Olga Werby

year in books
Heather...
204 books | 171 friends

Booksch...
5,291 books | 1,461 friends

Cristin...
878 books | 331 friends

Colin
2,302 books | 343 friends

Irina S...
1 book | 162 friends

Clare O...
6,284 books | 330 friends

Molly
970 books | 114 friends

Ken Liu
35 books | 200 friends

More friends…

Olga Werby

Goodreads Author


Born
Saint Petersburg, Russian Federation
Website

Twitter

Genre

Member Since
September 2015

URL


To ask Olga Werby questions, please sign up.

Popular Answered Questions

Olga Werby Are you sure there is no coffee? We have coffee, but the milk is sour and there is no sweetener?!
Olga Werby Myst -- I would travel into the book worlds of Myst and Riven: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Myst. And yes, there were books too, so it counts as a "r…moreMyst -- I would travel into the book worlds of Myst and Riven: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Myst. And yes, there were books too, so it counts as a "read". I love the imaginative and mesmerizing landscapes and a tragic tale. I also love that nothing jumps out at you. I want to look and enjoy the scenery and not be accidentally eaten or shot or killed...or have to kill or hurt anyone. I like to keep my murders only to my main characters. Places I visit, I prefer much more peaceful. When asked if I would want to visit any of of my books, I said "God no!" I stand by my answer...(less)
Average rating: 4.3 · 119 ratings · 54 reviews · 18 distinct worksSimilar authors
Becoming Animals

by
4.60 avg rating — 15 ratings
Rate this book
Clear rating
The FATOFF Conspiracy

3.50 avg rating — 18 ratings — published 2015 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Harvest

4.53 avg rating — 19 ratings — published 2019 — 4 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Suddenly, Paris (Many World...

by
really liked it 4.00 avg rating — 8 ratings — published 2009 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Twin Time

by
4.40 avg rating — 5 ratings — published 2016 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
God of Small Affairs

it was amazing 5.00 avg rating — 5 ratings2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Lizard Girl & Ghost

4.33 avg rating — 3 ratings2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Pigeon (The Ornis Experimen...

4.33 avg rating — 3 ratings — published 2015 — 2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Interfaces.com: Cognitive T...

really liked it 4.00 avg rating — 3 ratings — published 2008 — 2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Coding Peter (Many Worlds, ...

by
it was amazing 5.00 avg rating — 4 ratings — published 2016 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
More books by Olga Werby…

On Writing and Reading and Learning and Teaching

Supermarket Science Home Page


Learning and Teaching

I will start with learning. One of the tragic things about this pandemic is that our kids are missing out on education. This can’t be helped — schools are the hotbeds for viruses. It is common wisdom that a new elementary school teacher needs to survive the first few years of being continuously ill — little ones love to share hugs and kisses and snot, all in equal measure.

Read more of this blog post »
1 like ·   •  3 comments  •  flag
Share on Twitter
Published on May 14, 2020 13:51
Suddenly, Paris Coding Peter
(2 books)
by
4.33 avg rating — 12 ratings

Pigeon
(1 book)
by
4.33 avg rating — 3 ratings

Upcoming Events

No scheduled events. Add an event.

Olga’s Recent Updates

" Clare wrote: "Got to get them reading!"below... "
Olga Werby is now friends with Irina Shamaeva
26616229
Olga Werby rated a book liked it
Lies of the Beholder by Brandon Sanderson
Rate this book
Clear rating
It felt like Sanderson was done with this story and characters so he just ended it. I was very disappointed.
Coding Peter by Olga Werby
"This is a worthy follow up to the first book in the series, Suddenly Paris. I loved Suddenly Paris because it demonstrated a novel approach to the established genre. Then, I read many other books by Olga Werby and really appreciated her ability to ke" Read more of this review »
Olga Werby rated a book really liked it
Lexicon by Max Barry
Lexicon
by Max Barry (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
Interesting ideas mired by magic words:

This a fast-paced thriller with fascinating insights into the use of media today...but then instead of capitalizing on the richness of linguistic science mixed with socio-anthropology, the author goes for an eas
...more
Lizard Girl & Ghost by Olga Werby
" Thank you for reading and reviewing! I always thought that we made of a collection of personal stories. The devastating impact of any brain injury or ...more "
Olga Werby rated a book really liked it
Hawksbill Station by Robert Silverberg
Rate this book
Clear rating
All revolutions improve with distance...

...a distance of time or space or both. This was a short read and perhaps would have been better if it stayed a short story. And I think our current political climate (USA 2020) was the wrong background for thi
...more
Olga Werby rated a book it was amazing
How to Stop Time by Matt Haig
How to Stop Time
by Matt Haig (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
Beautifully written story about the power of time.

We always contemplate that there is not enough time to do all we want, but what if there is too much time? There are plenty of books/stories out there about immortality as a curse (watch everyone you
...more
Olga Werby rated a book it was amazing
Uprooted by Naomi Novik
Uprooted
by Naomi Novik (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
Adults like fairytales, too...but I wish I could give 4.5 stars—"Spinning Silver" was a much better story

First of all, don't be fulled by the genre "fairytale". There are sex & sexual violence/exploitation, graphical descriptions of murder and tortur
...more
Suddenly, Paris by Olga Werby
"I really enjoyed this book. I did find the teenage "angst" at the beginning a bit much... but I left my teen years behind a LONG time ago! But other than that I had no complaints. It was well written science fiction that also blended in some coming o" Read more of this review »
More of Olga's books…
“Humans seem to have a really hard time learning from their own mistakes. History is often forgotten, warnings from the past not heeded. But we do enjoy a good story or two. So how about learning from the future? Jew-ish Sci-Fi is a prophetic genre. Lot’s of people write in it. Lot’s of people enjoy reading it…even the ones who focus on werebears…”
Olga Werby

“Our memories are not static. Each time we reach for one, we refresh and form new neuron connections, in fact changing the memory itself via our contemplation of it. Like Heisenberg Uncertainty Principle — we can observe a particle’s momentum or its position but not both simultaneously — each time we recall a particular event, we change it due to that recollection. After the mental touch, the memory is no longer the same. And this is true not just in some metaphorical sense, but in a real, tangible, physical way — the act of recall alters the neuron structures forever! And yet we eagerly recollect our favorite memories, and we just as eagerly try to forget the painful ones (and the very act of thinking of those painful memories makes them that much stronger, that much more connected and integrated into our neural memory networks).”
Olga Werby, Becoming Animals

“Societies continuously try to recreate themselves — shared holidays, shared news, shared traditions, shared language, shared music, shared myths, shared victories, and shared griefs. Shared origins… So by telling each other stories, we recreate ourselves over and over again. Where do we come from? Where are we going? Who are our heroes? Who are the villains? These stories pass our values as a society from one generation to the next. It’s how we understand each other.”
Olga Werby, Twin Time

Topics Mentioning This Author

topics posts views last activity  
Sci-fi Women: Female Authors? 87 735 Dec 22, 2019 02:26AM  
“Having had some experience as a sci-fi writer myself, I found Suddenly Paris to be a very nicely written, YA Sci-Fi novel that turns the story of THE MATRIX on its head. It explores the following question. What if, instead of being people trapped in a synthesized dream world, we only think we are real? The ethical and existential questions that go along with computer generated characters inside a simulation acquiring self-awareness without an awareness that they are living in a simulated world are dealt with in a very entertaining story. Enjoy.”
Richard Phillips, The Rho Agenda Inception

“The plot of "Suddenly, Paris" novel is fantastic; you have to read it!”
Readers' Favorite

“When I think of cyberpunk, I inevitably relive in my mind the awesomeness that was William Gibson's pioneering cyberpunk masterpiece, Neuromancer. That book changed the way I looked at science fiction and revitalized the promise it held to the world. Lizard Girl & Ghost comes as close to that experience and that promise as anything I've read since.”
Readers' Favorite

“Becoming Animals" is a very interesting, enjoyable, and thought-provoking read; a brilliant addition to the libraries of science fiction and fantasy fans, as well as anyone who simply enjoys a good story.”
Readers' Favorite

“Harvest" is a deep and meaningful exploration of the complexities regarding the origins of the human race as well as the intentions of an alien species.”
Readers' Favorite

220 Goodreads Librarians Group — 108126 members — last activity 1 minute ago
A place where all Goodreads members can work together to improve the Goodreads book catalog. Non-librarians are welcome to join the group as well, to ...more
154447 Support for Indie Authors — 15217 members — last activity 23 minutes ago
Officially 15k Members Strong & Climbing!! Building and supporting a community of self-published authors dedicated to both sharing experiences and le ...more
109220 Adventures in SciFi Publishing — 216 members — last activity May 18, 2020 03:39PM
Online hangout for readers of Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror. Subscribe to the podcast at: iTunes and Stitcher Radio. Newsletter subscribers ar ...more



Comments (showing 1-1)    post a comment »
dateUp arrow    newest »

message 1: by Olga

Olga Werby Just posted an Amazon Giveaway for "The FATOFF Conspiracy"! Please play and I hope you win: giveaway.amazon.com/p/b31eddb565f8bd52


back to top