20 avg rating — 5 ratings
Rate this book
Clear rating
Child of Love and Water

0.00 avg rating — 0 ratings
Rate this book
Clear rating

* Note: these are all the books on Goodreads for this author. To add more, click here.

Introducing Master Christopher “Kit” Marlowe, the often misunderstood genius poet, playwright and provocateur of the Elizabethan era. I love this summarization of his life from the Poetry Foundation and thought for those wondering about my own novel “Blood and Ink”, that you might like to know a little about the man I wrote about.

Here is the excerpt: “The achievement of Christopher Marlowe, poe...

Read more of this blog post »
 •  0 comments  •  flag
Twitter icon
Published on December 08, 2018 08:58

Upcoming Events

No scheduled events. Add an event.

D.K.’s Recent Updates

D.K. Marley wrote a new blog post
Introducing Master Christopher “Kit” Marlowe, the often misunderstood genius poet, playwright and provocateur of the Elizabethan era. I love this s... Read more of this blog post »
220
D.K. Marley rated a book it was amazing
The Marlowe Papers by Ros Barber
The Marlowe Papers
by Ros Barber (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
D.K. Marley rated a book it was amazing
Cold Mountain by Charles Frazier
Rate this book
Clear rating
There are very few books I have read in my life that truly move me. This is one. I savored each and every word of this book, the elegant prose, the descriptive language and scenery, the depth and emotion of the characters, the journey and changing li ...more
" Reviews for D K Marley's novel. "
" Discussion board for D K Marley's novel. "
" Reviews of Alex Marchant's novel. "
" Discussion board for Alex Marchant's novel. "
" Reviews for Paula Lofting's novel. "
D.K. Marley rated a book really liked it
My Australian Adventure by Rob Bauer
My Australian Adventure
by Rob Bauer (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
I must say right off the bat (baseball pun) that I loved the writing style, especially taken from first person since this is an extremely difficult POV to write from and do well. Rob Bauer does this incredibly well!! Next, the story-line intrigued me ...more
More of D.K.'s books…
“His mind relished the sudden prick of words as her soft, ethereal lips kissed his forehead, filling his mind with a rhythm of words.”
D.K. Marley, Blood and Ink

“In truth, I bear the fault alone, for a writer longs to see his words come to life, especially as a playwright to see the characters you create in your mind come to flesh and blood on the stage. What delight strokes the vanity of a writer to hear the swoons of the penny-stinkers clamorng at your feet and calling your name.”
D.K. Marley, Blood and Ink

“In truth, I bear the fault alone, for a writer longs to see his words come to life, especially as a playwright to see the characters you create in your mind come to flesh and blood on the stage. What delight strokes the vanity of a writer to hear the swoons of the penny-stinkers clamoring at your feet and calling your name.”
D.K. Marley, Blood and Ink

Topics Mentioning This Author

topics posts views last activity  
Goodreads Reviewe...: Do you need your book reviewed? 27 211 Aug 29, 2018 02:00AM  
Goodreads Reviewe...: Can I review your book? 23 137 Sep 27, 2018 05:33PM  
“We know what we are, but not what we may be.”
William Shakespeare

“Perhaps he knew, as I did not, that the Earth was made round so that we would not see too far down the road.”
Isak Dinesen, Out of Africa

“People who dream when they sleep at night know of a special kind of happiness which the world of the day holds not, a placid ecstasy, and ease of heart, that are like honey on the tongue. They also know that the real glory of dreams lies in their atmosphere of unlimited freedom. It is not the freedom of the dictator, who enforces his own will on the world, but the freedom of the artist, who has no will, who is free of will. The pleasure of the true dreamer does not lie in the substance of the dream, but in this: that there things happen without any interference from his side, and altogether outside his control. Great landscapes create themselves, long splendid views, rich and delicate colours, roads, houses, which he has never seen or heard of...”
Isak Dinesen, Out of Africa

“His mind relished the sudden prick of words as her soft, ethereal lips kissed his forehead, filling his mind with a rhythm of words.”
D.K. Marley, Blood and Ink

“In truth, I bear the fault alone, for a writer longs to see his words come to life, especially as a playwright to see the characters you create in your mind come to flesh and blood on the stage. What delight strokes the vanity of a writer to hear the swoons of the penny-stinkers clamoring at your feet and calling your name.”
D.K. Marley, Blood and Ink

22454 Historical Fictionistas — 10081 members — last activity 48 minutes ago
Welcome to Historical Fictionistas! We want to experience all different kinds of HF with all different kinds of people. The more diverse, the better. ...more
602038 The Historical Fiction Book Club — 44 members — last activity Dec 02, 2018 04:38AM
Four books a month book club based on historical fiction. 48 books - 12 months! Purchase the featured books - as a reader, you will be entered in the ...more
105786 Goodreads Reviewers' Group — 5465 members — last activity 16 hours, 50 min ago
This group helps to bring Reviewers and Authors together! Reviewers can make their own thread to post their reviews in, or post their reviews in the r ...more
201296 The Reviews Community for Indie Books — 785 members — last activity 8 hours, 28 min ago
Want to see more verified purchase reviews on Amazon? Want a group who will honestly point you to the good Indie authors? Getting noticed, read and re ...more
80345 Historical Fiction — 1283 members — last activity Dec 11, 2018 02:51PM
This is a group for all lovers of Historical Fiction and History to share the wonderful books they've read and to discover new books set in the past.
69932 History Buffs United — 508 members — last activity Dec 07, 2018 12:23AM
This group is for anyone who loves to read or write historical fiction. Our purpose is to recommend great reads, share our own writing, and help fello ...more
100482 Genre Specific Review Groups — 1503 members — last activity Dec 15, 2018 12:45PM
Following the example of fellow Goodreads group, "Review Group", this group believes support for our Indie authors is extremely important. Many of the ...more
220 Goodreads Librarians Group — 89078 members — last activity 5 minutes ago
A place where all Goodreads members can work together to improve the Goodreads book catalog. Non-librarians are welcome to join the group as well, to ...more
14639 The Cemetery of Lost Books — 385 members — last activity Dec 15, 2018 05:32PM
For fans of Carlos Ruiz Zafon, The Shadow of the Wind, The Cemetery of Lost Books, and books & reading in general. For more info visit http://www.carl ...more
8115 The History Book Club — 16706 members — last activity 10 hours, 2 min ago
"Interested in history - then you have found the right group". The History Book Club is the largest history and nonfiction group on Goodreads and the ...more
More of D.K.’s groups…



No comments have been added yet.