Olga Werby

year in books
Molly
1,194 books | 118 friends

Booksch...
5,766 books | 1,498 friends

Gerri Gray
97 books | 251 friends

Colin
2,590 books | 349 friends

Ken Liu
37 books | 222 friends

Cristin...
954 books | 340 friends

Clare O...
6,607 books | 337 friends

Michael...
55 books | 123 friends

More friends…

Olga Werby

Goodreads Author


Born
Saint Petersburg, Russian Federation
Website

Twitter

Genre

Member Since
September 2015

URL


To ask Olga Werby questions, please sign up.

Popular Answered Questions

Olga Werby Are you sure there is no coffee? We have coffee, but the milk is sour and there is no sweetener?!
Olga Werby Myst -- I would travel into the book worlds of Myst and Riven: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Myst. And yes, there were books too, so it counts as a "r…moreMyst -- I would travel into the book worlds of Myst and Riven: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Myst. And yes, there were books too, so it counts as a "read". I love the imaginative and mesmerizing landscapes and a tragic tale. I also love that nothing jumps out at you. I want to look and enjoy the scenery and not be accidentally eaten or shot or killed...or have to kill or hurt anyone. I like to keep my murders only to my main characters. Places I visit, I prefer much more peaceful. When asked if I would want to visit any of of my books, I said "God no!" I stand by my answer...(less)
Average rating: 4.19 · 159 ratings · 66 reviews · 20 distinct worksSimilar authors
Becoming Animals

by
4.60 avg rating — 15 ratings
Rate this book
Clear rating
The FATOFF Conspiracy

3.50 avg rating — 18 ratings — published 2015 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Harvest

4.41 avg rating — 22 ratings — published 2019 — 4 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
God of Small Affairs

4.55 avg rating — 11 ratings — published 2019 — 2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Suddenly, Paris (Many World...

by
really liked it 4.00 avg rating — 8 ratings — published 2009 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Good Girl

it was amazing 5.00 avg rating — 4 ratings
Rate this book
Clear rating
Pigeon (The Ornis Experimen...

4.50 avg rating — 4 ratings — published 2015 — 2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Lizard Girl & Ghost

4.25 avg rating — 4 ratings2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Twin Time

by
4.40 avg rating — 5 ratings — published 2016 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Fresh Seed

4.67 avg rating — 3 ratings
Rate this book
Clear rating
More books by Olga Werby…

New Book: Mirror Shards

I found the pandemic not very conducing to marketing or facing the world in more public ways. I did write a lot and have several books in various stages of readiness. But there was one story I wanted to enter into a competition (the books I’ve entered last year, God of Small Affairs, placed as a semi-finalist). So after sitting on Mirror Shards for almost a year, I’m finally releasing this book in

Read more of this blog post »
 •  0 comments  •  flag
Share on Twitter
Published on May 11, 2021 16:35
Suddenly, Paris Coding Peter
(2 books)
by
4.33 avg rating — 12 ratings

Pigeon
(1 book)
by
4.50 avg rating — 4 ratings

Upcoming Events

No scheduled events. Add an event.

Olga’s Recent Updates

Olga Werby wrote a new blog post

New Book: Mirror Shards

I found the pandemic not very conducing to marketing or facing the world in more public ways. I did write a lot and have several books in various stag Read more of this blog post »
Olga Werby rated a book it was amazing
Mirror Shards by Olga Werby
Mirror Shards
by Olga Werby (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
Olga Werby rated a book really liked it
Slade House by David Mitchell
Rate this book
Clear rating
Like a dark chocolate — goes down fast and easy.

A horror in four parts. Not scary but quick.

Surprisingly, to me, it was written by the same man who co-translated “The Reason I Jump” — a personal account of an autistic boy. A very worthwhile book.

Oh,
...more
Olga Werby rated a book it was amazing
A Desolation Called Peace by Arkady Martine
Rate this book
Clear rating

Well developed, thoughtful, imaginative, a fun ride

I loved the first book in the series and I love this one even more. I like the complexity of relationships and the use of language. In particular, it was great fun to read about linguistics. The scie
...more
Olga Werby rated a book liked it
Stardust by Neil Gaiman
Stardust
by Neil Gaiman (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
Imaginative but flat

I know I will probably be vilified for this…

I have always found Neil Gaiman to be very imaginative. He weaves intricate and very detailed backgrounds for his stories. His characters seem to be coming from interesting places…but t
...more
Olga Werby rated a book really liked it
The Starless Sea by Erin Morgenstern
The Starless Sea
by Erin Morgenstern (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
Haunting and yet extremely confusing and meandering

I like complicated novels. I like magical realism (surrealism in this case). But this story had no plot. There were fun sub-stories. There were interesting characters. The world was cool. But you nev
...more
Olga Werby rated a book really liked it
Killing Commendatore by Haruki Murakami
Rate this book
Clear rating
Same themes and ideas recycled from his other books, but it was still a fun ride.
Olga Werby and 12 other people liked Moonkiszt's review of God of Small Affairs:
God of Small Affairs by Olga Werby
"God of Small Affairs
by Olga Werby

Absolutely one of the most compelling storylines I've read! A little confusing at first, but once I understood that I had to give myself permission to suspend disbelief, the story had freedom to go wherever it did. ." Read more of this review »
Olga Werby rated a book liked it
The Memory Police by Yōko Ogawa
Rate this book
Clear rating
More mood than a story: imaginative, claustrophobic, flawed, absurdist

It fit the mood of the pandemic and the losses and claustrophobia were all feel in this chosen and necessary isolation. But it wasn’t consistent — there were painful holes in the p
...more
Olga Werby rated a book really liked it
The Particle at the End of the Universe by Sean Carroll
Rate this book
Clear rating
An interesting mix of scientific gossip and theoretical physics

Lots of good stuff but don’t get the Kindle version — it’s impossible to look back and forth between definitions and narrative. This book tries to present the complexity of particle physi
...more
More of Olga's books…
“Humans seem to have a really hard time learning from their own mistakes. History is often forgotten, warnings from the past not heeded. But we do enjoy a good story or two. So how about learning from the future? Jew-ish Sci-Fi is a prophetic genre. Lot’s of people write in it. Lot’s of people enjoy reading it…even the ones who focus on werebears…”
Olga Werby

“Our memories are not static. Each time we reach for one, we refresh and form new neuron connections, in fact changing the memory itself via our contemplation of it. Like Heisenberg Uncertainty Principle — we can observe a particle’s momentum or its position but not both simultaneously — each time we recall a particular event, we change it due to that recollection. After the mental touch, the memory is no longer the same. And this is true not just in some metaphorical sense, but in a real, tangible, physical way — the act of recall alters the neuron structures forever! And yet we eagerly recollect our favorite memories, and we just as eagerly try to forget the painful ones (and the very act of thinking of those painful memories makes them that much stronger, that much more connected and integrated into our neural memory networks).”
Olga Werby, Becoming Animals

“Societies continuously try to recreate themselves — shared holidays, shared news, shared traditions, shared language, shared music, shared myths, shared victories, and shared griefs. Shared origins… So by telling each other stories, we recreate ourselves over and over again. Where do we come from? Where are we going? Who are our heroes? Who are the villains? These stories pass our values as a society from one generation to the next. It’s how we understand each other.”
Olga Werby, Twin Time

Topics Mentioning This Author

topics posts views last activity  
Sci-fi Women: Female Authors? 97 764 Mar 24, 2021 02:10AM  
“Having had some experience as a sci-fi writer myself, I found Suddenly Paris to be a very nicely written, YA Sci-Fi novel that turns the story of THE MATRIX on its head. It explores the following question. What if, instead of being people trapped in a synthesized dream world, we only think we are real? The ethical and existential questions that go along with computer generated characters inside a simulation acquiring self-awareness without an awareness that they are living in a simulated world are dealt with in a very entertaining story. Enjoy.”
Richard Phillips, The Rho Agenda Inception

“The plot of "Suddenly, Paris" novel is fantastic; you have to read it!”
Readers' Favorite

“When I think of cyberpunk, I inevitably relive in my mind the awesomeness that was William Gibson's pioneering cyberpunk masterpiece, Neuromancer. That book changed the way I looked at science fiction and revitalized the promise it held to the world. Lizard Girl & Ghost comes as close to that experience and that promise as anything I've read since.”
Readers' Favorite

“Becoming Animals" is a very interesting, enjoyable, and thought-provoking read; a brilliant addition to the libraries of science fiction and fantasy fans, as well as anyone who simply enjoys a good story.”
Readers' Favorite

“Harvest" is a deep and meaningful exploration of the complexities regarding the origins of the human race as well as the intentions of an alien species.”
Readers' Favorite

220 Goodreads Librarians Group — 125391 members — last activity 14 minutes ago
A place where all Goodreads members can work together to improve the Goodreads book catalog. Non-librarians are welcome to join the group as well, to ...more
154447 Support for Indie Authors — 15616 members — last activity 22 minutes ago
Officially 15k Members Strong & Climbing!! Building and supporting a community of self-published authors dedicated to both sharing experiences and le ...more
109220 Adventures in SciFi Publishing — 215 members — last activity Sep 14, 2020 02:58PM
Online hangout for readers of Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror. Subscribe to the podcast at: iTunes and Stitcher Radio. Newsletter subscribers ar ...more



Comments (showing 1-1)    post a comment »
dateUp arrow    newest »

message 1: by Olga

Olga Werby Just posted an Amazon Giveaway for "The FATOFF Conspiracy"! Please play and I hope you win: giveaway.amazon.com/p/b31eddb565f8bd52


back to top