Evan Marshall

Tiffany...
3,454 books | 169 friends

Russ Li...
68 books | 1,098 friends

Suzanne...
260 books | 789 friends

Maureen
6,129 books | 549 friends

D. Avraham
98 books | 116 friends

Amy Jar...
244 books | 1,247 friends

Ronda M...
94 books | 12 friends

Avital
533 books | 785 friends

More friends…

Evan Marshall

Goodreads Author


Born
Boston, MA, The United States
Website

Genre

Member Since
February 2009

URL


Evan Marshall is president of The Evan Marshall Agency and author of The Marshall Plan For Novel Writing (Writer’s Digest, 1998), an international bestseller on novel writing now in its 20th anniversary edition. He is the author of 10 commercially published mysteries, Manhattan Mysteries Series and Jane & Winky Series which was named “Miss Marple Lite” by Kirkus Reviews. His books appeal to fans of Janet Evanovich, Lilian Jackson Braun, Agatha Christie and Alexander McCall Smith. You can reach him at evan@evanmarshallagency.com.

...more

Average rating: 3.65 · 1,206 ratings · 130 reviews · 17 distinct worksSimilar authors
The Marshall Plan For Novel...

3.71 avg rating — 452 ratings — published 1998 — 9 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Missing Marlene: Being A Na...

3.45 avg rating — 131 ratings10 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Marshall Plan Workbook

3.84 avg rating — 83 ratings — published 2001
Rate this book
Clear rating
Hanging Hannah (Jane Stuart...

3.48 avg rating — 102 ratings8 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Stabbing Stephanie: Publish...

3.48 avg rating — 84 ratings — published 2000 — 10 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Icing Ivy: A Writers' Retre...

3.67 avg rating — 70 ratings10 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Toasting Tina: Publishing I...

3.55 avg rating — 60 ratings — published 2003 — 9 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Crushing Crystal: The Book ...

3.69 avg rating — 59 ratings7 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Death Is Disposable

3.56 avg rating — 48 ratings4 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Marshall Plan for Getti...

really liked it 4.00 avg rating — 29 ratings2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
More books by Evan Marshall…

5 Tips To Write A Bestseller

1 Identify A Loyal Fan Base


Select a large audience you can identify and reach online (fan fiction, movies fans, readers of bestselling books, players of video games) and reinvent their stories. E. L. James developed Fifty Shades of Grey from Twilight fan fiction. Dan Brown reinvented Christian conspiracy stories in Da Vinci Code.


2 Select A Successful Genre


The most successful genres are: th

Read more of this blog post »
 •  0 comments  •  flag
Share on Twitter
Published on November 05, 2018 14:36
Missing Marlene: Being A Na... Hanging Hannah Stabbing Stephanie: Publish... Icing Ivy: A Writers' Retre... Toasting Tina: Publishing I... Crushing Crystal: The Book ...
(6 books)
by
3.53 avg rating — 506 ratings

The Marshall Plan For Novel...
(1 book)
by
3.71 avg rating — 452 ratings

The Marshall Plan For Novel...
(1 book)
by
3.71 avg rating — 452 ratings

Upcoming Events

No scheduled events. Add an event.

Evan’s Recent Updates

Evan Marshall rated a book it was amazing
City in Shadow by Evan Marshall
City in Shadow
by Evan Marshall (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
Evan Marshall rated a book it was amazing
Death is disposable by Marshall, Evan
Rate this book
Clear rating
Evan Marshall is accepting questions on his profile page.
Evan Marshall added a status update: ON SPECIAL TODAY! Crushing Crystal, one of the books in my Jane and Winky Suburban Sleuths mystery series, is on sale at 99 cents today! https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07...
Evan Marshall rated a book it was amazing
Dark Alley by Evan Marshall
Rate this book
Clear rating
Evan Marshall rated a book it was amazing
Captive by Colleen Faulkner
Rate this book
Clear rating
Evan Marshall rated a book it was amazing
Design Fundamentals for the Artist by David M. Kessler
Rate this book
Clear rating
Evan Marshall is now following
18211998
Evan Marshall liked an answer from Jennifer Hall:
Jennifer  Hall
The simple answer to your question is that I was born and raised in New York City. So, you know how they say, "Write what you know?" Well, to a certain degree I did that with ONCE INNOCENT with the places the characters went to. Of course, my life is See Jennifer’s answer.
Evan Marshall is now following
731715
More of Evan's books…
“Another mistake is presenting too much background information, and doing so in the first few pages. Writers should begin their stories with the event that kicks off the story, and then spoon-feed us background information only when it's needed to understand what's going on."

[A Conversation with Evan Marshall (Writers Write, September 1999)]”
Evan Marshall

Topics Mentioning This Author

topics posts views last activity  
Cozy Mysteries : This topic has been closed to new comments. What Cozy Did You Just Finish Reading??? (Archive) 6246 2606 Jun 25, 2013 01:29PM  
Cozy Mysteries : This topic has been closed to new comments. What Cozy Mystery are you currently reading? (Archive) 7639 3009 Jun 25, 2013 04:27PM  
Cozy Mysteries : This topic has been closed to new comments. Title and Author Game, Round 2 15570 1114 Mar 21, 2016 09:15AM  
Cozy Mysteries : This topic has been closed to new comments. Mystery ABC's, Round 2 12174 1054 Mar 21, 2016 12:30PM  
Cozy Mysteries : This topic has been closed to new comments. Mystery ABC's, Round 3 13220 568 Apr 24, 2017 10:00AM  
Cozy Mysteries : This topic has been closed to new comments. Title and Author game, Round 4 16049 612 Jan 05, 2019 04:49AM  



No comments have been added yet.