Olga Werby

year in books

Olga Werby’s Followers (190)

member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
Clare O...
7,030 books | 338 friends

John Mauro
1,185 books | 2,255 friends

Colin
3,156 books | 366 friends

Molly
1,467 books | 118 friends

Ken Liu
44 books | 289 friends

Lily
1,222 books | 1,766 friends

Jasper ...
419 books | 231 friends

Gerri Gray
109 books | 853 friends

More friends…

Olga Werby

Goodreads Author


Born
Saint Petersburg, Russian Federation
Website

Twitter

Genre

Member Since
September 2015

URL


To ask Olga Werby questions, please sign up.

Popular Answered Questions

Olga Werby I came to America as a refuge. The story of how that happened -- secret communications, the secret service interrogations, hidden data, the waiting ou…moreI came to America as a refuge. The story of how that happened -- secret communications, the secret service interrogations, hidden data, the waiting out in Germany, Austria, and Italy -- would make a rather nice little thriller although not a mystery. After all, I know how it all turned out.(less)
Average rating: 4.18 · 182 ratings · 76 reviews · 20 distinct worksSimilar authors
Harvest

4.27 avg rating — 30 ratings — published 2019 — 4 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Becoming Animals

by
4.50 avg rating — 16 ratings
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Fatoff Conspiracy

3.53 avg rating — 19 ratings — published 2015 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
God of Small Affairs

4.55 avg rating — 11 ratings — published 2019 — 2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Suddenly, Paris (Many World...

by
really liked it 4.00 avg rating — 8 ratings — published 2009 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Pigeon (The Ornis Experimen...

4.67 avg rating — 6 ratings — published 2015 — 2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Good Girl

4.80 avg rating — 5 ratings2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Mirror Shards

4.60 avg rating — 5 ratings — published 2021 — 2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Twin Time

by
4.40 avg rating — 5 ratings — published 2016 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Coding Peter (Many Worlds, ...

by
it was amazing 5.00 avg rating — 4 ratings — published 2016 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
More books by Olga Werby…

My Writing is My Phrontistery

Phrontistery is an Ancient Greek word meaning “a place for thinking.” I love cool words and phrontistery does not only feel good on the tongue, but its meaning really appeals to me — there is a word that describes a space that is specifically dedicated to thinking! For many people, bathroom is a perfect phrontistery. It is for me, too. Shower scores high as well. But I think I do my best thinking

Read more of this blog post »
 •  0 comments  •  flag
Share on Twitter
Published on November 10, 2022 09:17
Suddenly, Paris Coding Peter
(2 books)
by
4.33 avg rating — 12 ratings

Pigeon
(1 book)
by
4.67 avg rating — 6 ratings

Olga’s Recent Updates

Olga Werby is now friends with John Mauro
26741582
Olga Werby rated a book it was amazing
The Man Who Fell to Earth by Walter Tevis
Rate this book
Clear rating
It had to be David Bowie.

First contact story from the other side. It was like looking at the world through a funhouse mirror…or was the mirror flat?
Olga Werby rated a book it was amazing
An Absolutely Remarkable Thing by Hank Green
Rate this book
Clear rating
Olga Werby rated a book it was amazing
Powers by Ursula K. Le Guin
Rate this book
Clear rating
Le Guin is a master world builder.

She conjures worlds and societies that are not only broad and detailed but deep with histories that makes sense. And she does so effortlessly. Her characters are not just dropped into these fictional realms, they are
...more
Olga Werby rated a book it was amazing
Everybody Lies by Seth Stephens-Davidowitz
Rate this book
Clear rating
Can’t recommend strongly enough!

Just read it. You won’t be sorry!
Olga Werby rated a book liked it
Zen in the Art of Writing by Ray Bradbury
Rate this book
Clear rating
Today, it would be a collection of blog posts…
…amusing anecdotes of personal life mixed a bit with a personal philosophy about writing.
Olga Werby rated a book really liked it
There's a (Slight) Chance I Might Be Going to Hell by Laurie Notaro
Rate this book
Clear rating
Diverting.
Olga Werby rated a book really liked it
The Last Shadow by Orson Scott Card
Rate this book
Clear rating
A nice conclusion that brings together threads from the rest of the books.

If I could give it 4.5 stars, I would have. It’s good, but it’s no Ender’s Shadow…
Olga Werby rated a book it was amazing
The Lathe of Heaven by Ursula K. Le Guin
Rate this book
Clear rating
If you can change one thing, what would it be? What are the consequences?
And if you could change the world, should you?
Interesting premise written with all of the passion and compassion of the incomparable genius of Ursula K. Le Guin.
Olga Werby answered Goodreads's question: Olga Werby
I came to America as a refuge. The story of how that happened -- secret communications, the secret service interrogations, hidden data, the waiting out in Germany, Austria, and Italy -- would make a rather nice little thriller although not a mystery. See Full Answer
More of Olga's books…
Quotes by Olga Werby  (?)
Quotes are added by the Goodreads community and are not verified by Goodreads. (Learn more)

“Societies continuously try to recreate themselves — shared holidays, shared news, shared traditions, shared language, shared music, shared myths, shared victories, and shared griefs. Shared origins… So by telling each other stories, we recreate ourselves over and over again. Where do we come from? Where are we going? Who are our heroes? Who are the villains? These stories pass our values as a society from one generation to the next. It’s how we understand each other.”
Olga Werby, Twin Time

“Humans seem to have a really hard time learning from their own mistakes. History is often forgotten, warnings from the past not heeded. But we do enjoy a good story or two. So how about learning from the future? Jew-ish Sci-Fi is a prophetic genre. Lot’s of people write in it. Lot’s of people enjoy reading it…even the ones who focus on werebears…”
Olga Werby

“Our memories are not static. Each time we reach for one, we refresh and form new neuron connections, in fact changing the memory itself via our contemplation of it. Like Heisenberg Uncertainty Principle — we can observe a particle’s momentum or its position but not both simultaneously — each time we recall a particular event, we change it due to that recollection. After the mental touch, the memory is no longer the same. And this is true not just in some metaphorical sense, but in a real, tangible, physical way — the act of recall alters the neuron structures forever! And yet we eagerly recollect our favorite memories, and we just as eagerly try to forget the painful ones (and the very act of thinking of those painful memories makes them that much stronger, that much more connected and integrated into our neural memory networks).”
Olga Werby, Becoming Animals

Topics Mentioning This Author

topics posts views last activity  
Sci-fi Women: Female Authors? 107 799 Jun 13, 2022 03:06PM  
“Having had some experience as a sci-fi writer myself, I found Suddenly Paris to be a very nicely written, YA Sci-Fi novel that turns the story of THE MATRIX on its head. It explores the following question. What if, instead of being people trapped in a synthesized dream world, we only think we are real? The ethical and existential questions that go along with computer generated characters inside a simulation acquiring self-awareness without an awareness that they are living in a simulated world are dealt with in a very entertaining story. Enjoy.”
Richard Phillips, The Second Ship

“The plot of "Suddenly, Paris" novel is fantastic; you have to read it!”
Readers' Favorite

“When I think of cyberpunk, I inevitably relive in my mind the awesomeness that was William Gibson's pioneering cyberpunk masterpiece, Neuromancer. That book changed the way I looked at science fiction and revitalized the promise it held to the world. Lizard Girl & Ghost comes as close to that experience and that promise as anything I've read since.”
Readers' Favorite

“Becoming Animals" is a very interesting, enjoyable, and thought-provoking read; a brilliant addition to the libraries of science fiction and fantasy fans, as well as anyone who simply enjoys a good story.”
Readers' Favorite

“Harvest" is a deep and meaningful exploration of the complexities regarding the origins of the human race as well as the intentions of an alien species.”
Readers' Favorite

220 Goodreads Librarians Group — 170643 members — last activity 0 minutes ago
A place where all Goodreads members can work together to improve the Goodreads book catalog. Non-librarians are welcome to join the group as well, to ...more
154447 Support for Indie Authors — 15936 members — last activity Nov 28, 2022 05:56AM
Officially 15k Members Strong & Climbing!! Building and supporting a community of self-published authors dedicated to both sharing experiences and le ...more
109220 Adventures in SciFi Publishing — 214 members — last activity Nov 22, 2021 03:43PM
Online hangout for readers of Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror. Subscribe to the podcast at: iTunes and Stitcher Radio. Newsletter subscribers ar ...more



Comments (showing 1-1)    post a comment »
dateUp arrow    newest »

message 1: by Olga

Olga Werby Just posted an Amazon Giveaway for "The FATOFF Conspiracy"! Please play and I hope you win: giveaway.amazon.com/p/b31eddb565f8bd52


back to top