Olga Werby

year in books
Ken Liu
35 books | 206 friends

Clare O...
6,462 books | 333 friends

Lily
1,072 books | 1,112 friends

Colin
2,349 books | 342 friends

Molly
1,031 books | 113 friends

Cristin...
898 books | 331 friends

Booksch...
5,594 books | 1,475 friends

Bill Kr...
385 books | 37 friends

More friends…

Olga Werby

Goodreads Author


Born
Saint Petersburg, Russian Federation
Website

Twitter

Genre

Member Since
September 2015

URL


To ask Olga Werby questions, please sign up.

Popular Answered Questions

Olga Werby Are you sure there is no coffee? We have coffee, but the milk is sour and there is no sweetener?!
Olga Werby Myst -- I would travel into the book worlds of Myst and Riven: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Myst. And yes, there were books too, so it counts as a "r…moreMyst -- I would travel into the book worlds of Myst and Riven: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Myst. And yes, there were books too, so it counts as a "read". I love the imaginative and mesmerizing landscapes and a tragic tale. I also love that nothing jumps out at you. I want to look and enjoy the scenery and not be accidentally eaten or shot or killed...or have to kill or hurt anyone. I like to keep my murders only to my main characters. Places I visit, I prefer much more peaceful. When asked if I would want to visit any of of my books, I said "God no!" I stand by my answer...(less)
Average rating: 4.27 · 136 ratings · 59 reviews · 19 distinct worksSimilar authors
Becoming Animals

by
4.60 avg rating — 15 ratings
Rate this book
Clear rating
The FATOFF Conspiracy

3.50 avg rating — 18 ratings — published 2015 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Harvest

4.53 avg rating — 19 ratings — published 2019 — 4 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Suddenly, Paris (Many World...

by
really liked it 4.00 avg rating — 8 ratings — published 2009 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
God of Small Affairs

it was amazing 5.00 avg rating — 7 ratings2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Lizard Girl & Ghost

4.25 avg rating — 4 ratings2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Twin Time

by
4.40 avg rating — 5 ratings — published 2016 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Good Girl

it was amazing 5.00 avg rating — 3 ratings
Rate this book
Clear rating
Fresh Seed

4.67 avg rating — 3 ratings
Rate this book
Clear rating
Pigeon (The Ornis Experimen...

4.33 avg rating — 3 ratings — published 2015 — 2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
More books by Olga Werby…

Where Can We Go When It’s Savage Outside?

COVID had us all isolated from one another, the West Coast fire hellscape has us locked-in — can’t even open a window. Instead of fog, the foghorns sing for the smoke swirling around the Bay Area and around the Golden Gate Bridge. Between the politics, pandemic, and fires, it’s easy to get stuck in negative emotions and thoughts. The other night, I was in full panic mode when I realized that there

Read more of this blog post »
1 like ·   •  3 comments  •  flag
Share on Twitter
Published on September 12, 2020 14:18
Suddenly, Paris Coding Peter
(2 books)
by
4.33 avg rating — 12 ratings

Pigeon
(1 book)
by
4.33 avg rating — 3 ratings

Upcoming Events

No scheduled events. Add an event.

Olga’s Recent Updates

Olga Werby is now friends with Bill Krauss
21945191
" Clare wrote: "Harrowing experiences."They were. Between the revolution, Stalin, and WWII, we've lost a lot of family. But it's not like we don't have ...more "
Olga Werby rated a book liked it
Hiddensee by Gregory Maguire
Rate this book
Clear rating
If you can survive the beginning, you might enjoy it.

I have to admit that I’ve almost put it down about 10% in, but decided to slog it out a bit farther. I really didn’t like the beginning. It is off and creepy, not in a good way. It also has little
...more
Olga Werby rated a book it was amazing
The Wolf in the Attic by Paul Kearney
The Wolf in the Attic
by Paul Kearney (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
Beautiful, haunted, lyrical, ancient…

Finished the whole book in basically one go. Not sure what I imagined the book was about, but it didn’t matter. It took me away, made me cry a little. More than anything it had the feel of Susan Cooper’s “Over Sea
...more
Olga Werby rated a book it was amazing
84K by Claire North
Rate this book
Clear rating
Perhaps this clicks a bit too close to home in the age of Trump...

It was a good book, brilliantly written. It is very dystopic and might not be the right cup of tea for all people at all moments of their lives. But next time someone considers voting
...more
Olga Werby rated a book it was amazing
Kafka on the Shore by Haruki Murakami
Rate this book
Clear rating
A Surreal Dream of a Story

Sometimes a book is all about narrative; sometimes it’s just waves of emotions, swallowing you whole, leaving a little confused, a little sad, a little lost in your own labyrinth of books. I found this one perfect.
Olga Werby rated a book liked it
Broken Stars by Ken Liu
Rate this book
Clear rating
Things are always lost in translation, especially cultural references.

Some stories read more like fables than science fiction. Some felt like the retailing of Western stories. All had very deep cultural roots. For those who enjoy the genre and study
...more
Olga Werby rated a book it was amazing
The Road by Cormac McCarthy
Rate this book
Clear rating
Good book...but perhaps 2020 is not the right time to read it.

This is a very dark story. But it is very well written. You feel yourself there...lost in the horror of the pages.
Olga Werby rated a book it was amazing
The Pursuit of the Pankera by Robert A. Heinlein
Rate this book
Clear rating
This is a love letter to Edgar Rice Burroughs and John Carter of Mars.

I first read this story when I was 17 and returning to it felt like slipping into comfy slippers… That said, stories we love as children tend not to age well. I love Jules Verne, b
...more
Olga Werby rated a book it was amazing
Good Girl by Olga Werby
Good Girl
by Olga Werby (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
More of Olga's books…
“Humans seem to have a really hard time learning from their own mistakes. History is often forgotten, warnings from the past not heeded. But we do enjoy a good story or two. So how about learning from the future? Jew-ish Sci-Fi is a prophetic genre. Lot’s of people write in it. Lot’s of people enjoy reading it…even the ones who focus on werebears…”
Olga Werby

“Our memories are not static. Each time we reach for one, we refresh and form new neuron connections, in fact changing the memory itself via our contemplation of it. Like Heisenberg Uncertainty Principle — we can observe a particle’s momentum or its position but not both simultaneously — each time we recall a particular event, we change it due to that recollection. After the mental touch, the memory is no longer the same. And this is true not just in some metaphorical sense, but in a real, tangible, physical way — the act of recall alters the neuron structures forever! And yet we eagerly recollect our favorite memories, and we just as eagerly try to forget the painful ones (and the very act of thinking of those painful memories makes them that much stronger, that much more connected and integrated into our neural memory networks).”
Olga Werby, Becoming Animals

“Societies continuously try to recreate themselves — shared holidays, shared news, shared traditions, shared language, shared music, shared myths, shared victories, and shared griefs. Shared origins… So by telling each other stories, we recreate ourselves over and over again. Where do we come from? Where are we going? Who are our heroes? Who are the villains? These stories pass our values as a society from one generation to the next. It’s how we understand each other.”
Olga Werby, Twin Time

Topics Mentioning This Author

topics posts views last activity  
Sci-fi Women: Female Authors? 94 748 Aug 09, 2020 09:51AM  
“Having had some experience as a sci-fi writer myself, I found Suddenly Paris to be a very nicely written, YA Sci-Fi novel that turns the story of THE MATRIX on its head. It explores the following question. What if, instead of being people trapped in a synthesized dream world, we only think we are real? The ethical and existential questions that go along with computer generated characters inside a simulation acquiring self-awareness without an awareness that they are living in a simulated world are dealt with in a very entertaining story. Enjoy.”
Richard Phillips, The Rho Agenda Inception

“The plot of "Suddenly, Paris" novel is fantastic; you have to read it!”
Readers' Favorite

“When I think of cyberpunk, I inevitably relive in my mind the awesomeness that was William Gibson's pioneering cyberpunk masterpiece, Neuromancer. That book changed the way I looked at science fiction and revitalized the promise it held to the world. Lizard Girl & Ghost comes as close to that experience and that promise as anything I've read since.”
Readers' Favorite

“Becoming Animals" is a very interesting, enjoyable, and thought-provoking read; a brilliant addition to the libraries of science fiction and fantasy fans, as well as anyone who simply enjoys a good story.”
Readers' Favorite

“Harvest" is a deep and meaningful exploration of the complexities regarding the origins of the human race as well as the intentions of an alien species.”
Readers' Favorite

220 Goodreads Librarians Group — 113225 members — last activity 12 minutes ago
A place where all Goodreads members can work together to improve the Goodreads book catalog. Non-librarians are welcome to join the group as well, to ...more
154447 Support for Indie Authors — 15344 members — last activity 12 minutes ago
Officially 15k Members Strong & Climbing!! Building and supporting a community of self-published authors dedicated to both sharing experiences and le ...more
109220 Adventures in SciFi Publishing — 215 members — last activity Sep 14, 2020 02:58PM
Online hangout for readers of Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror. Subscribe to the podcast at: iTunes and Stitcher Radio. Newsletter subscribers ar ...more



Comments (showing 1-1)    post a comment »
dateUp arrow    newest »

message 1: by Olga

Olga Werby Just posted an Amazon Giveaway for "The FATOFF Conspiracy"! Please play and I hope you win: giveaway.amazon.com/p/b31eddb565f8bd52


back to top